Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Just steps from beach ! Enjoy Summer vacation on South Padre Island!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house

Overview

About the property

The Starfish Beach house is a duplex that can be rented out together or separately. Both units are 2 bedroom / 2 bath rentals. There is a maximum of 5 guests that can stay in this Unit #2. For larger groups up to 7 guests, check out The Starfish Beach House Unit #1 on VRBO. We are located across the street from beach access and are close to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. We are a registered property with the City of South Padre Island - Permit #2016-574591

Enjoy your stay with us!

More Details

Owner
Carol Mark
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

Why Carol Mark chose Gulf Coast

This rental is located directly across the street from the beach on Gulf Blvd.

Amenities

South Padre Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1) Queen Bed in Master Sutie, Double Beds (1) Double Bed in Guest Bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (1) Twin Bed in Guest Bedroom
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
Just steps from beach ! Enjoy Summer vacation on South Padre Island!
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 18 reviews
5

Everything was perfect.

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed every thing about the stay. The condo is located in the perfect area. It was the first time I had been to the Island and I can not wait to go back and will definitely stay at this condo when I return.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Could have been very nice except for the cockroaches.

  • 2 of 5

After I attempted to book the property, I received an email with higher prices and additional charges which was quite deceptive. We still booked. When we arrived, it was a wonderful location and the property was really cute until the problems started. We were given 2 keys, one worked but the other did not. The towel rack was broken in one bathroom. The sliding glass patio door did not lock but they did fix it after 2 days. The coffee pot didn't work so the landlady brought us a new one. Even then, it would have been OK until the lights were turned off and the cockroaches came out. The landlady said she had it sprayed the day before we arrived. It didn't work so she had it sprayed by a different company our 3rd day there. It still didn't work. She bought us supper one night to make up for the inconvenience which will be a small consolation if we haul any cockroaches home in our luggage.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These people were a mess... 1. I did have a new pest control company come out and spray again. You can NOT use a spray from the store and expect it to get rid of cockroaches, in fact, that spray ends up repelling the bugs and undoes all of the work that a professional has just done to lure the bugs to the poison. 2. You called me to take a look at the double towel rack that had 1 loose anchor out of the 8 that attaches to the wall. The towel rack was not "broken" and had a stack of towels on it, it wasn't falling off the wall or hindered by the one loose anchor. You said that you wanted to let me know that “you didn’t do it” which leads me to... 3. When I showed up to look at the towel rack, you came to the sliding glass door and couldn’t open it and were tugging on it because…wait for it …because… it was locked. It obviously COULD lock, but in order to open it, you just needed to move the lever up for unlocked and down for locked. The next day I had called to have it "fixed" and there was nothing that maintenance needed to fix, because there was nothing wrong with it. 4. You called to say that you had locked yourself out of the house. To me, this usually means that you don’t have a key. I was out of town, but had the maid service stop what they were doing for other homeowners to come and let you in. When they arrived, you had already figured out how to unlock the door with your key, but failed to call me back, so I wouldn’t have to inconvenience the maid service. I found this to be rude. Those same keys have been used and are still used today to lock and unlock the door for this rental. 5. Your Mother said she didn’t know what happened to the coffee pot, but after several uses that it is just stopped working. I bought a new one and replaced it. After all of these trips over to this rental and doing everything I possibly could, yes, then I bought everyone dinner. I noticed what you DIDN’T say in your comments about how you called to say that your daughter had lost and left her watch/phone and that GPS was showing that it was still at the rental. I went to the house at 10:30pm that night and inconvenienced some other guests that were now staying there and went to every room while you tried calling the phone over and over. I ended up finding it in the outside dumpster in a small bathroom trash bag within the large bags of trash. I retrieved it, insured it and mailed it the next morning and never heard a word from you. Extremely rude.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mercedes, Texas
5

Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

Don't let the first impression fool you. The inside is clean, updated, and modern. The location couldn't be better. Would definitely rent again!

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mirta, It was such a pleasure to have you all stay here at The Starfish Beach House Unit #2. I hope that all of you ladies will come back and visit us again and stay longer the next time. I appreciate your honest review. This beach house is one of the few with the original architectural design here on the Island. We are working with the SPI Historic Committee to see how we can best preserve this beach house look, but still have curb appeal for our modern visitors wanting to stay in an original "beach house" on South Padre Island. Like you stated, "the inside is clean, updated and modern". I sure hope we will be able to capture the look of the days gone by with the future upgrades to the outside. Thank you so much! Leslie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Owner not friendly

  • 1 of 5

If you are going to have visitors DO NOT stay here! The owner was very rude and did not want for us go have any visitors. She stopped by the place around 10pm to check in on us and wanted our visitors to leave. We told her that they would not be staying but insisted that it was late and that they had to leave. She said she would be back in an hour to check in on us again. This did not make us feel comfortable and felt like we were always being watched. Also there are alot of cockroaches in the kitchen. You can see them crawling in the counters and it is disgusting. Although it is in a good location, we will never stay there again. We did not feel comfortable.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Do NOT rent to these people and all of their friends that will show up to party!! Maria, The Starfish Beach House is NOT a "party house" where you can rent for one night over a holiday weekend (contract stated that it was for 2 Adults and 2 Children for Easter) and then invite as many people as you see fit to come over and use this rental as a home base for all of your friends to use (all the while using the amenities). I was called by the neighbors about the noise and the multitude of cars that were parked on the property and that it was late and they were wanting to get their young children to sleep. As for your other comment, this property is on a scheduled pest control contract. It makes me wonder why your didn't immediately call and let us know that there was a problem. It is my guess that it would have been hard to have backed up the claim?
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

We loved it! It was so simple, small, and cute! Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Centrally located and close to beach.

  • 4 of 5

Older beach house in a great location. The owner, Leslie was very accessible, and helpful. Everything we needed was provided. We had a great time and would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Brownsville/ South Padre Island Intn'l Airport
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
South Padre Island Golf Course

Located on corner of Esperanza and Gulf Blvd and across the street from the beach in the mid-Island area.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $65
Pet Fee $50
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties