Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunset & Sound Views, 6 Person Hot Tub, Pet Friendly

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Private Bedrooms and 1 open Bedroom + 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Are you looking for a truly relaxed Hatteras Island vacation, the way it is intended to be? Our home 'Something Fishy,' a one-level beach vacation cottage, offers the complete rest and relaxation you are looking for. It is located just moments away from everything Hatteras Island has to offer, and comes with awesome sunset and sound views.

‘Something Fishy’ comes furnished with fresh linens on each bed and plenty of towels for your stay. The entire home comes equipped with Wi-Fi access and Netflix. If you plan to bring your own boat, let us know and we can arrange to have a free boat slip provided for you at Scotch Bonnet Marina across from the home.

There is lots of room to roam or walk your Pup on the 3/4 acre lot. Note: The yard is not completely fenced in. On the ground floor of the home, to the right of the staircase, you will find ‘Pap’s Place,’ a room full of windows and natural light with a 6-person hot tub. The windows are screened to keep the bugs out while you relax!

Make your way up the flight of stairs to the covered landing, and you will find a propane gas grill for 'at home' grilled meals, which is very convenient to the kitchen. Enter the home and you will find a fully stocked kitchen and dining area with seating for six and everything you need to cook your own meals.

The kitchen opens to the living room. With high ceilings, nice furnishings, a propane fireplace, a TV with a DVD player and Netflix, and an oversized recliner and sofa, you’re sure to feel right at home. The one fun chore you will be asked to do daily is feed the fish in our 75-gallon aquarium that adorns the living room.

Off of the kitchen, to the left, look through the row of windows for a view of the Pamlico Sound, Scotch Bonnet Marina, and amazing Sunset views. In this open room (NOTE: this is NOT a private bedroom, but a room with an opening off the kitchen and living area), you will find sleeping for four (a futon and a double bed). This room is furnished with some board games and books for our guests’ enjoyment.

Off of the kitchen, to the right and down a hallway, you will find two full bathrooms (one with the washer and dryer and a shower/tub combo, the other with a shower stall), a bedroom with a queen bed, and a bedroom with a full bed. Each bedroom is equipped with a TV and DVD player, and dressers and closet storage.

Whatever your vacation dreams are- if you love nature, want to leave commercialism and everyday stress at home- you have found your “piece of paradise” with a homeowner who truly cares about your vacation and wants it to be perfect. Whenever you need a Hatteras Island Vacation, 'Something Fishy' welcomes you!

There is no official “check-in” process. Prior to your arrival, you will receive directions for entry to ‘Something Fishy’ and you may arrive any time after 4:00 pm and make yourselves at home.

The garage under the home is for owner storage. Please note that the owner might occasionally access the garage. It shouldn't ever be an inconvenience to guests.

If you have a larger group or want to stay close to another group, please view our VRBO Listing #357411 'Island Time,' (4 bedrooms/3 bathrooms, sleeps 11) which is located approximately 250 feet behind and to right of 'Something Fishy'. ‘Island Time’ is also great for family reunions and weddings, with several acres of yard space, plentiful parking, and a pond-front Pavilion with covered seating for 30-40.

More Details

Jason Buckner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

Why Jason Buckner chose Frisco

'Something Fishy' is located directly across the street from Scotch Bonnet Fudge and Marina, and is just a few minutes from Frisco Sandwich Company, Capt'n Rolo's Raw Bar and Grill, Frisco Shopping Center, Frisco Rod and Gun, and several beach accesses.

What makes this cottage unique

Enjoy wildlife and the natural beauty in the heart of Hatteras Island - unspoiled & peaceful Frisco, NC. Make use of the 3/4 acre lot for 'room to roam', propane grill, and 6-person hot tub.


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Frisco Airstrip
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Pop's Raw Bar
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Hatteras to Ocracoke
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Nearest Point of Interest
Cape Hatteras Lighthouse
Nearest Point of Interest
Hatteras Ferry
Nearest Point of Interest
Pop's Raw Bar
Nearest Point of Interest
Cape Point
Nearest Point of Interest
Frisco Go Karts
Nearest Point of Interest
Frisco Tackle
Nearest Point of Interest
Frisco Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
Scotch Bonnet Marina
Nearest Point of Interest
Conner's Grocery
Nearest Point of Interest
Inn on Pamlico

Go Carts, Marina, Off Shore Charter Fishing, Free 1 hour Ferry Ride to Ocracoke, Shopping, infamous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Surf Fishing, Beach Fires, 1.7 miles to Ramp 49 to 4 wheel to beach, public beach access, the best local seafood restaurants, Kayaking, Windsurfing, Kiteboarding, crabbing, and Free Boat Slip Provided by Owner, if desired all within 1 to 10 minutes of this property.


Sunset Village Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Approximately 3/4 acre of 'room to roam', separate Hot tub Room featuring 6 person hot tub


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
13% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Sunset & Sound Views, 6 Person Hot Tub, Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.711111 based on 45 reviews
Poquoson VA

Great place!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. Close to beaches, pleasant accommodation. Great that our dog was allowed.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Comfortable Base Camp

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying here, it feels like a home and not just a beach rental. It is comfortable and clean, and even though it's pet friendly it doesn't smell or feel "doggy" (we have 2 dogs and brought them with us so I say that with love ;) The furnishings are comfortable and the kitchen is very well stocked. The owners are super nice, very responsive, and very accommodating. The downstairs area is not so great for sleeping due to it being a converted garage space, but it's great for when the night owls need a space to go and hang out while upstairs people are sleeping :) The sound is right across the street with easy access for anything from a kayak to a big boat. The beaches along the coast are just fantastic. Frisco has a cool vibe, a nice mix of locals and things for tourists. Overall we had a stellar time and I'm really glad we found this spot! Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Ellicott City Maryland

Great Base Camp

  • 5 of 5

Traveled to Outer banks with fishing in mind, 3 men in party. House location was great. Marina across the street where we kept our boat. Easy trip to many public access beaches. We had a 4 wheel drive and bought the drive on beach pass. Our weather was bad but we still managed a few days on the water by boat, but every day we hit the beaches by truck and had a great time.

House was neat and well kept and well stocked. The owner Jayne was terrific and very responsive. I cant say enough about how committed she was to making our stay successful. She assisted with Marina Details, Charters and local knowledge. Lot had plenty of parking for our vehicles and boat trailer. Enjoyed the hot tub after a day on the water. We used primarily the upstairs for all of our daily activities which consisted of sleeping, breakfast and dinners other than that we were out enjoying the area. House very convenient to everything on the island. You will need a car or bike to get around. I'll certainly hope to return!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Amazing stay in an amazing olace!

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed in many VRBO houses all across the gulf, east coast and mountains and I must say this is one of the best! Super nice people. Super nice house. Very many personal touches that you just don't see everyday!! I would recommend this house to ANYONE looking. Those with kids young and old, this is the place you need to be!!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family fun at the beach!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time back to the Outer Banks since our children were 2 and 7 ( they are now 10 and 15)! Loved Frisco Beach and the house! It was nice to not have to pack linens and towels and kitchen was well stocked with cooking items! Kids took turns feeding the fish and loved the hot tub! Both Jane and Jason were great! The goodie basket for the kids that was put together as a welcome gift was awesome! Everything was very convenient to get to. Conners was a nice grocery store that had just about everything you needed, Diamond Shoals had a great fresh seafood market, Angelos pizza was yummy, and OMG the Scotch Bonnet fudge and taffy! Lighthouse was a cardio workout but the view was worth the climb and a charter fishing trip provided fresh fish and clams that were caught by hubby and kids for our dinner. Was very sad when our trip came to an end and hoping to plan one again next year and staying in one of Jane's houses! That is if we don't have more that join us and then maybe Jane can provide suggestions on where we can rent.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

You get what you pay for and it wasn't as we'd anticipated

  • 2 of 5

The welcome basket on the table was a nice touch although we would've much more appreciated a house that was clean & everything in working order. It was frustrating after driving 12 hrs only to find that the bedroom TV's had limited channels, the dayroom TV had no service and the LR TV only worked after we troubleshooted & fixed the problem after 1hr. We've vacationed on the Carolina beaches for 20 years. Unfortunately, Something Fishy was the least pleasant rental. The 1st floor was comfortable enough and appeared clean.The layers of dirt & dust were something I had trouble seeing & I found myself cleaning so the next renter found it cleaner! The used tooth/gum flosser on the kitchen table speaks for itself. The lower level was very disappointing. We took a look and sniff around and that was the end of using that room- Incredibly musty and warm--definitely needs a dehumidifier. The window A/C didn't blow cold air; the fridge/freezer, apparently used to hold raw fish in the past, was foul smelling and wasn't cold even on high setting. The areas used to hold junk weren't concealed well and the over all appearance was nasty.

The Hot Tub area--upon seeing it sinking into the floor and the plant that's pot had shattered so it was just a messy root ball helped us decide that we didn't trust the cleanliness of the tub. It would've been very nice to have some simple chairs to be able to sit outside. The Adirondack chairs were peeling so much paint that we couldn't use them. I didn't look at the picnic table--it was at the back of the property which wasn't kept. The lawn was in disarray--some grass was overgrown, the fence mostly broken. We did make contact w/Jason on arrival but we decided to make the best of our surroundings. The beach was fantastic and the ferry, fabulous--we rented scooters/golf cart, explored the island and ate @ the best burger place. The ice cream/snow cone shop was delicious. We will definitely return but will rent somewhere different next time. Of note, the area is visibly financially distressed as expressed by several islanders but the natural beauty is untouched. We wanted to be totally honest so future renters can rent with their eyes wide open. The pics are real-just view them with your eyes half closed. ;)

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I recall when you arrived I spent an hour of texting with you-you did not tell me the TV or cable box was OFF. You finally saw the power stick out from the TV cabinet and PLUGGED UP TV and everything was fine. All other TV's have worked fine for others - ever think you might have a problem?? You had 2 contact numbers to text or call if you had any problem whatsoever. I knew nothing of a problem until I emailed you AFTER your stay. You failed to follow rules and let us know of any problems. Are you sure the dental floss near table guest left was not yours and you did not remember it? You told me after you had been there 3 days you found dog hair but could not be your dog because it does not shed! Funny you are the only complaint the cleaner has had all year and cleans several times a week-sounds like some of the responsiblilty is YOURS. If the bottom level, which is a bonus room described as "unfinished garage area" was too humid, I would have told you the 2 window AC's should have helped and dehumidifier was ordered to replace 1 that died. Did you break the fridge? It was not reported while you were there? EXTRA Fridge was replaced when we knew it was out. It would have been when you were there had you reported. You are the type that prefers to complain 6 weeks after your stay when you are probably sitting around in your city life miserable and want to insult a community filled with love. The dirt ball you mention (I explained to you in email) after I told you the reason that I treasure it, let's me know what a person you are. It was one of the last things my Daddy planted & I was trying to save it, as I told you. You have also crossed the line when you have insulted my family, friends, and our close knit community. You have described us as "visibly financially distressed'. Money is probably the only thing that is important to you. Yes, we are on a natural beautiful Island of untouched beauty and we do not, certainly, need the likes of you to visit our Island or any part of it. We have millions of wonderful guests who become friends and visit our homes time and time again. We love and appreciate each of them and communicate regularly. Please do our entire Island a huge favor and stay home in your city or at least on the other side of of the bridge. We do not need you on our Island anywhere. No one works harder than we do - we want everyone's stay to be perfect. You do not deserve to share 1 day of the beauty & love of our Island!
Did you find this review helpful?
19 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.