Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Huge! Riverside, 6 BR, 6 bath, Miles Zion 12, Bryce 60, Grand Canyon 85, Golf 0

Sleeps99
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Overview

About the property

6 bedrooms, 11 Queen beds, 6 1/2 bathrooms

Any guest (day guests, those using the pool and those sleeping over) beyond 22 total incur an additional charge of $10 per day, per person. Children over 12 months of age are counted in the 22 maximum guests allowed for the fee advertised.

Enjoy the vaulted ceilings, spacious country kitchen, Direct TV, 56' HDTV, DVD/VCR, phone with free local calls, wireless internet, 6 bedrooms (includes loft) with their own bathrooms and private entrances (all but the loft), 3 queen sofa beds, and the use of a hotels seasonal pool & hot tub.

Mileage (all highway miles - there is no city driving at all!) from Mount Carmel Junction

Zion National Park: 12 miles

Bryce Canyon National Park: 60 miles

Grand Canyon National Park: 85 miles

Cedar Breaks Natl Monument: 45 miles

Grand Staircase Natl Monument entrance: 9 miles

Dixie Forest on SR-14, also called Cedar Mountain: 22 miles

Coral Pink Sand Dunes: 11 miles

Coyote Buttes (The Wave - Buckskin Gulch): 57 miles

Red Canyon - Dixie National Forest on SR-12: 47 miles

Maynard Dixon Studio - 1 mile

More Details

Owner
Gordon and Tanya Milligan
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
44%
Calendar last updated:
May 15, 2017

Why Gordon and Tanya Milligan chose Utah

This was the home of Fern Morrison, who along with her husband Jack were the founders of the Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, Thunderbird Golf Course, Thunderbird Restaurant and more. The area seen today and this house is what they built in their life time. The house is historic and huge.

What makes this house unique

All bedrooms have their own private bathroom. All but the loft has private air/heat control, a private entrance, & flat screen TV. The house is HUGE. The living room has two pull-out sofas, and there is another in the foyer. The kitchen is large country kitchen. The only rooms upstairs are the bedroom loft and bedroom 4.

Amenities

Mount Carmel Junction House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 99
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 22 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bath 1 (loft) - toilet , tub , shower , Large jetted tub, separate shower, 2 sinks, upstairs
    bath 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bath 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bath 5 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , carpet, nice bathroom
    bath 4 - toilet , shower , upstairs, nice bathroom, small closet
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , Also in room 6
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Every bedroom has its own bathroom. All bathrooms are stocked with bath, hand towels, shampoo, and other amenities. The loft and the master bathroom have large tubs and separate showers. The other bathrooms have a tub/shower combo.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 99
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Private entrance, TV, internet, heat/cool, 1 bath
    Bedroom 4 - 2 queen , Upstairs, entrance, air/heat, directv, internet, balcony
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen , Private entrance, TV, internet, jetted tub, walkin closet
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Private entrance, bath, direct-tv, internet, patio
    Bedroom 3 (loft) - 2 queen , Upstairs, 1 bathroom, balcony, jetted tub, shower
    Bedroom 6 - 3 queen , Huge room, 3 sofas, 1.5 bath, air/cool, private entrance
  • Bedding is provided for all 11 Queen beds and are made upon arrival. The 11 Queens sleep 22 guests, plus there are 3 pull out sofa beds. Each room except the loft is like its own hotel room, fully equipped with TV, bathroom, private entrance. Linen is provided for sofa beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The full kitchen is stocked with towels, pots, pans, lots of dishes, and table settings. There is a small set of nice china, large mixing bowls, pans, pots, cookie sheets, crock pot, recipe books, pitchers, ladles, peelers, knifes, cutting boards, coffee grinder, coffee filters, a few plastic containers, hot pads, pot holders, salt, pepper, some spices and other miscellaneous things. Also 2 coffee makers, blender, counter convection oven, small toaster oven, toaster, microwave, ice maker, filtered water on the fridge, wine holder, place mats, candles, lots of spatulas, cooking spoons and forks and other gadgets, cheese grader, soap. There are several board games, VHS movies, VHS player, CD player, extra tables (seat 8 each) and chairs in the garage, patio chairs and tables, and outdoor gas grill.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Huge! Riverside, 6 BR, 6 bath, Miles Zion 12, Bryce 60, Grand Canyon 85, Golf 0
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews
Leeds, Utah, USA
4

Large Reunion

  • 4 of 5

The house was in an amazing location, close to Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. Great size for our large family reunion, 40 people, including 9 couples and 22 children. Large, well equipped kitchen, plenty of bathrooms and bedrooms. 11 Queen beds and three full size hide-a-bed couches. Some bedrooms 2 or three Queen beds per room as well as couches and one cot. More than adequate bedding. Nice patio out back with BBQ, tables and chairs, and small lawn area. Spot lights available for night activities.

Beautiful setting with access to RV Campground, golf coarse, swimming pool, hot tub, gas stations, restaurants, and convenience stores. Small town of Orderville is very close with a wonderful little league ball field we used for games and Church. Very friendly people.

Gordon, the owner was very accommodating and available.

Would have given five stars except it is located right next to Hwy 89. Just need to watch small children. Also one sink flowed slowly, one shower the same. Ice maker in fridge was not working, but Gordon allowed us to take care of our ice needs from gas station across the Hwy. AC was not stellar but adequate.

All in all we would be happy to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We enjoyed hosting your group.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Family reunion

  • 4 of 5

We had a family reunion and this home easily accommodated 8 adults and 5 grandchildren. The kids loved the roominess; we had big family meals together; the kitchen was well equipped; the back patio was lovely in the evening. We visited three national parks - Zion, Bryce, and north rim of the Grand Canyon while we were there. We would recommend it for other families or large groups traveling in southern Utah.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really enjoyed your group and we are thrilled you enjoyed the house and found it to be roomy and well equipped. I hope you stay with us again on your next trip to southern Utah.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 4
Oregon
5

Fourth of July Week was Great!

  • 5 of 5

Our group had a fantastic time. This house is located perfectly for our week long stay as we went to Zion, Bryce, Tuweep and Cedar Breaks. One night we went out to the sand dunes for star gazing. Each room was equipped like a hotel room, so we never did trip on each others toes. There was a door in each, bathroom and TV. We had 3 families there, with a total of 20 and the house was the prefect size. We felt adventurous one day and found Red Canyon and Red Hollow slot canyons, and then booked a tour to see Red Cave. It was the first time we had seen slot canyons and we had a blast. The fireworks in nearby Kanab weren't all that great, but we didn't expect much in a small rural area. The kids enjoyed the pool at the hotel across the street that comes with the house, and we all went tubing in the Virgin River one afternoon after hiking in Zion. I loved that the house had a mini-kitchen, so the early risers could have their coffee before waking up the sleepy heads in the rest of the house. We were so tired at night that we enjoyed watching the old VHS tapes in the video library. At night after the sun would set we would gather on the back patio by the river and BBQ. There is plenty of outdoor seating and tables provided and we would set our trash bag out front every morning and it magically disappeared daily. Gordon made us feel welcome was seemed to work every day of the week, so although we never needed anything he was handy.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have enjoyed hosting your group for the last several years now, and hope you continue to stay with us each summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
40 0
West Jordan, ut
4

Great old house

  • 4 of 5

We had 30+ people in the house for a week. We used the RV park right out the door as well for the light sleepers. We swam in the pool across the street almost every day. We enjoyed the national parks located all over the place and Zion right up the street. We enjoyed the air conditioning and the kitchen. It was a great time for our family reunion. Don't expect new because the house has a history and it shows in places. Suspicious doors that don't open and floors that are interesting to say the least but the place is clean and accommodating. Gordon is awesome. Cute junction of a town. Thanks for letting us visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The maximum in the house for the advertised fee is 22, and additional guests are $15 per person, per day. I want to make sure people understand this. The locked doors go to an indoor pool that is no longer in use, and we now use that room to stock linen and cleaning supplies to clean the house between guests. The floor leading into the Tea Room is the floor you are speaking about, and that's on our list of things we need to fix. This was my Grandma's house and she built it around historic buildings. The Tea Room was a full kitchen, once upon a time, when the little house in the middle stood alone. The two cabins on the side are original Zion Canyon Cabins. The house was built in sections as her needs grew. She built a large meeting room, which is now a big bedroom with 3 beds, and a new kitchen in the back by the river. She also added the bedroom overlooking the river at that time. I am so glad your group enjoyed the house! Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
45 8
5

Greg

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time and everyone loved the house. We had three families and a couple there but still had room to have your own area. Great time thank you Gordon and Tonya it was perfect.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are so welcome! Your group was great! I hope you return and visit us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
55 0
California
5

I wish I could stay longer

  • 5 of 5

While my group had a long stay in March, we all wished we could just give up our jobs and stay there for good. We never ran out of things to do, even though March is a time of changing weather. One day it's warm, and another it's cold. The house accommodated our large group well, and it was exceptionally well stocked. If we did run out of anything, the owner offered to restock our linen, but we never had any problem. There was so much. The kitchen had several sets of pots, and enough dishes for us all. There were tables in the garage that we setup one day so we had a big family meal all sitting together. Each room has its own TV, and even its own door. We loved this. I can't rave enough about our long vacation there. We visited Zion, Bryce and even ventured into the Grand Staircase. The pictographs at the Coral Pink Sand Dunes were an added treat we had not planned for. Next trip we are going in the summer so we can do some tubing, and go to the North Rim Grand Canyon and Cedar Breaks.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! I am so glad your group enjoyed their stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
60 0

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Cedar City
Nearest Barpub
Nearest Golf
Thunderbird Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
US-89
Nearest Restaurant
Thunderbird Restaurant
Nearest Ski
Car: necessary

Important! The outdoor pool does not open until mid to late May to early June, depending on the weather and is closed in the winter. You can trust our calender on VRBO. It is up to date!

Don't get stuck in a city, when you are headed to the National Parks to enjoy nature and unwind. Here you are in a resort community, rather than secluded in the mountains, so you have the best of both worlds.

Enjoy golf (low fees!), scenic drives, hiking, biking, canyoneering, slot canyons, ATV's, photography, fishing, ghost towns, rock art, tubing, kayaking, sand dunes, Utah history, clean air, bright skies and some of the most incredible scenery on the planet!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mount Carmel Junction House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$450
 
Notes: Rates are based on 22 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $150
Tax Rate 12.2%

House Maximum is 22 for the advertised fee. 6 day minimum. Any guest (day guests, those using the pool and those sleeping over) beyond 22 total incur an additional charge of $15 per day, per person. Children over 12 months of age are counted in the 22 maximum guests allowed for the fee advertised. There are 3 queen sofa beds that can be used when additional people stay with a paid fee. There is no limit on guests as long as the fees are paid.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable