Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Best view on Emerald Isle.....

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

...................and you have your own pool and hot tub too.

Close your eyes and imagine...your day begins with a steaming cup of hot coffee in hand as you lean up against a mountain of pillows in bed and watch the waves crash against the shore for as far as your eye can see. Longing to spend the day just like this, you remember that the family is gathering in the upper gazebo, to watch the sunrise over the ocean. The sound of many voices speaking at once greets you, as you listen to them excitedly discuss the many options for the day.

And the options are many - day trips to sight see or shop in Morehead City, Swansboro, New Bern or even Wilmington, a ferry ride to Bear Island for shelling and solitude, a kayak ride in the ocean or among the shallows in Bogue Sound, a pontoon or power boat rental at a nearby marina, a bike ride into town along the bike path that winds through the island.

But with the morning progression, you day dream of watching the sunset over Bogue Sound while relaxing in the outdoor hot tub. You now ponder a leisurely day under the beach umbrella reading a novel while the kids dash in and out of the waves with their boogie boards and build enormous sand castles on the beach.

Our hunt for the perfect beach home occurred over eight or ten years. We visited resort towns in five states and found the friendliest beach with the best value and atmosphere right here in Emerald Isle. We wanted a clean, wide beach with sparkling blue/green ocean water just in reach so our access to the beach is simply a walk out of our front door.

And, would you appreciate having a selection of restaurants with delicious local seafood caught daily? Would you like them to be close by with no long lines to contend with? (Are you already getting the idea that we’re quite picky?) And as everyone knows, no one EVER goes to the beach to clean house or make beds. Upon arrival you will find the house clean with linens and bath towels provided and the beds are even made for you!

We wanted to make sure that our guests can invite plenty of friends and extended family. Beach houses are for sharing, and our beach house is so big you may lose someone if you’re not careful. Imagine the luxury of having two living rooms, one for the children and one for the adults.

Last but not least, Emerald Isle has all of the trimmings of most beach communities, but doesn’t overwhelm you and it keeps its prices to a manageable scale. You'll be able to start saving for next year!

We have included lots of pictures on our web site. Seeing the pictures is important but it is a MUST to watch the VIDEO, which ties the pictures together and tells a complete story. For important and excellent area information please email us. We want to meet your needs rather than try to sell you something so check out Emerald Isle for yourself and ask any additional questions you have.

Like all owners we try to put our best foot forward but don't listen to us........see what past renters have said by reviewing the comments section.

Check the online calendar to make sure the dates you want are available before contacting us. We do keep it up to date.

Thank you so much for visiting our website.

Keywords: Beach Home

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 28, 2017

About The Owner

I live in the Maryland suburbs of Washington DC and raised two children. I am a CPA with a small tax/accounting practice and a money coaching program. I recently started a podcast called "Financial Karma" where I discuss money matters, interview fascinating guests about the meaning behind money and the health and wellness required for financial success. When I'm not at the beach making the house ready for visitors or keeping up with maintenance, I travel, help my children, family and aging parents. I walk, read and craft but spend most of my time in my active social life and being of service to others. Mine is a rich and joyful life.

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

Why The Owner chose The Point

My extended family and I traveled up and down the East Coast for annual summer reunions and stayed at a number of great beaches until the late 1990's. When we found Emerald Isle we knew we had found our "home" for summer travels. After a time, I bought this oceanfront property because I knew I had found the right one for me and had a strong need to experience the sense of openness and freedom the beach provides me. I love being able to share it with my guests every summer and in some of the off-season months. I have travelers from Ohio, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia, New York, Tennessee, Kentucky, the Carolina's and more.

What makes this house unique

I'm not bragging when I say I have the best view on Emerald Isle. This is because the house is situated at "The Point" where the Atlantic Ocean and Bogue Sound meet.........BY THE WAY, the traveler map on this site does NOT show the house in the right place, it's not at the end of the street Bogue Court but is in fact at the corner of Bogue Court and Inlet Drive, with the ocean right in front of you, with an unobstructed view. Spectacular. The pool, hot tub and second floor gazebo are very popular and fun for the whole group. As to the inside, the house is an inverted floor plan, so the top/second floor is the living/dining/kitchen/wet bar area with plenty of windows. The master bedroom and full bath with tub and glass shower are also on this top floor as well as a powder room. The first floor has four bedrooms (one of which makes a great kids bunk room) and three full baths as well as a second living room area and a laundry room. Our end of the island is easy to get to and from during the busy summer because when you come across the bridge, you immediately turn and avoid the "downtown" Emerald Isle area.

Guestbook comments from the owner

A message from the owners:

We have a fantastic place. There is not a shadow of a doubt in our mind. BUT you would expect us to say as much, because we want you to come and get you to help pay our mortgage! Don't be wooed by our BS. What you should pay heed to is what past renters have said. They are wearing the same shoes you have on. Here is what they have to say:
Sep 2004
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
New Bern, NC (EWN)
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Silver Creek Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Jackies American Grille
Nearest Beach
In front of my beach home
Nearest Point of Interest
100 Bogue Court

Convenient (within a 20-90 minute drive) to: Swansboro, Morehead City, Beaufort, Jacksonville, Wilmington.

Amenities

The Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Second floor master bedroom with whirlpool tub/glass shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , First floor mini-master, adjoining "jack n jill" bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Bedroom with adjoining full bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 bunk bed , Bunkroom w/full, twin and twin trundle (full hall bath)
    Other (See Description) - Port-a-crib and mini living room queen sleep sofa
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Bedroom sharing adjoining "jack n jill" bath w/mini master
  • Two (2) bedrooms with king beds, Two (2) bedrooms with queen beds, One (1) Baby Crib/Portable pack 'n play crib , One (1) Queen Sleep Sofa in lower level living room , One (1) Bunk Beds in bunk bedroom and it's one unit. It sleeps four. There is a single on top, double on bottom and a trundle (single) bed under the double.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 8 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Wet bar with second full refrigerator, 43 inch flat screen tv with in main living room, second living room with flat screen tv. Flat screen tv's in all but bunk bedroom. Extensive library of books/dvd's/games. Bike shed with 7-8 beach bikes of various sizes. Pool room with pool toys. Private outdoor shower.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Best view on Emerald Isle.....
average rating of 4.9387755 based on 50 reviews
5

Perfect vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Amazing house for our entire family to stay in. With 9 adults and 5 children, there was still plenty of room. There were 2 living rooms, which allowed the children to have their own play space. The owner claims to have the best view on the island, which we highly agree with. The upstairs living room windows allow you to sit in comfort and look out over the beach. Also, is the 2 story gazebo, provides another amazing view. The pool was clean and well-kept and allowed a great place for our family to gather. The only drawback was the long distance of the beach to reach the water. It is quite a walk. I would highly recommend this house for any family wanting quality time together.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I agree the walk is longer than most (although it's all ON the beach), but worth it, right? I'm so glad you appreciated the view and that you had a great time with your family. It doesn't get any better than that!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed this beautiful home very much. It seems to be well taken care of.

The only let down is it's not on the beach.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m glad you enjoyed the house and the beach. “The Point” is such a unique location within the Emerald Isle community and my home is convenient, only a few feet from the access point with unobstructed views of the ocean and the sound.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house, great views!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful week staying at the pointe. The house was large and accomadated our whole family. The pool and hottub were wonderful. The views are the best we've ever experienced. The neighbors were friendly and Deborah was very attentive anytime we reached out to her. We also found the most amazing shells, it's a wonderful location!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay in Emerald Isle

  • 5 of 5

Loved the house and views. Came to Emerald Isle for wedding and stayed a couple of extra days to enjoy the beach and relax. House very accommodating and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Janell
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazing views of the beach and ocean from the house!

  • 4 of 5

We loved staying at this amazing cottage. Deb was very responsive to questions. The house has everything guests needs including beach stuff, cookware, plenty of room. The upper level is absolutely amazing with lots of bright sun and breathtaking views of the beach and ocean. It was one of our best vacations yet. We plan to visit again next and stay at her beautiful house.

Thank you Deb!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mariam. See you next summer!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

Best beach ever!

  • 5 of 5

This was an extended family vacation for us - three generations. We typically choose a different beach each year, but we will definitely return to this location. The beach was pristine and the water clear and calm. Shell collecting was a daily activity that turned into a competitive sport! It is a very long walk through soft sand to get to the water, but well worth the effort.

The house was very comfortable and well appointed. What really makes this rental special to me is the fact that all six bedrooms are spacious and have easy access to a private or semi-private bathroom. It makes sharing space with multiple adult families very comfortable - this can be difficult to find in most home rentals. The pool and hot tub were a great addition to the property. The ocean view from the second story dining/living room was spectacular. We really enjoyed our stay.

Only downside was the cookware was in terrible shape, so pack your own skillets if you plan on preparing meals. Otherwise, plenty of dishes, glasses, cutlery for a crowd of people. Great blender for making cocktails and two full size refrigerators is a real plus for storing a week's worth of food and drinks for everyone.

I'd definitely recommend this house!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time and have noted your concerns about the cookware.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/linens/towels $295
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.75%

2.5% fee for credit cards. In off season, some pets allowed for $150/pet/week.
Check in time is 4PM and check out time is 10AM unless prior arrangements made with owner (off season only)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.