Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Island In The Sun ~ Aug 26 - Labor Day and Fall available. Sorry NO PETS!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,490 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath NO PET weekly rental with Beach and Sound access, and views.

Welcome to the beach! 'Island in the Sun' is our privately owned, professionally managed end unit town home at Shipwatch Villas. You are a two minute walk from a private beach access out front, and right out the back door is the sound (Intercoastal Waterway). Inside you'll still know you're at the ocean, with colorful island decor that's casual and comfortable.

Shipwatch Villas is a 28 home community with only a handful of rental units, and an uncrowded beach. Our 3 bedroom/2.5 bath home has a newer whole house A/C, hot water tank with comfortable, coastal furnishings. Parking is right in front of the unit. Underneath is a fully decked area with private hot and cold outdoor shower room to hang towels, and some beach gear. Here you will find a charcoal grill to use out back, beach supplies and a new picnic table for cook outs. Walk thru to a gazebo with a new ladder to launch a kayak, fish or enjoy a drink at sunset. There's even a grassy back yard where the kids can play.

The first floor has a front porch with seating, a freshly updated entry hall, an ocean side bedroom with two twins plus a trundle twin and flat screen HD TV. There is a full bath with shower, full size laundry, sound view bedroom with Queen bed and a covered deck. Every room has a ceiling fan if you prefer ocean breezes.

Up one level is the main living and dining area with banquette dining, roomy kitchen, and half bath. There is a large comfy sectional with 42' flat screen cable HD TV, wireless internet, chromecast, games, DVDs and fully equipped kitchen with vaulted ceilings and double USB cell phone charger. Dine inside or out on the sound side deck and enjoy the views, or have coffee on the oceanview deck off the kitchen each with tall chairs for better ocean views. You will enjoy all the charming, beachy touches and hand painted accents.

The private, coastal master suite is on the top level with the 5th deck, tall chairs and amazing sound views. You will sleep well in the Select Comfort dual control KING sized bed after enjoying the large flat screen HDTV. You also have a private, full master bath with double sinks and cathedral ceilings. There is also a new supplemental a/c unit on the top floor to keep you comfy on even the hottest summer nights.

If you're over 25, we hope you will consider our smoke free, family home. You will enjoy the proximity of the beach, the views, and the ocean front feel without the ocean front price! SHIPWATCH VILLAS HOA DOES NOT ALLOW RENTERS TO BRING PETS, SORRY. NO EXCEPTIONS.

More Details

Property Manager
Judi
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

About Judi

Lifelong beach lovers we finally had the opportunity to buy a home at the ocean. We've visited NC beaches for years, but wanted a place with things to do without crowds. Ocean views and close proximity from beach to house was required, but a gorgeous sound view was a bonus! We hope our family will enjoy it for years to come. We are dog lovers, too. Unfortunately our HOA does not allow renters to bring them to Shipwatch. You can look for Pet Friendly rental or kennel instead.

Judi purchased this townhome in 2011

Why Judi chose Topsail Island

Loved the old town feel of Topsail Island, but discovered the spread out, more polished feel at North Topsail. A short walk to the beach was a must, and the sound was a big bonus! Oh, and did we mention the gorgeous sunsets out back?

What makes this townhome unique

When we rented beach houses over the years, we always thought of the decorative touches they should have, so we decorated ours to feel like we were at the beach inside and out. You will enjoy all the tropical colors and beachy decor, even some hand painted touches by the owner. It's a beach cottage feel with all the comforts of home.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The house itself was amazing. Absolutely loved it. My friends and I love topsail island. It isn't over crowded and the beach is clean and relaxing. I would choose to come back again over any other place I've been to. It was a wonderful time. Can't wait to go back in August.
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

North Topsail Beach Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1490 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Full bath on lower level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Middle level powder room
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master bath on top level, cathedral ceilings, double vanity
  • Shower, vanity, toilet, hair dryer, towel hooks, storage
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Oceanview Bedroom 1 - 3 twin/ single , 1 twin, 1 daybed with twin trundle on lower level of home.
    Sound view Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen sound view bedroom on lower level of home.
    Private king Bedroom 3 - 1 king , King master suite on top level with Select Comfort mattress.
  • Oceanview bedroom has flat screen HDTV, closet, dresser, and nightstand. Queen bedroom has large closet, dresser, and private deck. Master suite has private bath and deck, flat screen TV and large closet. Master has additional a/c and all rooms have ceiling fans.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
For those with 4 wheel drive, there is beach access a short drive down our street where the ocean and sound meet. You can drive out on the beach, park and enjoy fishing, sunning, and exploring.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Island In The Sun ~ Aug 26 - Labor Day and Fall available. Sorry NO PETS!
average rating of 4.785714 based on 17 reviews
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

The property is beautiful, quiet, and close enough to the beach and town. Lots of things to do in the area or just hang out and enjoy the sound side. Definitely a winner.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed it, and so pleased that you took the time to review. That's so helpful to us! Please spread the word, and come visit again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
culowhee,nc
5

Great fun in the sun!

  • 5 of 5

The location is perfect!The sound was beautiful in the mornings and across the street the ocean. The villa was clean and well stocked. It had lots of room to sit and relax after a long day at the beach.We loved the private shower area under the villa.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manassas VA
5

The sunset on the sound was amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Great location at the north end of the island...away from the hustle and bustle. Beautiful sound views and easy access to the beach! House was very clean, had everything and was very cozy. Loved the outside shower! Comfortable outdoor furniture made it easy to sit outside in the early mornings enjoying coffee or evenings with a glass of wine! Will definitely go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear all three generations were happy and comfortable in our home! We love the sunsets on the sound too, and drinks on any of the decks. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of a 2 minute walk to the beach, and back inside for lunch, naps, or whatever you may need. Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Twinsburg, OH
5

Friendly, Clean & Fun!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our first family vacation at this property! The property is located in a small, friendly HOA community of town houses. I originally wanted to stay directly on the beach (1st row), but discovered it wasn't really worth the extra $. This home is located 2nd row, along the sound, and was a short walk across the street to the beach with private access point for Shipwatch residents & guests. Be sure to enjoy beautiful sunsets on the gazebo out back!

The house was clean and very nicely decorated with a beach theme throughout. The kitchen was well-stocked with plenty of plates and cooking pots/pans and utensils. The shower stall outside was also clean and very useful after those sandy days at the beach. Everything was in working order and well-maintained.

I would definitely recommend this home for a great family get-away!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our beach house. We chose it for the same reasons, two minute walk to the ocean and gorgeous sound view out back. So glad you enjoyed the beachy decor too. We like to be reminded we are on vacation whether inside or out! Thanks so much for your comments and we would love to have you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

ROACHES

  • 2 of 5

Don't be fooled by the 5 star reviews as we were. I was very disappointed with the place after I killed a roach in the downstairs bathroom at 2 am and then the next day in the children's bedroom and then I walked into the kitchen at 9PM, turned on the light and saw a large roach crawling around the countertop next to the oven-right where I prepare food for my family. This is unsanitary and unacceptable. I contacted the owners right away…waiting to see what remedies they have for the situation. A side note…the carpets were not clean. There were human hairs getting stuck to my children's toy as they were playing with it. Either the vacuum doesn't work well or the cleaning crew cut a corner. We kept our flip flops on the entire time but I cringed when I saw my 2 and 1 year old crawling around the floor. Also, this place is not kid friendly for children under the age of 3. You have the master bedroom 2 floors above the children's rooms. There are ceramic knick knacks and things on tables that need to be moved as soon as you get here for the 2 and under children. Not a big deal but wanted to let people know.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry our guests had a bad experience during their stay. We told them this in our response 1 hour and 20 minutes after they first notified us of their concerns on the 5th night of their visit. We also notified our rental company immediately who offered to come vacuum the next morning and to send an exterminator. Pest control services are required by our rental company because bugs are common in warm, southern coastal areas. Our house has the beach out front and the sound in the backyard, and the views and proximity are well worth it! The first spray of the season had just occurred days before these guests arrived. Sometimes spraying stirs up pests and we are sorry this happened during their visit. The carpets HAD been vacuumed by the owners because we were the last to stay there (and saw no bugs). The layout of our home has been described throughly here, so the locations of the bedrooms should not have been a surprise. All the decorations are shown in our photos. We tried to make our home attractive and inviting for our guests, but if you need to move items for young children feel free to do so. We want you to be relaxed and comfortable; please put things back in place upon your departure. We hope that this lone negative review won't sway you away from enjoying a lovely vacation at the beach. As you can see, we take pride in our home, and mostly our guests have been very pleased. All of our reviews are from ACTUAL guests. Our rental company also does a good job of addressing any concerns, as they did in this case.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

Wonderful Spot

  • 5 of 5

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay! The house was beautiful and very clean and comfortable! The views from either side were wonderful but having the green lawn and gazebo in the back were a great bonus. We are already booked to come back next summer!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We couldn't be happier to know this! Thanks so much for choosing our home for sharing your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Nearest Golf
5 Miles
North Shores Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Ricks, Cancun, Denoia,
Nearest Beach
across street less than 2 minutes
Car: recommended

Relaxing family friendly beach town with restaurants nearby, biking paths, tennis, fishing, the sound out back and the beach directly across the street!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

There is a $45 booking fee from our rental company, and an optional travel protection plan that they will offer when you make your reservation. We don't live nearby, so using them provides our renters faster local service if they have a problem during their stay.

Our rental company calculates required taxes and fees, and sets dates for deposits and final payment. We have set up this online quote the closest we can, but it could be off by a small amount. They also handle keys and cleanings plus address concerns during your stay, since we don't live locally. We will put you in contact with them when you are ready to book.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.