Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peaceful, canal home in desirable Punta Gorda Isles. Walk to Fishermen's Village

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 28 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, 2 bathroom canal home with heated pool, easy drive to many beaches

Come stay a while and see why we absolutely fell in love with this property and the Punta Gorda community! The spacious and bright three bedroom home sleeps six yet offers great privacy with the split floor plan. Enjoy the heated pool (my favorite!) throughout the winter months or sit on the lanai even if it should rain because the roof extends over it. Relax in the Adirondack chairs and watch the boaters cruise by in the canal...or even spot a dolphin making its way back out to Charlotte Harbor (another of my favorites)!

There are many diverse restaurants and boating activities within an easy walk, bike ride or drive. If there is a need for a beach, then a short ride to Fort Myers or Venice will get you the fix. You will find a farmers market in town on Saturday mornings, and Fishermen's Village (ok, another favorite!) is the perfect place to shop or eat while watching the boats come and go and watch others fish for the plentiful fish in the Harbor.

A short boat cruise up the Peace River will provide the feel of a tropical paradise and you can stop at Nav-A-Gators restaurant for some local food and entertainment. Many of the Punta Gorda bars and restaurants provide music of various types nearly every night. You will have a hard time picking which one you wish to hear on any given night!

Many extras are provided for your enjoyment: gas grill, bikes, beach chairs, lawn chairs, fishing rods and tackle, cooler, washer and dryer, beach towels, blow dryers, well-stocked kitchen and more!

More Details

Owner
Gordon and Wanda Weber
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

Why Gordon and Wanda Weber chose Punta Gorda

The Punta Gorda Isles neighborhood has a peaceful, small town feel and downtown Punta Gorda, less than 3 miles away, has charming shops and many restaurants to whet your palate. Fishermen's Village is an easy 1 mile stroll or bike ride away. Having both a swimming pool and a canal provides the luxury of a private swim and the feel of a cabin on a lake. The canal access allows a 5 minute boat ride to Charlotte Harbor for fishing, boating or a ride to the Gulf.

Guestbook comments from the owner

After experiencing a number of repairs to the A/C unit, we had the entire A/C replaced with a new, larger unit the end of August, 2017. As an additional precaution, we had an another vent/run added to the master bedroom side in order to draw more cooled air to that side of the house. So thankful Hurricane Irma didn't wipe out the whole house and the new A/C! We had no damage from the storm and the power is restored.
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 1

Map

Fishermen's Village
"A fun place to have a beverage and food while sitting outside on the deck and watching the b..."
Harpoon Harry's Restaurant and Bar
"At Fisherman's Village and fun place to people watch while enjoying the sunset with a cold b..."
Celtic Ray Irish Pub
"Wonderful authentic Irish food with great micro beer along with quality life music!!"
Jack's on Marion
"Fun outdoor dining and with full bar right in the center of downtown Punta Gorda. Walking d..."
The Ice House Pub
"Wonderful English Pub serving only delicious micro beers from all over the world. Food is au..."
Village Fish Market Restaurant and Lounge
"Fun outside seating with good seafood"
Golfers Delight At Magnolia Landing!!
"Great semi private golfing. The greens and course are well manicured. A challenging course..."
Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Punta Gorda
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Fishermen's Village
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Twin Isle Country Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 41 or Interstate 75
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
PGI Grill, 1133 Bal Harbor Blvd, Punta Gorda
Car: recommended

Located in sought-after Punta Gorda Isles, walking distance to Fisherman's Village and quaint downtown Punta Gorda. Near beaches and major airport.

Amenities

Punta Gorda House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Door to Pool and Lani
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Guest bedroom - 1 queen , bathroom shared with other quest bedroom
    2nd Guest Bedroom with 2 twin beds - 2 twin/ single , Bathroom with extra door leading to pool on Lanai
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Private bathroom and walk-in closet. New Sleep Number bed!
  • The layout of the bedrooms with 2 guest bedrooms on the opposite side of house from Master bedroom creates two separate living spaces with wonderful privacy for guests.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
18% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Peaceful, canal home in desirable Punta Gorda Isles. Walk to Fishermen's Village
average rating of 4.6578946 based on 39 reviews
5

Beautiful home in a spectacular location!!!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home a few days after hurricane Irma hit the area. Our hotel canceled our reservation the night before our arrival. It was imperative that we get there to see a loved one in the hospital. The owners of this beautiful home were able to accommodate us on very short notice (less than 24 hours!)

I wouldn't have cared what condition the house was in, I was grateful to just have a place to stay. This home exceeded our expectations and beyond! There is a lovely screened in patio area with a built in pool that overlooks the canal. The house is well stocked with every possible thing you could need. The wifi, desk & printer came in handy (bring your own laptop) to handle work matters.

The rooms were very comfortable and tastefully decorated. There were plenty of towels, dishes etc.. The master bedroom with en suite bath is huge, the other two bedrooms one with a queen and the other with two twins are also nicely sized.

Fisherrman's Village is a short drive (or bike ride) away. The owner's had 4 bikes available for use but we did not have the opportunity to use them. If you enjoy a long stroll then it is easily walkable as well. Fisherman's village is located on the water and has a bunch of quaint shops and restaurants. There is also a 7-eleven just down the road to the house to grab your morning coffee or basic staples.

We did not get to take advantage of all the area has to offer as most places were closed due to the hurricane. We hope to get back here for a pleasure trip in the future.

Don't hesitate to rent this lovely home. You will not be disappointed.

Many thanks to Wanda and Gordon for their quick response and warm & caring hospitality!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We hope you were able to enjoy some good time with your family member in the hospital and are so happy to hear that our house worked out well for your needs. Punta Gorda has so much to offer visitors...such a quaint little village with an abundance of entertainment. Unfortunately it lost some trees from Hurricane Irma but praying it's restored to all its glorious beauty soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great area. Comfortable home.

  • 4 of 5

Your home was very clean , comfortable, and the area was a great starting point for area attractions. We enjoyed the pool very much also. Thank you for the opportunity to stay there.

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home and nice amenities.

  • 5 of 5

Hosts were great to work with, even though they were not local. The fact that they live in the home part of the year means it is well-maintained and updated. New air conditioning system. Quiet, safe neighborhood. Garage can be used to secure your vehicle and keep it out of the sun. A spacious house with bedrooms on separate ends of the house. Supply of TP and paper towels was too short for us - with four for a three night stay (and the quality of the TP was not what we preferred), but if that is all we could suggest to improve upon, that is REALLY something to be proud of! Swimming pool clean and great fun. Canal view was great. A really wonderful experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Left early due to hurricane irma

  • 1 of 5

With an 87 year old to worry about, we chose to leave early with six days left of our ten day vacation. My sister and I did everything we could to get the house ready for an impact. We moved in patio furniture, covered the pool, and struggled with hurricane panels. The homeowners just informed us that they will not be issuing us any money back!! We incurred added expense of driving the rental car back to ohio, gasoline, two hotel night stays and stress of tons of traffic. All that coupled with disappoint of not having a vacation we much needed.Disappointed on many aspects.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For those who read Connie's review above, this is what we sent them after they requested a refund: Connie, As the owner/landlord, it is so difficult for us not to refund costs to guests who, for whatever reason, were not able to enjoy their full, scheduled vacation time at our house. We want nothing more than for all guests to experience the fun, relaxing vacation that they had hoped for. However, no one can predict what may happen during a vacation. Guests are offered and encouraged to obtain insurance to protect against losses such as illness or injury, a family funeral that suddenly arises, or weather. We chose to purchase such insurance one time for a vacation to Hawaii in order to protect us financially. On the flip side, we as the owner/landlord are not able to recover this lost rent under our insurance, if we were to refund. If the need to vacate is due to an issue of ours, we would (and have) refunded. For example, recently the A/C broke during a guest's stay, causing them to sleep in a hotel for a couple nights. We not only installed a new A/C unit, but refunded their missed days and covered their hotel expenses. While we are so sorry that this hurricane came during your stay, we are going to adhere to the contract terms and not refund the rent due to early departure. Instead, we'd like to offer a discount to you if you should ever decide to return to this area for a future vacation. I'm sorry this is not the response you would prefer, but I believe we need to be consistent in our handling of guests' refunds. Wanda and Gordon Weber
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice spacious and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Nice place to kayak boating and paddleboarding.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect getaway!

  • 4 of 5

What a peaceful oasis outside of busy Ft. Meyers. The home was nicely appointed with plenty of room for a family but not too overwhelming for a couple seeking solitude. The dock was a great place to relax. The pool and lanai were a favorite spot for morning coffee or a late night swim. This home is within easy walking distance to Fisherman's warf. The sidewalks make for a pleasant and safe walk through the neighborhoods. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Punta Gorda.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation confirmed.
If a pet is allowed, a taxable fee of $100 per stay will be added.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.