Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Beautiful Yurt With Amazing Views

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful Yurt With Amazing Views

The Space

This is a private location in a rural setting with views of every mountain in northern New Mexico. The yurt is exquisitely constructed using Kentucky yellow pine. Wide open feeling with lots of light from 4 windows and 2 doors. Kitchen with stove top, microwave, refrigerator and sink. Bathroom with composting toilet and shower.

Guest Access

15 minute to Santa Fe plaza and 5 minutes to mall and shopping. Get to know llamas close up and even take a walk with them. Renters will receive 4 free passes to Friday night roller skating at Rockin' Rollers Event Arena. Spacious parking for those who arrive in an RV/trailer or have more than one car.

Interaction with Guests

We live on the property so we are available for llama walks and will be on premises to give visitor recommendations for dining and sight seeing.

The Neighborhood

Friendly neighbors with horses and other livestock. Quiet, rural. Near the park and walking trails. Views of the mountains are always changing with the seasons.

Getting around

20 minute drive to downtown, 10 minute drive for groceries, excellent restaurants and the mall. 10 minute walk to the bus stop.

Other Things to Note

This is glamping (glamorous camping) not a motel or a hotel. However, it has all the amenities of home. A fully equipped kitchen, a dining area, a desk and it's own bathroom. Sleep on our revolutionary and comfy Cordaroy Sleepers (1 queen sized and 2 singles) with pillows, sheets, plenty of blankets.

More Details

Owner
Bill Spencer
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Bill Spencer

I am a former graphic artist/art director, a fine artist (painter), a roller rink owner and a llamallero (llama wrangler). I have lived in Santa Fe since 1990 and love it here. I fled the cold and snow of Michigan and moved west to Boulder Colorado with my belt buckle business. After being forced out of business by a New York distributor who copied our buckles and manufactured them in Taiwan. I took up design on the Macintosh in 1986 and was told by my fellow artists at the time that real graphics will never be done on a computer. I also took up video production and photography at this time. After about 4 years during the Reagan recession my wife Robbyn and I bought a '73 Winnebago and drove to California where I designed guest guides for some of the most beautiful coastal towns in California. The Mac plus up above the dash board, the keyboard bungied to the steering wheel and the mouse on a little platform to the right. We had great fun selling ads and meeting new people on the road for 2 years. After California we took a 4 month vacation to Santis Pac beach in Baha and painted on the beach. We than came to Santa Fe to be with my step daughter who was living with her dad there while we were on the road. While in Santa Fe I became the art director for the Santa Fe New Mexican.

Shortly after that Robbyn and I became New Mexico's first karaoke hosts. After several years all that singing in smokey bars we discovered the local roller rink as a smokeless venue. The minister that ran the rink hired Robbyn to manage the rink while he was running for Congress. We bought the rink from him after he won the election in November of 1996 and have continued to run it to this day. So at the age of 45 I took up roller skating and after 19 years I have gotten pretty good at it. We named the rink Rockin' Rollers and since our first year of operation was 1997 was the 50th anniversary of the Roswell coverup we gave the rink a Rowell Alien theme.

Bill Spencer purchased this bungalow in 1999

Why Bill Spencer chose New Mexico

We bought the property in 1999. I had been driving past the site from my double wide 13 miles away in La Cienega and wondered why cows were getting such a great view. a couple of years later while looking for property for sale Robbyn discovered that the property was for sale and it turned out to be the very property I had been eyeing for years. We brought our double wide to the property after buying it and put it on a foundation, built porches and stuccoed the whole thing. We then added the llamas starting with 2 girls and a boy which now has grown to a family of 11. I built barns and expanded them as the herd grew. I then built the studio and started painting again. We decided that we needed income property so I designed and built the yurt in 2008. We leased it for 7 years to various adventurous local renters. This spring we began renting it to folks for short term rental and have rented to over 50 people since June.

What makes this bungalow unique

The views of the mountains, the sunsets and the moonrises from the yurts porches and windows makes the yurt special. The beauty of the yurt itself and the company of llamas make it a totally unique experience. Our guests are invited to join us on a llama walk down to the nearby scenic Santa Fe River Walk for a small donation to the llama hay fund. If you are a guest on a Friday night you are invited to join us at Rockin' Rollers fee of charge. That offer also includes a slice of my neo-Neapolitan Marguerite cheese pizza.

Amenities

Santa Fe Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Yurt With Amazing Views
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews
5

C'mon, when else in your life will you be able to do this?!?!

  • 5 of 5

Robbyn and Bill are about the kindest and most generous people you're ever gonna' meet. They wanted to welcome our family to the Enchanted Yurt in person and wanted to be there to see us leave. While we were there for only two nights, these interactions were perfect bookends for this llama experience. The level of personalization that Robbyn and Bill offered made things really special for us.

To be clear, staying on an enchanted llama ranch, or I should say the Enchanted Llama Ranch, was about as special and unique as we could have expected; it was planned as the final stop on our tour of Colorado, Utah, Arizona and New Mexico. This was intentional. We have a ten and twelve year old who had pretty much already determined that the stay with the llamas was the highlight of their two week trip even before they had been there (and we had some phenomenal experiences)...and the llamas and the yurt lived up to their expectations.

Obama llama came up and gave me a gentle kiss. I wish we could have been more interactive with them, but I get why it's not such a good idea not to have a lot of interaction with different people coming and going. Anyway, the kids fed, and spent much of their time with, the llamas and loved it! There's also something very cool about being seen by all these llamas when we woke in the morning or went to town.

The yurt is comfortable. We had some concern about the temperature getting too hot but it never became a problem as--even though it was in the 90's--we spent the afternoons at the plaza and at Meow Wolf (which was amazing) and things cooled off very nicely for the evenings. The beds were "pretty awesome" and comfortable according to my son. Actually, everyone slept well (when we FINALLY went to bed). Since I wake up earlier than everyone else I went off to Ohori's Coffee for nice morning drives and espresso. The compost toilet was a little weird but, as my wife has shared, was "surprisingly simple" and smelled better than the typical bathroom.

You're not considering staying here if you're strictly a hotel person, so I feel safe saying that if you've gotten this far in the review you should at least reach out to Bill and Robbyn to give it some consideration.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rich, Caitlin, Lily and Nico It is very easy to be good hosts with great guests! We really enjoyed having the chance to get to know you, Caitlin, Lily and Nico. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that this is just the first of many visits to come! Maybe there is a llama walk in your future! Thanks again for staying with us! Bill and Robbyn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winona, MN 55987
5

Unique and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Very unique setting with comfortable accommodations. Close to downtown and shops and restaurants. Loved the llamas and the view. Our hosts were friendly and informative. we

We wo8uld definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Two days of my life in a yurt.

  • 4 of 5

Bill and Robbyn are wonderful hosts. Everything was explained in detail...the special toilet and shower. We were introduced to the llamas, each having his own personality. The beds are ready for a bit more stuffing, but overall the hospitality was super. Just the opportunity to live in a yurt, even for a short time, is an experience worth trying out. We'd go there again.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience at the yurt. When we arrived we were met by Bill and Robbyn, the owners of the yurt. The turquoise color is perfect for New Mexico. There are several large windows that let in a lot of light. We got to know the llamas who live on the property. They are very good natured and very curious. The weather was cold while we were in the yurt (the first week of March), but we were always comfortable in the yurt which was heated by a very efficient wood pellet stove. Bill and Robbyn were perfect hosts. There is also a large park that is good for a nice walk very close to the property.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us. You guys were great! Really enjoyed getting to know you both! Come on back for a llama walk when you can! B&R
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Enchanted Yurt

  • 3 of 5

Overall a great little place to stay. Bill and Robin are sweet, the Llamas are adorable the house stayed warm and was comfortable with one exception -- The bed is horrible! It's on the floor which isn't great for old folks, but worse, it's made out of little pieces of foam that were supposed to be memory foam --- NOT! There was a large hump in the middle of the bed which doesn't exactly make for close vacation snuggles and my side of the bed was tilting to the outside.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The description of staying in the yurt is "glamping". Sorry you had problems with the bed. The foam is adjustable and I would have been happy to show you how to get it into a more comfortable condition if you had called and let me know. We are glad that you enjoyed the llamas and the warmth during the cold winter days here in Santa Fe.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Lovely & unusual

  • 5 of 5

Bill & Robyn's yurt served as a cozy home base for our holiday weekend in Santa Fe! We really appreciated their kindness and hospitality throughout our stay--from welcoming us as we arrived, to introducing us to the llamas, to helping our older daughter learn how to roller skate at the rink, to having a great chat and saying good-bye before we left. I definitely recommend the yurt as a unique (and educational!) spot to stay with young children.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Liz We both so admire what great parents you are and hope that you will return to us so we can watch the girls grow! Next time maybe we can get to take a llama walk together!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Santa Fe Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$75
$575
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties