check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Hear The Sounds Of The Ocean Breaking On The Beach Family & Couples Friendly

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

60 Feet Away From The Semi-private Beach & Ocean

tranquility personified-catch up on reading & peacefulness & serenity in general!-2 full bedrooms-1 king 1 queen THERMOPEDIC MATTRESSES!!!!!colorfull décor & brightness-unhurried general environment conducive to re-charging your sense of humor NEW GE PREMIUM APPLIANCES RECENTLY INSTALLED ON 1/7/2015 THERMOPEDIC MATTRESSES hear the sounds of waves breaking on the beach a mere 60 feet away to help lull you into blissfull sleep and pleasant dreams BEST LOCATION ON ST. CROIX if not the entire Carribean. Secluded location,yet only 15 minutes from the airport,and 5-10 minutes from quality restaurants,and only 10 minutes from shopping. Big box stores,such as Cost-U-less and Plaza Extra,and regular supermarkets. Numerous tours,scuba diving,horseback riding-visit the beer drinking pig. Gentle Winds appropriately named as breezes all day and evening. Most people enjoy the ceiling fans in every room and leave the AC off and windows and sliding glass doors open at night! Big flat screen HD TV with Dish Network TV,DVR,and Blue Ray dvd player! Casino on east end of island with 5 star gourmet dining,or informal eateries. keep some groceries at home in your galley kitchen for cold beverages & snacks. ENJOY YOUR OWN PART OF PARADISE! Just added 11/14/16 additional couch that opens to full sized bed. Unit now sleeps six! Added to tv is sound bar! Adds fullness n drama to all videos!

Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, german, spanish, sanskrit
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016

About ron

Retired owner of real estate brokerage in conn. We owned at the carlton on the fredericksted side of the island,but realized the north shore & gentle winds was the best place to be on the island! Come & share it with us!

ron purchased this condo in 1978

Why ron chose USVI/St. Croix

The best place to be on the island NEWLY INSTALLED GE APPLIANCES AS OF 1/7/2015 thermopedic mattresses

What makes this condo unique

OCEAN FRONT! NEWLY INSTALLED GE PREMIUM APPLIANCES AS OF 1/7/2015 THERMOPEDIC MATTRESSES listen to the sounds of the ocean breaking on the beach to lull you into blissfull sleep and pleasant dreams!


3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Hear The Sounds Of The Ocean Breaking On The Beach Family & Couples Friendly
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews

Property in Disrepair, Unprofessional Owner

  • 1 of 5

We have stayed at Gentle Winds several times in the past. Over the years the property in general seems to have declined. The location is good, but much of the landscape is neglected as are many of the units. This unit in particular - the screen porch pictured was covered with spiders and bugs. DISGUSTING! The door coming into the unit was very difficult to open and would often jam. The rest of the unit was OK but nothing special. The owners are another story. Initially they seemed OK, but we had limited interaction with them until after our visit. We received the following in an email from the owner of the property:

"u left all the lights on and the Air conditioning! Electric rates r the highest in the country,including Hawaii! Gavones! U live in a dream world! R U on drugs,drunks or just stupid!"

We were careful to turn off lights and A/C when not in the unit, so I'm not entirely sure what they meant but any owner that communicates like this I would rather avoid. You probably should too.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These people are liars by fact and omission. First,they broke a $575- custom living room lamp. a copy of how this occurred was received in an email from them involving a dropped bottle of suntan lotion,a reach under the couch,and the breakage of this beautiful lamp. they continue to lie as our housekeeper found all the lights on,ceiling fans,and air conditioning going full blast,hours after their departure. This unit has been painstakingly painted and redecorated by a professional crew that actually lived in the unit for three weeks while doing their expert professional work. a check with the local electric company showed a use of power between $400-$500 for the seven day period! this would indicate the air conditioning was on 24 hours a day! we haven't completed a full inventory yet,so what may have been stolen is not apparent,yet. The property is professionally landscaped n In tip top condition. We recently spent thousands of dollars on refurnishing the clubhouse with magnificent hardwood furniture. this review is obviously a feeble attempt to get back at us because we gave these guests a one,or the lowest possible guest rating.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Lisa S

  • 5 of 5

Great vacation! Our family of 4 (2 teens) had a fantastic week at Gentle Winds. We were there at pretty much the bottom of the low season, so there was practically no one there when we first arrived. This was a bit disconcerting at first, as we were picturing more of a social scene at the beach and pool after hearing about the burger shack on the pool deck. However, after a few hours of settling in and exploring the place, we decided this was pretty much heaven and enjoyed having the pool to ourselves! When a few more guests arrived later in the week, we had to remind ourselves to share nicely. ;-) Unfortunately, the burger shack was closed the entire time except for our last day, where we had very good burgers and drinks with several other guests hanging out at the pool.

The unit was excellent-- very clean, freshly painted, well-equipped kitchen with new appliances (even a blender!). Being on the bottom floor was great because we had front door access right to the pool and beach-- literally steps from the door! My only negative was that the air was a bit stuffy despite the breeze- the lannai could maybe use a ceiling fan. We ended up using the AC at night a couple of times because it was in the 90's and quite humid. Also, we were told there was snorkel gear available in the office, but that turned out not to be the case. Not a big deal-- we purchased some gear at KMart and it worked just fine. Dinners out were good but quite expensive, so we cooked dinner in the condo twice -- saved money and extended the amount of time we could just hang at the beach-- great to have no schedule! There was a bottle of Cruzan Rum and 3 bottles of wine chilling in the fridge when we arrived, and plenty of staples in the cupboards. We felt the location on the island was very convenient-- about 15 minutes into Christiansted, and about a half hour from Frederiksted.We really liked Frederiksted- maybe it was the time of year, but the winds were less strong so the water was more calm for excellent snorkeling. But we enjoyed having the breeze while on the beach at Gentle Winds, so it was really the best of both worlds. I would definitely recommend and would come back again for sure!!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Gentle Winds I-6

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Gentle Winds and this unit was nice, especially the location. You can walk right out the gate to the beach. The only thing needing attention was the bathtub in one of the bathrooms, and only because it was a bit unsightly around the stopper lever. It was clean and pleasant. It also has a nice pool area, clear beach water, and they raked over the sand in the early morning. There is a "beach shack" where they serve hamburger-type food and drinks, but it was only open 4 of the 8 days we were there. There is no grocery story or restaurant within walking distance, which we knew from the property description. We were warned about the Pueblo brand grocery stores, but there are others that were quite nice and easy to find.We were told "There's only one road" - not quite. Instead of providing directions, I was told the car rental place could get us there. The person on duty had not even heard of Gentle Winds Condominiums. What helped was someone else mentioning "the 2 palm trees." We were there after dark and what should have been a 15+ minute drive took us about 45 minutes. There are no street signs or addresses on buildings (I'm not talking about the condo units here) and no signs for Gentle Winds at the property entrance. In fact, it says "Private Road" and has a sign with trees on it. We purposefully didn't turn on that road because we thought we would be trespassing. We finally decided that had to be the place because of the palm trees - the entry road is lined on both sides with palm trees. All of this frustration could have been avoided if the owner had simply posted this info on the web page.

Unfortunately, our trip was greatly disrupted by the remodeling going on right next door. I know it needs to be done sometime, but it still doesn't help when you are there to rest and you are wakened by jack hammering. It started at a decent time (around 9 am) but that was 2 hours ahead of our time zone, and again, we got in late and were trying to sleep. We scrambled to get through breakfast (not at all relaxing) to get away from the noise and to the beach. You could still hear it at the beach and even at the pool. Very annoying. We were also disappointed to see brown grass instead of lush green grass due to a lack of rain. We had a hard time adjusting to the "drive on the left" traffic, especially because the steering wheel is on the left, just like American cars. Knowing all this, we may try again during "season" as we liked the condo.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: we are so glad our guests enjoyed themselves. Normally car rental agencies provide excellent directions. Timing was awkward,as we were unaware our neighbors were remodeling. We had the entire unit painted three weeks ago,n our neighbors lived through that,but painting I guess is quieter. We are glad our guests could join us at all,since their daughter had a troubling miscarriage. Our brand new appliances n big screen HD TV,with Dish hddvr was enjoyed,I'm sure! Thanks for your feedback,n we welcome a return visit in the near future. Regards n best wishes! Remember your satisfaction n enjoyment is our goal at the sea I-6,gentle Winds,St. CROIX ,Usvi
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Jacksonville, Florida

Terriffic Location St. Croix USVI

  • 4 of 5

Delightful condo located right on the beach with the sound of breaking waves to lull you to sleep. Only 15 minutes to downtown and shopping areas from this secluded and very well maintained resort with excellent amenities. Would receive five stars except for some trouble with appliances.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: New appliances AddedN new furniture too Thx for your feedback top of the line new appliances n new furniture added
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Stonington, CT

Wonderful Location and Setting

  • 5 of 5

The North Shore location of Gentle Winds is delightful. It is very private and the expansive grounds and facilities are immaculate. The location of this unit cannot be beat...only steps away from the surf where you can hear the lapping of the waves throughout the night from the bedroom. Very relaxing and beautiful. The pool was fabulous and steps from the beach...perfect if you enjoy spending the day bouncing back and forth between the beach and the pool. We visited during the "off-season" and we felt like we had the entire place to ourselves.

The unit itself was clean, well maintained and well-stocked making our stay easy and comfortable. The unit manager was very helpful and easily accessible to answer questions. The unit is in the choice building on the property nearest to the water.

Although cell service was spotty, there was wifi accessibility in the unit and on the grounds. There are several restaurants close by and grocery store are only 10 minutes or so away.

Overall, the experience was delightful and it exceeded my expectations.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: this response,well written,both in style n content,is normal n customary for guests of at the sea I-6! I'm gratified n glad that the Singer's enjoyed their visit,n it "exceeded their expectations" This is what future guests can anticipate on their visit! BOOK NOW!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Henry Rohlson Intl. Airport
Nearest Barpub
on site snack shack
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
property entrance
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Car: recommended

quiet,calm family friendly unhurried environment-casino on east end of island-many restaurants-several grocery stores including big box stores such as Cost U Less(similar to Costco)


Rates & Availability

Northcentral Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 12.5%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Northcentral Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Ocean and beach view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
This building is oceanfront! The clubhouse offers snorkeling gear.

Partner Offers