Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Dogwood Point Lake House

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 10) 2 full living areas

Dogwood Point lake house is located 5 minutes from Central Avenue but is still secluded and privately located on the lake. It is nestled in the trees on a point overlooking the lake.

Our home is unique because it has a lakehouse/cabin feel. It has two living quarters. The den is original to the home and is built of cedar and has a native stone fireplace. The living room is more modern and the entire lake side wall is constructed of glass. Birds and wildlife are abundant. Enjoy the array of Dogwood trees and other plants and flowers native to this area. Boat/jet ski rental is available on the lake and we have a boat/swim dock and jet ski docks as well. We have everything you need to make it your home away from home.


Note: Water level on Lake Hamilton is lowered in the Fall.

Visit our official website for more details:

More Details

Mike and Phena Loftin
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a wonderful home!! The furniture and beds wre so comfy. We enjoyed the different moods of your living areas.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 3


Hot Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (4)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
R.V. hook-up boat/swim,jet ski dock, 2 living areas, 2000 sq. feet home. privacy fence, ironing board, crock pot, coffee pot. Please bring personal toiletries, personal laundry detergent and beach towels. We provide enough paper products and trash bags to get you started for your vacation. Visit our official website for house rules and additional information.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
29% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Dogwood Point Lake House
average rating of 4.4074073 based on 30 reviews

Very secluded and peaceful stay!

  • 5 of 5

Loved exploring the property. Lots of little areas inside and out to hang out. Our family had a great time together.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Home interior was very nice, outside needs some cleanup

  • 4 of 5

The house was very nicely furnished. I have a few suggestions to owners: the entire yard needs a major cleanup. The patio/fenced yard area off one bedroom was not accessible due to the mini blinds did not work, and they were torn to shreds. The bed was very close to the sliding glass door and was hard to get to with the broken mini-blinds. But didn't really matter because that area was so overgrown you could not go out there. Not safe for a dog, child or adult. The swim dock has a busted board sticking up just waiting to rip open a foot, and the hand rail on steps down to the dock has 3 huge rusty nails sticking up right at arms level. The main bathroom has a cracked toilet seat (OUCH) and also mold on the bottom of the shower curtain. The large wall of windows would be a beautiful view in the winter, but summer trees all leafed out block the view of the lake. They need to be trimmed back. All bedrooms are connected, so the occupants of the middle bedroom have to walk through one of the other two bedrooms to reach the hallway. The refrig/freezer works fine, just make sure you shut the freezer door properly. There is a very severe dropoff in the backyard, so please be aware of that with small children. The property is located in a cove, not the main lake so the the water is not clear like the water in the main lake area.

Overall, the house was very nice, just needs a major landscape overhaul. The grounds in person were not at all like the pictures showed. We had a wonderful time, and saw deer, rabbits, chipmunks, 2 bald eagles, geese, ducks..............and lots of mosquitoes. Bring fogger and spray!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that this quest did not enjoy the grounds at our home. We work very hard to preserve the natural beauty of the plants and trees that surround our home. There are several Dogwood trees on the property as well as Azaleas and other shade loving trees and flowers. Cutting back too many of the overhead trees would harm the natural landscaping on this one acre lot that we have worked so hard to maintain. However, we do a light trimming of all trees and shrubs in early spring and late fall every year. We also enjoy the many birds, chipmunks and squirrels that make this their home. The website shows pics from different seasons. The flowering trees and shrubs on the grounds are going to be more interesting and more beautiful when everything is in bloom in the spring and fall. Living on the water does tend to cause wood to warp very quickly and we do routine checks and maintenance to ensure that everything is safe. If the guest found a problem we apologize and appreciate her letting us know. Our home is indeed on a cove, as indicated on the map. Swimming on the big water can be a bit of a challenge with all the boat traffic so most people tend to seek out a cove for this reason. We do work very hard to ensure that ours is a happy , peaceful home to visit. It is 5 minutes out of the city limits, located in a country setting, overlooking the lake. Mosquito's may be present anywhere there is water , especially after dark. As explained to our guest we did have a problem with some of our previous guests allowing children and pets to play in the blinds so we did have some custom window treatments on order. We felt it wiser to leave the old blinds up until the new ones came, in for privacy purposes. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is our number one priority.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Stay was great.

  • 5 of 5

Everything worked the view was nice, dock swimming was great. Plenty of room for the family. Will happily do it again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dallas, Texas

Renewed, relaxed and refreshed

  • 5 of 5

We were travelling in a large group that included dogs and an eight month old. The lakehouse was a life/relationship preserver. The house is "V" shaped, with the bedrooms on one leg and living areas on the other. The baby slept soundly in the last bedroom while we cooked then played games in the dining room. Everyone was very happy.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent little getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family and I decided to visit Hot Springs in order to check out the tourist attractions we've heard so much about such as the Arlington, Spas and trails that lead up to the lookout tower. After looking around the internet for places to stay we came across Dogwood Point Lake House, which came highly recommended to us from a friend. Overall, the Lake House was beautiful and filled with creative art pieces. It made us feel like we were staying at a beach house. It had that "waterfront atmosphere" we were looking for. The location of this house is perfect because its only 5 minutes from town and yet feels so far away from it. We had privacy, which was important to us. The Lake is right outside the back door and we were able to swim. We will definitely be back. I would recommend this to anyone seeking a great Hot Springs experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Will never rent a home again.

  • 1 of 5

The house was orderly although the layout was different than expected. The stairs leading to the dock were steep and uneven. There was a busted board on the dock. When the kids went swimming they complained of the ladder hurting their hands. After getting in the water we saw a sign at the neighbors warning of an electric current in the water and warned to swim at our own risk. A storm blew through on day 2 and felled a tree in part of the driveway. The powers went out and stayed out. We're stayed for night 2 but had to go to a hotel for night 3 due to the heat. On night 4 we left back to Texas (a day early) as the power was still out and there were no hotel vacancies. Over $200 of food in the refrigerator had to be thrown out. I asked for a partial refund for nights 3 and 4 since it was uninhabitable. There was no A/c and no power to cook. I was told I should've bought the insurance. The insurance is only good if you cancel your trip after paying it does not cover the house being unloveable and electric currents in the water. Wasted vacation. Will never rent a home again. Am giving one star only because no stars is not an option.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry for the unfortunate weather circumstances that this guest incurred. However, they were notified at time of reservation that insurance should be purchased with a vacation rental as we cannot be responsible for weather and weather related conditions. Most docks have a possible shock warning sign posted for insurance purposes so that is not an unusual thing to see . However, we never turn on the electricity while swimming and we do not give our guests the option to turn on electricity to the dock at all. Unfortunately these guests found a way to turn it on without permission. Our swim dock is cleared for swimming by a certified electrician so we know it is safe, but we DO NOT swim with the electricity on just as an added precaution.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2





Additional information about rental rates

cleaning and taxes $150
pay online booking fee $20
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $200

Special rates of $125.00 are for for a party of two during off season.
Always consider cancellation insurance protection as we are not responsible for weather or weather related issues. It also covers you in case of a cancellation due to death in family, job loss, etc. Call CSA at 1-800-349-8218 or go online at vacation

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties