Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Steps to the Beach, Pool Table, Kayak, Bikes--all the comforts of vacation home

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6, Large Screened Porch, huge kitchen and more!

Welcome to our place at the beach: Double Chillin'. Located 2 1/2 shady blocks from the ocean on a peaceful little street called Georgia Ave. We are situated at the end of Mexico Beach off 3rd street which has private dedicated beaches. No homes or condos on the beach here, just wide open sand, surf and the occasional seagull. Many times you will be the only one on the beach. So if you are looking for a peaceful, quiet getaway, YOU FOUND IT!

Double Chillin' is our 1700 sq feet,three bedroom, two bath modular home/beach getaway. With screened-porch, beautiful 3 large bedrooms, enormous eat-in kitchen and oversized great room,

Double Chillin' can accomodate up to six people comfortably. Enjoy the use of a double Sea kayak, bikes, pool table or reading library during your stay.

From the tropical decor to the well appointed accomodations, Double Chillin' is the PERFECT place for your beach vacation!

Situated on the Gulf of Mexico within the Florida Panhandle is the quaint, seaside town of Mexico Beach. A three mile stretch of uncrowded, sugar-white sands and clear, tropical waters, this laid-back community is a great place to escape from your busy schedule. You'll not find any high-rises, traffic lights or fast food chains here. Mexico Beach is the perfect backdrop for relaxing, sunning, fishing, or just hangin' out with loved ones making memories that last a lifetime

Click on the link below to our has many more pictures of Double Chillin' and great ideas about how to get the most out of your visit to Mexico Beach.

Keywords: Beach Cottage, Rental, Vacation, Beach, Ocean, Travel

More Details

Cindy Wilson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 16, 2017

About Cindy Wilson

After a vacation in 2005 Chris and I knew we wanted to return to the laid-back life of Mexico Beach. So in 2007, we decided to make Double-Chillin' our beach get-away.

Having vacationed in many beach towns, we fell in-love with the white sandy beaches, tropical blue waters and unhurried, uncrowded 3 mile stretch of paradise. Whether we were sunning, swimming, exploring, fishing or dining, we knew there was nowhere like Mexico Beach!

Cindy Wilson purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Cindy Wilson chose Florida Main North West

Best Beaches, Best Fishing, Best Seafood, Quiet and Tropical, Nightlife available.....There is nowhere like Mexico Beach!

What makes this cottage unique

Our favorite fishing captain is Mitch Coleman with FloriDaze fishing charters, he is knowledgeable, fun and we always score a ton of fish.

Kayak to crooked island.

Bike ride the3+ miles of new concrete bike paths along the beach perfect transporation for dining and shopping.

Most of all we love the sunsets at Mexico Beach and the quiet gentle ocean breeze on our screened front porch.


Mexico Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bath has garden tub and enclosed shower, double vanity.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) Affectionally referred to as the 'Buddah Bed', extra large pillow top King with ceiling fan is a perfect way to relax. Large masterbath with Garden Tub., Queen size Beds (1) Pillow Top, Double Beds (2) Tommy Hillfiger Surf Room, Sleep Sofa (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Double Kayak, Bikes, Beach toys/floats/towels, Large Gas Grill, Fire pit, Pool table, Garden tub in Masterbath, 400 sq foot screened porch/lanai, beautiful decorations throughout.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Steps to the Beach, Pool Table, Kayak, Bikes--all the comforts of vacation home
average rating of 4.85 based on 40 reviews

Very neat, clean and cozy! Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay! Great location, Convenient to the beach, & shopping!! Friendly neighborhood! Cozy and very clean!! Perfect for our family ❤️

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to review our vacation rental. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return. The Wilsons
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful place!!!

  • 5 of 5

Very relaxing!! Had everything we needed and just a wonderful place to stay!! We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vincennes, Indiana

Perfect vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed here for our summer vacation. The property was very clean. The pool table was a great way to keep the boys entertained while not at the beach. The living room is enormous . We played cards every night on the screened in front porch and there was so much room and we had so much fun. We did have some Internet issues but the owner worked very, very hard with my aunt to get it worked out and eventually, we had Internet again. I always do a checkout through vrbo, so that went very smooth. My only complaint...we left home for Indiana at 5am, considering we had a 13 hour drive. We were packing our things in the cars that morning and the neighbor came out and starting yelling at us to keep it down, they were trying to sleep. Very rude, as we were a big group and trying to get everyone's cars packed and on the road. But that won't stop us from coming back. This place was perfect for our family!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation and hope you will rent with us again in the future. Chris and Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Jacksonville, FL

Still a wonderful, homey place to stay right near the most peaceful beach I've ever visited

  • 5 of 5

First, let me say that Mexico Beach itself is a small, quaint town, and is a very peaceful place to take a vacation. My grandmother and I have been frequent visitors for over 20 years, and we particularly enjoy laying on the beach watching the sand crabs and the waves and watching the spectacular sunsets. If you want to stay in a place that's hoppin' with excitement, this is NOT it. But if you want a peaceful stay in a place that is close enough to excitement for several day trips (Panama City is only about a half hour away), Mexico Beach is the place. Though we've been to the area many times, this was only my family's second visit to Double Chillin'; we stayed once previously in 2012. We found the property just as comfortable, convenient, and well kept as on our last stay. If you're looking for posh or luxurious, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a home away from home for a week or two, with all the things you need to be comfortable (sheets and blankets, pots and pans, dishes, towels, etc.), and all just a few blocks from a lovely beach - look no farther. We were settled in with groceries purchased from Port St. Joe's Piggly Wiggly the first evening, and ready to just kick back and enjoy our stay. I enjoy the little quirks of the rental: the beach-themed wall hangings, books and magazines scattered throughout, family games and movies in the living room, and the pool table, which my daughter was old enough this visit to truly enjoy. Only 5 of us went: myself, my gran, my fiance, our daughter, and her best friend. We could easily have fit 2 or 3 more people without feeling crowded. The best part, in my opinion, is the large tub in the master bath (which does take some time to fill, but is worth the wait!), and the large screened front porch with table and chairs as well as comfy chairs and loveseat perfect for reading or chatting. We finished our trip off with a Sunday morning visit to a church service on the beach - not to be missed. I am not a churchy person, but the service was so natural, welcoming, and totally unique that I felt right at home. All in all an awesome stay. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words and hope you will vacation with us again. Chris and Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chattanooga TN

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5

The house was nice and roomy, had everything we needed. Mexico beach is just beautiful! We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you loved it! You guys were great and left Double Chillin better than you found it-Can't wait for you to come back and vaca with us! Chris and Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newport, TN

Not what we expected

  • 2 of 5

We recently stayed here June 11-18 2016. When we arrived after a 10 hour trip, our bladders were ready to explode!! To my surprise , the first bathroom I went in was dirty. The toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned. Thankfully, the second bathroom was clean. The covered parking was not available. It had a Jeep under it and kayaks on a trailer. The TV in the living room did not work. We actually spoke to the maintenance man,who called the owner, but we never got a response back from either. The pictures on the website definitely need to be updated! Most definitely not like the pictures in the description. The shed has a rusted nail for the lock. The tub in the master bathroom took over a hour to fill up. The other tub wouldn't drain good. Outside, beside the grill layed a hacksaw. Luckily the kids didn't go around there to play. This was most definitely not what we had expected. We will not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Renters, I am so sorry our little cottage was not up to your liking. This is the first "not so great" review we have received at Double Chllin' since renting with VRBO since 2009 and are surprised you have posted negative review after we spent time emailing answers to your multiple questions about the closest walmart, the wi-fi, the closest church and resending the rental agreement. I will speak with my housekeeper about the bathroom, I am sorry you felt it wasn't clean. Hacksaw by the grill, we don't own one, landscapers? The Tub took an hour to fill up? hmmmm, we are here now, no problems. Covered parking? the kayak trailer is super easy to move to create parking Updated pictures? you are right we should update pictures to show the new furniture, new carpet, new roof, new light fixtures, new sinks, new plantation blinds, etc. We will consider all your comments and make any reasonable adjustments.Thank you again for renting with us, we apologize it was not up to your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Mexico Beach
Killer Seafood
Mango Marley's
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Toucans, Lookout Lounge
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Public, Airforce
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Mexico Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Mexico Beach Fishing Pier
Nearest Point of Interest
Crooked Island
Nearest Point of Interest
Toucans Beachside Restaurant
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $150

Rentals are from Saturday to Saturday only, except in Fall and Winter.
$25 per person one-time fee for parties over 4.
Maximum occupancy 8.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties