Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning Log Home on Private Lake- Country at its best

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

Beautiful Tri level log home situated on several private acres with its own non motorized lake. Well equipped kitchen, cozy living room, loft area great for kids play, laundry room, 3 bedrooms( King, Queen, 2 twin beds and futon), 2 full baths, Large bar and gathering area with walkout patio, great for grilling. Spacious wrap around porch with plenty of seating. Huge well manicured lawn offers beautiful views of the water and surrounding hills. If you like privacy this is the place for you. Ideal family get away or perfect honeymoon spot. Great place for children, lots of lawn to run around on, many activities provided.

No pets or smoking allowed.

More Details

Owner
Maureen and Jim Wratten
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2018

Why Maureen and Jim Wratten chose Waterville

This home was my father's vision. He toiled long and hard at clearing the land and having the cabin loving built in just the right spot for the best views. He lived here for many years enjoying his accomplishment. After his passing we decided to share the beauty of his place with others. We hope that you will enjoy your stay at Ray's Rustic Retreat.

What makes this house unique

If you would like to get away from it all, this is the spot for you. Only 2 miles from town but you feel a world away from the hustle and bustle. So private and yet close to everything you might need. You will never tire of the view from the wrap around porch. Country at its best.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We came up for a beautiful weekend! From the wide open land, the boats on the lake to the wonderful and beautiful cabin, we had an A plus stay! This is 100 times better than a 5 star hotel.
May 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Waterville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Contract must be filled out and returned to owner. Gatherings of 6 or more guests beyond what is listed in the rental contract need prior approval.
  • Guests above the 8 maximum are allowed if approved in advance and a 25.00 per night per guest fee will be charged.
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Ground floor for easy access to outside patio and lawn
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on first floor
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon is located in open loft area.
  • Playpen available for infants.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • tennis
Notes:
Fully equipped Kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, coffeepot, toaster and all needed utensils and dishes. 3 bedrooms, easily sleeps 8, 2 full baths, laundry room with washer and dryer, 3 Flat screen TVs (Satellite TV), Internet and DVD players, kids indoor play area, beautiful bar to relax around and large porch with seating, outdoor patio and grill, lake to fish in(catch and release) or try your hand at kayaking or paddle boating. Horse shoe and camp fire pit and lots of parking. Quiet setting is great for relaxing or enjoying the great outdoors.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

98% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning Log Home on Private Lake- Country at its best
average rating of 4.9827585 based on 59 reviews
Scottsdale, Az
5

WOW! Was the first word out of our mouth when we got there!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment that we began speaking with the owners, Jim and Maureen, they were very helpful and kind as we planned to attend a graduation in the Hamilton NY area. These owners have thought of everything (and even things that you never knew that you needed or wanted). Our trip was perfect. This house is amazing and the care and love that was put into this home is evident from the moment you turn the corner to pull into the driveway. If we ever come back to the area, we would make another reservation in a heartbeat! Thank you Jim and Maureen for a fantastic trip from the moment of first contact to the day after we left! Stacey, MJ and family

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is heart warming to hear such wonderful comments from our guests about their stay at Ray's Rustic Retreat. We love it there and hope that all our guests do as well. Thank you and we hope to see you and yours again sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oneida, New York
5

Peaceful Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This is our 5th consecutive year vacationing at Ray's Rustic Retreat and it NEVER disappoints! The property is very serene and peaceful, the cabin is gorgeous and extremely well appointed. In addition to the beautiful setting, there is also plenty to do here for old and young alike. Not too far off the beaten path, but a world away! Maureen and Jim take great pride in making this place a spectacular get-away, and in our eyes they have succeeded in every way.

Doug & Margaret Reese

Oneida, N. Y.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ray's Rustic Retreat. So glad you enjoyed all the games/activities that we provide inside and outside. Hope to see you again next year! Best Maureen and Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location for a long weekend

  • 5 of 5

The house had everything we were looking for, and we'll probably be looking to return next year. The proximity to great golf courses in every direction is uncommon, and then the lawn was perfect for playing games in the yard following golf. We could not have asked for anything more.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We strive to have lots of games/activities available for outside on the water or lawn as well as for playing inside for both adults and children alike . So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chester, NY
5

Stunning, Private, Perfect

  • 5 of 5

This was one of our favorite Home Away stays.. ever... and we've used HomeAway for years. First, the hosts Maureen and Jim are very responsive with emails. The home is lovely, with all manner of cooking pots, pan, utensils. We cooks when we stay, so that was very welcomed. The light switches are marked so you don't have to hunt to figure that out. Nice touch! There are all sorts of fun outdoor toys: Corn Hole, Horseshoes, Kyacks, Paddle Boat, the list goes on. It's a great space, with lots of room for a family to spread out. It's clear they care about this home; it's cleaning and neat, nicely landscaped, and perfectly equipt for a lovely stay. The pond is great; we fished, we swam, we sat inside and out, enjoyed the stars and firepit... This is a wonderful place to stay, we highly recommend it to you. Nearby Hamilton is a charming town, don't miss Flour and Salt Bakery in Hamilton!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed all the little touches! We agree it is a lovely setting close to town but seemingly a world away. Hope to see you again. Sincerely Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Property and house were absolutely breathtaking. House was very clean and well stocked.

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at Ray's Rustic Retreat when my son was getting married in the area. Location was perfect and the house was roomy and cozy at the same time. The beds were super comfortable and the surrounding land and pond were breathtaking. Thank you Maureen and Jim!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was such a pleasure to meet you and to know that you enjoyed your stay! thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
-
4

Very tidy and clean, with pretty views of the pond, and no neighbors!

  • 4 of 5

This home was a great choice for our son’s graduation from Colgate, which is 17 minutes away. It sleeps up to 10, including futons, yet only has two bathrooms. Will recommend to other Colgate families.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Hancock International in Syracuse NY
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Good Times and Slaughtered Lamb
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Barker Brook Golf Course
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Utica NY
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
State Route 20 Waterville NY
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Michael's, Frank's Pizza and Roc Dairy Creme
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Woods Valley
Nearest Beach
25 Miles
Verona Beach State Park and Delta Beach
Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Public Library and Observatory.

* Golf driving range.

* Golf Course.

* Many Restaurants..

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Hiking.

* Hamilton College Nature trail.

* Brookfield nature trails.

* Stanley Theatre..

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Fishing.

* Kayaking/paddle boating.

* Utica Zoo.

* Cooperstown Baseball Hall of Fame.

* Utica Childrens Museum.

10 acres to explore on foot. Try your hand at fishing in the lake(catch and release) or Kayaking and paddle boating. Colgate University and Hamilton College within 15 miles. City of Utica 20 miles away. Golf driving range nearby. Turning Stone Casino Resort and Vernon Downs Raceway within 20 miles. Many golf courses in the area. Centrally located to many attractions.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Additional Guest Fee $25
Property Damage Insurance $99

3 night minimum stay. $150.00 cleaning fee will be accessed for all rentals regardless of length of stay.
Hamilton College and Colgate University special event weekends as well as Bouckville Antique week has a 4 night minimum rental time frame

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties