Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Elk Tracks Lodge

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,020 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 9

Come enjoy our winter wonderland or outdoor enthusiast mecca in the summer. Our home away from home includes two suites three bathrooms, an open great room, perfect for entertaining. Kitchen has huge island with four tall chairs for people to gather around the cook. Great entertaining cabin. Big picture windows to bring the outdoor in. It is incredible to be there when it's snowing. If you're lucky, the elk will walk right next to the cabin when you wake up early in the morning.


Owner
Joanne
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
June 2, 2017

About Joanne

Born and raised in Seattle we wanted a home to get away to. We wanted someplace that was close enough to go to and use on a regular basis. We wanted somewhere easy to travel to without as much traffic and a different climate zone close to home. I-90 is an easy commute even on a Friday night at 5:00pm.

Joanne purchased this house in 2006

Why Joanne chose North Central Cascades

We fell in love with this place due to the high ceilings, fabulous kitchen, separation of suites and of course location. Easton is the outdoor mecca of Washington. We've got the lakes, mountains, hiking, skiing and snowmobiling.

What makes this house unique

So close to all the activities. Golfing and ice skating at Suncadia just 15 minutes down the road. We love being able to go to Lake Easton and walk right out of the house into the woods. Watching the elk walk by right outside the window is beyond description.

Amenities

Easton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2020 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , jacuzzi tub for two. wall heater in bathroom.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Bathroom 3: Toilet and Sink only
  • Jacuzzi tub for two in master suite. Wall heater to keep it extra warm and cozy.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master suite - 1 king
    Master suite - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , day bed with trundle
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , 1 bunk bed twin over full
  • Master suite has one king sized pillow top mattress sleigh bed with two dressers, two end tables, two lamps, french doors to outside. Second master suite has very tall king sleigh bed with end tables and lamps.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
We have a card table and an exta long table with folding chairs for special celebrations. Come prepared for heavy snow fall.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Elk Tracks Lodge
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
5

fully equiped and child friendly

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house for our three families get away with preschoolers and babies. The kitchen was fully equipped to do all sorts of cooking, the house is child friendly with lots of space to run around.

The king beds are quite tall off the ground so if you sleep with your baby you may want to use the other rooms.

The owner was very friendly and easy to reach answering all the requests in a timely manner.

We'll definitely reconsider for our next ski getaway.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Winter Wonderland

  • 5 of 5

My family had another fabulous stay at Elk Tracks Lodge! We returned to celebrate my mother's birthday and spend some quality time together. We truly enjoyed our time sledding and playing in the snow in this peaceful and serene setting. Joanne went out of her way to accommodate us, making the check-in process seamless, and our stay stress-free. We couldn't ask for anything more and are already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! It was a delight to have you. Come again! Joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great winter family get away!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Joanne's Elk's Lodge for NYE 2016. We had 3 families with 5 children under 5. Joanne was extremely accommodating with our schedule and her house was perfect. It was extremely clean and comfortable and fit our families nicely. The kids had a wonderful time playing in the great room and playing in the snow while the parents looked on in the comfort of the family room. Only draw back was that there were only 2 master bathrooms so the families had to share showers - but no big deal. We spent one day skiiinf at Snoqualmie and another day sledding and ice skating at Suncadia. Overall, it was perfect - thanks Joanne!!

Oh - there was also no internet. When I texted Joanne about it she responded immediately and suggested we use a phone as a hot spot and it worked like a charm!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lindsay, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Elk Tracks Lodge was able to accommodate your families. We got to see their beautiful snow sculptures after you left and watch more snow cover them in another six inches or so. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you can come again. Joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Both the property and location were absolutely beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

This property was clean and very well managed. We enjoyed our stay very much. It was also close to a little town called Roswell and the Red Bird Cafe where everything is made from scratch. The biscuits and gravy were delicious. But that is not about the property. This property also had plenty of DVD's to watch. It is also a beautiful place to go for a nature walk. I had several correspondents with the owner and she was very helpful and answered my e-mails promptly. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to get away for a peaceful relaxing vacation. Thank you again for sharing your wonderful home with us.

Thom Smith

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle
1

not worth the money

  • 1 of 5

Unfortunately we had a very disappointing stay at this cabin. For a two night stay with the cleaning fee it was very expensive for what we received. We went for a snowy weekend getaway. The cabin was cold and we started by trying to build a fire in the advertised wood stove, typical for a mountain cabin, yet there was no wood and no instructions to bring your own. Next was dinner and the overhead vent broke and wouldn't turn off. After this we went to relax in the jacuzzi tub and the jets were broken. We called the owner, who was in another state, to ask about some of the issues. She was unable to do much from afar but eventually offered to refund a night. Once we returned we never heard from her and she never returned several emails. One of these issues may not have been a big deal, and if she had followed through on her word we would have let it slide as an off weekend, but we feel taken advantage of. Over the years I've used VRBO a dozen times and never had cause to give a bad rating but I would definitely take heed before spending your money on this property for a precious getaway with loved ones.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alecia, I am so sorry to hear to you were not delighted with your stay at Elk Tracks Lodge. It is true, I was out of town and not able to help with your challenges at the time you were having them. I have refunded one night's stay of $349 as discussed on the phone. I cannot reduce/refund the third party charges. My apologies for the delay. Elk Tracks Lodge is my home that I enjoy and I am thrilled to share with others. It is not a business for me but merely a sharing of my home. I spoke to the housekeeper and the guests staying before and after you and the fan and tub are working fine. I am not sure what the problem was. I don't have instructions for the tub as I just fill it, get in and push the two buttons until it begins....It is functioning at this time. As for the wood, I will update the listing to reflect guests need to provide their own wood. I did reach out to property managers of VRBO type properties and they all advise wood is not provided as a standard amenity. We use the gas furnace to heat the place, and the fireplace, although it adds to the ambience is not designed to be the main source of heat. Again, my apologies you did not feel it was worth the price you paid. I hope the one night refund like we discussed resolves your concerns.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

The perfect snowy getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Elk Tracks Lodge is fantastic! The home is lovely, clean, and stocked with everything you could need. The owner responded quickly and was a delight to work with. The setting is perfect; serene, peaceful, secluded, and just absolutely beautiful when covered in snow. My family went here to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday and she hasn't stopped raving about how wonderful it was, and how the memories we made there will last a lifetime.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jaylin, I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
0.5 Miles
Easton
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
RV/Turtle town
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Suncadia
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Snoqualmie Pass
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Lake Easton
Car: necessary

Lake Easton State Park is a forested, 516-acre year-round camping park with 24,000 feet of freshwater access on the shores of Lake Easton in the Cascade Mountain foothills. The park has beautiful mountain views and hiking trails to explore in the summer and cross country and snowmobiling trails to enjoy in the winter. The park's location also allows for snowy winter-sport opportunities.

Easton Ridge once sported a wonderful trail along its entire length. Hikers can still enjoy that long high route, but the trail disappears in the middle and the southern end is hard to access. Fortunately, the best of the trail is the northern end, where you'll find grand views, rich huckleberry brambles, and endless opportunities to enjoy wildlife--especially the feathered variety. The Easton area is home to one of the largest populations of turkey vultures in the state, and the massive birds of prey (or birds of opportunity, if you prefer) soar en masse over the thermal-producing faces of Easton and Kachess Ridges. Of course, those big birds of opportunity are here for a reason--the region has healthy populations of mammals, big and small, from marmots to mountain goats, beavers to bull elk. Keep your eyes open and you'll see a wide range of critters.

Find the trailhead near the parking area. Leave the parking lot, then turn right onto an unmarked path about 10 feet before the Kachess Ridge Hike sign. Follow an old road upstream along Silver Creek a short distance to a foot bridge across the creek by a small dam.

**note** the road to turn on from the frontage road is called Kachess Dam. You won't see the marking for FR 4818 until you are already on the road.

The trail switchbacks for more than 0.75 mile, gaining 1000 feet, to reach the junction with the Easton Ridge Trail (elev. 3400 ft).

Turn right at the trail junction to head south along the ridgeline. In the next 2 miles you'll climb gradually to a 4470-foot viewpoint on the ridge. Peer down to the small community of Easton alongside Lake Easton. On the other side (to the east) look across the Domerie Creek valley to Domerie Peak and Mount Baldy.

Driving Directions:

From Seattle drive east on I-90 to exit 70. After exiting, turn left over the interstate and then turn left onto the frontage road. Continue a short distance before turning right onto Forest Road 4818 (signed 'Kachess Dam Road'). Drive about 1 mile, then turn right at the next unmarked road junction (temporary sign and a pink square on a tree). Continue another 0.5 mile on the gravel road to the trailhead.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Easton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$349
$1,699
$6,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $200 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 7.7%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties