check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Not just your regular beach home

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights

About the property

Four bedroom 3 1/2 bath directly on the beach.

Our beach home has all the amenities of home. Four bedroom with three and a half bathrooms. Large hd tv in living room. Master suite is upstairs on main living floor with king bed and tv with a large jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. Three downstairs bedroom have a jack and jill bathroom. Bedroom one has a queen bed and tv, bedroom two has a queen bed and tv and bedroom three has twin beds with a private full bath. There is a queen sofa sleeper in the sunroom.

Property Manager
Lynn and Jerry Russell
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Lynn and Jerry Russell

My husband Jerry and our two babies Weezer and Lucky moved to Fernandina Beach about 8 years ago. We are members of First Baptist Church where I volunteer. We love living in the beautiful beach town of Fernandina Beach because you get that home town feeling here. My husband and I are both from the Middle Georgia area, he from McRae and I am from from Dudley. We cherish our memories growing up in small towns, so FB hits home with us. The town has so much to offer with historic down town and the fort as well as restaurants, shopping and all the walking and bike riding you can handle. It is a very pet friendly town, but more importantly it is a pet friendly beach. Weezer and Lucky look forward to their walks on the beach with all their pals, Hannah, Chloe, Casey, Jenna, Rosie and Tippy and all the rest of the beach gang.....

Lynn and Jerry Russell purchased this house in 2005

Why Lynn and Jerry Russell chose Amelia Island

We fell in love with house and decided to live here full time. We did a lot of remodeling and moved into the house in 2005. We love that our home is so centrally located on the island. My husband had visited the island over the years and decided this was where we wanted to retire when we sold our business .

What makes this house unique

On the beach with sweeping views from master bedroom and all of living area.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Not just your regular beach home
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
Warner Robins, GA

Best vacation in years

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I rented this house for the week in March when our adult children were on break, one from learning and the other from teaching. We also invited a former law school classmate and his wife and one of our "rental kids" and a friend of hers. The house comfortably accommodated us all plus my grandson and my son's dog (other grandson). In addition to the four bedrooms, the downstairs porch was enclosed to create a sunroom which contains a double hide-a-bed. We found everything we needed in the kitchen to prepare most meals at the house. There were plenty of pillows, linens and towels. The few problems that arose were promptly (same day) addressed by the Russells. They seemed honestly concerned that our stay be as comfortable as possible. My wife and I finished out the week with a host of wonderful memories of family, friends and sunrise over the water through the windows of the great room. This will definitely be my first choice of beach rentals in Fernandina should we have the opportunity to return.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That is what makes us different, pet friendly and caring owners who live here on the island... you can't miss with our home .. Very family friendly as well as being so centrally located on the island... the views are outstanding from our home. jerry and lynn owners
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Good week

  • 4 of 5

House was nice ,stocked well with towels and sheets.Our only problem and it was a big one was the walk to beach the house needs a wooden walk way...sand hot hot and critters on path. I would stay again if beach access better.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unresponsive Owners

  • 3 of 5

This rental house is large and is in a great location. My adult children and their toddlers had nice separate areas for privacy; the dining options were able to accommodate 10 people with a little shifting around. The beach was lovely and right out the back through a short path over easy dunes. The family room furniture is very old, stained and dated, but I worried less about the kids spilling so I didn't mind that. The balcony was lovely to sit and play games. A couple of issues was a smell of dogs and a few roaches--no big deal. I would have highly recommended this rental, except for one VERY troubling issue. Throughout the process of trying to get information before renting (emails, phone calls) to paying, to finding out about keys, arrival, etc., Lynn simply wouldn't respond to my messages and emails. Even when I sent multiple emails and calls to ask about getting the key, I got NO response. Eventually I figured out that the owners use an app provided by one of the three sites on which they advertise their house to provide information about where to find the key (not at the house directly, BTW) but they never told me about this app.

During our stay, the electricity went out for several hours, just as we were preparing supper; we saw that a nearby home had electricity, so we weren't sure what was going on. We called the local electric company, but they couldn't tell us anything without the account information. I called Lynn several times, and called a second number that was listed as a second option on the fridge, leaving several messages. HOURS later I got a call back from the husband, who was clearly surprised when I told him that I had gotten ZERO response to emails and calls since I rented two months earlier. By the time he called, the electricity was back on.

So, the house is really ideal for a large group or extended family--plus great views and lovely beach. I would have given 5 stars if the owners (particularly Lynn) had been at least basically communicative. They expect a lot of clean up on leaving (I learned from a note on the fridge), which I did as what I consider a courtesy on my part to do (such as stripping all beds, doing laundry, cleaning the kitchen, taking out garbage and putting garbage and recycling to the curb, etc), but they don't respond to the renters with the same courtesy, even though they point out that they live close by and so can help with any issues. Unfortunately, this didn't work out for us.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Needs some TLC....

  • 4 of 5

I really don't know where to begin. I grew up at the beach, so I get how harsh the salt and sand can be on a home. I would say it had all the comforts of home except that some updates would have made ALL the difference. The location was nice and convenient. The kitchen was well stocked. The air conditioner worked great. There were plenty of linens/towels. Washer/dryer worked great. The beds were ok. The LR furniture was ancient and uncomfortable. All the carpet was DISGUSTING. We debated about renting a carpet cleaner and doing it ourselves! There were NO ceiling fans on the back porch(Oceanside) as pictured. We called maintenance because a shower head fell off and we needed several light bulbs. It was quite the hike to the beach on an overgrown narrow path since there was no walkway. This should be pointed out because it would be difficult for older folks and families with small children. One FYI....there is a house being built next door which began early every morning! Bring earplugs!

4 out of 8 of our family were on the island two days prior to our check in day. We drove by this house daily so we knew it was rented etc. Check in is 3pm. We stopped by at 2pm to just see how it was coming along and the cleaning girl said she probably wouldn't be thru on time since she was alone all day. She did say that we could put stuff in the downstairs living area since she was done cleaning that area, which we did. She must have called for backup because a few more people showed up to help her. We remained outside. At 3:15 we all arrived and proceeded to make entry. We were told to make up our own beds (except the master BR). The cleaning crew was there till 3:45. The only reason I am pointing this out is because I received texts reminding me of arrival and departure times on those days. We departed by 8:25am (checkout is 10:00am). I received a text telling me to start the laundry before we left to help the process for the next tenants. I assure you that we left it better then we found it, except we didn't bother vacuuming!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your input regarding our home. Our living room furniture is not old or uncomfortable (no other complaints), all of the cushions were replaced May of 2014. We do have a few antiques mixed in with our decor. The carpets are not disgusting. We have them professionally cleaned several times a year and any other time if necessary. All of the downstairs has new carpeting replaced in May of 2014. A phone call to us from the renters would have resulted in us being shown exactly what complaint they had with the carpets (not afterward in a negative review) We live here in Fernandina Beach and could have responded immediately to their complaint. The ceiling fans are impossible to continue keeping outside due to the fact they are constantly rusting and replacement was not an option the last time so we opted to cover with face plates when they were removed. There are several isolating fans in the closets that could have been used on the deck if needed. The shower head was loose from normal use and easily repaired by our maintenance person, it did not require replacement, screw needed to be tightened. We leave light bulbs in our house. Not sure what happened unless the cleaning crew did not put them out. We apologize for the bulbs, a call to us would have resulted in delivery of bulbs. we will remind our crew to check for bulbs. The walk to the beach is like any other beach, its the beach and its sand. We have had multiple families with small children, senior adults, and pets who have no problems with our home or the walk to the beach. We do not state that there is a walkway at our home. It is difficult for us to accept the complaint about a home being built, as if we have control over other people's property?? There are times when additional cleaning may need to be done to the home prior to the arrival of a renter causing our cleaning crew to be in the home longer than normal. This does not occur frequently. The cleaning ladies did not tell anyone "to make your own bed." The issue was the number of people already in the home while the crew was still cleaning. Family members had already gone into rooms and were on the beds and they were asked by the ladies if the guest were were going to make the beds themselves and they were told yes by the individuals in the bedrooms. We can assure you these ladies are extremely respectful and take pride in what they do, especially when preparing our home for the next arriving guest. Posted by owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

girls weekend

  • 5 of 5

what a wonderful time... great house ...wonderful location.... fabulous find...

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX

Great location and family retreat!

  • 4 of 5

Our family enjoyed a week's stay in this home as we prepared for our daughter's wedding on the island. The home was comfortable, spacious and had beautiful beach view and access. I would give it five stars, but there were a few small issues. The living room sofa is tired and when attempting to "fluff" the cushions, we discovered it hadn't been vacuumed and there was sand and food particles left under the cushions. The dishwasher needs replaced as well as the master bedroom shade that did not work properly. With that said, the homeowner was very helpful and even helped us retrieve a very important item left behind. I would definitely stay here again, but I think if the owners stayed a few nights in their rental, they would see the few repairs needed to make it a five star rental.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dishwasher had been repaired and later replaced. We have a new cleaning company who was hired recently and has 30 years in the industry of cleaning. The blinds are all worked on by All About Blinds several times a year, however due to so much usage often times one may be broken and we are unaware during a renters visit in our home. We have had the master shades repaired and they are in working order. We live here on the island and respond as quickly as possible to any concerns a renter may have and do stay in all three of our homes and are aware of maintenance issues as they arise.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Jacksonville International
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Mayport Ferry to Jacksonville Beach area
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
city course
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Jacksonville Florida Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sliders, The Surf,
Car: necessary

Great restaurants and shops scattered among the beautiful old oaks and palm trees. Fort Jackson for you history buffs biking distance from the house. Only 30 minutes to airport and jacksonville home of the NFL Jacksonville Jaguars. Zoo 25 miles from our home and Walt Disney World just 3 hours south of our Island.


Rates & Availability

Fernandina Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Off season
Oct 26 2016 - May 12 2017
4 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
May 13 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $100

Our home requires a $100 refundable damage deposit with each visit. We are pet friendly with a $100 non refundable pet deposit per pet. Two pet minimum with a 25 pounds weight limit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Fernandina Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Guest room downstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Guest room downstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Guest room downstairs
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Double sofa sleeper in sunroom downstairs off of guest room
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers