Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Waterfront House with Breathtaking Views and Secluded Beaches

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 full baths en suite (Sleeps 6)

The Western House at Boolteenagh is situated on a 25-acre waterfront property, three miles west of the vibrant town of Bantry in southwestern Ireland. The property, reached by a short private drive, faces Bantry Bay. A short path leads from the house down to two back-to-back secluded beaches.

The house, built in 1982, was constructed using local materials and was designed for harmony with traditional architecture; from the outside it appears to be three connected stone cottages. There are two large bedrooms, one at each end of the house. Each bedroom has a double bed and twin bed, plus a private bathroom.

The master bedroom has its own fireplace. The middle section of the house contains a large living/dining area with a fireplace and a door leading onto a stone patio overlooking the bay. The eat-in kitchen has all new utilities. All rooms have spectacular sea and mountain views.

The house is fully furnished and is fully equipped (see amenities). It has central heat, plus space heaters in the bathrooms for fall/winter occupants.

Magnificent Bantry Bay -- 22 miles long -- is an excellent base for touring West and South Cork and Kerry. There are many fine restaurants, two excellent golf courses, and several excellent antiques and craft stores nearby. The region is full of archaeological sites, plus a large number of signposted and mapped hikes of various duration and levels.

Bantry town is a traditional market town and has a Fair Day every Friday in summer featuring local cheeses and other foods, antiques, live music and more. There is an excellent local library and bookstore. In the town are a video rental store, a superb fish store, movie theater, and a variety of pubs for all tastes. There are festivals throughout the spring and summer, notably the May Mussel Festival and the music festivals in July and August.

Enjoy!

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Douglas Daly
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 6, 2016

About Douglas Daly

We are research scientists living in Manhattan. My family built the house in 1980, and we have spent our vacations with our son in the Western House for the past 25 years. It is the perfect counterbalance to hectic urban life.

Douglas Daly purchased this house in 1980

Why Douglas Daly chose Bantry

The Western House feels like home the minute you walk in, and it's all about the bay. All three major spaces in the house have large picture windows overlooking the water and the mountains lining the other side of Bantry Bay. The location combines privacy and absolute peace with endless options for hiking, cycling, and day drives, while 3 miles away lively Bantry town offers pub crawling, dining, music festivals, and outdoor fairs. Or you might just want to cook a meal using fresh local ingredients while watching the constantly changing skyscape.

What makes this house unique

Every room in the house has a big picture window overlooking 22-mile long Bantry Bay, the deepest harbor in Europe. There are endless options for hiking and day trips.

Amenities

Town Lots House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , "Power shower" has its own pump for maximum pressure
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , "Power shower" has its own pump for maximum pressure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Big picture window overlooking Bantry Bay; bathroom en suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Big picture window overlooking Bantry bay; bathroom en suite
  • Both bedrooms with wall-to-wall carpeting and bathroom en suite. The master bedroom is large, has its own fireplace and a sitting area. The bedrooms are at each end of the house, allowing for great privacy
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Waterfront House with Breathtaking Views and Secluded Beaches
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
Berlin, Germany
5

A perfect spot for a quiet retreat

  • 5 of 5

I vividly recommend staying at the cottage in Bantry. My stay there was enormously enjoyable. The house is spacious, airy, full of light and, above all, peaceful. As a writer, I just needed an inspiring place where to create and the cottage was perfect for that purpose. It was so relaxing to have a chance every day to face the Bantry Bay and feel a direct contact to nature, isolated from everything else. The private beach is so handy and pretty. The views from each room are excellent and the colours and sounds of the bay are breathtaking. The house is perfectly equipped. The owner and caretaker were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Bantry village is a three minute drive and from the house it is possible to take very pleasant walks. Other villages and towns are not far and can be easily explored. I am definitely going to stay in this cottage again.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Bantry Bay

  • 5 of 5

Had the best time here in Bantry Bay , house couldn't been any better, Fantastic views, great layout, plenty of space, kitchen well stocked with all the appliance you will need for a stay. Caregiver was a peach to work with, we all made great friends at this home. Had him over for a great dinner and coffee in the mornings One thing I recommend would be to put a picnic table or more outdoor patio furniture. Loved coming back from a day of touring to sitting outside enjoying the view. Cant wait to come again but will make it a longer stay next visit. Recommend this place highly, Away from crowds.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
searcy, AR USA
4

We plan to come back!

  • 4 of 5

We spent 5 nights at this Irish Cottage on Bantry Bay. The views are incredible. We've never taken so many pictures of rainbows and sunsets during one vacation. The location is really good for doing things in the Bantry Bay area. We especially enjoyed the Sheeps Head hike, the market day in Bantry, and really beautiful drives in all directions. There are villages all around with pubs and live music which is a fun thing to do. The owner gives tips for places to eat and things to do which are spot on. The house is great for 2 couples. There are basically two suites on each end of the house with the kitchen and living room in the middle. All of the rooms have great views of the Bay. The kitchen is very well equipped. Everything is decorated in Irish cottage style and is really attractive and comfortable. We enjoyed peat fires at night. The central heat was on when we arrived and worked well. We didn't use it much after that as the weather was great. We had one plumbing problem but a quick call to the caretaker and it was taken care of promptly. We really hope to come back. It's a great spot for reading & relaxing with a terrific view. We give it 4.5 stars!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

You have to stop there for an unforgettable peaceful experience.

  • 5 of 5

We (my wife and myself) had the pleasure to stay at this place during this summer (2012). It’s been a great and peaceful experience. The view on the Bantry bay is amazing and can be appreciated from almost everywhere in the house including on the “terrasse”. If you are lucky you may see seals passing by, and the beautiful ballet of seagulls diving to catch fish. The house is very clean and calls for casual moments. You will enjoy 2 suites (we feel that we will come back with another couple of friends because it has 2 separate bedroom+bathrooms at the opposite of the house). Many places in the house look like they are brand new (bathroom in particular). We had a fantastic time there with a lot of hiking all around and we really enjoyed Bantry town (which is very close by). To summarize, this was our first stay in Ireland, and we won’t dare to go elsewhere if we decide to come back in this great country.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Alberta, Canada
1

May 2011 stay

  • 1 of 5

We had to cut our stay short at this vacation property. The views and location are excellent but the house is in poor shape. There was no central heating, we had to keep fires on all day to get the place warmed up. There was a water leak over the oven with a constant drip down the wall over an electrical plate. The house-keeping was poorly done and we felt we had to clean the place before we could feel comfortable.

J and S

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very sorry about the glitch. We had just remodeled the house -- new carpeting, new appliances, new ceilings, new guest bathroom with skylight, etc. -- but we learned only after the fact that yes, the heating malfunctioned and the cleanup after all the construction had not been thorough. The heating and leak are fixed, and we found a new cleaning person. The renters we had in June said our house was one of the nicest places they have ever stayed, and they will be posting a review to that effect. Again, apologie to J and S.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Cork Airport, 1.5 hour drive away
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Bantry has over 50 licensed premises
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Cork, 1.5 hour drive away
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Bantry Golf Club (10 min drive), Glengarriff (20)
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Cork, 1.5 hour drive away
Nearest Beach
on property!
Car: necessary

Fantastic area for walks of varying lengths and degrees of difficulty; local bookstore and tourist office have guide books and topo maps for walks all over the Southwest of the country.

The house has quite a few books by Irish authors, and books about Irish history and Irish natural history.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

50% deposit to reserve and 50% payable on arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties