Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SUPER VALUE HOUSE:BEACH,POOL,BIKES,TENNIS

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 28 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 bdrm + Other (See Description), 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

The VIDEO OF OUR HOUSE IS AVAILABLE by clicking to picture 25 and waiting for the video symbol to appear.

CLICKING BOOK IT IMMEDIATELY PROCESSES PAYMENT. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO EMAIL US WITH ANY QUESTIONS YOU NEED ANSWERED. WE WELCOME YOUR CONTACT. VRBO removed owners'phone numbers August 21 2017.

A PET IS CONSIDERED FOR VISITS OF A MONTH OR LONGER, NOT FOR SHORT STAYS PLEASE.

Do you want to enjoy natural beauty, peaceful privacy and easy access to recreation, terrific restaurants and stores?

Then this 3000 sq ft home in the gated community of renowned Hilton Head Plantation is where you need to be, sitting on a spacious half acre lot amidst palms, bountiful azaleas and towering Carolina pines overlooking a scenic lagoon, and with easy proximity to the BEACH, POOLS, TENNIS and GOLF inside the plantation either on a bike or by car. At the house, there is ample space for different activities for different people - cooking, reading, sunning, biking, watching movies, bird watching, listening to music - you may find you explore the area less because of this home's well designed comforts, elegance, and serenity.

Here escape the traffic, crowds, and noise that so often accompany beach destinations. Instead bike on one of the 6 bikes (1 is a child's) we've left for you, or walk on level pathways through forests past manicured golf courses, and fountains, or drive or bike within the plantation to the quietest beach on the island that the public cannot access. Bring the beach chairs we provide, your happy hour drinks for sunset, wiggle your toes in the sand, and breathe in the fresh sea air. Later sample some of the locals' favorite waterfront restaurants close by. (We have left our suggestions for you). No neon signs, no casinos, no motorcycles, no bright night lights, but instead a respect for natural beauty, peacefulness, and recreation.

Of course, outside the plantation is a vast array of other seaside experiences - dolphin watching, golfing, (discount golf information is at the house), imaginative mini-putt, salt marsh kayaking , zip lining, outlet mall shopping, museums, beach biking, or beach tanning/reading, Tuesday fireworks nights, tennis, water sports, boating - not to mention side trips to historic Charleston, 2 1/2 hours away and Savannah, 45 minutes distance or take the nearby day tripper boat return trip.

Hilton Head is known for tremendous restaurant quality, and value: there are so many competitors, you are ensured what you want is available at a reasonable price. Naturally, some nights you will enjoy dinner at home cooked in the fully equipped kitchen, and served outside on the patio, or in the formal dining room for a special meal shared with friends.

Will a week really be sufficient to do all this?

Where else can you experience the fun, and variety of a prime beach destination with all these house comforts, and the COMPLIMENTARY use of 6 bikes, a car bike rack, PLUS beach equipment - chairs, cooler, umbrella, and the cart to haul it all in? We want to guarantee you comfort, pleasure, and SAVINGS.

Come, experience Hilton Head Island. Rest, relax, recharge - reserve! You're going to love it here.

GO TO BOTTOM OF PAGE NOW TO SEE ALL PICTURES.

ALSO READ OUR GUEST REVIEWS (TOP LINK) TO SEE THE QUALITY OF EXPERIENCE WE PROVIDE OUR GUESTS. MORE GUEST REVIEWS AVAILABLE AT THE LOCATION LINK ABOVE AND THEN SCROLL DOWN TO JUST ABOVE THE PHOTOS LINK.

Keywords: Self catering private house, quiet, beaches, nature, dolphins, kayaking, zip-lining, music, dining, biking, tennis, swimming pool, fishing,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About The Owner

We are a recently retired couple who have for years shivered through winter, but no more! In our search for a warmer climate second home, Hilton Head's attractions outnumbered our other possibilities. Here was a controlled world, where long ago, planners envisioned an environment that respected nature's beauty, not destroyed it. Stringent controls have prevented neon signs; permits are necessary to remove trees; noise, and speed laws are enforced; lighting has to meet specific standards - this is a world of scenic beauty, and recreation. In addition, where else can you bike ride on the beach for miles, your roses don't die over the winter, palms and azaleas thrive, plus you can drive from home?

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

Why The Owner chose Hilton Head Island

Life in Hilton Head Plantation is more relaxed and less busy than other areas since cars are not admitted through to sightsee the area. Many people live here year round, so it is not so transient, or seasonal. People here smile, and say hi even when they don't know you. It's friendly, scenic, comfortable, and readily accessible to amenities, many of which are here right inside the gates.

What makes this house unique

This house has spacious rooms which in addition to the outside views seen through the many windows, and skylights, seem to meld the outdoors with the indoors. We don't feel confined here, and part of that is a temperate climate that has a resort-like feel to it, so no matter the season, the outdoors can be enjoyed. The tropical palms swaying outside the screened porch, the Carolina swing under the portico, all contribute to relaxation. What else do we like here? The sunshine's sparkle on the lagoon, the birds' song at the feeder, quick bike trips to the beach, or fine restaurants, and the factory outlets just off the Island.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Words cannot express how much we have enjoyed spending the week in your beautiful home. Every aspect made us feel so comfortable.



We loved everything about the HH experience from the Old Fort Pub to the Oyster Festival, but especially your lovely home.



We look forward to our return visit.
May 2013
  • 1 of 10

Map

Car: necessary

Right outside the door is a network of level bike paths that will take you to the beach, the store, to golf, or just for a forested ride to relax. That's why we've left you 6 bikes!

Amenities

Hilton Head Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5+
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size bed (1) The bed is new, and excellent quality. Master king with large sofa sitting area overlooking scenic yard, and lagoon. 5 piece sky-lit bathroom, double basins, built-in make up area with seating, and generous walk in cupboard space., Queen size Beds (2) 2 queen beds. 1 in large 2nd master suite with sofa sitting area, 4 piece skylit bath, double basins, and walk in cupboard.2nd queen bed is a pull out in the leather sofa in the study. Half bath next door., Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) 3 available in different areas of the house.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Right outside the door is a network of level bike paths that will take you to the beach, the store, to golf, or just for a forested ride to relax. That's why we've left you 5 bikes.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
SUPER VALUE HOUSE:BEACH,POOL,BIKES,TENNIS
average rating of 4.964286 based on 38 reviews
5

Loved it

  • 5 of 5

The house is comfortable, spacious, private and clean. The owner is flexible, friendly and communicates/follows up quickly. We are very pleased and will return and recommend to our friends.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ben, Your family were delightful to have as guests. Your interests in HH for excellent biking and good restaurants and services very close by are our interests too. We really hope you can return - and also tell your friends! Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic, highly recommend it!

  • 5 of 5

This spacious, comfortable, lovely home did not disappoint and had all the comforts of home. The owners provided maps as well as restaurant and activity recommendations. If you want to cook, the kitchen provides all the pots, pans and baking dishes you need to cook a five course meal.

We sat outside on their swing having morning coffee and looked out at the lagoon, beautiful setting. Close to both neighborhood and plantation pools and miles of bike paths. Drive or bike up to Dolphin Head and watch the sunrise/sunset and walk the bluff walk which is three miles along the water.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sheila and Phil - We are always happy when our guests are happy and we know that they have found the same relaxed pace and peaceful beauty that we too so enjoy in our neighborhood and house. Certainly when you want to rev up and join in the island atmosphere, all choices are close at hand. That you have now decided to buy in our neighborhood rather than elsewhere on the island confirms how much you did enjoy your stay even though you were busy searching properties. You will be our fourth guests since 2009 who have bought in our neighborhood. Most repeat guests come back and rent - ours buy! See you here soon! Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Welcoming quiet neighborHood

  • 5 of 5

Welcoming home. Plenty of areas to read, unwind or enjoy yourself. Comfortable accommodations. Great communication with hosts. Our home away truely

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cathy, Loved your description - I'd like to stay there too! You were happy, appreciative guests and I'm really pleased you have already re booked for 2018. We will again do all we can to ensure your Time here is Happy. Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thank you Colleen and Don for the use of your beautiful home.

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to Hilton Head. My children and I had a wonderful and very comfortable stay at your home. We enjoyed the use of the bicycles that were left as well as the beach chairs. The plantation itself was quiet and relaxing. We would definitely love to rent your home again for another visit. Thank you also for allowing us to bring our fur babies. Warm regards, Debbie and children :)

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Debra - We delight in knowing that other families have shared memorable, good times at our house in the Special Places that Hilton Head offers which have kept families returning together for years. You clearly communicated what you were wanting as a family and were really easy to advise about recreational opportunities. I do hope you can return to our house and share more HH experiences. Thanks also for taking such good care of our house. Warm regards, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Friendly, WV
5

Beautiful home. Wonderful, quiet neighborhood. Nice place for a small family.

  • 5 of 5

My husband, two kids, ages 15 and 11, my 15year old sister,and myself spent a week in this beautiful home at the beginning of July 2017. It was very easy to find. Entrance into the gated community was a breeze. The home is very spacious and inviting. Nearly any kitchen gadget, pan, utensil, glass you could possibly need was available. The beds were so comfortable. And the water pressure in the showers was amazing. All the beach equipment you may need is there. As in chairs, cooler, bikes, beach toys, boogie board. The clothesline in the laundry room was used a lot! And Colleen was available via email (and very responsive) the entire week to answer the mist trivial questions, suck as, "where should we eat tonight." There is a grill available to use. Two water hoses to rinse Sandy beach equipment. The chaise lounge is superb! My family and I enjoyed all of the personal touches in the home and the many detailed and labeled descriptions. The Rookery Pool is a nice, quiet neighborhood pool that we utilized a few times. And within walking distance. The squirrels were fun to watch munching the palmetto in the back yard. Colleen was very wonderful to work with regarding "fee free" payment and our security deposit was refunded the day of our departure.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Amber - Thanks for taking the time to provide so much detail about your week at our house and our communications. I really appreciate your having done so. You were from the first email, lovely to communicate with and instilled confidence long before your arrival that our house would indeed be in excellent hands. I enjoy offering guests many suggestions to help them have the best holiday they can and that means they need to know what and where the fun things are. When we are all so busy year long, it is essential that our holiday weeks are relaxing and fun filled with shared memories. I am also happy to save guests the credit card fees by accepting checks or Pay Pal as you used. I enjoyed receiving your pictures. Your daughter looks like you and your son like your husband. Very cute! I hope you all return again for another HH escape, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Evansville IN
5

Great area on Hilton head island

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Don and Colleen's house. The area is very quiet and away form the busy area of the southern part of the island. The home is well appointed and met all of our needs. We had very good communication and detailed information about the house and the area. The neighborhood pool is an easy walk or bike ride. The plantation also has a new pool with a lazy river that is very relaxing. We also enjoyed seeing deer and a small fawn in the backyard as well as the alligator in the lagoon that would occasionally show up. We will definitely return for our future vacations to the island!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Larry and Pam, Your family of five were a delight to have at our house. Your sharing of your activities, the pic you sent, your excellent communication and your helpfulness are all appreciated. If you do buy in our neighborhood, you will be the fourth guests to have done so. We keep losing our guests since they become neighbors! It would be wonderful to know you all in person. Hilton Head is indeed a difficult place to leave behind after vacationing. Warm regards, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $95
Pet Fee $155
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 10.0%

This is a NO SMOKING PROPERTY INCLUDING THE SCREENED PORCH.

A PET IS CONSIDERED ONLY FOR LONG TERM STAYS OF A MONTH OR MORE NOT FOR SHORT TERM VISITS.

PRIME SEASON 1 WEEK MINIMUM.

A CREDIT CARD CONVENIENCE FEE OF 3% IS ADDED TO YOUR TOTAL IF A CARD WAS USED.

VACATION RENTAL CANCELLATION POLICY See below.

If an unavoidable circumstance causes you to cancel before the reservation start date, you will receive a 90% refund of the total rent if you notify us in print 90 days before a month or longer rental, and 60 days in advance for time periods shorter than a month.

Cancellations any later than this will provide you with a refund of 90% of whatever rent we collect from others for the cancelled time, assuring that the total rent we receive from the new renters is the same amount as you had agreed to pay.

I always suggest purchasing vacation insurance to protect yourselves. I don’t sell it, but can assist in making recommendations if you want that.

Please email me that you have read these policies and are in agreement.


If an unavoidable circumstance causes you to cancel before the reservation start date, you will receive a 90% refund of the total rent if you notify us in print 90 days before a month or longer rental, and 60 days in advance for time periods shorter than a month.

Cancellations any later than this will provide you with a refund of 90% of whatever rent we collect from others for the cancelled time, assuring that the total rent we receive from the new renters is the same amount as you had agreed to pay.

I always suggest purchasing vacation insurance to protect yourselves. I don’t sell it, but can assist in making recommendations if you want that.

Please email me that you have read these policies and are in agreement.


HOLIDAY PERIODS AND THE HERITAGE GOLF TOURNAMENT ARE PRIME SEASON PRICING

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.