Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Rustic and serene cabin w/ great home essentials, close to skiing!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 12

With an eco-friendly design, sustainable craftsmanship, mountain views, and a prime location just steps away from the slopes at SkiBowl, this Government Camp home offers a unique take on lodge living, along with all the perks you'd expect from a Mount Hood vacation rental. With two living areas, a dining hall, and four bedrooms plus a loft housing 12 guests, this is an ideal retreat for large groups looking for an unparalleled mountain experience.

Once the first restaurant in Government Camp, this historic lodge has since be refurbished using locally sourced and upcycled wood to create a modernized, green environment while maintaining a traditional mountain lodge feel. Floor-to-ceiling wood panels and rustic decor reinforce the cabin-like ambiance of the home, along with the roaring gas fireplace that will keep you feeling cozy on those cold snowy nights.

The open layout and multiple common areas both encourage togetherness and camaraderie among your group and allow everyone to spread out and do their own thing. And you'll have plenty indoors to keep you entertained. While some may need to catch up on work emails (there's WiFi throughout), the others can play a game on the Wii, or watch a movie on Netflix or the DVD player. And don't forget CDs, there's a stereo and CD player too!

One of the most popular places to gather on vacation is naturally the kitchen. Spacious and fully stocked, this kitchen was made to handle large meals. There's plenty of prep room along the granite countertops, a brand new stove, all the kitchen essentials you could need, and even barstools at the eat-in bar so others can keep the chefs company while they prepare their masterpiece. Don't be too daunted by the post-meal mess - there's a dishwasher to make clean-up easier. Serve up your meals family style in the dining hall at the elongated wooden table that serves up to 10.

Four bedrooms in addition to the loft will sleep 12 vacationers comfortably. The stunning craftsmanship continues in the bedrooms with locally made beds from Cotton Cloud lined with organic linen sheets for a rejuvenating night's rest (note that the mattresses on these custom, hand-made beds are a little firmer than most, and without a box spring). Upstairs you'll find a bedroom with a queen bed and a second bedroom with two sets of twin bunks, along with a cozy TV room with two futons that can be used as additional sleeping arrangements. Back on the main floor lays another queen bedroom and the fourth bedroom, which holds a twin bunk bed. The lodge provides two full baths.

When it's time to head out, skiers and boarders will already be "home" with the slopes of SkiBowl just a short walk from the front door. Head further up the road via the Glade Trail on snowshoe or cross-country skis (or the 15 minute drive by car) to Timberline Lodge where a hot chocolate and a dose of Oregon history awaits. There's snow tubing, terrain parks, and sleigh rides in the winter, and in the summer make sure to check out Mt. Hood Adventure Park's zip lines, alpine slide, rock wall, mini golf, mountain bike parks and more. There are miles upon miles of trails for hikers and bikers to explore, and fisherman will find plenty of steelhead in the Sandy and Salmon rivers close by.

Whether you're a ski club, on a work retreat, gathering with extended family, or a group of friends on a ski-venture, this unique Mt. Hood vacation rental offers the perfect amount of space and privacy to accommodate your group. With a unique layout and design and a stellar location, this Mt. Hood vacation rental will be one to remember.

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, OR - Mt Hood / Hood River Office
-
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

Amenities

Government Camp Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

67% Complete
20% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Rustic and serene cabin w/ great home essentials, close to skiing!
average rating of 4.5 based on 34 reviews
3

Great location but

  • 3 of 5

This cabin has a great location right in downtown Government Camp that makes it really convenient. It has a great cabin-y feel and an open living/dining area for a group. The beds however are rock hard and I'm pretty sure the pillows are also vintage. Would def recommend bringing your own!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect spot for our family

  • 5 of 5

Great location.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
5

Great family stay

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay - great location prior to the eclipse and very spacious. Convenient to shops and fun attractions for the kids.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good location in town

  • 4 of 5

This was a good location if you like to be right in town. There is a lot going on there but it's nice to be close to everything. The unit was cabin-like and well used but still nice. Parking was ample. We are disappointed that the cleaners were still there when we were supposed to check in. They were an hour late and we had people standing around waiting to bring stuff in. Apparently there was a mix-up with the cleaning staff.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We apologize for the hiccup with housekeeping and appreciate this guest's patience in the matter. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Government camp rental

  • 3 of 5

The house looked exactly like the pictures. The skateboarders were in front of the house every night and dogs often barked. The camp next door had a loud dodgeball game which prevented the kids from sleeping before 9 (kids had to get up at 5am for skiing daily). The house itself was great though.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Beautiful house but poorly maintained

  • 1 of 5

Great location and house but when we arrived, we learned there was no gas! That meant we couldn't use the gas powered fireplace or stove. The propane tank for the house wasn't filled and maintained properly. We checked in on a Saturday and left on Tuesday and they couldn't get the tank filled the entire time we were there. We spent the whole vacation trying to cook every meal for our extended family in one tiny microwave. If you rent this house in the winter, be prepared to eat out for ever meal because the kitchen wasn't functional.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We are very sorry the gas company was unable to come at their scheduled time due to snow in the area. This has been taken care of, and the guest has been refunded for the extreme inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.

You might like these similar properties