expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

NEW SCENIC VACATION BUNGALOW VIEW OF THE RIVER

Downieville, CA, USA
  • Bungalow900 sqft
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay1 - 5 nights

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath House, Comfortable accommodations for 2 to 4.

Full stainless steel kitchen, dining area, granite tile bathroom and living area. Wireless high speed internet, TV, local channels. Private redwood deck with view of river. Walk to town,

steps to the river.

Located on “Walking Tour Map of Downieville”.

Available year-round in historic Downieville

Call or E-mail to book your stay in this magical, historical place.

downiemanor@att.net Sorry no Pets! Garage is not part of the rental.

Property Manager

Downie Manor

Member Since 2013
Response rate:
80%
Response time:
within two days
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 13, 2018
About Downie Manor

'Major' William H. Downie, a renowned gold prospector, recognized as the founder of Downieville, California.As the first house built in the area, this was a rustic log cabin situated high above the river. It is by virtue of this structure that Downie claimed to be the founder of Downieville. He was said to have offered a coffee can full of gold if they would name the town after him.

Downie Manor purchased this Bungalow in 2010

Why Downie Manor chose Downieville

A destructive fire in the early 2000, claimed Downie's original cabin site. Happily, a new bungalow has recently been completed on the site and is available for short term rental. You can experience the beauty and serenity which William Downie recounted in his memoirs. 'The scene that burst upon us was one of marvelous beauty and after these many years, it still lays before me like a lovely panorama in my recollection of the moment I first saw it.'

What makes this Bungalow unique

Walk to town, steps to the river. Available All Year. River view bedroom, pillow top queen bed. Granite and marble tile full bath. Spacious kitchen, breakfast bar, dining and living area. Full, pull-out sofa bed. Relaxing river view on private redwood deck. Large patio space available for special events.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
      • Master
        1 queen, Single rollaway bed and a full inflatible bed are available
      • Bedroom/ Living Room
        1 sleep sofa /futon, New Double size, memory foam sofa-pullout bed.

        Bathrooms

        • 1 Bathroom
        • Bathroom 1
          toilet, combination tub/shower

          Location Type

            • Mountain View

              Theme

                • Adventure
                • Away From It All
                • Family
                • Historic
                • Romantic
                • Sports & Activities
                • Tourist Attractions

                  Meals

                    • Guests provide their own meals

                      General

                        • Air Conditioning
                        • Heating
                        • Internet
                        • Living Room
                        • Parking
                          Across Hanson Bridge
                        • Towels Provided
                          No towels for the river

                          Kitchen

                            • Coffee Maker
                            • Dishes & Utensils
                            • Kitchen
                              New 2010
                            • Microwave
                            • Oven
                            • Pantry Items
                            • Refrigerator
                            • Stove
                            • Toaster

                              Dining

                                • Dining
                                  Outdoor dining 6 chairs / 1 round tables
                                • Dining Area
                                • comfy seating for 4 people

                                  Entertainment

                                    • Satellite / Cable
                                    • Television

                                      Outside

                                        • Bicycles
                                          plenty of room store bikes on deck
                                        • Deck / Patio
                                        • Kayak / Canoe
                                          Bring your own to use on river/lakes
                                        • Outdoor Grill
                                        • Tennis
                                          with in Two blocks
                                        • Water Sports Gear
                                          Bring your own to use on river/lakes

                                          Suitability

                                            • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                            • wheelchair inaccessible

                                              Pool / Spa

                                                • Communal Pool
                                                  our 'communal pool' is the 2 rivers running through Town!

                                                  Onsite Services

                                                    • Massage

                                                      Attractions

                                                        • library
                                                        • museums
                                                        • winery tours

                                                          Leisure Activities

                                                            • antiquing
                                                            • bird watching
                                                            • scenic drives
                                                            • shopping
                                                            • sight seeing
                                                            • walking
                                                            • wildlife viewing

                                                              Local Services & Businesses

                                                                • ATM/bank
                                                                • Babysitter
                                                                • groceries
                                                                • massage therapist
                                                                • medical services

                                                                  Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                    • mountain climbing
                                                                    • cross country skiing
                                                                    • fishing
                                                                    • fly fishing
                                                                    • golf
                                                                    • hiking
                                                                    • hunting
                                                                    • kayaking
                                                                    • mountain biking
                                                                    • cycling
                                                                    • mountaineering
                                                                    • rafting
                                                                    • rock climbing
                                                                    • roller blading
                                                                    • skiing
                                                                    • snowmobiling
                                                                    • swimming
                                                                    • tennis
                                                                    • water tubing

                                                                      Notes

                                                                        • ATTEND! Gold Rush Days, a step back in time, Fourth of July 'Fireless Fireworks' and Parade, Yuba Theater movie nights, Downieville Classic Bike Race, and the Antique Bottle Show, to name just a few. EXPERIENCE! Within walking distance, The Sierra favorite “Grubstake Saloon n Restaurant', La Cocina Mexican takeout w/ river deck seating, Two River’s Café International Cuisine and ”, & the Mountian Bakery. 7 restaurants/café’s, St Charles Saloon and 49er Wine Bar. EXPLORE! Re-live the gold rush days as you drive along Hwy 49 to Downieville or view memorable Fall colors in October. Visit our museums/mines. FISH! and Swim! In the clear waters of the Yuba River and its tributaries and in mountain lakes. SHOP! 9 shops along 3 blocks! RIDE&HIKE! To hidden lakes or lofty mountain peaks on the well-marked trails maintained by the USFS. WALK! Grab the “Walking Tour Map” from any merchant. 23 fascinating historical sites from the gold rush era. This is “The Playground of the Sierras!'

                                                                          House Rules

                                                                          Check-in: Flexible

                                                                          Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                                          Cancellation Policy

                                                                          100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                          16 Reviews

                                                                          Very Good4.1/5

                                                                          Latest reviews

                                                                          Place was dirty

                                                                          Sandra S.

                                                                          Stayed one night. Found countertops dirty in kitchen. Moldy, dirty washcloth in shower. Obviously not cleaned before my stay...yuk. Owner did refund $25 which I appreciated, yet I felt it wasn't enough since I couldn't even use the shower. Bed was just ok. Place was ok for two people but not comfortable for four. On the positive side, very cute and updated. Nice view of the river. It is available for a one night stay which is great since most Downieville rentals are two nights minimum.

                                                                          Beautiful house, but not maintained

                                                                          gerald f.

                                                                          Was happy with the house, shower does not drain. Went and bought liquid

                                                                          plumber and it still did not work. I would not take a shower standing in a

                                                                          foot of water. Washed up by sink. Not what I pictured. Toilet also has problems, we had to keep lifting top to get it to flush. Not everytime, but enough. The TV remote was low battery and not working until 2nd day.

                                                                          Talked to other people who has stayedd or knew people who had stayed in house. This shower problem has been going on for awhile. So someone is aware of the problem. Bed and pillows not comfortable.

                                                                          There is no phone service so you can't call anyone. I would suggest putting in a land line just for these type of emergencies

                                                                          Owner's Response:

                                                                          I am sorry you had the problem with the shower drain. I did not know about it until you called me. I do thank you for bringing it to my attention so I could take care of it before the next guest. we do have phone service if you have a smart and connect to our wi fi. We do our best to make every guest as happy as we can.

                                                                          Great place to stay for mountain biking.

                                                                          Larry R.Antelope

                                                                          We are already talking about doing it again. The house at 503 could take 3 couples or more its huge!

                                                                          Serenity in the Mountains

                                                                          Molly N.Montclair (Oakland), CA

                                                                          Longtime visitors of Downieville the area but 1st time stay inside town. Quieter than expected which was wonderful, sound of the river relaxing, walk to town and around very easy. Mother n' Law unit or small one bedroom apartment size was perfect.

                                                                          Owner very accommodating to let us park inside garage as big house was not rented, thus eliminating the need to park just across the bridge. Very convenient. Air conditioner worked fine, nice breeze from windows.

                                                                          Nice place

                                                                          Mitch R.

                                                                          Good location

                                                                          Owner's Response:

                                                                          Thank you for coming to my vacation home, it was a pleasure having you. Please come again real soon.

                                                                          Great trip , Property was nice and clean great hearing river at night

                                                                          Shaun O.

                                                                          We did a four day trip stayed in two locations both places were comparable night 1and 2 cost the same as 1 night here and we got our damage deposit back at first place , not even option here.

                                                                          We stay away a couple times a year . I was a little put out that damage deposit here is not refundable ( even if no damage was sustained)

                                                                          Plan on coming back next year but will probably stay at inn down the road.

                                                                          Owner's Response:

                                                                          These folks must have confused our vacation rental for the other one, concerning their damage deposit being returned. We don't charge a damage deposit. I hope they enjoyed their stay at the Downie Quarters. I would be happy do discuss this with them if they want too. Thank you, Jim Roos

                                                                          Location

                                                                          Downieville, CA, USA

                                                                          Rates & Availability

                                                                          Additional information about rental rates

                                                                          Cleaning Fee
                                                                          $45
                                                                          Tax Rate
                                                                          10%

                                                                          A cleaning deposit may be higher for long term stays.

                                                                          $153avg/night
                                                                          16 Reviews
                                                                          Very Good 4.1/5
                                                                          Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                          For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                          Property # 464692

                                                                          x