Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Remodeled house from the 18th Century. Perfect blend of modern and historic!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 3,229 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

Spacious house with 4 big bedrooms, 5 beds, pool and outdoor jacuzzi

Casa de Colores is a remodeled house from the 18th Century designed with an hacienda style, it is the perfect blend of modern and historic. It is centrally located in the Santiago neighborhood one of the most desired neighborhoods of historical Centro.

Equipped with all that you need for a relaxing and luxurious stay in Merida, spacious rooms, beautiful patio with pool and private exterior jacuzzi in master bedroom

Water it has been softened and pressurized for your comfort

All beds and mattress are new, comfortable and great quality

More Details

Eduardo Rodriguez
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

About Eduardo Rodriguez

I used to work in the Marketing Research industry, now I am full time dedicated to manage my rental properties, my passion is to travel and meet interesting people from all over the world, really enjoy food, arts and culture, love my two dogs

Eduardo Rodriguez purchased this house in 2017

Why Eduardo Rodriguez chose Barrio de Santiago

Merida is one of our favourites cities in the world, with unique and beautiful architecture, friendliest people, safe, amazing food and arts scene. We looked and saw many properties in the Historical Center of Merida but this one has the historical side, with an original part, but also the most modern and convenient side, location and the Hacienda Style makes this beautiful property not only a great option for vacation rentals, but also for us, is the perfect place when visit the city, and maybe some day could be our full time house

What makes this house unique

The house is nicely furnished and decorated, with all fetaures that you may need during your stay, well equipped kitchen, dishwasher, washer and drier machine, iron and iron board, WiFi, TV, AC, and even a shopping cart for use at the supermarket that is only one block away


Barrio de Santiago House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3229 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Ensuite large bathroom, walk in closet and outdoor Jacuzzi
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Ensuite bathroom and walk-in closet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Ensuite bathroom and walk-in closet
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , Spacious room with two double beds and wardrobe
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool


Very Good! 4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
14% Complete
42% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Remodeled house from the 18th Century. Perfect blend of modern and historic!
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews

Excellent home

  • 5 of 5

The home is beautifully designed and decorated from comfortable bedding to excellent lighting. A well thought design that makes it very comfortable

Think modern city haciendo with respect to the traditional colonial architecture. The owner and the managers work like a harmonious symphony and address needs quickly and efficiently. I would recommend this home I am looking forward to my next stay here😚�✌

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you and your family at home See you next time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Luis Potosi SLP Mexico


  • 5 of 5

Tuvimos la oportunidad de pasar una semana en familia en esta casa y la experiencia fue inolvidable, todo muy bien, sin duda volveríamos a hospedarnos aquí.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful House in Merida

  • 4 of 5

This is a beautiful home ideal for 2 or 3 couples. ( Two of the bedrooms are adjoining so are best suited for parents with children.) Service was very good. The house is about a 20 minute walk to the central square and a 5 minute walk to a good size grocery store. It is well maintained, nicely decorated and spacious...the pictures are fairly accurate as to the condition of the property and home. We would have no hesitation to stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Attention needed

  • 3 of 5

Noises, need hand towels , wash cloths, vacuum cleaner, master bedroom floor never clean. David and Aroura very nice and helpful and complied with most requests. “Hot tub” miss leading, no hot tub an outdoor bath. Beds very good, thanks for knives, dishes and glasses. Kitchen not very equipped. Need better silver and pots and pan. We contributed three good skillets, more knives, grater and a few other items. Space is good, need to add a few plants and upgrad the exterior visually. Patio needs life, color. For the price, we expected better aesthetics and equipment. Again, David and Debra and Aroura were wonderful.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Flinda, Thank you for your stay, as you notice me and my team, we did everything in our reach trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible and we completed most requests as you mention. You asked for more knives, new dishes, wine glasses and more blankets, we brought all of that and the next day delivered to the house at no cost, I sent you the cleaning lady Aurora every week and you never told us that the master bedroom floor needs more attention, we also provided you free carboy water during all your stay also for free, there are plenty of hand towels in the linen closet but you never mention that want more. The house is located in Merida Centro and unfortunately all the Centro it is not quiet, even our house that it´s located in a nice tranquil neighborhood and not in a main road has motor noise. Hope over all you enjoyed your vacation, and for sure all reviews make us try harder and be better with every stay Eduardo
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 3 of 5

The house itself was just great, but the location in a street corner of very busy street disturbed sleeping at basement rooms.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Marjo, Thank you for your review, hope you had a great stay at our house, most of the streets in Merida Centro have noisy buses, hope that situation change soon and government put newer units like other parts of the city, the good side is only one bedroom out of four is facing the street and by night they don´t pass
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Merida - Vacay

  • 3 of 5

The house for the most part was nice. The description should be a little more informative regarding the bedrooms. There are technically 2 master bedrooms that overlook the back yard courtyard. They both have their own bathrooms attached. While they are smaller, they are quite nice.

The other 2 bedrooms have a shared bathroom. However, this bathroom is located inside of another bedroom. Also, these 2 rooms are adjoining, so not much privacy. These rooms needed more cleaning. There were spiderwebs and the bathroom shower was not very clean. (signs of mildew). Also, the air conditioner leaked the ENTIRE time. While the property managers attempted to fix this issue by stating the "snowflake" needed to show in order to prevent it from leaking, this was not the case. It continued to leak.

Also, there was air conditioning ONLY in the bedrooms, which tends to be common for all the homes. However, when sitting in the living room, watch out.... You be get bitten by mosquitoes or some other bugs. I ended up spraying around the furniture to help prevent the constant attack.

The property managers overall were helpful. There is a book of cool info, which technically should be provided once the trip has been booked or offered in advance. This book provided us with additional info for the town and cool things to do.

Lastly, the property managers Deborah and David arranged for a chef to come and cook breakfast for us each morning. The cost was overall very reasonable ($800 pesos). This did not include food. However, the food is fairly cheap. The chefs did an amazing job and this was one of the highlights of the house. NOTE: We had to ask for the chef.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Donia, Sorry to hear about the cleaning, we pay a profesional cleaning company and for sure I will tell them about this, for the mosquito issue and the AC leak, I would appreciate to know it before you left. For your welcome we brought for you a bottle of champagne and a tequila, (that you reimburse at the end of your stay) when you told us about the leak from the AC literally in 5 minutes David one of our property manager came and told you that was about the humidity and condensation because you put it in vent mode and no in AC mode, if that doesn't work you didn't say anything after that. We also let you make a late check out 3:30pm insted of 11:00am at no cost. All rooms, kitchen, living room and dining room have ceiling fans and all the house has mosquitoe mesh in all the windows, so you can open all windows without worry for the mosquitoes We have put all our effort and heart to make this house special and the best in Merida and for sure I will take your review to improve Eduardo
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $30
Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning fee $45

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties