Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Location, Ocean Side! WIFI! Pet Friendly!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

This is located on the Ocean Side and one street over from the Beach Road.

Relax and enjoy the beauty of the Outer Banks in this beach-themed, fully equipped unit! Lots of personal touches and amenities to make you feel right at home.

Located at MP 9.5 on a quiet street near restaurants and shopping in Kill Devil Hills.

Features include:

A partially enclosed/private 6 person hot tub which is now up and running, cathedral ceilings, large modern kitchen with microwave and dishwasher and ice maker, 4 cable TV's (one in each bedroom), 2 VCR's, 2 DVD's, Super Nintendo,PS2,stereo with CD, air conditioning/heat, washer and dryer, wireless internet. There is also a sun deck with ocean views, comfortable deck furnishings with a picnic table, grill, an enclosed outside shower, portacrib, highchair, and two baby gates. Only 1 block from direct beach access!

The YMCA offers a weekly flexpass for families visiting the Outer Banks. It is $95 for family or $75 for individual for the week.

Contact the YMCA for more information.

More Details

Owner
Larry Riffey
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 13, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
74 Miles
Norfolk
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Mama Quans
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
158
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Kill Devil Hills
Car: recommended

Amenities

Kill Devil Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , w/bathroom
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Queen Sleeper (1), Rollaway twin (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
21% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Great Location, Ocean Side! WIFI! Pet Friendly!
average rating of 4.5 based on 32 reviews
5

Five star

  • 5 of 5

Hi Larry

Just wanted to let you know I think your home at the beach was great with the open floor plan of the living ,dining and kitchen for my family of five. The house was clean and well stock with the items need to spend the week and was more than large enough for my family. The location was great with a short walk to the beach and shopping . I would give your home a five star rating. ( My granddaughter really enjoy the hot tub.) Thanks

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
North Carolina
5

Absolutely love this place!! Very clean!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here last week and we had a great vacation. My daughter loved being able to watch her bedtime movie in bed. I love the layout of this house. The house was very clean. We all enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. They provided linens and towels, which was awesome. Having a washer and dryer there is great especially when you have a little one. I would recommend this place to everyone! The beach is only a block away and there is a great pizza place close by to. There is a grill and picnic table. We like to cookout when we are at the beach. It is so wonderful to have a nice clean place to relax at after playing on the beach all day!! We will definitely be staying at this house for our next vacation!!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay, Come back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great Beach Trip!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice cottage - all the comforts of home. Nicely furnished with everything but food and personal items. Contacted the owners with a couple of questions and they couldn't have been nicer. Would love to stay there again!!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointingly dirty and run down

  • 2 of 5

We booked this place out of necessity - we were coming to town for a friend's wedding and there were limited options for the weekend we needed to be there. We'd seen pictures and read reviews before booking, so we didn't have high expectations for modern finishes or amenities, but I do expect the place to be clean. Unfortunately there was dark hair all over the bathroom floor, moldy and mildewy corners, closets stuffed full with things, crumbs on the counter and a foul odor. Other things that were inconvenient but not the end of the world - there's only one key and no key fob or easy way to keep up with it, you have to provide all your own toilet paper, paper towels, trash bags, dish soap and even have to put your the sheets on the bed yourself upon arriving. Would avoid staying here unless it was one of my last options.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was a big surprise due to the fact that we never received any complaint. So we are very sorry you were disappointed in our house. Had we been contacted we would have given you other options. The review sounds to have been a last minute necessary rental when in fact it was rented 8 months in advance. We strive to maintain the OBX style and feel to our house. Most of our guest appreciate it. The house is furnished with the latest electronics and appliances. We do extensive maintenance and cleaning in the late Winter and early Spring. After a long rental season the house shows some wear and tear that is addressed in the Winter. Many guest have lost keys during their stay thus the one key and it should be placed back in the lock box for everyone to use. It gets complicated to change the locks and keys when they are misplaced or lost during the season. The linens are put on the beds folded to show they have been laundered. There is a limited amount of paper products and trash bags supplied. It is stated in the pre-arrival letter that guest supply their own paper products.The closets are used to store extra blankets, pillows and other amenities that guest may need. We try very hard to hire competent cleaners and then we rely on our guest to notify us if there are any issues. In the absence of complaints we assume everything is in order and to their liking. This issue will be addressed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
Washington, D.C.
1

Be prepared to clean on your vacation!

  • 1 of 5

I rented this home for September 2nd through the 5th of 2017. I was really excited to find a place available during labor weekend that was close to the beach and affordable. The owner Larry was very pleasant to chat with via email and phone. I was aware the cottage was pet-friendly. I did not expect to find the place dirty.

September 2nd: My partner has asthma and cannot sleep in a room that has dog hairs on the bed sheets and under the bed. Luckily, my family always bring their own pillows, blankets, towels and sheets. Saturday we spent the whole night cleaning to remove the layer of dust that built up on the drawers and tables, vacuuming and sweeping the dirt and dog hairs off the floors.

September 3rd: Sunday when I woke up, I wanted to cook breakfast for my family and noticed mildew and food smudges around and in the sinks. There was food splattered all inside the microwave, and food crumbs all over the counter. I went to restroom and noticed the shower curtains and sink were dirty. I called Larry right away. I told him the place was dirty, wet towels left in the dryer and about cover and sheets. He offered to pay me for cleaning and to use his supplies under the kitchen counter. I agreed to it since I already had most of the stuff cleaned. He asked for pictures of the mess . I told him okay, we already started cleaning . Not what I wanted to do on my vacation. He calls back to offer to send a maid but by then we cleaned most of the place. I do not understand why we were charged a cleaning fee, if we had to do some of the cleaning ourselves to able to sleep and eat. Apparently, Larry wants the travelers to be the cleaners. I did not take a vacation to end up stressing about my partners health and cleaning the house.

Addition, I felt like Larry did not believe a word of my story. In a previous review written on March 5, 2014 by older crowd - tj there is a similar compliant about the dog hairs.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Prompt notification is key to resolving any issues. Upon notification of issues, which is not waiting until the next day, we offer several options to alleviate any inconveniences you may have had, which all options were refused during this instance. We try very hard to solve any issues in a friendly and timely manner (please see other reviews). I rely on my employees observations and performance before and after check ins and check outs and without absolute proof I have to assume that they have completed their jobs. We have had no other issues in the past several years. We have complete trust in the competency of our employees. We have not and never will expect our guest to clean upon arrival of their vacations. We also do not expect guests with allergies to pets to rent a pet friendly home which should be known before and after inquiring. We strive to help our guest have the most relaxing and enjoyable vacations.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 7
5

Really enjoyed ourselves

  • 5 of 5

The location is great, one block away from the beach. A nice hot tub to relax in after a day at the beach. The living quarters is comfortable and hospitable. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning $80 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.0%

Will rent partial weeks and weekends in off season. Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years $800/wk.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties