Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Panoramic View of Delaware Bay

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 7

This beautiful home was built in 2010 with a wall of windows displaying panoramic views of Delaware Bay. If you seek quiet, relaxation and gorgeous sunsets, this is the place for you. Located just 9 miles north of downtown Cape May and 8 miles east of Diamond Beach, Wildwood, there are plenty of activities for everyone in your party. For nature lovers, bring your binoculars to observe the osprey, eagles and other birds native to Cape May. Launch your own Kayak at high tide from our beach or go for long walks with your dog.

The water is very shallow and great fun to dig up conch shells in the sand bar at low tide. For family members who prefer a bit more action, drive to down town Cape May for shopping, restaurants and swimming in the ocean. The kids will love the rides on the Wildwood boardwalk as well as rafting in the ocean on Diamond Beach. Return home after a day of activity and fall asleep to the sound of the water splashing just outside your window.

Please crate your dog if you intend to leave them unattended.

Two dogs maximum and no puppies.

No Cats!

No smoking in the house!

More Details

John Guerin
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 10, 2018

About John Guerin

We built this house in 2010 after many years of planning. It has qualities of a sanctuary, close to nature, with the bay in front and wetlands behind. The sun rises over the wetlands and sets over the bay. Light pollution is minimal, so there are breathtakingly starry nights. We marvel at how restful our sleep is, with the waves gently lapping the shore thirty feet away.

Why John Guerin chose Del Haven

This house is a serene retreat, but within easy reach of downtown Cape May and Wildwood, each 12 minutes away by car.

What makes this house unique

Get the fun, adventure and crowds of the shore, when you want them, get a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. You can sit on the deck and watch the water for a long time without getting bored. If you don't think you meditate, you may find out otherwise. I always feel a sense of renewal when I am there.


Del Haven House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , two person shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , has bunk beds with trundle bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Upside down house, first floor bedrooms, 2nd floor great room; 3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths (house sleeps 7 total); Master bedroom has queen bed and sleeps 2 with private bath and two person shower; 2nd bedroom has bunk beds with trundle bed (sleeps 3); 3rd bedroom has queen bed and sleeps 2; 2nd bathroom has shower and tub; Outside shower; Three decks, two facing bay, one facing wetlands and osprey nests; Central air/heat; Cable TV and DVD upstairs in great room and TV only in master bedroom; High Speed Wireless Internet; Washer/dryer in separate laundry room; Kitchen has granite counter-tops, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal; Toaster, blender, two coffee makers, ice maker, waffle iron; Propane fireplace; No phone (bring your own); Dog friendly (dogs only, 20lbs or less each, housebroken and crated); BBQ grill; Pillows and blankets provided, please bring linens and towels (linen service companies available).


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Panoramic View of Delaware Bay
average rating of 4.375 based on 16 reviews

Great house, great location great stay and experience

  • 5 of 5

Property was clean and everything in working order, well maintained. John was very good to work with. Use his cell phone for quicker correspondence. I had no issues so our correspondence was minimal. The house itself was everything I expected. We had great weather and saw great sunsets every day. The decks make for great gathering spots or very relaxing "alone time". We loved the fact that you are so close to the water. We opened the windows and fell asleep listening to the waves. The house setup is also unique with bedrooms on bottom and kitchen and family area on second floor with windows all around for fantastic views. John has the house stocked with everything you need for a great stay. Our family loved the house and hope to be back. Thanks John for a great get a way.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, and I'm sure you realized how much our location is a well kept secret. I look forward to your returning.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

The worst rental house I've ever been to...

  • 1 of 5

Upon arrival to the house we immediately notice the insanely overgrown front yard that contained a lot of trash. Then as i go to turn the door handle, it falls off in my hand. It was not able to be fixed because the allen nut holding it on wad broken and could not be tightened. Because of this the front door would only remain shut while locked so I constantly had to go up and down the stairs everytime someone had to just walk out front for a second. As we walk up the stairs to the living room, I see a pile of fecal matter from a prior pet. It had to be there for some time because there was no smell. There also were stains on several of the curtains. As it became night time the first night i try to turn the front porch light on which would illuminate the full set of stairs leading to the porch but did not work. I tried replacing the bulb but to no avail, so we were without an outside light the entire weekend which was very dangerous. I brought this matter to the renters attention and he said the best idea would be for me to go to home depot and buy a lantern. The first morning waking up, I try to make coffee and neither of the 2 coffee makers worked so I had to go out for coffee. Not a huge problem but I did look prior to arrival to see if they had a coffee pot so i knew if i needed to bring mine. The cleaning lady clearly had skipped cleaning and the house was filthy. I am VERY disappointed with this rental for my wedding. For a lot of money per night i expected to have a more relaxing and problem free wedding weekend. This is not what we recieved...

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am embarrassed to have to agree with some of the criticisms, and know that any response is going to sound like I'm making excuses. I will do so anyway, as any prospective renters may need and want an explanation. As to the door handle: that was supposed to have been repaired by a handyman, and was not. The outside light was newly installed this season, and its not operating was not noted by any previous tenants, so it was a surprise to me. When I suggested getting a lantern from WalMart, a few minutes away, I said I would reimburse him for the expense, and this seemed the quickest remedy to the problem. f The coffee maker : I was not informed by any previous tenants that there was any problem with coffee makers, so that was also a surprise. As it turns out, there is a third coffee maker, and I informed the tenant of that, and he noted its presence. So, I'm not sure why that was noted as a shortcoming. Dog poop and filthy conditions I can't explain, except that it's time to get a better cleaning service. There have been other problems this season in that area, and improvement is needed. I will inspect the curtains this weekend, and replace any that have any stains on them. We're due for that anyway. On the other hand, I am concerned that the tenant was hosting a wedding celebration in a house where the maximum number of guests is eight. It appears that the renters had many more guests beyond that number. I'm very sorry that they did not have as good a time as they hoped, and wish them better luck with their marriage.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

beautiful location, quiet, unique house,

  • 5 of 5

This is our third year and we all love it. My grandkids get excited about coming and sadly leave. It is a very comforting environment and owners are genuinely committed to keeping everything exceptional !

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

I booked this property for Thanksgiving break for my family, and everything about our experience was wonderful. The home is lovely, very well taken care of, and has a very cozy atmosphere. Awesome kitchen, comfy fireplace area, beautiful siiting space, and large bedrooms. The views of the water are exceptional, and accessibility to beach is perfect. Beautiful decks to sit on and watch the tide go in and out, and steps from the sand for walking the quiet and clean beach. Perfect getaway, completely relaxing.

The property owner was accommodating throughout the entire rental process, from first contact to refunding security deposit, and everything in between. I will most definitely book this property in the future.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very kind review, and we hope that you do come in the future. It was a pleasure to have you as guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Baltimore, MD

A change of pace from the ocean

  • 5 of 5

Very beautiful home. This was a change of pace vacation for us from our usual southern ocean vacation. The beach was perfect size for our grandchildren to enjoy only after we purchased a rake & cleaned & removed the over abundance of horseshoe crabs that beached themselves.being new to this area we learned quite a bit about those creatures..I will say we were the only vacationers during our week there that utilized the beach spent time walking on the Sand bar finding treasure & wading in the bay..perfect & enjoyable for the little ones.a few beachwalker were envious of our clean little area & questioned how it was that way..answer an 8 dollar rake from Walmart & a few minutes of cleaning..The house was more than adequate..absolutely perfect in all aspects..the kitchen had plenty of cooking gear & super roomy..the views from every window keep you constantly looking & noticing something new each & everyday..a little piece of quiet living yet close enough to fun amusements & the ocean for a faster paced day..loved it

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful home

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here as a family for Thanksgiving: 5 adults and 1 kid. Sleeping arrangements worked well, but be aware that the bottom bunk bed has a very low clearance height. Master bathroom has walk-in shower with dual shower heads. All bedrooms are on the first level, making it easy to separate sleepy ones from those who may want to stay up and play games.

The beach was really cool, water comes right up by the house at high tide and at low tide you can walk out on the sandbars. House-provided galoshes made this possible in the cold weather. We really enjoyed exploring the beach during low tide and at sunset. My dog loved the beach, too, and I loved that she could come with the family for the long weekend.

The town of Cape May is nearby and fun to explore as well, but we spent most of our time relaxing around the house.

Owner was quick to return the security deposit (within two weeks). Another review complained about the security system... the directions for unplugging the cameras are in the lease and it was very easy to unplug them. No concerns there.

Would have given 5 stars, except:

- Trundle bed wheels are broken on one side, making it very difficult to pull the trundle out.

- Twin sized mattress is uncomfortable, you can feel the springs as you lay on it

- The one shower curtain liner could use to be replaced, it had mildew on it and 4 of the curtain hanger holes were broken through (two on each side).

- Payment was a little trickier than I would have liked. I wanted to put it on my Visa for security purposes and to earn rewards, but the owner was unable to get his credit card software to work. Ended up paying by check, which made me uncomfortable. Everything worked out, and it was a great holiday stay... but the payment process did make me wonder if I was getting scammed.

Overall, I recommend staying here if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway. The home is beautiful and the view of the beach (especially at sunset) is amazing.

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the shower curtain. Neither I nor the cleaning person noticed the concerns noted. I've taken care of that. The trundle bed, unfortunately, has a low clearance. I've replaced the trundle bed wheel before, and will do so again. It is admittedly not a great design, but it does allow an extra bed that would not otherwise be there. Same thing with the mattresses on the bunks. It is not springs, but wood slats, and that allows two bunks and the trundle. I'm not sure there are any work-arounds on that, and I see it as a trade-off for having an additional bed. Taking payments did get clumsy for two reasons. One, there was a merger/acquisition of the merchant services I use, and the protocol for accepting cards changed. That change made me appear pretty well inept in terms of taking payment. The site also makes me change logon and password info on a regular basis, and that always seems to happen at an inopportune time. I'm sure that's a problem that most of us share on a regular basis. If I were working in retail, the volume of card changes would have me be an accomplished veteran. As it is, I plod through the process as best I can. On the plus side, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The beauty of that part of Cape May is a well kept secret, One can truly get away from it all, while having access to Cape May, Stone Harbor and Wildwood. Thanks for being our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Cape May County Airport
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Cape May Lewis Ferry
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Bay shore Drive
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Cape May or Diamond Beach, Wildwood
Car: necessary

Gorgeous sunsets, star gazing, bird watching, kayaking, biking along this bay front beach;

Quiet, friendly neighborhood. South Cape May Park for kids within walking distance Cape May Zoo minutes away;

Golf, para-sailing, fishing, dolphin watching, jet skiing, boating;

Historic tours and horse carriage rides in Victorian downtown Cape May;

Health & beauty spas;

Miniature golf, amusement park rides and water park on Wildwood boardwalk;

Beautiful beaches for tanning, swimming and surfing in Cape May or Diamond Beach, Wildwood;

Restaurants and great shopping on the mall in downtown Cape May;

Take the Cape May Lewis Ferry one day to Delaware for outlet shopping or a day in Rehoboth Beach;

Several Wineries in the area with taste testing tours.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning for short stays $125
Pet Fee $100

During the summer season, from Memorial Day until Labor Day, rentals are offered on a weekly basis, from Saturday to Saturday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties