Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Incredible Wooden Beams Apartment in 17th Century Building

Bedrooms 1
Space 484 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3)

This apartment is located on an island of the Seine, ”l’Ile Saint-Louis”, the upmost location in Paris. The stone building is a former 17th century private mansion and is rich in history.

The whole apartment inherits from the 17th century. Not only the high ceiling wooden beams is extraordinary, the ancient wooden floor glorious but also the decoration was carefully chosen by the owner. The apartment feels comfortable and warm. In the bedroom, the bed with canopy has a direct view on the 17th century courtyard. In the living room the lounge area faces the ancient chimney and opens its window on the “Saint Louis en l’Île” church.

Location is perfect for shopping, sightseeing, food or entertainment in the center of Paris and particularly in the trendy Ile Saint Louis. It is located 2 mn from Notre Dame Cathedral, in the quiet part of rue Saint Louis en l’Ile.

Subways Pont Marie and Sully-Morland are less than 5 minutes walking distance away.

The 45 m² apartment fits for 2 (or 3 including not full man’s height mezzanine). It is on the first floor of a stone building (no elevator).

Passing the building double door, the visitor discovers a stone paved courtyard decorated with greeneries and a fountain. One feels immediately the quietness and the charm of the centuries old mansion.

On entering apartment, one finds left the kitchen and the living room, right the bedroom and the stair to mezzanine, and face the bathroom.

• Living room offers a lounge area and a dining area. The ceiling is very high and covered with the wooden beams. The lounge area faces the chimney and is next to the window that faces the church. Dining area has wooden table for 6.

• Bedroom feels very comfortable. It is delicately decorated. It offers a double bed with canopy. Its window, giving on the quiet private courtyard, bathes the bedroom in light.

• Mezzanine offers a single bed and a desk area facing the living room and its high window. A great place for writing. Note that the ceiling is not at man’s height.

• Kitchen is a separate room located right behind living room. Kitchen is equipped and decorated with ceramic tiles.

• Bathroom is simply equipped with bath tub with shower, a sink and toilets

As a bonus, Phone calls to land lines in France, and to US, Canada and Australia are generally free. It is also true for more than 50 countries. Moreover, calls to cell phones towards specific countries (often US & Canada) may also be free. Ask us for detail as it may vary with time and policies of operators.

The apt location is a perfect base to visit Paris : based in the heart of the old Paris, facing the 17th century Saint Louis en l’Ile church on the trendy Ile saint Louis. One can find at walking distance, the Marais where are the best clothes shops of Paris, Notre Dame Cathedral or the famous Jardin des Plantes. Cross the street and stroll along the banks of the Seine, enjoy a drink on one of the many barges.

It stays 10 minute by subway to most interesting Paris locations AND is a very charming and restful area to be appreciated after a whole day shopping and walking through museums.

Last but not least, the famous ice-cream maker “Berthillon” is very close to the apartment !

Neighborhood :

• The Ile Saint Louis area and the neighbouring Marais area are very lively and full of restaurants, cafés, and trendy shops. One finds also many cultural and ancient sites to visit in the immediate vicinity. A lot of famous French artists live on Ile Saint Louis.

Keywords: Design, cozy, 1 bedroom, flat, apartment, Paris, location, best, price, comfortable, perfect, light, calm, unique, charming, value for money, affordable, restaurant, shopping, beams, ceiling, Latin quarter, Jardin des Plantes, Ile Saint Louis, Notre-Dame, Paradis Latin, Saint Germain, Le Marais

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2018


Les Îles Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Floor Area:
  • 484 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Broadband Access
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
19% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Incredible Wooden Beams Apartment in 17th Century Building
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 26 reviews
Los Angeles

Cozy but poorly maintained

  • 3 of 5

A beautiful apartment with maintenance problems. Many of the light switches do not work. Some of the outlets come off the wall. The whole electrical system should be redone properly (previous tenants had disabled the smoke alarm, we were told. Also, we were shown the fuse box and were shown how to reset blown fuses.) Dangerously slippery bathtub/shower and no mat provided. Good bed. The manager was prompt and very receptive and helpful. We would return if we know the electrical problems were resolved.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Susan, Thanks for your review, comments are always welcome and help us improve what can be. Nice to hear you found the apartment to be cozy, beautiful and with a good bed. Also glad to know that you found us to be prompt, very receptive and helpful. We informed the owner about the electricity being old and needing to be redone. That said be reassured, there is no danger, it is just the old fuse box system needing to be sometimes, rarely, restarted. Works are planned at the beginning of next year. Sincerely, Jean
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location but disappointing apartment

  • 1 of 5

Paris and St. Louis island as always were full of charm and character. This apartment was run down and grotty. The floors were sticky the kitchen a little scary and you would not cook in it. The " charming" furnisings were a collection of faded dirty looking old pieces that seemed like they came from a council throw out. The bathroom is old and needs renovation. The walls are cracked and paint is flaking everywhere. The booking process was not easy and I resented being sent a lease not previously mentioned only after payment of a non refundable deposit. I have had good experiences in the past with VRBO but will be more careful using them in the future. We will be back to Paris and will stay on St Louis but not in this apartment.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Peter, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry the apartment was not at your liking. If cleaning was not perfect we would have happily sent a cleaner. I hope you had called us. This apt is not obviously a hotel type apt. Its decoration and furniture are in the fashion of the 17th century. We understand it may not please to some guests. The photos show the apt as it is. It is true it would gain if some parts were repainted. We have informed the owner. Our usual guests generally choose that apt to feel in the old Paris and appreciate it as one can see from other reviews. For your next stay we would be happy to offer an apt to the modern hotel standard. Sincerely, Jean
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle WA

Wonderful place to stay on I'LLe Saint-Louis

  • 5 of 5

We selected this VRBO as we had always wanted to stay on I'lle Saint-Louis. This time it was my wife and I for one week while I was attending an International Meeting at Porte Maillot. This apartment is old and beautiful (wood beams, floor) and we will try to stay there again. We arrived on Saturday, took a taxi into Paris and were met at the apartment by a representative of the company. He gave us the building code and keys. Couldn't have been easier. The apt was compact but had a nice living room and bedroom. The kitchen and bath were not spacious but functional. We ate out every night so the size of the kitchen did not matter. Its located across from the church in the quiet part of rue Saint-Louis. There is no metro on the island but it's only a 10 min walk to the north (1, 2, 14) and south (10 ) for convenient stations. We were worried as it was August and virtually all of our favorite restaurants were closed. But we found some excellent locations that we will add to our list of favorites. Add them to yours. Le Caveau de l'isle on the island. Pamela Pop on Francois Miron. Astier on rue Timbaud east of Oberkampf. We also did the Steak Frites dinner at Relais de l'Entrecôte Saint-Germain. The last night splurge was at the one star L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Superb location, great owner, very much enjoyed it

  • 5 of 5

It's a terrific space and was perfect for myself, my husband and our eleven year old daughter for our first stay in Paris. Nice combination of elegance in the lines, but was quite clearly a comfortable place that was welcoming to come home to. Only quibble I would have is that the bathroom turned out to be a bit tricky for two adults with mobility problems as the space is small and getting into and out of the tub to use the shower.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver, Canada

Peaceful and quiet in the middle of Paris

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights in July 2017. We loved the location & found the apartment very comfortable. The courtyard is beautiful, the beds were fine, the kitchen was perfect for our needs, and I liked having the church across the street. We felt that we were in a peaceful oasis amidst the craziness of Paris in July. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

True Paris Experience

  • 5 of 5

Amazing 17th century apartment in the heart of Paris! Butcher, creamery, boulangerie, super market and the best ice cream you'll ever have, all on your street! The courtyard, the large windows and church bells in the morning... absolutely amazing! The bed is very comfortable, there is a fridge, freezer, washing machine, beautiful blue & white china and everything else you might need.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Notre Dame Cathedral
Nearest Point of Interest
Subway Pont Marie
Nearest Point of Interest
Subway Sully-Morland
Nearest Point of Interest
Jardin des Plantes
Nearest Point of Interest
Le Marais area
Nearest Point of Interest
Latin Quarter area
Nearest Point of Interest
Sorbonne university
Nearest Point of Interest
Bastille area
Nearest Point of Interest
Chatelet area
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Saint Chapelle
Nearest Point of Interest
Port of Paris


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning & Linen $73.31 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.7%

- We may accept 3 days stays : simply send us a mail for 4 days and add actual dates in the comment.

-Additionally, we would like to mention:
• Electricity, heating is included (not included only in case of monthly rental).
• Internet is included
• Phone is free to many destinations (US, Canada landlines & cells please ask for details)
• Full end of stay cleaning is mandatory and is included (includes Linen&Towels)
• Paris City tax of 0,83€/day/guest charged on behalf of Paris City is included

- Tax/Handling charges will depend on payment way

- Rates may change at any time. Rates vary depending on season, nbr of guests if applicable, occupation & owner.

- Damage protection will be requested with 2nd and last payment

- Note that this site automatic estimated quote system calculates rents in a basic way : it may result in higher quote for 6 days than for 7 days or other discrepancies. Therefore, we may resend a detailed quote with description, & process via mail.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.