Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Rustic and serene cabin w/ great home essentials, close to skiing!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 12

With an eco-friendly design, sustainable craftsmanship, mountain views, and a prime location just steps away from the slopes at SkiBowl, this Government Camp home offers a unique take on lodge living, along with all the perks you'd expect from a Mount Hood vacation rental. With two living areas, a dining hall, and four bedrooms plus a loft housing 12 guests, this is an ideal retreat for large groups looking for an unparalleled mountain experience.

Once the first restaurant in Government Camp, this historic lodge has since be refurbished using locally sourced and upcycled wood to create a modernized, green environment while maintaining a traditional mountain lodge feel. Floor-to-ceiling wood panels and rustic decor reinforce the cabin-like ambiance of the home, along with the roaring gas fireplace that will keep you feeling cozy on those cold snowy nights.

The open layout and multiple common areas both encourage togetherness and camaraderie among your group and allow everyone to spread out and do their own thing. And you'll have plenty indoors to keep you entertained. While some may need to catch up on work emails (there's WiFi throughout), the others can play a game on the Wii, or watch a movie on Netflix or the DVD player. And don't forget CDs, there's a stereo and CD player too!

One of the most popular places to gather on vacation is naturally the kitchen. Spacious and fully stocked, this kitchen was made to handle large meals. There's plenty of prep room along the granite countertops, a brand new stove, all the kitchen essentials you could need, and even barstools at the eat-in bar so others can keep the chefs company while they prepare their masterpiece. Don't be too daunted by the post-meal mess - there's a dishwasher to make clean-up easier. Serve up your meals family style in the dining hall at the elongated wooden table that serves up to 10.

Four bedrooms in addition to the loft will sleep 12 vacationers comfortably. The stunning craftsmanship continues in the bedrooms with locally made beds from Cotton Cloud lined with organic linen sheets for a rejuvenating night's rest (note that the mattresses on these custom, hand-made beds are a little firmer than most, and without a box spring). Upstairs you'll find a bedroom with a queen bed and a second bedroom with two sets of twin bunks, along with a cozy TV room with two futons that can be used as additional sleeping arrangements. Back on the main floor lays another queen bedroom and the fourth bedroom, which holds a twin bunk bed. The lodge provides two full baths.

When it's time to head out, skiers and boarders will already be "home" with the slopes of SkiBowl just a short walk from the front door. Head further up the road via the Glade Trail on snowshoe or cross-country skis (or the 15 minute drive by car) to Timberline Lodge where a hot chocolate and a dose of Oregon history awaits. There's snow tubing, terrain parks, and sleigh rides in the winter, and in the summer make sure to check out Mt. Hood Adventure Park's zip lines, alpine slide, rock wall, mini golf, mountain bike parks and more. There are miles upon miles of trails for hikers and bikers to explore, and fisherman will find plenty of steelhead in the Sandy and Salmon rivers close by.

Whether you're a ski club, on a work retreat, gathering with extended family, or a group of friends on a ski-venture, this unique Mt. Hood vacation rental offers the perfect amount of space and privacy to accommodate your group. With a unique layout and design and a stellar location, this Mt. Hood vacation rental will be one to remember.

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, OR - Mt Hood / Hood River Office
-
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2017

Amenities

Government Camp Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Rustic and serene cabin w/ great home essentials, close to skiing!
average rating of 4.586207 based on 29 reviews
1

Beautiful house but poorly maintained

  • 1 of 5

Great location and house but when we arrived, we learned there was no gas! That meant we couldn't use the gas powered fireplace or stove. The propane tank for the house wasn't filled and maintained properly. We checked in on a Saturday and left on Tuesday and they couldn't get the tank filled the entire time we were there. We spent the whole vacation trying to cook every meal for our extended family in one tiny microwave. If you rent this house in the winter, be prepared to eat out for ever meal because the kitchen wasn't functional.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We are very sorry the gas company was unable to come at their scheduled time due to snow in the area. This has been taken care of, and the guest has been refunded for the extreme inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love govy!

  • 5 of 5

Awesome location, great cabin, very comfortable. Enough room for my entire family and friends.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Fun!

  • 5 of 5

Hands down great location and super spacious! Especially for two families equally to ten! The kids were able to entertain themselves upstairs while the adults were able to make dinner and have a couple drinks. :) Loads of space for everyone and nice walk to restaurants, coffee, and groceries!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The location is perfect!

  • 5 of 5

This house is big and had enough room for everybody! We only stayed for 2 days but the tv and DVD didn't work but that was fine for us. It is the perfect location to walk to the shops and general store! It is walking distance to take your kids to cosmic tubing!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location, below average conditions Inside

  • 3 of 5

Amazing location and wonderful views. Everything else about the house was below average, old, broken, dirty, moldy, etc. Our family actually were confused how this cabin had such good reviews prior to our stay. Coffee pots broken, stove burners out, bad burnt smell when we cooked, very low water pressure in shower, mild in bathrooms, mouse poop in upper bathroom, no central heat. List goes on

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We are sorry to see that this stay was not more enjoyable. The fireplace is the main source of heat for this home, and there are cadet heaters in the bedrooms. There is a new coffeepot in the home and the stove has been inspected. Water pressure in the area does sometimes fall, but for the most part is steady and reliable throughout the year. The mice issue has been addressed, and the Property Manager is continually working on making this home a comfortable place to stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location! Great for holiday gathering!

  • 4 of 5

Lovely rustic home to bring family together. Dining table is superb for large group. Well stocked kitchen.

Comfortable for sleeping but not to lounge around. Not enough furniture in living space. Loved the location. Folks at General Store were exceedingly friendly. Ratskeller was good place for pizza.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties