check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

GREAT LOCATION...VERY PRIVATE! Relax in paradise-walk to dining/shopping/ferry

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
5 - 7 nights

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5) 2 Queen 1 Twin

GREAT RATES ALL SEASONS! Walk to ferry, shopping and dinning. Read our reviews and see what our guests are saying! Newly updated Rainbows End, part of the 9 unit Battery Hill Condominiums in Cruz Bay, is a very relaxing and affordable way to enjoy tropical living at its best. Beautifully maintained Battery Hill with lush landscaping is just a five minute stroll from downtown with a wide range of restaurant choices and world class shopping experience.

Our most unique feature in this complex is our amazing large L-shaped deck/porch featuring covered dining area and lounge with cooling ocean breezes. Open deck on the front opens to Master Bedroom through french doors. This unit is very private but just steps away from sunny pool area with amazing harbor and ocean views. Conveniently located gas grill and newly installed laundry for your use.

2 queen bedrooms (plus twin bed in blue bedroom ) and 1 bathroom with fully appointed kitchen. The comfortable, updated Island decorated living area with cable TV is stocked with games and books and adjoins the deck by opening French doors. This unit is shaded and naturally cool, both bedrooms are equipped with AC and there are ceiling fans throughout. Battery Hill is beautifully landscaped, with plenty of onsite parking and just a short walk to taxis if you prefer not to rent a car.

Our experienced On Island Property Managers are available 24/7. They will greet you at the Ferry Dock and guide you to Rainbows End at Battery Hill. They will give you a brief orientation of the unit, the common areas, and St John before leaving you with the keys.

Keywords: condo, condominium

More Details

Owner
Cynthia Cute
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
January 13, 2017

About Cynthia Cute

We are a family of five living in Northern Virginia, just outside of Washington DC. We have very busy lives and Rainbows End in Cruz Bay is our escape...our small piece of paradise where we relax and enjoy the breathtaking outdoors. It only took us a few visits to St. John with our three children to quickly realize St John was a place we would always return to. We love the relaxing peace and beauty of the island and the great vibrant restaurants of Cruz Bay! Snorkeling off the white sand beaches is by far our most favorite activity...there is no place on earth like St. John!

Why Cynthia Cute chose Great Cruz Bay

Battery Hill is located on the top of the hill looking out over Cruz Bay. Not only does it offer amazing views, it is short stroll into town for shopping and dinning offering the best of both worlds. Rainbows End is a very private unit with GREAT outdoor space, both covered space for your morning coffee or an evening night cap as well as open space for private sunbathing! The complex pool is just a few steps away....it is a private grotto with all the amenities needed in close proximity!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Patti,



We had a wonderful time. We walked to honeymoon beach many times and loved to snorkel there. My turtle friend below was always in the same spot and he would come up for air right next to me. We took a kayak tour to henley cay and it was a beautiful place to snorkel. We also went to Waterlemon Cay. We never did rent a car. We enjoyed the walking. The hills up to Battery Hill were perfect for us to get ready for hiking this summer! We took a taxi every place else. A very friendly taxi driver named Earl helped us out several times. I have his card and I will call him again when we go back to St. John. One night the Rising Stars Steel Orchestra played in Cruz Bay-- an amazing group of young people.



Thank you for the suggestion of La Tapia restaurant. We had a great meal there.



We kayaked from Cinnamon Bay over to Francis Bay--sat on the beach at Little Maho along the way. With the campground closed it felt like a graveyard. So sad--we had wonderful times there. But we have new memories of St. John now. It is a beautiful island and I can't wait to go back. I hope to bring the grandkids in a few years. Your place is perfect for young children.



Thank you again.

Gail
May 2014
  • 1 of 15

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

GREAT LOCATION...VERY PRIVATE! Relax in paradise-walk to dining/shopping/ferry
average rating of 4.82 based on 65 reviews
5

Piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing place! First, it's on top of a hill so the view of Cruz Bay is gorgeous. Second, it is walking distance to everything you need - bars, restaurants, grocery store, beach...Rainbows End is really just great - we rented it for a couples anniversary and loved every minute of our stay there. Great pool and amazing baby view from the pool area. This place is an awesome part of your St John trip - we miss it already...

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Buffalo, NY
3

Great location, but deceptive construction situation and mosquito nightmare

  • 3 of 5

We've stayed at Battery Hill many times in many condos. We had no idea RE would be the worst this particular year, but during our stay it was difficult to look past the issues with mosquitos and construction nearby.

Since there's issues with Zika popping up in this part of the Caribbean we feel compelled to let people know this condo has issues with them. And believe me its not ALL condos, just RE in particular. The transportation to and from the condo was excellent. The amenities were as described though the toilet had a flushing trick we had to learn. The unit's balcony was fine with neat views of tree iguanas. But that led to the question. Why were there so many iguanas?

Easy answer, they were there to eat the mosquitos.

The mosquitos were so bad the covered patio was un-usable for the entire trip and we had to keep the door closed, voiding the tropical breeze that could've kept the unit comfortable without AC. The property guidebook had a whole page dedicated to explaining how its our responsibility to deal with them. It said to just use the bug spray they left on the table, so we figured complaining would get us nowhere.

The construction project next door was also very loud from exactly 7 am until 5 pm everyday. The noise NEVER let up during these hours.

It wasn't a quiet trip and it wasn't a GREAT trip. The beaches help to make up for the condo issues, but just barely.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry to hear about the issues you experienced at our unit. With respect to the construction, it is ongoing and coming near to completion. When guests rent directly with us through VRBO we do communicate in advance so they are made aware of the construction and noise next door. In your case it appears you rented from a local agency and we don't know if they notified you of the construction. We have contacted our property manager and asked them to communicate the construction in advance with any future renters until the time of completion. As for the mosquito issue, this is the first complaint we have received. To address the issue, we are having the property inspected for standing water and will be installing out door fans for increased air circulation. As for the iguanas, to note, despite the fact that people who keep them as pets sometimes feed them insects, in their natural habitat they are strictly herbivores and would not be eating mosquitos. Again, we are sorry for the issues and inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Little gem on the hill

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Rainbows End unexpectedly from 5/23/16 to 5/29/16 due to problems with the place we were staying in Coral Bay. We contacted Tangi at Caribbean Villa's who went out of her way to be helpful in our move. When we got to Rainbows End and the cleaning woman was working so hard to get it ready for us to move into. Thank you to both of them. I have to say for last minute accommodations we really hit pay dirt. The place turned out to be perfect for us((myself, my husband and 20-something daughter). The furnishing were really lovely and the place was very clean and well stocked. The covered side patio adds basically a whole other living space and was huge! There are ceiling fans in all the rooms as well as a/c in the bedrooms. My only complaint, and I may have entered it in our exit review provided by Caribbean Villas, was the a/c unit in the master bedroom may be on its way out as it didnt cool as well as the other bedroom. It worked well enouh, but just barely. Hopefully the owner will check it out. Other than that minor problem the place was perfect. There are louvers in the doors and around the windows that add a lot of extra ventilation. The pool is right outside the door but behind lattice and foliage that adds privacy to the side patio We loved being close to town. The hill is very steep but walkable. We walked up it in the rain (didnt plan that!). I had flip flop on and had to take them off going up as I was slipping out of them! We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Rainbows End and glad to hear our little piece of paradise was able to "save" your vacation! Since your stay, we have replaced the AC unit in the master bedroom so it is very cool again!! When returning to St. John, we hope to see you at Rainbows End! Cynthia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a week at Rainbow's End and loved our home away from home. Very nice welcome and overview from the staff our first day. Brightly decorated inside, so clean, no bugs nor geckos, well insulated. The inside and outside tables and chairs looked brand new, so comfy. Large L-shaped deck, partially covered, so shade if you wanted, with great views of sun setting to the west. Cruz Bay view partially blocked due to a roof, but still a pretty view. Well supplied kitchen. Outdoor grill and laundry facilities a 1 minute walk from our front door as well as the community pool which was right outside our door (we've never seen a cleaner pool!). Close to downtown Cruz Bay, walking distance, a little steep, but not for those in good shape. Close to one of our favorite restaurants, The Banana Deck. This was a perfect spot for us, and we hope to come back next year!

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and would love to share our home in paradise with you again on any future visits to St. John! Thank you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Rhode Island
5

Mariah

  • 5 of 5

Rainbows end has all the right things you want on vacation. Prime location, great view and all the amenities of home. Can't wait to head back!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is all waiting for you to come again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great location walking distance to restaurant & bars

  • 5 of 5

Hi my family of four just got back from another great stay.. This time we tried condo vs. villa. Loved the convenience to reataurants and beaches... Nice views.. Condo complex is nicely kept, outdoor shower, beach chairs to use, great pool area overlooking Cruz bay.. This unit has nice conveniences to amenities just steps from pool, right next to grill and laundry facilities.. Unit was nice neat and clean.. We will definitely want to stay here again in future.. Patti the owner is great to work with as well as cinnimaron management company.. Btw those customs forms in rental package worked out great to be able to fill out before getting to airport..

  • Submitted: May 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Hopefully you can come back soon and stay longer..... and ask for returning guest discount.....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Short walk to Low Key Watersports... Scuba, snorkel, or kayak,/day and half day options

Photos

Rates & Availability

Great Cruz Bay Estates Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Jan 9 2017 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$299
$2,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Apr 16 2017 - Jul 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$259
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer/Fall
Jul 9 2017 - Nov 18 2017
5 night minimum stay
$239
$1,650
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 19 2017 - Dec 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$239
$1,650
 
 
HOLIDAY
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 6 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
Winter
Jan 7 2018 - Apr 14 2018
5 night minimum stay
$305
$2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$259
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $100
none $0
Tax Rate 12.5%

RATES ARE BASED ON 2 GUESTS $35 PER PERSON PER NIGHT FOR ADDITIONAL
There is a turn over fee of $75 for guests staying less than 5 night

Our property managers will meet you at the dock and transport your
luggage to our condo. You may choose to walk or take taxi and greeter will
meet you at Rainbows End to introduce you to the property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Great Cruz Bay Estates Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tiled walk-in shower with exterior window
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Airconditioned
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Air conditioned Pack and Play crib
  • Each bedroom has queen bed plus a twin bed in 2nd bedroom. Plus A Pack and Play to be used in either bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ceiling fans throughout with AC units in both bedrooms. Featuring a beautiful covered deck with dining area and lounge.

Partner Offers