Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Las Piedras -Southwestern Adobe Oasis - 3 Bd, 2 BA, 2900 Sq Ft

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

VRBO Bear stayed here

We found this property to be beary special

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

A captivating 2900 square foot retreat on 5 acres surrounded by tall Pinon and Austrian pines, mature deciduous trees and boasting of incredible mountain views in all directions. A large portal with deck facing north and east and private garden sanctuary off the dining area offer extended luscious outdoor living. A very large and new private hot tub offers wondrous star gazing after a day of sight seeing, skiing, hiking and fishing. There is a 2 car garage available to store your equipment. Once inside, guests enjoy a haven of delight from the light filled country kitchen and the charming living room with wood burning Kiva fireplace opening to the plant-filled solarium (sun room). When your party tires of the incredible mountain views the 50 inch flat screen TV is there for additional visual pleasure and entertainment. A large master suite with spa-like bath and Swedish sauna is adjacent to the den which contains a queen size custom built Murphy bed, queen size futon and Satellite TV.

Previous owners (2 Taos artists) added an upscale and very large contemporary luxury bathroom. Included are his and hers separate vanities and sinks. The soaking tub, separate from the double shower head stall shower, leads to the Swedish sauna which are all there for your added relaxation and pleasure. Luxurious upscale bedding and furnishings are offered in a meticulously cared for home with abundant Taos charm. This unique adobe rental home is truly a Taos oasis waiting to serve the party looking to get away from it all and experience absolute serene privacy in an authentic adobe home.

Keywords: privacy, mountain views, hot tub, dry sauna, HDTV, wireless high speed internet, 2 car garage, pet friendly

More Details

Owner
Maria Dickerson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2017

About Maria Dickerson

I am Maria Dickerson, owner of Las Piedras, a beautiful home in Taos, NM. I live in Northern California and have always loved the Southwest.

Maria Dickerson purchased this house in 2009

Why Maria Dickerson chose New Mexico

Las Piedras is located in a wonderful area of Taos. It is an easy 20-30 minute drive to the Taos Ski Valley and just minutes to the Taos Plaza. The home has absolute privacy, yet is close to nearby attractions (Millicent Rogers museum, Rio Grande Gorge) and minutes away from the center of town with many outstanding restaurants and shops. The views from the home are stunning.

What makes this house unique

Las Piedras is a home with spa-like amenities. Visitors can be content not leaving the premises because you are surrounded by 5 acres of privacy. A large hot tub with beautiful views of the Sangre de Cristo mountains, a large soaking tub, dry Swedish Sauna and all the modern amenities of wireless high speed internet, and a 50 inch plasma HDTV provide relaxation and entertainment. Las Piedras is much more than a rental home and it is furnished with high quality linens, beds, furniture and kitchen equipment.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Additional photos can be e-mailed upon request.
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

El Prado House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet , Also contains the Swedish dry sauna
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , (1) King bed or (2) twins
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 murphy bed , (1) Queen size Murphy Bed and (1) Queen size futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , (1) King bed or (2) Twin beds
    Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , (1) Queen size sofabed
  • The hall bedroom has (1) king bed or (2) twin beds. The Den has a Queen size Murphy bed and Queen size futon. The master bedroom has (1) king bed or (2) twin beds. The sunroom has a Queen size sofabed. Beds can be configured by request.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Everything about this place was perfect!

VRBO Bear stayed here

Jul 18, 2015

We had an awesome time at Las Piedras. Five stars aren’t enough! The home had an antique, relaxing feel. The effect was mesmerizing just like one would experience at the spa, with the difference that the calming effect lasts way more than just an hour or two. Pictures don’t do justice to this property. One must stay to experience beauty and calming effect of the cottage. From the entrance there are outstanding views of the mountains. The living area also had great mountain views. From the sunroom you could spot rabbits running in the bushes. There were skylights at multiple locations in the home that kept the home well illuminated. The kitchen is fully equipped with whatever one might need. It is clean and well kept. We were a large group and cooked at home. Cid’s grocery is close-by where you can find local organic grocery items. The vacation home is spacious. Master bath is a home in itself. Amenities are excellent; sauna, spa, washer and dryer, and kitchen appliances, ping-pong room, lots of games, tons of books, patio with excellent views and grill and the list keeps going on. A week is not enough to enjoy this place. It is a perfect retreat for family and friends. Needless to say, next time we visit Taos, we know where our home is!!

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Las Piedras -Southwestern Adobe Oasis - 3 Bd, 2 BA, 2900 Sq Ft
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 10 reviews
2

Do Not Book

  • 2 of 5

We were really excited about this property. We liked it's uniqueness and location. The caretaker also seemed nice.

When we first arrived, we instantly smelled mold with a mixture of something else…later found out it was mothballs. My guess is someone knew it stunk because there were air freshener cones in about every room. There were indications that they have had mold problems in the house, I took many pictures of the moldy roof in the laundry room and bedrooms. The smell was so bad that we left the windows open during the day so that it would be tolerable at night. The upkeep of the house obviously wasn't good but neither was the housekeeping. Our sheets smelled like mold, found that they had been shutting their front load washer, creating a large build up of mold. I ended up cleaning the washer myself (not something I wanted to do on vacation) so we could wash our smelly sheets. There were cobwebs all over the place, faucets that constantly leaked, a sauna that did not work, and many more things.

My family and I have no interest in staying there ever again.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have contacted the guest to apologize because she did not enjoy her stay. I take all complaints very seriously and accusations of mold are especially alarming. Since her stay the house has been thoroughly inspected for mold and no sign has been discovered. I did not receive any photos from the guest. I acknowledge that the front loader washer can smell funky, but that doesn't affect the cleanliness of the clothes. However, I am taking steps to use one of the machine cleaning products (Affresh) on a regular basis. In addition, I have contacted the guest who stayed in the house just days prior to the Mcgowan family arrival to inquire about any issues. Her email response: "Marie, we really enjoyed our stay. We did not have any complaints. The kitchen was well stocked and clean, bedrooms and bathrooms were clean." This review (and complaints of mold) materialized after I had rated the guests 3 of 5 on cleanliness - which is average. I didn't realize they would take such offense. However, the rating was appropriate as the hot tub was most likely used as a bathtub and I had to drain (450 gallons) it in order to clean it. Even with this unexpected cost, I refunded 100% of the security deposit. It is interesting to note that while the guests were staying at the home, there were no complaints about cleanliness or mold. My policy has always been to meet the guests upon arrival to make sure the accommodations are acceptable. If there are issues we work to correct them promptly.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

REVIEW A LITTLE LATE

  • 5 of 5

I spent the month of August 2015 in the absolutely charming property. Unfortunately my roommate did not leave a review so here I go. You couldn't ask for more. When you stay somewhere for a month it becomes your home and Las Piedras welcomed me with open arms! I can't imagine anything more to ask for than what this charming house provides. The views are stunning, the caretaker is marvelous, it's peaceful, quiet and beautiful. If you want excitement you are just a few miles from great shopping ,wonderful art and lots and lots of very friendly people! I love it! I hope to return in 2017.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience from the time we inquired about booking until the end of our vacation. The house is exactly as described and provided a comfortable and warm place to spend quality family time when we were not on the ski slopes. The location was perfect as it was close to town and Taos Ski Valley. The caretaker was responsive to all of our questions and in planning our arrival. We hope to be back next year!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Green Valley, AZ
1

Beware Winter Visitors, Cold and drafty!

  • 1 of 5

None of the reviewers stayed in Winter. I have been renting from VRBO for 10 years and over 5 years in the Taos area. The house has antiquated baseboard heaters that keep the house at a toasty 60-65 degrees. Their solution, ineffective space heaters that do nothing to warm the large open spaces. Obviously they know the heating is a problem or else why provide 6 space heaters? Owner does not provide basic amenities such as Kleenex, flashlights, a lighter to start the barbecue, or a fire in the fireplace. There was plenty of wood, just no means to start a fire to try and warm the house. We had a 4.5 hour power outage on Christmas evening and there were no flashlights, candles, or anything to make sure we were safe. We had to eat on the floor in front of the fireplace. I contacted the owner after our stay and her response was " I wish you had contacted Chuck Lane or failing that, myself, on the first or second day of your stay with your complaints then I would have had an opportunity to provide some remedies." I was on vacation with my daughters and the last thing I wanted to do after skiing and hiking the steeps of Taos was to have to handle someone's "home owner" problems. If you rent this property in the winter, bring flashlights for the weekly power outages, Kleenex, lighters, fire starter, and extra throws. The house is spacious and well located for skiers. Thank goodness the hot tub worked!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate input from all our guests and we have remedied the issues that our guest wrote about. Natural gas has been brought to the house and a new tankless water heater and gas heater have been installed. An Emergency Supplies container has been created with lanterns, flashlights, matches, bottled water and candles. Unfortunately, we received these complaints on the last day of their stay and had no time to provide any remedies. I refused a demand for a $500 refund and the result was the unfavorable review. Our guests live in Arizona and I can understand why temperatures in the 60s would not be comfortable. Our guest was able to burn firewood and must have done so almost continuously as nearly 1 cord of wood was consumed in 1 week. It was unfortunate that the power went out, but that was not specific to the house - all of Taos was affected. We have had guests stay at the house from Jan-Feb for 2 years in a row and they will be coming back again in 2016, so the conditions must have been tolerable. Heat should not be an issue from now on.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Dallas, TX USA
5

Excellent Place to Relax and Enjoy the Beauty of Taos

  • 5 of 5

Casa Piedras gave us an opportunity to unwind from the city life we’re used to. Casa Piedras is a family vacation home that offers comfort and relaxation. Waking up to the sounds of nature and the cool mountain breeze blowing through the spacious home, allowed my family to relax all day if we desired. The home sits on a 2.5 acre lot that is full of vegetation and offers a scenic mountain view of Taos, but not too far from all the city’s attractions. The home itself offers so many wonderful amenities i.e., kitchen necessities, new washer/dryer, sauna, hot tub, game room, two car garage, large flat screen TV, DVDs, books, Direct TV, and music cds, just to name a few. My family and I spoke very highly of Casa Piedras and want to revisit it in the winter. I recommend this place for long visits, for a month or more to take full advantage of this beautiful home and town. This will be our VRBO destination every time we visit Taos. Thank you Maria for the hospitable service you provided during our stay. Hope to revisit Taos and your home again soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Anna, IL
5

Family 50th Anniversary celebration!

  • 5 of 5

Though I was there over 6 months ago, I'm still excited to write a positive review of my stay at Las Piedras (July 2011). There were 6 of us staying together to join my parents for their 50th anniversary, which we actually celebrated at this home due to its spaciousness and beauty. The home itself is located such that there are panoramic views in all directions, from the decks surrounding the home. We had our formal celebration on the deck at sunset, with sweeping views, lovely breeze, utilizing the quality grill to roast some local peppers. The home is large, with an open floor plan, plenty of room for cooking, seating for all 8 of us and the furnishings were classic southwest and gorgeous. The property was clean, well-kept and the owner has a local manager who was easily available, friendly and responsive to our needs. Lots of nice extras like a hottub outdoors, a sunroom, dry sauna and walk-in two person shower were just lovely additions.

I'd also like to mention my very positive experiences in dealing with the owner. As is reflected in her detailed description, she was very thorough, timely in her responses, and very helpful with questions I had regarding planning a celebration from out of town. She was simply one of the best property owners I've dealt with in self-catering rentals over the past 10 years.

I strongly recommend the property for its location affording beautiful views and central to many activities in the area. Thanks, Maria, for a wonderful stay and providing a space worthy of our special occasion!

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post this review. A 50th anniversary is a once in a lifetime event and we feel honored to have hosted your party. We are constantly improving the property (interior recently re-painted)and invite you and your friends for a return visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Taos Ski Valley
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

El Prado House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Holiday
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 9 2018 - Mar 25 2018
5 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$225
Fri
$1,335
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $59

Rental rates are only guidelines. For an actual quote, please inquire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties