Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

NEW SCENIC VACATION BUNGALOW VIEW OF THE RIVER

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath House, Comfortable accommodations for 2 to 4.

Full stainless steel kitchen, dining area, granite tile bathroom and living area. Wireless high speed internet, TV, local channels. Private redwood deck with view of river. Walk to town,

steps to the river.

Located on “Walking Tour Map of Downieville”.

Available year-round in historic Downieville

Call or E-mail to book your stay in this magical, historical place.

downiemanor@att.net Sorry no Pets! Garage is not part of the rental.


Property Manager
Downie Manor
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Downie Manor

'Major' William H. Downie, a renowned gold prospector, recognized as the founder of Downieville, California.As the first house built in the area, this was a rustic log cabin situated high above the river. It is by virtue of this structure that Downie claimed to be the founder of Downieville. He was said to have offered a coffee can full of gold if they would name the town after him.

Downie Manor purchased this bungalow in 2010

Why Downie Manor chose Gold Country & High Sierra

A destructive fire in the early 2000, claimed Downie's original cabin site. Happily, a new bungalow has recently been completed on the site and is available for short term rental. You can experience the beauty and serenity which William Downie recounted in his memoirs. 'The scene that burst upon us was one of marvelous beauty and after these many years, it still lays before me like a lovely panorama in my recollection of the moment I first saw it.'

What makes this bungalow unique

Walk to town, steps to the river. Available All Year.

River view bedroom, pillow top queen bed. Granite and marble tile full bath. Spacious kitchen, breakfast bar, dining and living area. Full, pull-out sofa bed. Relaxing river view on private redwood deck. Large patio space

available for special events.

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
St Charles Place
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Historic Hwy 49
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Grubstake Steak House
Car: not necessary

Amenities

Downieville Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Master - 1 queen , Single rollaway bed and a full inflatible bed are available
    Bedroom/ Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , New Double size, memory foam sofa-pullout bed.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • library
  • museums
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
ATTEND! Gold Rush Days, a step back in time, Fourth of July 'Fireless Fireworks' and Parade, Yuba Theater movie nights, Downieville Classic Bike Race, and the Antique Bottle Show, to name just a few. EXPERIENCE! Within walking distance, The Sierra favorite “Grubstake Saloon n Restaurant', La Cocina Mexican takeout w/ river deck seating, Two River’s Café International Cuisine and ”, & the Mountian Bakery. 7 restaurants/café’s, St Charles Saloon and 49er Wine Bar. EXPLORE! Re-live the gold rush days as you drive along Hwy 49 to Downieville or view memorable Fall colors in October. Visit our museums/mines. FISH! and Swim! In the clear waters of the Yuba River and its tributaries and in mountain lakes. SHOP! 9 shops along 3 blocks! RIDE&HIKE! To hidden lakes or lofty mountain peaks on the well-marked trails maintained by the USFS. WALK! Grab the “Walking Tour Map” from any merchant. 23 fascinating historical sites from the gold rush era. This is “The Playground of the Sierras!'

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

46% Complete
26% Complete
20% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
NEW SCENIC VACATION BUNGALOW VIEW OF THE RIVER
average rating of 4.133333 based on 15 reviews
2

Beautiful house, but not maintained

  • 2 of 5

Was happy with the house, shower does not drain. Went and bought liquid

plumber and it still did not work. I would not take a shower standing in a

foot of water. Washed up by sink. Not what I pictured. Toilet also has problems, we had to keep lifting top to get it to flush. Not everytime, but enough. The TV remote was low battery and not working until 2nd day.

Talked to other people who has stayedd or knew people who had stayed in house. This shower problem has been going on for awhile. So someone is aware of the problem. Bed and pillows not comfortable.

There is no phone service so you can't call anyone. I would suggest putting in a land line just for these type of emergencies

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you had the problem with the shower drain. I did not know about it until you called me. I do thank you for bringing it to my attention so I could take care of it before the next guest. we do have phone service if you have a smart and connect to our wi fi. We do our best to make every guest as happy as we can.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Antelope
5

Great place to stay for mountain biking.

  • 5 of 5

We are already talking about doing it again. The house at 503 could take 3 couples or more its huge!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montclair (Oakland), CA
4

Serenity in the Mountains

  • 4 of 5

Longtime visitors of Downieville the area but 1st time stay inside town. Quieter than expected which was wonderful, sound of the river relaxing, walk to town and around very easy. Mother n' Law unit or small one bedroom apartment size was perfect.

Owner very accommodating to let us park inside garage as big house was not rented, thus eliminating the need to park just across the bridge. Very convenient. Air conditioner worked fine, nice breeze from windows.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice place

  • 5 of 5

Good location

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for coming to my vacation home, it was a pleasure having you. Please come again real soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great trip , Property was nice and clean great hearing river at night

  • 3 of 5

We did a four day trip stayed in two locations both places were comparable night 1and 2 cost the same as 1 night here and we got our damage deposit back at first place , not even option here.

We stay away a couple times a year . I was a little put out that damage deposit here is not refundable ( even if no damage was sustained)

Plan on coming back next year but will probably stay at inn down the road.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These folks must have confused our vacation rental for the other one, concerning their damage deposit being returned. We don't charge a damage deposit. I hope they enjoyed their stay at the Downie Quarters. I would be happy do discuss this with them if they want too. Thank you, Jim Roos
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean and Convenient

  • 4 of 5

This property is in a perfect location. Not right in the middle of town, but a perfect walk's length outside of downtown. This town is really cute, it surprised me, and my dad and I had some really magical moments.

The apartment was clean and updated.

The cons are: The foldout couch is not comfortable for anyone who sleeps on a decent mattress, contrary to what I was told. The apartment is a bit dark and stuffy as there are only windows on one side of every room. There was a little bit of confusion about check-in, but was cleared up with a phone call. It was confusing about where to put our car, the garage instructions are not up to date. We ended up opening the garage manually. I gave four stars but was somewhere between 3 and 4 as I think it's a bit overpriced for one bed. I really felt bad that my dad had to sleep on the foldout, he did not get good rest. I have had some back problems recently so it wasn't even an option for me. It does not hold it's form, and you can feel the springs, not up to snuff for the price, sorry.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $45

A cleaning deposit may be higher for long term stays.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties