Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Inquire for last Minute discount- Unique 2 Unit Rental(4Br/3BA) water view

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Overview

About the property

An Acre lot, waterview right beside a Canal, central to all amenities.

Welcome to the Hidden Gem!!

It’s located in secluded wooded acre lot in the beautiful Hatteras Island. Perfect island vacation place to enjoy all aspects of nature - ocean, bay, wildlife, water views and still in midst of the town with all amenities, walking distance from local shopping store, entertainment, eateries, and beach.

A freshly renovated two unit house, new in the OBX vacation rental market!!

Perfect renting opportunity for a large family get-together. The Main floor has 3 Bedrooms / 2 Bathrooms, very spacious Kitchen with in-kitchen breakfast area and a separate dining room adjacent to Living room in an open setup design.

The second floor has a separate unit, connecting through internal stairs and separate entry/exit as well. It is 1 Bedroom/Bathroom unit with full Kitchen and in-kitchen dining area.

Lower Unit:

The Master Bedroom is very spacious with a large walk-in closet and attached master bathroom. It has a queen bed and a 40” flat screen Smart TV. It is fully renovated, fresh paint and new hardwood floor. The attached bathroom is also renovated, tiled walls and floor, has a wide & deep soaker tub for a relaxing bath. The sliding mirror door separates bedroom and bathroom, opens space and add privacy at the same time.

The second bedroom has a queen bed, a spacious closet, it is also renovated, fresh paint and new hardwood floor.

The Third bedroom is sure to catch kid’s attention, it has 2 set of bunk beds and a roomy closet, fresh paint and new hardwood floor.

The second bathroom is in the hallway, which is also renovated, tiled walls and floor, Multi-Jetted full body shower with sliding glass doors and a shower bench.

Our spacious kitchen is freshly painted and equipped with all appliances for a home like cooking experience: Electric stove, oven, griddle, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, blender, dishwasher and full size refrigerator with ice maker. Adjoining to kitchen is laundry room with full size washer and dryer.

The outside porch, wraps around on the house in front and canal-side with a spacious lower deck with the water view. You can enjoy sun-rise and sun-set from the porch/deck.

Upper unit has a Queen Bed in the Bedroom and A Full Bed and Futon. The unit has its own Flat screen TV. It has a fully furnished Kitchen with full size refrigerator and coffee maker. The Upper Unit also has a full bathroom with soaker bathtub.

While here at Island I am sure most of the time would be spent at the beach, for the days when it’s not an option or to relax in evening, we have a large screen flat smart TV in living room with DVD player and HDMI connection. The TV has free Netflix streaming if you want to watch a Netflix movie We also have a large flat screen smart TV in Master bedroom. We also have free wi-fi so you can access internet..

What makes this home so special is that, it’s cradled in the lap of nature and wildlife. It is nestled in Island greenery and has a creek flowing right beside which allows you to enjoy and see a lot of Island Fauna, we have spotted families of deer grazing in the yard and have seen Ospreys, Egrets, Herons and Pelicans fishing in the creek. It’s like having a house in woods only this one is right in midst of Island humdrum.

In Off season, fall or Spring season, you do have the option of just renting the downstairs Unit, If you have a smaller group. The access to upstairs unit is lockable. Please e-mail and inquire for adjusted price.

Complimentary – Cot, air beds, beach chairs & cooler. For your peace of mind and security purposes, we have outside perimeter surveillance with video cameras.

The way to house is right off the highway 12, through unpaved path between Jo bell Beauty salon and Hotline store. The speed limit is 5 mph on the unpaved road, pass the commercial yard and house is all the way back next to the canal. Check out the Aerial view picture. Also check the given URL link

More Details

Owner
Seema
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 2, 2017

About Seema

We fell in love with Outerbanks when we visited the beaches around 11 years ago. There after we were back so often to get our fill of the easy pace of Island life and the peace and quiet, that eventually we decided to buy a little piece of paradise for us. As we are not living here full time we are glad to share it with you

Seema purchased this house in 2013

Why Seema chose Hatteras Island

When we saw the house it immediately felt like home, it is secluded and surrounded by woods which makes you feel like you are in a countryside by yourself. Yet the bustling beach life is just few minutes walk.

What makes this house unique

Its a two unit house ... so if two families are taking a joint trip or if Grandparents are joining for Vacation but want a little space of their own, there is a whole one bedroom Unit with its own Kitchen, bathroom and independent access.

Amenities

Buxton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet , Newly updated with top of line wide soaker tub and shower.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet , Freshly renovated, high end shower with glass slidding doors
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed , two set of Bunks, sleeps four kids.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom -Newly renovated with fresh Painted and floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Newly renovated, fresh paint and updated with wood flooring
    Upper Unit Bedroom - 1 queen , Sleeps two
    Upper Unit - Additional sleeping - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The master bedroom is spacious, has a queen bed, a large walk-in closet and a freshly renovated bathroom with a wide soaker bathtub. The second bedroom has queen bed and has a big closet, the third bedroom has 2 set of bunk beds and a big closet.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
LINENS, bath and beach towels are NOT provided. Guests are requested to bring their own.

Reviews

4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Inquire for last Minute discount- Unique 2 Unit Rental(4Br/3BA) water view
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
Wilmington, DE
4

Great location in relation to guarded beach

  • 4 of 5

It was a pleasant surprise, since we were traveling with children, to find the Hatteras Lighthouse beach was manned by life guards. This beach has no homes near it, so any other Hatteras properties close to a beach will be close to an unguarded beach. With riptides, even if I had ocean-front, I think I would have driven to the guarded beach this home was so close to.

Seema was easy to deal with, and the unique floorplan with a separate upstairs living area (fridge, fusbol, etc.) was a good fit with the teens in our crowd.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Selma, NC
5

Fall Vacation Stay

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed our stay. The name definitely fits with "Hidden Gem". Close to entrance to Hatteras lighthouse access ramps 43 and 44. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

The Hidden Gem

  • 3 of 5

The village was great. Much nicer than anticipated. There were a few maintenance issues at the villa, but nothing that hindered us in anyway, and the owner said she would be fixing them. We did have two main complaints. The first is that there is no trash dumpster on site and you are responsible for the proper dumping of trash. The second and biggest complaint is the overabundance of bugs (namely mosquitoes). The property sites back in a semi-wooded area, next to a canal. Everyone received multiple, horrible mosquito bites while staying at the villa. We believe if the grounds were better maintained and treated this would not have been an issue, as we were not attacked by bugs anywhere else on the island. The mosquitoes made it impossible to go outside at the villa for any length of time, and therefore we could not properly enjoy the beautiful deck.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, appreciate that you liked the house and enjoyed your time at the Island. As you noticed, and others at Island will tell you that too, mosquitoes are indeed a big nuisance everywhere here apart from beaches and their numbers goes up or down depending on which way the wind blows. We do have the pest control company which takes care of all the pests, however being that Island has a precarious ecosystem people avoid using very harsh chemicals which might affect local wildlife. I believe, mosquitoes was one of the biggest hindrance for wright brothers during their first flight too. I will update the listing to encourage the guests to bring enough insect repellent. About the Trash disposal issue, I know even though it’s a hassle that’s the only way to get rid of Guest’s waste as there is no Garbage disposal truck that comes to the house and we definitely don’t want the next guests having to deal with previous guests waste.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Greensboro, NC
5

Perfect escape

  • 5 of 5

This is beautiful house with plenty of space. 4 big bed rooms, 2 large family rooms, 3 full bathrooms, 2 huge kitchens and plenty of space to sit and eat. Whole house is in great condition with state of the art bathroom. Outside canal is beautiful and sitting and watching it from deck is so relaxing. This house is in main Buxton town and close to pretty much everything (short walking distance). We loved our stay there. Will highly recommend it for anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you.... Glad you and your family had a great time... you guys are always welcome back. Seema
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Great for family getaway

  • 4 of 5

We went with another family and had the greatest of time at this house. Photos gave us good idea about what to expect and we were not disappointed. We had our dog along and he had fun too. Its secluded but close enough to walk to beach which we did few times. Will definitely love to go back someday.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Beach
0.8 Miles
2-3 mins driving / 10 minutes walking
Car: necessary

Very close to Hatteras Light House, walking distance to the beach and several eating places and local grocery store.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Buxton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$1,995
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 12.75%

TAX RATE IS 12.75 %
A 3% convenience fee will be added for credit card payments.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties