Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunfetcher - Secluded Very Cute Retro Cottage

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Slow down... this isn't the mainland. If you are looking to relax and truly get away from it all, our house is the place for you. This 3 bedroom cottage is located in Ocracoke Village on the Outer Banks of NC. It has all the amenities of home and is decorated in sea glass colors which reflect our love of the water. The location is very quiet and private. It is secluded among cedar trees yet within walking or biking (the preferred method of transportation) distance of restaurants, shopping, Silver Lake harbor and the Ocracoke Lighthouse. Spend your days with a good book on the deck or screened porch, out in the boat, or enjoying one of America's #1 rated beaches (Dr. Beach, 2007).

Enjoy your morning coffee out on the deck overlooking our private yard or in the kitchen as the sunrise greets you thru the French doors. The cottage sleeps 6 with one queen bed, one double bed, and two twin beds. It is furnished with everything you need to immediately feel right at home... extra pillows and blankets, a CD and DVD library and everything you need to cook all your meals there. There is a hot/cold outdoor shower and stereo with iPod docking station.

Ocracoke is rich with local history in waterfowling, commercial fishing and of course, the pirate Blackbeard. It was at Teach's Hole off the shore of Ocracoke Island where Blackbeard famously met his demise. If you enjoy seafood there are many restaurants serving local fare or you can drop by the local fish market for something fresh to cook back at the cottage (unless of course you catch your own). For you fishermen there is room for boat parking and we have a lighted fish cleaning station. Boat rentals and both fishing and sailboat charters are available out of Silver Lake.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Michelle Pitman
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

Amenities

Ocracoke House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

46% Complete
30% Complete
11% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
Sunfetcher - Secluded Very Cute Retro Cottage
average rating of 4.0384617 based on 26 reviews
4

Very clean house. Very private location

  • 4 of 5

Older house with comfortable floor plan. Super private, within walking distance of the village

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Huntersville, North Carolina
5

Quaint, Quiet and Qozy!

  • 5 of 5

Let me first start by saying how wonderful the owners were to work with. Any questions, or concerns we might have had were answered quickly and efficiently. We couldn't be happier with working with Michelle who went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable!

Sunfetcher is the perfect small getaway. From the wrap around deck to the central bathroom, spacious kitchen, it's got everything you need.

We had the fortune of being about to check in a little early which was a very big deal for us. We quickly unloaded everything to a clean and orderly home. Each bedroom had the linens laid upon the best for easy setup, and each room was clean, got plenty of sun, and the beds were wonderful!

While we didn't cook much, the kitchen wasn't lacking for anything we needed. The refrigerator had plenty of bottled water and large gallon jugs of water. And yes, the house is not on filtered town water, but it didn't make a difference to us. It's not that uncommon when renting a house at the outer banks, and it just wasn't that bad.

We spent a lot of time on the deck which has wonderful secluded sun and tops of trees. The surrounding lots on this road have one house under construction and the other has boat repairs, but once you drive past that, the house is surrounded by thick trees and the deck is so elevated, you don't see any of it. It's truly beautiful.

The house gets wonderful cellular signal, and while we didn't spend a lot of time use them, it was nice to have satellite TV if we wanted it, and some of the other amenities that we liked were the outside shower, fish cleaning station, screened in porch and the fact that the bathroom was dead center to all three bedrooms.

All in all, I would have to say this was one of the better places we've stayed in 25 years of coming to Ocracoke. You can walk to the Marina, and the lighthouse. The price and ability to book nightly along with everything else makes this a return place for us, for sure!

-The Griffins

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Even knowing it coming into the house I would have given it 4 stars if it wasn't for the water smell

  • 3 of 5

I will be back for sure it's a quaint little gem

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lexington, NC
4

Rustic house and secluded area....

  • 4 of 5

Love the island!!! Just wish the water in the house was better. We have had a fantastic trip & look forward to coming again!!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Enjoyed

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. Cute house and very cozy.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Richmond, VA
5

A hidden gem

  • 5 of 5

We really loved staying in this small but very comfortable and cozy cottage! As previous reviews said, this is definitely the best value for money on Ocracoke and very conveniently located. We loved the tree house feel on the porches and the beds were super comfortable! The water was actually not as bad as we had imagined. and we were happy to shower in the outdoor shower.

The owner is truly friendly and kind and always replied immediately. She went through a lot of trouble to return a phone to us which we had left behind.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were just a delight to work with. :) We would love to have you and your family come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $50
Pet Fee $50

Weekly rates include linens, cleaning and taxes. Partial stays of less than one week need to add $50 to cover these items.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties