Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Premium Unit at an Affordable Price

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,700 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + 3 Convertible bed(s) one twin nook, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-13)

Castaway Condominium is a 36 unit complex located in the center of downtown Gulf Shores. We specialize in family vacations or relaxing couples retreats. Our 3 bedroom condo is right on the beach where the view is wonderful. There are always plenty of lounge chairs at the pool. The ocean is just a few steps from the pool. All weekly rentals come with the 7th day free.

Our newly remodeled unit features 3 living areas with plush comfy sofas, 42'", 40" and three 32" Flat Screen TV's and rich wooden furniture with warm colors for an at home feel. The living areas have 20' travertine stone tile that's perfect for the beach. The open layout is perfect for get togethers with family and friends. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the cooking essentials and new stainless appliances sure to please any chef. Our balcony view is wonderful. July 4th the fireworks barge is right out front with your private viewing of the fireworks display. Some days we have seen the stingrays ballet in the distance. It's also great for those who want to see the action but not the sun.

The master bedroom has a king size bed, a 32" TV and is quietly tucked away from the other bedrooms and features a private bath. The two additional bedrooms have a queen bed with a private dressing sink and a 32" TV, a king bed and 32" TV and these share the guest bath. We have a twin bed nook in the hall all the kids love. Every guest room has new deluxe bedding, rich plush carpet, and a ceiling fan. The full size washer and dryer is located off the kids TV room to keep every Mom happy.

Our unit is non-smoking and pets are not allowed.

We are near the 'Hang Out' a new Gulf Shores restaurant with live music, outside eating and entertainment. Waffle House, Island Pancake House and many other restaurants are also in walking distance so you never have to get in the car.

The Alabama State Park is just 3 blocks away with the new fishing pier, so don't forget your fishing poles. If you are interested in fishing, your rental comes with coupons for a a 4 hour, $59.00, Deep Sea Fishing trip. Coupons for Jet Ski and Pontoon Boat rentals are also available.

We accept all credit cards. Call us soon to book your reservation.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Laurie Jones
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018


Gulf Shores Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 8
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Balcony
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
55% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Premium Unit at an Affordable Price
average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews

Enjoyed our stay!

  • 4 of 5

We had 7 adults and 6 kids ranging from 2 to 13. I was worried about us feeling like we were too crowded, but that wasn't the case. There was plenty of space for all of us. The view from the balcony was wonderful. The kitchen was stocked with everything, but a skillet. We had to pick up a griddle from Walmart to cook breakfast on. There are a couple of things that need attention. The elevator would stick on the third floor. The front bathroom tub drained super slow. By the time a shower was done, the water would almost be to the top of my foot. The back bathroom had two good size holes in the ceiling above the tub. You could see the pipes from the condo above and it scared the little ones. The parking lot is small. We rented a 15 passenger van and pulled a trailer. It was very hard to get that through the parking lot and we had to leave the van and trailer several blocks away at the rental agency, because it wouldn't fit in the lot. Even with the above said, I would stay in this condo again.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

We loved this condo!

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed staying in this condo. Pros: Master bedroom/bathroom was fabulous! The dressing area (vanity sink) in bedroom 3 was super convenient and well used. The King bed in bedroom 2 was a welcome amenity...those are rare. The hall nook made a perfect changing station for baby/ toddler. The window view seating area was a favorite spot for all. Living area was roomy enough for kids and toys. Cons: Not enough comfortable seating for all in living room. The rattan chairs are pretty and beachy......but not comfortable to sit for very long. Hopefully the owner will change cleaning services before next summer- we had to do our own cleaning before unpacking. One of the lamps in the living room did not work.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

This condo is nice....REALLY it is!

  • 5 of 5

Recently stayed at this condo for one week, had an excellent time. Condo is nice, had plenty of room for both families and the kids. We had no problems during our stay here. The parking lot is small but we were never without a space. We hope to stay there again on our next trip to the beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

We had a very nice stay

  • 4 of 5

This was my first trip to Gulf Shores in 20 years... and it is a much better city than it was in High School. We brought a group of 12 - (2 families and my parents) The condo is very spacious - I loved that none of my kids were sleeping in the floor of my room. The kitchen was well equipped and the microwave works. The bathroom showers and drains worked fine. The master bath does have a leak from unit above but we contacted Maintenance (who came shortly after the call) hopefully they get the problem solved so they dont have any further damage to their cieling. The couches are not old but are comfortably used; my dad and husband thought they were great for afternoon napping - i dont know, all my napping was by the pool. Yes the building is old and we had no problem with the elevator. The parking spaces are small but we just parked in the back where the spaces have a little more room on the side - and quite honestly we walked almost everywhere so we really didnt access the car too often. The beach was great and the pool was cold (as it should be). We had a nice stay and were pleased with the condo.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Auburn, AL

NO water...NO parking...OLD building...BAD elevators..CANCEL YOUR RESERVATION ASAP...seriously.

  • 1 of 5

Building looks old from the outside. Elevator breaks down frequently...we were warned by several owners that had been stuck in it recently. You pay for a "parking pass" that is really "car registration" according to onsite manager. There are NOT enough spaces for all units to have 2 cars parked. They DO NOT enforce parking/towing on unauthorized cars. Waited in lot for 2.5 hours one night to get a parking place. No authorized overflow lot. Cars are hit and damaged in the lot frequently because the lot and spaces are so small. Condo is spacious and has nice floors and appliances but that is it. Paint on the ceiling is peeling in the master bathroom and elsewhere. Fridge light was broken. Microwave was broken. Electrical outlets in the kitchen and living room were broken. At least 1 lamp in every single room was there only for decoration because there was no outlet to plug it into. No light fixture on balcony...just bare lightbulb. One of the closet doors in all 3 bedrooms was broken. Shower head in hall bathroom trickled out water so it was useless. That tub drain was stuck in the closed position so when you showered, water just collected in the tub unless you held the drain lever down with your foot while you showered. (We called and told the owners about this problem the first day we were there and they never sent anyone to fix it so we only had one useable shower.) The bedding may be custom made but it is very old and needs to be replaced badly. The sofas are all worn out and the sofa beds are horrific...wouldn't make my dog sleep on them! On day 4...Sunday of Memorial Day weekend we woke up and had no water coming out of our faucets. We spoke with the Gulf Shores city manager who knew there were problems with the pump in our is inadequate for the number of people the building can house. Several owners said it was an ongoing problem especially on crowded weekends. No one from the homeowners association came to address it until after 5 pm. We called the condo owners, went to Hudson Marina (that they also own) and got the last 2 nights we had reserved REFUNDED, along with the money we paid for parking...since there was none and went to a different property for the remanider of our vacation. We were very disappointed since the property looked so nice. We had several people waiting on our review before they made reservations. Our a condo at Crystal Tower in West Gulf Shores. USE A RENTAL COMPANY, TOO!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am really shocked with your review since I did everything you asked me to do. The only problem that you requested to be fixed was the bathtub. On the day you called, you said that there were minor issues, and the only major issue was the tub. We came within thirty minutes and replaced that broken part on the tub. When you called us on Sunday and reported about the parking, we did the only thing that we could do, and refunded you your parking fee and condo rental. All of our furnishings are only two years old, and we think they look great. Every room has overhead lighting, and I thought that the lamps made the rooms look finished. I hope that the rest of your vacation went well!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Auburn, Alabama

Auburn, Alabama

  • 4 of 5

Love the place, had tons of space!! The owner was WONDERFUL!!! We had our wedding on Orange Beach and had guest come back to the condo for the reception, there was plenty of sitting space for everyone!! Would rent this unit again!!

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: April 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


The Hangout
Hudson Marina & Watersports
Great place for Deep Sea Fishing Family Style $59.00 a person, Pontoon Boat rentals, Jet Ski...
Nearest Point of Interest
Castaway 8D


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning, Management Fee $175
Parking $20.00 2 car max $40
Insurance $25
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties