Entire home

Turtle Shack • Super Cute Beach House 1mi to OIB

Photo gallery for Turtle Shack • Super Cute Beach House 1mi to OIB

A covered porch with wicker furniture, a table, and a chair.
A light blue house with a porch, a number 1613 sign, and a welcome sign.
A living room with a sectional sofa, a wooden coffee table, and a patterned armchair.
A covered porch with wicker furniture, a table, and a chair.
A dining area with a wooden table and chairs, a sofa, and a window with curtains.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Top rated beach location
    Discover paradise at this top rated beach location.
  • Private garden
    A rare find — relax in the peaceful, private garden space.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Intracoastal Waterway

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Dog-friendly
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Washer

Explore the area

View in a map
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
  • Place, Intracoastal Waterway
    ‪7 min walk‬
  • Place, Ocean Isle Beach
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Holden Beach
    ‪29 min drive‬
  • Airport, North Myrtle Beach, SC (CRE-Grand Strand)
    ‪35 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Living Room Pull Out Couch / Sleeper Sofa

1 Double Sofa Bed

Octopus Room

1 Queen Bed

Seahorse Room

1 Queen Bed

Turtle Room

1 Queen Bed

2 bathrooms

2nd bathroom - off kitchen area

Toilet · Shower only

Central/Hall Bathroom

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the neighborhood

Ocean Isle Beach

Located in Ocean Isle Beach, this vacation home is in the city center and near the beach. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Ocean Isle Beach and Holden Beach. Museum of Coastal Carolina and Ingram Planetarium are also worth visiting. Discover the area's water adventures with jet skiing and kayaking nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with ecotours and horse riding.
Map
Ocean Isle Beach, NC

What's nearby

  • Intracoastal Waterway - 7 min walk - 0.7 km
  • Ocean Isle Beach - 2 min drive - 2.0 km
  • Holden Beach - 29 min drive - 31.6 km
  • Broadway at the Beach - 44 min drive - 65.7 km
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk - 51 min drive - 68.8 km

Getting around

  • North Myrtle Beach, SC (CRE-Grand Strand) - 32 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Circle K - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬10 min walk
  • ‪Sarah's Kitchen - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Ocean Isle Fish Company Restaurant - ‬18 min walk
  • ‪Marias Pizzeria - ‬4 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Turtle Shack • Super Cute Beach House 1mi to OIB pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total).

How much does it cost to stay at Turtle Shack • Super Cute Beach House 1mi to OIB?

As of Oct 31, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Turtle Shack • Super Cute Beach House 1mi to OIB on Nov 2, 2026 start from $217, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking?

Onsite parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Turtle Shack • Super Cute Beach House 1mi to OIB?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Turtle Shack • Super Cute Beach House 1mi to OIB?

Check-out is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Turtle Shack • Super Cute Beach House 1mi to OIB located?

Located in the heart of Ocean Isle Beach, this vacation home is within 1 mi (2 km) of Intracoastal Waterway and Ocean Isle Beach. Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway and Museum of Coastal Carolina are also within 1 mi (2 km).

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 19 out of 25 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 25 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 25 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 3 out of 25 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 25 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.2/10

Location

8.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We enjoyed our stay and working with the hosts! Extremely affordable and close to the beach!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 23, 2026
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Turtle Shack and found it to be a great value with easy access to the beach. Everyone at Red Carpet Furnished Homes and Ocean Isle Getaways truly appreciates your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back for another beach getaway soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
The house had everything you need in a beach house. The location was easy to travel to the beach and has grocery shopping very close.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Goos spot. Cleaned and convieniant.
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Clean, comfortable, excellent customer service
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Turtle Shack was very nice ,clean , easy check in process. Plenty of parking. Would definitely stay again in the future.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 23, 2026
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed Turtle Shack's cleanliness, easy check-in, and ample parking. Everyone at Red Carpet Furnished Homes and Ocean Isle Getaways truly appreciates your kind words, and we'd be delighted to welcome you back for another beach vacation!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We really enjoyed are stay. The neighborhood was safe, quiet and only just a quick drive to the beach. Would definitely stay at this house again.
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 23, 2026
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed Turtle Shack's quiet neighborhood and convenient location just minutes from the beach. Everyone at Red Carpet Furnished Homes and Ocean Isle Getaways truly appreciates your kind words, and we'd love to welcome you back for another beach vacation soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Perfect for our quick trip to the beach. A no frills older beach house that had everything we needed. Clean & quiet. It’s right next door to the Sugar Shack restaurant, across the street from the Merry Shed, a 5 minute walk to the grocery store & a coffee shop, but you wouldn’t know there is commerce all around unless you’re outside walking past. Minutes from Ocean Isle Beach & under 15 minutes to Sunset Beach. If you don’t need to spend thousands to be in a big beach front property, try this house. Just don’t expect a modern feel. It’s an older house near the beach. Perfect for us & our dog.Owner quickly communicated & responded to all our questions. We’d consider this house again.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Oct 6, 2026
Thanks so much, Barbara! You described Turtle Shack perfectly — a simple, older beach cottage with plenty of character in an incredibly convenient location. We’re glad it was just what you and your pup needed for a quick beach trip, and we really appreciate the kind words about our communication. We’d love to have you back at Turtle Shack and Ocean Isle Getaways!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great off-island location just a few minutes drive to beach without using the turn-about! House well stocked with staples (garbage bags, TP, paper towels) cleaning supplies, towels, sheets, and kitchen stocked sufficiently with pans and dishes for morning breakfast. Beds and sofa were comfortable. Mornings and evenings were spent on the back porch relaxing, watching squirrels and a visiting bluejay. Nice size yard for our dog to explore. Great communication with the host.After driving 8 hours, we walked just a few steps out the front door to the Sugar Shack Jamaican Restaurant for take-out which was a perfect dinner solution after a long travel day. Easy check-out!
Stayed 7 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 23, 2026
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We love hearing that you enjoyed Turtle Shack's convenient location, relaxing back porch, and spacious yard for your pup. It sounds like Sugar Shack was the perfect way to end a long travel day! Everyone at Red Carpet Furnished Homes and Ocean Isle Getaways truly appreciates your kind words, and we'd love to host you again for another beach vacation.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Excellent place to stay!

Nice clean house in an excellent location for our needs.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2022
Response from VrboOwner on May 27, 2022
Thank you so much for the kind review and we are glad you liked the Turtle Shack! Please come back anytime! :)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Nice location and quiet. Off the beaten path. Only 5 minute drive to paradise.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 23, 2026
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're so glad you enjoyed Turtle Shack's quiet location that's just far enough off the beaten path while still being only minutes from paradise. Everyone at Red Carpet Furnished Homes and Ocean Isle Getaways truly appreciates your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back for another beach getaway soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great stay!

Everything was as advertised. Wish we had longer than one night to stay as it looked to be a great spot. Thanks for having us!
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Jan 16, 2024
Thanks for being such a great guest! We'd love to host you again! Come back soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Last minute getaway

We decided last minute to take a weekend at the beach with our kids and granddaughter and Turtle Shack gave us a great place to stay! The location was great and the neighborhood was quiet! Thank you!
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 23, 2026
Thank you for choosing Turtle Shack for your last minute beach getaway! We're so glad your family enjoyed the quiet neighborhood and convenient location while making memories together. Everyone at Red Carpet Furnished Homes and Ocean Isle Getaways truly appreciates your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back for another beach trip soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

LOVED IT!! Like a Home away from Home!

Just want to start out by saying, we are at the beach 8-10 times year for golf and weekend trips. We have stayed in numerous condos and resorts, and I enjoyed this house as much as anything. Nice location in ocean isle beach, close to everything and still quiet. House was clean, spacious and had everything you need to enjoy a vacation.. Loved the place.. THANKS!
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2022
Response from VrboOwner on May 24, 2022
Thanks so much for the kind words and wonderful review. You are always welcome back anytime, and we hope to host you again! :) Thanks again
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy

Dated and NOT CLEAN

The location is great, however the house is extremely dated and needs a lot of upgrades to charge the price for this place. Limited kitchen item, towels, and general supplies. The house was very very dirty, pet hair on the beds, dusty, bathrooms were not clean, and one of the bedrooms smells like cat urine. I sent pictures of all the issues and was just told “I will tell the cleaning staff”, no apology, no offerer to make it right. Please save your money, DO NOT STAY HERE.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 5, 2024
We're sorry that your refund attempt did not go as planned. This guest began complaining about things as soon as they booked, as soon as they checked in, and carried on throughout their 1-night last minute stay that they got a ridiculous discount on. Unfortunately for this guest, we happened to be in the house earlier that day for some routine maintenance (air filters, etc) after the cleaners had set up the home. We always conduct a thorough inspection and we know for a fact that all of these complaints were manufactured and staged in an attempt to get some money off of their trip. That may work with some hosts sometimes, but these people picked the wrong property on the wrong day to try something like that. If we hadn't personally been in the house right before they checked in, we may have believed some of it and come down on our cleaners for not doing their job. However, you can see that we have hundreds of reviews across many booking platforms across several properties, that mention how clean our houses are. We pride ourselves on providing clean homes for every guest, every reservation, at every property.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Sandy sheets, misleading listing details, passive aggressive host, fees to check in early. Terrible host but actually a really great house and location. I never asked for any kind of refund from these people at any point in time. I asked about early check in/late checkout and they said yes for a fee, which I declined. There was sand in 2 of the beds sheets and when I told the host, they said that sand in places was normal. We ended up with 6 guests for one night and I let them know. Still under the 8 person limit. I was charged an extra 50, which is fine but they charged me for both nights not just one. Then my daughter pointed out the beds were different. She swore there were 2 queens, 2 twins and a sleeper sofa. I pulled the listing and sure enough, she was right. But there were 3 queens. Some people thought they were getting their own beds but they had to share. I pointed out to the host that the listing was misleading because I booked expecting 4 separate beds, not 3. I would have picked something else had I known. They said they changed the beds months ago. Ok well then change the listing. Then the manager sent me multiple messages making accusations such as “we got a good sense of how this is going to go when you asked for early check in/late check out and started complaining as soon as you arrived.” They referred to themselves as “we must be so stupid and not know how to run a business.” Really terrible experience but the house was in a great location.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 22, 2026
We're glad you enjoyed the house and its location. For future guests, a few clarifications are important. You never requested a refund. You voluntarily added additional overnight guests after booking, and the additional guest fee was applied according to the reservation policies. The listing here on Vrbo has accurately reflected the current bed configuration since well before your stay. As for the sand, this is a beach house just minutes from the ocean. While our homes are professionally cleaned before every arrival, an occasional grain of sand can sometimes make an appearance despite everyone's best efforts. We stand behind our home, our listing, and our communication, and we're proud of the thousands of guests who have had wonderful stays with us at Red Carpet Furnished Homes.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

No

La secadora no sirve los sartenes y cazuelas bastante viejos y susios el anfitrión muy grosero iva. Con mi familia y mis mascotas una shituz y un PITBULL y no leí bien q no aceptaban PITBULL me amenazo que si no sacaba al perro el iría con la policía a sacarme ami y a mi familia de tal manera que asustó amos hijos y por esa razón mis vacaciones no fueron como lo avía pensado ni mi estancia en ese lugar
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 5, 2024
I'm sorry, we can't read that. We can see that you put PITBULL in all caps though. This guest showed up with 4 total dogs including a pitbull, which is explicitly against the house rules. No pitbulls ever, along with a bunch of other restricted breeds. The guest seemed extremely surprised and upset when we told them they were not allowed to have a pitbull on the property at any time. Then at checkout, our cleaners had to clean up a world-class record-breaking mess, with trash and grime left behind in every part of the house and all over the yard. Thanks for breaking every rule possible and then leaving us a 1 star review about it. Not welcome back.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

I'm a Turtle Lover

My friends and I had a wonderful time at the Turtle Shack! We came to town for a fishing trip for a couple of days, but would definitely rent this home for a week! It is exactly as described and we loved it! It was very clean and had everything we needed! Thank you for allowing us to stay!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Jan 16, 2024
I'm a turtle lover too! Thanks for being such a great guest! We'd love to host you again! Come back soon!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Easy drive to beach. Very convenient location

Property owner was great to deal with and the booking process was easy.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Jan 16, 2024
Thanks so much! Come back soon! We'd love to host you again :)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Turtle Shack Experience

First and foremost, the host, Brandon McLean is a pleasure to deal with. He was quick and accurate with his response to any questions that came up. The Turtle Shack was spotlessly clean and well stocked with all necessities. Beds and furniture were comfortable and more than adequate for our 5 night stay. We look forward to staying again.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on May 27, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words, and we are so glad you had a great experience with us. Please come back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

stayed here for a beach wedding

The property was clean and accommodating. Even though the property is next door to a restaurant, the restaurant was only open from late afternoon until about 9 PM, so very quiet.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 25, 2021
Thanks so much and you are welcome back any time. Yes the restaurant is famous and delicious too :)
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Very small house; Ideal for a family with kids

This house does not sleep 8 adults comfortably. It’s ideal for a family with children. Great location, love Sugar Shack! The shower off the kitchen is teeny tiny, and kitchen itself is very small. Hard to get in through the door from the carport, as you are walking straight into the washing machine. Owner is easy to communicate with. Mattresses are very hard and not comfortable in our opinion.
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 11, 2021
We have been doing this long enough to know when a guest is trying to scam us for unwarranted refunds and discounts, and we could smell this one from a mile away. This person booked a clearly-advertised 3 bedroom approximately 1000-square-foot "SHACK" for 8 adults. And yes, while we do have room for 8 humans to sleep, it is definitely a tight space if all 8 of those humans are fully grown adults. This guest booked the home almost 2 months in advance, with ample time to Google the address, re-examine the accurate photos and listing text where it clearly describes this home as a 1000 square foot shack with 4 total beds and a sleeper sofa. She complained about irrelevant items upon arrival, during their stay, and at departure. Tried to accuse us of not having any towels in the home before looking in the linen closet to find 10 towels. On the last day, she sent a message demanding an explanation for every line item on their VRBO bill that was sent to them by VRBO almost two months prior to their stay, which had a very generous 100% cancellation policy. On the last day, she sent a text admitting that they did in fact have a really great time at our house, and gently hinted at us sending some or all of her money back in exchange for a nice review. We call this "review extortion" and we're sorry we don't play those games.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

We had a wonderful time at the Turtle Shack. It was clean and perfect for two families.

The Turtle Shack was clean and close by everything. The splash pad and park was near by and it was a quick drive to the beach. We would love to come back. The owner was prompt with messages. We had no issues.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 25, 2021
Thank you for the kind words and you are totally welcome back any time, and we hope you do. We try to be as responsive and fast as possible and we appreciate that you noticed that and mentioned it in your review :)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Rental across bridge

The house was great for our weekend with our adult children. Kitchen well stocked and communication with owner was always quick. Great location if off island works for you. Highly recommend.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 25, 2021
Yes the location is very convenient for so many things, and we thank you for the kind words and we sincerely hope you come back to stay again sometime. :) Thanks again
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 23, 2026
Thank you for staying at Turtle Shack and for leaving a rating! We truly appreciate you choosing Red Carpet Furnished Homes and hope to welcome you back to Ocean Isle Getaways for another beach vacation soon. Safe travels!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 23, 2026
Thank you for staying at Turtle Shack and for leaving a perfect rating! Everyone at Red Carpet Furnished Homes and Ocean Isle Getaways truly appreciates you choosing us, and we hope to welcome you back for another beach getaway soon. Safe travels!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback