check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Modern Rustic Retreat

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

Modern and hip house up on a hill with great views of Santa Monica mountains. Great place to entertain, both inside and out. Feels like you are on a secluded retreat.

One acre lot, RV hookups, pet friendly, Dwell modern style, family friendly, large enclosed yard. BBQ with beautiful front deck all set up for alfresco dining.

3 bedroom, 2 bath house in a quiet residential area. Master bathroom features a two person jacuzzi tub next to a spa like steam shower. Outdoor shower with total privacy. Set back off of a cul de sac. 25 minutes to the Malibu beach, 45 minutes to LAX. An hour and a half from Disneyland, 45 minutes from Santa Barbara. 20 minutes to Camarillo Outlet Mall. Horse ranch with horses to rent 5 minutes from the house, beautiful state park hiking and biking trails five minutes from the house.Trail head at corner of property that opens up to hiking.


Owner
Daniel Packman
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Daniel Packman

My wife Hollie, two daughters Sydney and Maxine, Lola (our black lab), and I travel a lot between our houses in Portland Or. and Thousand Oaks, Ca. We are both entrepreneurs, Hollie a Communication consultant and I an architectural designer We homeschool our children and consider it a privilege with to have them in our lives all the time. We also co-founded and oversee an outreach to the homeless and those in transition in the Santa Monica and Malibu area for the last 15 years (www.sosmalibu.org). As a family we love adventure and life. Snow skiing almost weekly during the winter between Mt. Hood, Or. and Snow Valley,Utah. Mountain biking in the Santa Monica mountains and Bend, Or. I am an avid marathon runner, trail runner, and hiker. We love food from all parts of the world and get to experience it often when we are in Portland visiting the famous food carts.

Daniel Packman purchased this house in 2004

Why Daniel Packman chose Newbury Park

Though the neighborhood is an older subdivision of small homes and lots, our ONE ACRE property sits atop of a hill above a cul de sac with stunning views. There are no houses behind us that give total privacy for the outdoor shower. Every afternoon we get breezes from the coast that is only 8 miles away

What makes this house unique

Great entertaining space. The 12' wide bi-folding doors open up to the front patio with features a 12' long table for large gathers, fire pit, bbq. and hammock overlooking the Santa Monica mountains. Equipped with outdoors speakers that can be hook up your laptop or smartphone for music listening.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Modern Rustic Retreat
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
5

Great home in Newbury Park!

  • 5 of 5

We needed a place to come for Christmas and be with our daughter (who lives in LA) and bring our son in from Kansas. The accommodations were comfortable and the home offers great flow in kitchen and living areas. Great for family time! Also a pleasant picturesque setting with great mountain views...very much a "retreat". Easy/quick access to things you need (groceries, etc.) and stuff to do.

Nice clean home that is as advertised, with a kind and quick-to-respond owner for any questions you may have. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Such a fun house!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I enjoyed our stay immensely. This was such a fun house with many indoor/outdoor accessories that added to our stay. My 13 year old son and 11 year old daughter loved exploring the property. The kitchen had everything we needed and the home owner was very attentive/responded very quickly to any questions we had. We would definitely stay at this house again.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Million dollar views

  • 5 of 5

Why go to Italy? You can see beautiful sunsets in the hills of CA! Modern Rustic Retreat is just a described, the name says it all.

We will be back. Thanks to Daniel,too. He was a great host.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco
5

Wonderful Quiet Space

  • 5 of 5

Before we arrived I had corresponded with Daniel, the owner, via email and telephone. Daniel responded imediately to my questions and was very nice and patient.

Upon our arrival, there was a basket of goodies for us on the kitchen table with a nice "Welcome" note from Daniel. We had a long drive, so when we arrived at the house, everything was just as it was pictured on VRBO's website. NO surprises. It was nice, because upon walking in, we could really just exhale and relax.

The kitchen is a wonderful space and it connects directly to the outdoor space, which is amazing. It's nice becaus the house it tucked into a cul de sac, which allows you privacy. We bumped into 2 of the neighbors, who were walking their dogs. They were super nice! You just got a very nice vibe from the home.

Also, what was so nice is the manual that Daniel leaves with specific instructions to follow. Some even have pictures that demonstrate how to open a door, or shut off the thermostat. It's the little attention to detail that we really appreciated, along with the lovely hospitality.

My husband and daughter were very happy with our stay, as was I.

My one suggestion would be to just get a couple of sturdier cutting boards instead of the plastic ones. Maybe a wooden and heavier plastic one for animal proteins. But other than that, we loved it!

Thanks so much Daniel.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco Bay Area
5

Fantastic for kids, beautiful design, great layout, responsive owner

  • 5 of 5

I am giving this wonderful house five stars despite a few (very minor) issues because this house is head and shoulders above the rest. Gorgeous design, functional air conditioning, perfect layout for a family (and we have three kids under 6), courteous and responsive owners, good access to supermarkets and freeway.

A few things were not 100%, like in the master bedroom one of the blinds couldn't very easily be lifted due to a broken hook. The shower in the master bathroom was either not working properly, or perhaps I just need more instruction, but the water flow was such that I ended up using the kids' bathroom instead. Also didn't love the fact that despite a $150 cleaning fee, if you check out on Sundays you are asked to drag all three trash cans to the curb (and it's a LONG, bumpy driveway) filled with other guests' trash. I did say something to the owner, who was kind and responsive, so perhaps he will change that.

Great little jacuzzi tub in the master as well, which came in handy for bathing the children. Beautiful and fun yard. Overall experience was great. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bakersfield
5

Beautiful Location/Property

  • 5 of 5

This home has a great view and an amazing outdoor patio. It was the perfect spot for us to relax at after a nice day at the beach and doing some hiking in the area. The only thing that wasn't 5 star was the master bed ... we missed our comfy bed from home. Other than that I'd say that the location, view, and quality of this home are more than we expected and we far preferred staying here over a hotel. The price was great and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here the next time we are in the area.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed staying at our Modern Rustic Retreat. It sounds like you were able to relax, enjoy the area, and take in the spectacular views. Well... I can officially say that and I have earned another "star" from you because we just got a new KING size bed a couple days ago that has a super comfy pillow top mattress! This bed is better than the one I sleep in every night. We also upgraded the second bedroom with a Queen to replace the Double. Please come back soon with your family and enjoy a perfect night of sleep. Thanks Robert for the very helpful critical feedback. Best, Daniel
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Casa Conejo House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Dec 11 2016 - Jun 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,906
$7,107
 
 
Summer
Jun 16 2017 - Sep 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$1,900
$7,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
$7,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $50

No more than (10) people on the property at any time. Maximum occupancy for sleeping to be no more than (8). There is an additional charge of $75/per night for each adults over (4). No more than (3) cars in the driveway. Only (2) additional cars are allowed to park below in the cul de sac. No parking to the left of the row rocks at the top of the driveway. This home is for lodging and not to be used for large gathering. It is a quiet neighborhood with close neighbo

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Casa Conejo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master Bathroom has a separate 2 person jacuzzi tub and steam shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
No more than (10) people on the property at any time. Maximum occupancy for sleeping to be no more than (8). No more than (3) cars in the driveway. Only (2) additional cars are allowed to park below in the cul de sac. No parking to the left of the row rocks at the top of the driveway. This home is for lodging and not to be used for large gathering. It is a quiet neighborhood with close neighbors that enjoy peace and harmony. Outside music not to be too loud and off by 11:00 p.m. No smoking inside the house. When you check-out please start load of towels, strip the beds and put the linens in the Laundry room for the house cleaner. Please load your dishes into the dishwasher and turn it on and please remember to put things back where they were originally so the next guest can also enjoy...thanks...

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties