About the property
- Bungalow900 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay1 - 5 nights
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath House, Comfortable accommodations for 2 to 4.
Full stainless steel kitchen, dining area, granite tile bathroom and living area. Wireless high speed internet, TV, local channels. Private redwood deck with view of river. Walk to town,
steps to the river.
Located on “Walking Tour Map of Downieville”.
Available year-round in historic Downieville
Call or E-mail to book your stay in this magical, historical place.
firstname.lastname@example.org Sorry no Pets! Garage is not part of the rental.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within two days
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 13, 2018
About Downie Manor
'Major' William H. Downie, a renowned gold prospector, recognized as the founder of Downieville, California.As the first house built in the area, this was a rustic log cabin situated high above the river. It is by virtue of this structure that Downie claimed to be the founder of Downieville. He was said to have offered a coffee can full of gold if they would name the town after him.
Downie Manor purchased this Bungalow in 2010
Why Downie Manor chose Downieville
A destructive fire in the early 2000, claimed Downie's original cabin site. Happily, a new bungalow has recently been completed on the site and is available for short term rental. You can experience the beauty and serenity which William Downie recounted in his memoirs. 'The scene that burst upon us was one of marvelous beauty and after these many years, it still lays before me like a lovely panorama in my recollection of the moment I first saw it.'
What makes this Bungalow unique
Walk to town, steps to the river. Available All Year. River view bedroom, pillow top queen bed. Granite and marble tile full bath. Spacious kitchen, breakfast bar, dining and living area. Full, pull-out sofa bed. Relaxing river view on private redwood deck. Large patio space available for special events.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Place was dirty
Stayed one night. Found countertops dirty in kitchen. Moldy, dirty washcloth in shower. Obviously not cleaned before my stay...yuk. Owner did refund $25 which I appreciated, yet I felt it wasn't enough since I couldn't even use the shower. Bed was just ok. Place was ok for two people but not comfortable for four. On the positive side, very cute and updated. Nice view of the river. It is available for a one night stay which is great since most Downieville rentals are two nights minimum.
Beautiful house, but not maintained
Was happy with the house, shower does not drain. Went and bought liquid
plumber and it still did not work. I would not take a shower standing in a
foot of water. Washed up by sink. Not what I pictured. Toilet also has problems, we had to keep lifting top to get it to flush. Not everytime, but enough. The TV remote was low battery and not working until 2nd day.
Talked to other people who has stayedd or knew people who had stayed in house. This shower problem has been going on for awhile. So someone is aware of the problem. Bed and pillows not comfortable.
There is no phone service so you can't call anyone. I would suggest putting in a land line just for these type of emergencies
I am sorry you had the problem with the shower drain. I did not know about it until you called me. I do thank you for bringing it to my attention so I could take care of it before the next guest. we do have phone service if you have a smart and connect to our wi fi. We do our best to make every guest as happy as we can.
Great place to stay for mountain biking.
We are already talking about doing it again. The house at 503 could take 3 couples or more its huge!
Serenity in the Mountains
Longtime visitors of Downieville the area but 1st time stay inside town. Quieter than expected which was wonderful, sound of the river relaxing, walk to town and around very easy. Mother n' Law unit or small one bedroom apartment size was perfect.
Owner very accommodating to let us park inside garage as big house was not rented, thus eliminating the need to park just across the bridge. Very convenient. Air conditioner worked fine, nice breeze from windows.
Thank you for coming to my vacation home, it was a pleasure having you. Please come again real soon.
Great trip , Property was nice and clean great hearing river at night
We did a four day trip stayed in two locations both places were comparable night 1and 2 cost the same as 1 night here and we got our damage deposit back at first place , not even option here.
We stay away a couple times a year . I was a little put out that damage deposit here is not refundable ( even if no damage was sustained)
Plan on coming back next year but will probably stay at inn down the road.
These folks must have confused our vacation rental for the other one, concerning their damage deposit being returned. We don't charge a damage deposit. I hope they enjoyed their stay at the Downie Quarters. I would be happy do discuss this with them if they want too. Thank you, Jim Roos
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
A cleaning deposit may be higher for long term stays.