Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Charming Coastal Ranch Near Shem Creek And Sullivan's Island!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,205 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Full Bath, Close To Shem Creek And Beaches

We have 3 VRBO rentals in Mount Pleasant which are 490202, 515217, 566440. If this property doesn't meet your criteria, please review our other properties. All three properties are located in the heart of Mount Pleasant and are fantastic homes! All three can also be viewed at

This home is centrally located in the heart of Mt. Pleasant only 2 miles from Sullivan’s Island and restaurants/entertainment on Shem Creek, less than 12 minutes to downtown Historic Charleston, and minutes from several top golf courses (Patriots Point is less than 2 miles) and marinas. The home is within blocks of restaurants, taverns, grocery, and shopping. You can have it all without the much higher prices of the islands and downtown hotels.

This charming, comfortable, and rustic ranch style home is situated on a peaceful street located just off Ben Sawyer Boulevard within close proximity to Coleman Boulevard, Highway 17, I-26 and I-526. The property is situated in a tranquil, safe, established neighborhood. The home consists of 3 bedrooms (2 bedrooms with queen size beds / 1 bed with a double size bed). The kitchen features an eat-in area.

The proximity to local beaches, Shem Creek, all sorts of outdoor water activities, and the best food and entertainment the Lowcountry offers, and competitive pricing makes this home the perfect vacation get away. Also enjoy the neighborhood by taking walk or bike ride to the Charleston Harbor, Pitt Street Bridge, or parks that are all within a short distance.


More Details

Property Manager
Ric Biggers
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 4, 2018

About Ric Biggers

Local real estate broker and builder; Very knowledgeable of the Charleston real estate market. Looking forward to providing a great home to Charleston visitors.

Ric Biggers purchased this house in 2004

Why Ric Biggers chose Old Village

This adorable and charming home is in very good condition and can accommodate up to 6-8. The rental rates are priced competitively for this fantastic location and its offerings. The property features 1 flat screen television (36'), 1 small television with DVD player for kids, and wifi internet access.

What makes this house unique

Great location in the heart of Mount Pleasant near Shem Creek make this home a perfect getaway.

Guestbook comments from the manager

A wonderful setting for our wonderful weekend! Thank you!
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 2


Old Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1205 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • The owner has the right to cancel the reservation with a 30 day notice and a 100% refund to the traveler. The traveler has the same right.
Location Type:
  • Village ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Good! 3.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

41% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
16% Complete
Charming Coastal Ranch Near Shem Creek And Sullivan's Island!
average rating of 3.75 based on 14 reviews

Location location location

  • 2 of 5

Although clean & everything to meet your needs, the living room, den, dining room, rugs, & landscaping in desperate need of upgrading.

The garage is a complete eye sore.

Location is idea & convenient to all.

Would not return due to overall condition & expense for such .

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Elaine- Your review of the property is disappointing. Due to the situation with your husband becoming very ill and hospitalized in Charleston, we gave you the opportunity to look at the property prior to committing per your request. Per your email on 11/5/2016, you stated “it appears clean & a place where we will hopefully be safe & yes we are grateful”. You also accepted the quoted price after viewing the property! Shortly thereafter, you mentioned the landscaping. At that time, our landscaper was extremely busy with Hurricane Matthew cleanup and was taking longer than normal to maintain all of his properties, including ours. You were certainly aware of the issues caused by Hurricane Matthew, as you stated in your initial email “We had received substantial damage to our waterfront unit from Matthew”. This was another main reason you needed housing. Ironically, you had an issue with a minimal landscaping cleanup that was needed at our home. Furthermore, the garage and/or access to the garage isn’t part of the rental agreement. And, I also find it very disappointing that I never heard a word from you about anything until receiving your review. In conclusion, thanks for sending your review on Christmas Day! I certainly hope your husband is doing better! Fortunately, VRBO gives owners the opportunity for rebuttal.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Modest, clean accommodations near lots of food and recreation.

  • 4 of 5

I would take my family again.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sarah! I am glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We would definitely stay there again was a great house and a wonderful quiet neighborhood. our son had ankle surgery, was on crutches and couldn't go anywhere for 72 hours. It has a remodeled kitchen 2 bathrooms 3 bedroom washer dryer. 2 grocery stores within minutes and a short drive to Charleston or the beach. it was great it was perfect.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sharon! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and everything worked out well for your son! I look forward to you visiting again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Plan to stay here again

  • 5 of 5

We were meeting in Mount Pleasant for a family gathering since our son and family live there; this house was perfect. Our daughter, husband and son flew in from NM and really enjoyed the use of the bicycles. My brother flew in from Missouri and particularly enjoyed the big screen TV for football and baseball games. The kitchen is great and fully stocked with pots, pans and all manner of utensils, as well as a nice assortment of spices. The beds are comfortable, and the ac works well. The manager provided excellent service and responded promptly to our request to extend our departure. This will be the first place we check on future trips to Mount Pleasant.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Rex! I enjoyed meeting and talking with you during your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your trip and welcome you for future visits. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Complete dissatisfaction, no words to describe

  • 1 of 5

This is without a doubt the worst experience I have had in a rental property, and I have stayed at many. The place was infested with roaches; I informed the owner and he sent out a service to fumigate. I am not talking about a couple of roaches, I mean dozens of live and dead roaches inside the home. It got so bad after fumigation (which is normal) that we had to leave and rent a hotel for a couple of days while the fumigation took effect!

I asked for a refund, but was denied based on the contract. so I would advise that you look around before you rent. This place was one of the cheaper for the area, and now I know why.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just like the reviews, you have good guests and you have poor guests. It's very disappointing to receive poor reviews from people who we are completely unable to satisfy, no matter how hard you try. This particular guest ACCEPTED our contract prior to their arrival on 8/24. Apparently, she didn't read the terms which are very descriptive, thorough and self explanatory. Our contract states that if our guests have ANY issues whatsoever, to contact us immediately and PRIOR to moving into the property. This guest didn’t contact us at their arrival (see next paragraph). If there are ever any issues prior to or at move in, we want to remedy them to prevent any inconveniences. We haven't had any pre-move in issues for any of our properties in over 3 years of using VRBO. This particular guest moved into and accepted our property on 8/24. Not only did they move into the home and spend the night, they didn't contact me until following day stating an issue with insects and demanded a FULL REFUND! The guest should have contacted us immediately if they noticed "dead roaches" in the property. I informed the guest that minimal insects are common for homes in the area and the guest responded: "WE ARE AWARE THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL INSECTS IN THIS AREA, WE HAVE BEEN LIVING IN MOUNT PLEASANT IN TEMPORARY HOUSING FOR A MONTH NOW AND HAVE SEEN ROACHES, SPIDERS, ANTS OF ALL SIZES". I immediately contacted our licensed pest control operator, who provides routine service (yearly contract), to spray the home again for this particular guest. The service company arrived within a couple of hours. The guest states the service company “fumigated” the home which is incorrect. The home was not fumigated (use of smoke or fumes) while the guests were in the home. Fumigating a home with current occupants isn't "normal" as the guest states. “Fumigation” of the home was not necessary and that would be completely unacceptable. Our pest control servicer will supply a satisfaction letter in the near future for review. In conclusion, this particular guest simply didn't read our reservation agreement. Ironically, after having the home serviced for insects, I never heard from them again with any issues whatsoever. I believe she simply wanted a free place to stay while they were in between moves. Unfortunately with the VRBO process, we can’t screen guests like this one. If so, we would have never rented to them. We have had a lot of satisfied guests in the past and will continue to do so.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great Location and Price

  • 4 of 5

It was wonderful to have a house for extended family (all adults) instead of multiple hotel rooms while we attended a funeral. This house had everything we needed (kitchen, beds, WiFi, gathering space & yard) and was in a great location (convenient to stores & central Mt. Pleasant). As previous people have noted, it is on the older side but the price can't be beat. The manager was quick to respond which was important given the short time frame we had. We'd definitely stay here again for a quick trip.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Amy! Sorry for the circumstances of this trip for you, but I'm glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and I hope you can stay again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Charleston Internation Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.25 Miles
Several in the Shem Creek/Coleman Blvd. area
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Patriots Point Links
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 17
Nearest Restaurant
1.25 Miles
Several in the Shem Creek/Coleman Blvd. area
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Sullivans Island
Car: necessary

The property is located in the heart of Mount Pleasant within close proximity to the best restaurants and taverns Mount Pleasant has to offer. Many of which are located in the Shem Creek and Coleman Boulevard area. The home is also located less than 5 minutes to Sullivans Island and 10 minutes to the Isle of Palms. Downtown Historic Charleston is also approximately 12 minutes away. If you want to be in the middle of all of the top attractions, this is a great place to be. The home is located in an established single family residential neighborhood.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $115
Property Damage Protection $59

Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Home is available for short and long term rental.
*Increased rates for Holidays, Cooper River Bridge Run, Spoleto, and SEWE.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties