Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Las Piedras -Southwestern Adobe Oasis - 3 Bd, 2 BA, 2900 Sq Ft

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


VRBO Bear stayed here

We found this property to be beary special

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

A captivating 2900 square foot retreat on 5 acres surrounded by tall Pinon and Austrian pines, mature deciduous trees and boasting of incredible mountain views in all directions. A large portal with deck facing north and east and private garden sanctuary off the dining area offer extended luscious outdoor living. A very large and new private hot tub offers wondrous star gazing after a day of sight seeing, skiing, hiking and fishing. There is a 2 car garage available to store your equipment. Once inside, guests enjoy a haven of delight from the light filled country kitchen and the charming living room with wood burning Kiva fireplace opening to the plant-filled solarium (sun room). When your party tires of the incredible mountain views the 50 inch flat screen TV is there for additional visual pleasure and entertainment. A large master suite with spa-like bath and Swedish sauna is adjacent to the den which contains a queen size custom built Murphy bed, queen size futon and Satellite TV.

Previous owners (2 Taos artists) added an upscale and very large contemporary luxury bathroom. Included are his and hers separate vanities and sinks. The soaking tub, separate from the double shower head stall shower, leads to the Swedish sauna which are all there for your added relaxation and pleasure. Luxurious upscale bedding and furnishings are offered in a meticulously cared for home with abundant Taos charm. This unique adobe rental home is truly a Taos oasis waiting to serve the party looking to get away from it all and experience absolute serene privacy in an authentic adobe home.

Keywords: privacy, mountain views, hot tub, dry sauna, HDTV, wireless high speed internet, 2 car garage, pet friendly

More Details

Maria Dickerson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018

About Maria Dickerson

I am Maria Dickerson, owner of Las Piedras, a beautiful home in Taos, NM. I live in Northern California and have always loved the Southwest.

Maria Dickerson purchased this house in 2009

Why Maria Dickerson chose El Prado

Las Piedras is located in a wonderful area of Taos. It is an easy 20-30 minute drive to the Taos Ski Valley and just minutes to the Taos Plaza. The home has absolute privacy, yet is close to nearby attractions (Millicent Rogers museum, Rio Grande Gorge) and minutes away from the center of town with many outstanding restaurants and shops. The views from the home are stunning.

What makes this house unique

Las Piedras is a home with spa-like amenities. Visitors can be content not leaving the premises because you are surrounded by 5 acres of privacy. A large hot tub with beautiful views of the Sangre de Cristo mountains, a large soaking tub, dry Swedish Sauna and all the modern amenities of wireless high speed internet, and a 50 inch plasma HDTV provide relaxation and entertainment. Las Piedras is much more than a rental home and it is furnished with high quality linens, beds, furniture and kitchen equipment.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Additional photos can be e-mailed upon request.
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 1


El Prado House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet , Also contains the Swedish dry sauna
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , (1) King bed or (2) twins
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 murphy bed , (1) Queen size Murphy Bed and (1) Queen size futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , (1) King bed or (2) Twin beds
    Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , (1) Queen size sofabed
  • The hall bedroom has (1) king bed or (2) twin beds. The Den has a Queen size Murphy bed and Queen size futon. The master bedroom has (1) king bed or (2) twin beds. The sunroom has a Queen size sofabed. Beds can be configured by request.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • whitewater rafting


Everything about this place was perfect!

VRBO Bear stayed here

Jul 18, 2015

We had an awesome time at Las Piedras. Five stars aren’t enough! The home had an antique, relaxing feel. The effect was mesmerizing just like one would experience at the spa, with the difference that the calming effect lasts way more than just an hour or two. Pictures don’t do justice to this property. One must stay to experience beauty and calming effect of the cottage. From the entrance there are outstanding views of the mountains. The living area also had great mountain views. From the sunroom you could spot rabbits running in the bushes. There were skylights at multiple locations in the home that kept the home well illuminated. The kitchen is fully equipped with whatever one might need. It is clean and well kept. We were a large group and cooked at home. Cid’s grocery is close-by where you can find local organic grocery items. The vacation home is spacious. Master bath is a home in itself. Amenities are excellent; sauna, spa, washer and dryer, and kitchen appliances, ping-pong room, lots of games, tons of books, patio with excellent views and grill and the list keeps going on. A week is not enough to enjoy this place. It is a perfect retreat for family and friends. Needless to say, next time we visit Taos, we know where our home is!!

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Las Piedras -Southwestern Adobe Oasis - 3 Bd, 2 BA, 2900 Sq Ft
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 14 reviews

Taos oin the winter

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the house and Taos. Wish we had more snow.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jupiter, FL


  • 4 of 5

Due to the weather, we arrived at the house late at night. It was hard to find due to the lack of street lights and the dirt roads, but we made it! As coordinated with the caretaker, Chuck, we found the key and house was all lite up for us upon our late arrival. The layout of the house was kind of funky, but it worked for our family. One past review made a comment of a "musty" smell. We thought it smelled musty when we arrived but once we moved in, we did not notice it again. The house was cleaned and had plenty of pillows and blankets for us to use. The instructions for the fireplace, heater, tv etc where very clear and easy to follow.

Our first mishap was with the dryer. It broke down before our arrival and due to the holidays and being that we were in Taos, it was not feasible to have it fixed. Chuck did try but had no luck. We had to hang our wet clothes in the sun room. It was inconvenient but with the heat of the day, the clothes dried right up. Chuck did offer to take care of our dirty laundry but we decided against it. We just made it work.

Our second mishap was with the T.V. It just died! We called Chuck and by the next night he brought us and installed a new T.V. The new T.V. worked just fine.

Lastly, the internet went down for one night, but it was back up in the morning. In the good side, Grammy had a great time bird watching. They had several bird feeders and a big bucket with seeds. We never used the sauna or the hot tub but they were available to us. The kitchen had all the gadgets necessary and all the supplies we needed. The one thing we found odd, was that we were requested not to use more than 5 sheets of toilet paper per flush or the system would clog up. We had to flushed multiple times, every time you "went" to the bathroom to make sure only 5 sheets of toilet paper were flushed at one time.

The house was about a 25 min drive to the ski slopes and about 10 min drive to the town. Unfortunately, there was very little snow- but it was still fun.

Even though we had some mishaps, the house worked just fine for us. Chuck was always available. He was very nice and helpful.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We enjoyed our stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here 4 nights. 6 adults and a two year old. There was plenty of room for everyone, and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub and sauna after a day on the slopes. The dishwasher was so quiet that my husband wanted to take it home with us! We were impressed with the sharp knives, and good quality appliances and pots and pans. Chuck the caretaker was easy to contact and very friendly and eager to help with little things like running out of dishwasher tablets. The location was very quiet and peaceful. Easy drive into Taos for shopping and dining at LaCueva! Just under 30 minute drive to Sipapu ski area. The check list of things to do before checking out is simple, and very similar to other vacation rentals We have stayed in. I love that food left over is taken to a homeless shelter. We would stay here again if we get the chance!

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very valuable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Taos Ambiance

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a quaint adobe experience, as we were, this is the perfect place. Cozy, comfortable, and southwest charming. Everything we needed to kick back and enjoy the ambiance of northern New Mexico. The location is so peaceful, overlooking the valley towards the ski area. Plenty of privacy yet close enough to town and restaurants. The photos are representative of the home and layout. We look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Do Not Book

  • 2 of 5

We were really excited about this property. We liked it's uniqueness and location. The caretaker also seemed nice.

When we first arrived, we instantly smelled mold with a mixture of something else…later found out it was mothballs. My guess is someone knew it stunk because there were air freshener cones in about every room. There were indications that they have had mold problems in the house, I took many pictures of the moldy roof in the laundry room and bedrooms. The smell was so bad that we left the windows open during the day so that it would be tolerable at night. The upkeep of the house obviously wasn't good but neither was the housekeeping. Our sheets smelled like mold, found that they had been shutting their front load washer, creating a large build up of mold. I ended up cleaning the washer myself (not something I wanted to do on vacation) so we could wash our smelly sheets. There were cobwebs all over the place, faucets that constantly leaked, a sauna that did not work, and many more things.

My family and I have no interest in staying there ever again.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have contacted the guest to apologize because she did not enjoy her stay. I take all complaints very seriously and accusations of mold are especially alarming. Since her stay the house has been thoroughly inspected for mold and no sign has been discovered. I did not receive any photos from the guest. I acknowledge that the front loader washer can smell funky, but that doesn't affect the cleanliness of the clothes. However, I am taking steps to use one of the machine cleaning products (Affresh) on a regular basis. In addition, I have contacted the guest who stayed in the house just days prior to the Mcgowan family arrival to inquire about any issues. Her email response: "Marie, we really enjoyed our stay. We did not have any complaints. The kitchen was well stocked and clean, bedrooms and bathrooms were clean." This review (and complaints of mold) materialized after I had rated the guests 3 of 5 on cleanliness - which is average. I didn't realize they would take such offense. However, the rating was appropriate as the hot tub was most likely used as a bathtub and I had to drain (450 gallons) it in order to clean it. Even with this unexpected cost, I refunded 100% of the security deposit. It is interesting to note that while the guests were staying at the home, there were no complaints about cleanliness or mold. My policy has always been to meet the guests upon arrival to make sure the accommodations are acceptable. If there are issues we work to correct them promptly.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1


  • 5 of 5

I spent the month of August 2015 in the absolutely charming property. Unfortunately my roommate did not leave a review so here I go. You couldn't ask for more. When you stay somewhere for a month it becomes your home and Las Piedras welcomed me with open arms! I can't imagine anything more to ask for than what this charming house provides. The views are stunning, the caretaker is marvelous, it's peaceful, quiet and beautiful. If you want excitement you are just a few miles from great shopping ,wonderful art and lots and lots of very friendly people! I love it! I hope to return in 2017.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Taos Ski Valley
Car: necessary




Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Rental rates are only guidelines. For an actual quote, please inquire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.