check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Breathtaking mountain views, hot tub, game room, 40 acres, swimming pool

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
18
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

About the property

40 acres 6 bed 3.5 baths inground pool all wood cabin!

SLEEPS 17 IN BEDS

****

YOU WILL LOVE YOUR STAY WITH US. And the best part it is cheaper then renting 3-4 rooms in a Hotel. You can all be together.******

This beautiful Log home is located a short 30 minute drive from Chattanooga, TN. We are not located on Lookout Mountain however we "lookout over mountains." Experience the ultimate in relaxation as you look off your porch at miles and miles of serene beautiful landscape and mountains. Grab a cup of coffee, relax, enjoy this time with your family. Best of all we are NOT a rental company. We are the owners, we live 5 minutes away and we are here to make sure you have the best vacation you have had! Think about it...this is YOUR TIME, YOUR MONEY! It should be relaxing, enjoyable and exciting. We PROMISE you will love our home. Check out our other listing Choo Choo Lodge VRBO 484070..See our reviews!

Just a short 5 minute drive off I-75.

Here are our rooms and the beds in each.

"Bears Cove" Main floor. King Bed. Master bath with double sinks, jacuzzi tub and shower with a seat and his and hers showerheads. Has french doors out to the pool. Also has a recliner.

"The Overlook" Top Floor. King Bed. Steps away from bathroom with a tub/shower combo. Has an ottoman that folds out into a twin bed with a thick memory foam mattress.

"Drift Away" Top Floor. Queen Bed. Reading Nook with chair.

"The Hideaway" Top floor. Note**you must walk through this room to get to "Drift Away"

"Bears Den" Basement Level. Queen Bed. Steps away from bathroom with tub/shower combo. Gameroom is also on this level.

"Rivers Edge" Basement Level. 1 Set of twin bunk beds and 2 sets of day beds with trundles. Total sleeps 6 in twin beds.

Main level: Drive up level. 2 car garage. Pool. Kitchen, Dining, Living room, laundry, "Mountain Memories" bed and bath.

Top Floor: Sitting room with Couch, loveseat and recliner.

The Hideaway, The Overlook and Drift Away are on this level. Also 1 full bath.

Basement level: Bears Den, Rivers Edge, full bath and Game room.

This home is Tornado/Storm ready with solid poured concrete basement walls. Safe!

More Details

Owner
Rachael Armstrong
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2017

About Rachael Armstrong

Hi! We are Joseph and Mary Armstrong! We want to welcome you to our home. Experience the difference in renting from actual owners instead of a rental company! We know once you see it on here you will have to come and visit us! We have the finest furnishings, fully equipped kitchen, and wonderful custom marble and granite bathrooms. We enjoy the serene surroundings of this home. The peace and quiet is unmatched. Trust me the drive to downtown is nothing! 30 short minutes. Although some attractions on Lookout Mountain may take longer to get to than 30 minutes but it is worth it to stay here!

Rachael Armstrong purchased this cabin in 2014

Why Rachael Armstrong chose Georgia

Our home is located just outside of Chattanooga, TN (30 min) in the peace and quite of the north Georgia foot hills. We guarantee you will have the best experience here at Lookout Cabin. Our home has NEVER been smoked in and is clean as a whistle! See you soon!

What makes this cabin unique

On a beautiful hillside with views for miles. All wooden inside. So beautiful! Sleeps 17!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

Breathtaking mountain views, hot tub, game room, 40 acres, swimming pool
average rating of 4.825 based on 40 reviews
5

Best cabin we've ever rented!

  • 5 of 5

For many years our extended family join together to spend time together under one roof. We have experience in lots of rental cabins. This cabin wins the first place prize. It's big! The furnishings are all well maintained and of excellent quality. The attention to small details can't be beat. The decor of the cabin is above and beyond! The thing that I enjoyed most was probably how well stocked it was. Lots of cabins only have the basics and can leave a family scrambling for how to prepare meals. The kitchen in this cabin has it all. We loved having good quality cookware. We made cookies and candies and were delighted to find a hand mixer. The extra frig in the garage is perfect and much needed when gathering a large group. We explored Chattanooga during the day while dinner was cooking back at the cabin in the huge crock-pot. The owners were responsive but not overbearing. The location was perfect and the views were out of this world (waking up to the view from the upstairs bedroom on the right can't be beat!). You won't be disappointed if booking this cabin. We loved it. Several of our family members asked me to book this one again!!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing !!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time in the cabin .. it felt like home .. the owners were great.. we couldn't ask for a better time . We didn't have to leave the cabin almost the whole time we were there . We enjoyed the fire pit, the jacuzzi and everything else !!! I would stay again and again !!!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your 5-star review! It was such a pleasure to meet you and your family. You don't know how much your kind words mean to us. Thank you for the compliment of the owners! We hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future! The group that checked out the week before you left us a one-star review and spoke many lies about my family and I thank you so much for helping us to get the truth out to people! You are all just a wonderful group of people and it was a pleasure to have you stay in our home! Your Friends, The Armstrong's The Robinson's
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
1

Worst Customer Service Experience with a Cabin Rental

  • 1 of 5

I have rented many of cabins over the years and many with my extended family and this is the first time I have experienced the worst customer service from owners. It was truly unprofessional and the only reason that I am giving this review one star is because the cabin was nice and clean.

Being a Marketing/Business major and owning my own business it is hard for me to give someone a negative review but I also feel it is my job to let other consumers know of bad experiences so that their hard earned money and valuable family time is not wasted by booking this cabin. We will not use this cabin ever again and we are currently looking forward to not ever speaking to the owners again.

We checked in on Thursday night and two of my family members discovered that the ping pong table was broken and not just broken, it had never been installed correctly and was missing numerous brackets. So we were lucky that no one was hurt when in collapsed. We proceeded to call the owners and have them come to repair it. They stated that tools were next to the refrigerator and that someone would come over soon to look at it. It took 2 people to fix, one of them being our family member, which is unacceptable.

We woke up Friday morning to the stove not working correctly. We let the owners know of this as well that morning. They had to come over 6 times with multiple stoves and once again our family members having to help carry stoves in and out of the cabin. It took them until 1130pm on Friday to have it fixed.

During this time my sister and I decided to talk to the owners about how we were displeased with so many disruptions during our time together as a family. She did not seem to be concerned with it or offer anything to make us feel better about this, she proceeded to tell us all of the things that her family was having to miss by helping out at the cabin. We have spoken to them since and none of the conversations have been acceptable and they have even gotten to the point of threatening to review us as guests. We were nothing but kind and understanding to them, but we also felt as paying customers that we deserved better than the treatment we received. Just a few tips for the owners, never have renters do repair work, never threaten to give us a bad review, never make a paying renter feel bad that you are missing out on things and in the future if you disrupt someone 7 times in 24 hours make sure you have a plan to remedy it.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are absolutely heartbroken that someone would write such blatant lies in order to slander our 5 star service because we wouldn't give them $350 back. Our guests are our top priority and we have and will always continue to go above and beyond to make sure everyone receives the best service on Earth. Our other 38 5star reviews on this rental as well as our other 50 plus 5 star reviews on our other property VRBO 484070 will show you the truth of how we treat our guests. The only thing that actually happened to these guests was the ping pong table issue. It did not "fall apart" as the claim states. A leg screw came out. She called to complain and I had the owner there within 10 minutes. She was never told to fix anything herself. The next day I received a text from the last guests that had stayed and they told me the stove had been messing up. This lady never contacted me about the stove. I will be happy to show you our text where I text her and said "The last guests had issues with the stove may we bring you a new one?" That's it. When I got there her parents offered me some ham that had just came out of this oven. Come to find out, after replacing the oven, it was actually a blown breaker. Yes, the owner was there until 11pm to fix it so they wouldn't have any issues! They sung Christmas carols in the living room while this was being done. The lady who wrote this review and her sister backed me into a corner in the kitchen and told me if I didn't give them $350 back for the ping pong table and stove issue she would "make sure no one ever comes here again because I'm in marketing and I have a huge network, I will destroy you." She put her finger in my face and walked off. Later her mother came and apologized for her daughters actions and said they were embarrasing her. The mother stated this is the nicest home they have ever stayed in and she greatly appreciated our help.. I offered them $150, a late check out and a free night! We beg of all of you who read this, read it with an open mind. We were there immediately to fix the ping pong issue and also fixed the stove BEFORE it was an issue. I filed a report with VRBO the night I left because she threatened to leave a bad review if I didn't refund her $350. They said all I could do was share the truth with you all. Please give us a chance! You can see by all of our positive reviews prior to this, what type of REAL service we offer our guests, our friends. We can't wait to SERVE YOU! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
20 1
5

The Perfect Thanksgiving Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was just perfect for our family. We chose this house to stay in for the week of Thanksgiving. We had quite the full house with 11 adults and 11 kids (2 of whom were babies) and yet we never felt cramped at all. There was plenty of space for everyone. The owners and managers were very responsive. We absolutely loved the property. The trees had gorgeous fall colors and we even used the back area by the fire pit for our family pictures. The thing we loved the most was the peace and quiet. There are absolutely no neighbors and it was so quiet all the time. Considering everyone in my family lives in big cities, it was a really great change of pace. There was plenty of room for all the grandkids to run around. They loved running up and down the hill. Plus, there are really great attractions nearby! We went to the aquarium, tunnel hill, Lookout Mountain battlefield, and shopping in Chattanooga! If you are looking for a great cabin in the Chattanooga area, this is the one!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We appreciate guests like you. Please check us out in the future! We would love to have you again! Your Friends, The Armtrong's The Robinson's
Did you find this review helpful?
1 4
5

Beautiful mountain get away

  • 5 of 5

The cabin on Lookout Mountain almost as stunning as the views. The location was perfect, close to Chattanooga yet out-of-the-way. The cabin spacious and well accommodated. And our host great to work! so much for allowing me in your lovely house.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Great getaway. The home had everything it stated and more!

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place. Rachel was very helping for my prep Lanning of the trip. She definitely goes above and beyond to make sure visitors have everything needed. Our company had a three day retreat here. We loved it!

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

Nearest Airport
21 Miles
Chattanooga Regional
Nearest Barpub
20 Miles
Chattanooga
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Concord Golf
Nearest Train
22 Miles
Tennessee Valley Railroad tours available
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
I-75
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Cracker Barrel
Nearest Beach
33 Miles
Lake not beach. Chester frost Park
Car: necessary

Rafting for all ages at Webb Brothers. 3708 TN-30, Reliance, TN 7369

(423) 338-2373

Whitewater Rafting site of 96 olympics Ocoee River 1548 TN-68, Ducktown, TN 37326 (800) 251-4800

Amusement Park for all ages Lake Winnepesaukah 1730 Lakeview Dr, Rossville, GA 30741 (706) 866-5681

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tunnel Hill Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 17 2017 - Jan 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 30 2017 - Feb 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 6 2017 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
Nightly Rate
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Nightly Rate
Mar 3 2017 - Mar 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Nightly Rate
Mar 6 2017 - Mar 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Spring is in the AIR
Mar 15 2017 - May 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Summer Spectacular
May 20 2017 - Aug 19 2017
5 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $200
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tunnel Hill Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Guest Floor Main - toilet
    Top Floor Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Basement Level Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 and 1/2 Baths
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Drift Away - 1 queen
    The Hideaway - 2 twin/ single
    Rivers Edge - 3 bunk bed
    Bears Den - 1 queen
    The Overlook - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Bear Cove - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers