Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Treetop Cottage-Coolfont Mountainside Award Winning Resort

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Berkeley Springs is one of the best known arts towns in the Mid-Atlantic. Many practitioners of both the healing arts and visual arts have been attracted to the area for several centuries. It is a town of galleries, good food and a variety of 'alternative' and holistic therapists.

Coolfont is a quiet, rustic retreat just a couple of miles outside of Berkeley Springs-- the roads and cottages were designed in complete harmony with the landscape, maximizing both beauty and privacy. Cacapon State Park abuts the property and features a Robert Trent Jones golf course, fishing, hiking and a great Mission Style Lodge.

Ideal Getaway Cottage: Situated 4 miles from Berkeley Springs, WV - the nation's first Spa Warm mineral springs were used by Native Americans as healing waters long before white settlers arrived. The springs became America's first Spa when George Washington and his friends formed the town of Bath in 1776. 'Taking the waters' has remained a popular sport in Bath - now Berkeley Springs for more than two centuries. There are now four facilities, including the State Park, which offer professional baths and massage.

Berkeley Springs State Park: Roman Bath, Massage therapy. Art galleries, Antique shops.

Other Activities: Cacapon State Park, C&O Canal, White Tail Ski Resort

Keywords: Cottage

More Details

Carolyn Snyder
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2017

About Carolyn Snyder

Carolyn Snyder, I am the broker owner of Snyder,Bailey and Associates Inc. We have had the real estate business for 25 years in Eastern WV. I'm originally from New York and formally taught at City University and for the State University. Coming to WV I was elected to the State Legislature and then worked for Governor Rockefeller for 8 years running his Eastern Panhandle office and working with economic development.

Carolyn Snyder purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Carolyn Snyder chose Berkeley Springs

For a time I was involved with Coolfont Resort that developed the Coolfont Mountainside as well as the resort. I found the area not only naturally beautiful but found those involved in the community,interesting with varied backgrounds, primarily professional, caring, kindly souls that loved nature and intellectual pursuits. The town itself is one of the top artists towns in the country and has a fun, mix of creative people and activities.

What makes this cottage unique

Located in the woods, private yet with neighbors somewhat nearby, amenities such as hiking trails, tennis, beautiful pool and hot tub in a wooded setting, close to town, easy access where all factors in my decision to purchase.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time in your lovely home. Thank you very much. It's simply a great place for a family with kids as we are. The house offers enough space and is cozy at the same time. Everything was working perfectly. Located directly in the woods, you just have to open the door and you are already on one of the trails. We enjoyed hiking even in February.
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 2


Berkeley Springs Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
This is a comfortable, attractive cottage, in a wonderful private, wooded setting away from it all yet convenient to and with easy access to Berkeley Springs (4 miles) and Cacapon State Park. This is an established award winning community. There are marked hiking trails through out, tennis courts, community pool and hot tub.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
23% Complete
5% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Treetop Cottage-Coolfont Mountainside Award Winning Resort
average rating of 4.2941175 based on 19 reviews
Frederick, MD

Beautiful setting!

  • 4 of 5

The house is located in a beautiful area only about four miles from Berkeley Springs. The back deck overlooks the woods and there are many trails throughout the area. The house is spacious and clean and thoughtfully filled with all the appliances and utensils you will need. The owner is very responsive and nice to work with. We were not able to take advantage of the neighborhood pool but it looked very nice as did the tennis courts. Overall, we felt quite at home and had a very nice weekend!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we appreciate having your review and knowing that you enjoyed your weekend. We hope it provides a comfortable, relaxing time in a lovely woodland setting. We work at having Treetop Cottage clean and in good condition. We have made a number of improvements this year and will continue to do so. Please take a look at our new photos. Carolyn Snyder
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful and Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed this idyllic venue. The house was clean and well-kept with all the ammenities as described. We went with out little ones and thoroughly enjoyed the area with its well-kept community pool and natural grounds. Would recommend this one to any one looking to get away and enjoy a few days of quiet.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: August 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5

House was very clean and very nice. We would highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Untidy cottage

  • 2 of 5

My family and I stayed at this house Thanksgiving week, Nov. 2016. This home is in a nice community and has some trails that were nice to hike with the kids. The home itself was sufficient on space, as we needed space for 11.

The home was quite untidy in several areas: storage room, laundry area, and some kitchen cabinets. The storage room could barely be entered with all kinds of things piled in it (which is where all trash is to go); the washer and dryer were in good condition and worked well, however the laundry area was dirty and things piled everywhere as well. The house seemed dusty, and affected several people with allergies. We only found two electrical outlets in the kitchen that worked, and many throughout the house didn't seem to work either. We even checked the breaker box to make sure that wasn't the problem (and it wasn't). When making contact with the owner via email, there was no reply to this issue, even though I had just received an email from the owner making sure we got in ok. Much of the utensils in the drawers were old and rusty-looking. Some cabinet drawers didn't work well. The TV is not usable, as there is NO cable or satellite. There was a cable going from the TV to the "bunny ears" on the outside deck.

To be honest, none of us who stayed were satisfied with this rental. Do not want to come across as rude, but it was unsatisfactory. Yes, it had space. But the overall uncleanliness and other issues given, it was certainly not worth the price that we paid!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very disappointed and stunned to get these comments on February 20th, 2017, from guests who stayed at the cottage in November 2016. We had had a letter at the end of a busy season telling us we were getting shop worn. Since that time we have worked steadily to make improvements to the cottage; dispensing with old items (broken stored furniture and the like), painting, replacing furnishings, dishware, silverware, pots and pans, towels,blankets, linens, shower curtains. We are continuing to upgrade the cottage. Our electrician, has put an additional electrical circuit in the kitchen. The appliances are a heavy draw and additional plug ins will sometimes trip the breaker; this seemed to happen when there were a large number of guests. All our electrical outlets have been checked and are in working order. The TV has always been a source of angst for us; the surrounding trees do not allow the needed access for cable or satellite. We have repeatedly tried to get the service. The association will not allow tree cutting. We are presently in the process of trying a Roku System that will allow streaming and some what more access than we have had. We do have a DVD and CD player, puzzles, games and books. We also have wireless and lots of hiking trails. The original thought of the developer of Coolfont was to design a place to get away with no TV or telephones, of course things have radically changed and we do appreciate that. Our longstanding caretaker couple, who live nearby and are always available (their phone number is provided), work to keep the cottage very clean. That is a priority for us. For that very reason we do not allow pets or smoking. We were sorry to hear it was dusty, that is the last thing we want. Our hope is that the cottage is comfortable, clean and attractive. A respite in a beautiful setting close to town yet tucked away. We have kept our pricing at $250 a night, that includes, linens, towels, fire wood, a fully stocked kitchen and wireless service. We feel it is a very fair price for a good sized 4 bedroom home, particularly when there are a group of 10 people. We will continue to work on updates. Over the last 8 years these few are our only unhappy campers. We have owned and enjoyed the cottage for a long time and we want it to be a place that you enjoy as well. You can count on us to have it in the best of condition. Carolyn Snyder Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
washington DC

In need of TLC

  • 2 of 5

First, the good: our group (three families) had a wonderful time spending a weekend together. The weather was beautiful, and the environs gorgeous. We enjoyed the nice porch and the lovely view from it. The living room features a lovely wooden built-in bookcase that lend the house a very homy lived in feel. The owner was very welcoming and attentive, responding promptly to our questions.

Now the not so good: the house itself is not in good shape. Everything is old and rather shabby (the furniture, the bathrooms, the walls, the kitchen, even the linens). Many lamps were broken, lamp shades precariously perched on the base; many light bulbs were missing. The house is not exactly dirty, but everything is so worn out that it simply does not feel super clean or well taken care of. The dishes and kitchen equipment are in an especially bad shape (many cracked and chipped dishes; frying pans and pots so old and scratched they were practically unusable). That being said, the rent is much cheaper than other houses in the area (we have stayed in several over the years) but be aware that you get what you pay for.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear the property is looking a bit shop worn after a busy season. Time for a 2017 spruce up. We have just painted the exterior. We will certainly replace the dishes, pots and pans, linens, some furnishings and some lamps and address whatever issues are in need of repair. Generally our guests find it attractive and comfortable; always clean. We feel it is very reasonably priced for a 4 bedroom contemporary, all linens included. It is important to us that are guests feel comfortable and well cared for and that the cottage is in good condition. By the way, I am glad you had a good time with your friends.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

This Cabin is great!! Quiet spot that's close to town and yet seems like you are in your own world!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this cabin! It's a great location in a quiet community, it doesn't get much better than having your morning coffee on the deck surrounded by the trees! Very spacious, awesome vintage architecture with all of the modern amenities that you would need on a mountain getaway!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Berkeley Springs State Park
"Located in the middle of Berkeley Springs. You can get appointments for excellent massage a..."
Tari's Cafe
"American Fare Food. Consistently good. Casual. Interesting menu that changes regularly. Es..."
Tony's Butcher Block
"Choice meats."
Earthdog Cafe
"It's fun. Music and food. Casual. "
"Gas. Fast food sandwiches; deli like. Clean."
Panorama at the Peak
"Casual fine dining. Watch the sunsets from the scenic overlook. Sunday Brunch 11:30 to 2:0..."
Lot 12 Public House
"Excellent Food. Upscale dining. Pricey. NEED RESERVATIONS."
Food Lion
"Only chain grocery store in the area."
Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Dulles Airport, BWI airport, Hagerstown, Md (25mi
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Cacapon State Park, Robert Trent Jones Course
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Amtrak and Marc Commuter Train to DC Martinsburg,
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
70W 68E
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Terri's in Berkeley Spring; Earth Dog, Panorama
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
White Tail
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Cacapon State Park Sand Beach
Car: necessary

Berkeley Springs is one of the best known arts towns in the Mid-Atlantic. Many practitioners of both the healing arts and visual arts have been attracted to the area for several centuries. It is a town of galleries, good food and a variety of 'alternative' and holistic therapists. Coolfont is a quiet, rustic retreat just a couple of miles outside of Berkeley Springs--the roads and cottages were designed in complete harmony with the landscape, maximizing both beauty and privacy. Cacapon State Park abuts the property and features a Robert Trent Jones golf course, fishing, hiking and a great Mission Style Lodge.

Other Activities: Cacapon State Park, C&O Canal, White Tail Ski Resort


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

If more than 8 guests (including children) additonal $25 per night per person. Rates subject to change any time before reservation made.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties