Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Upscale 2 BR Chalet, ONLY 2 Blocks to Square - Whole House - On-Site Parking**

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,510 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

ABOUT OUR CHALETS…..

Location, location, location. We offer 2 Chalets, our 2-bedroom "back" Chalet (featured here -- read more ABOUT THIS CHALET below) and our 1-bedroom "front" Chalet, VRBO 370657. Our Chalets are located an easy 2 blocks west of Courthouse Square in historic Prescott (pronounced “Pres-kitt”) – at one time the pre-state capital of the Arizona Territory. Festivals abound just about every weekend during mild weather seasons, often held right at Courthouse Square -- jazz, blues, arts -- you name it! In addition, Prescott features interesting museums, casinos, our nation's oldest rodeo in July, antique shopping, upscale shopping, outdoor year-round Farmer’s Markets, and 450 miles of hiking and biking with 5 lakes in the area.

It's a pleasant and quick walk from our Chalets to great restaurants, entertainment, and every variety of shopping. Our incredible location -- just two blocks from Prescott's historic Courthouse Square and the center of many of Prescott’s activities and festivals – is, without a doubt, one of the BEST. There’s rarely a need to drive once you get here – just park and leave your vehicle** in our private, off-street lot** – and this is a huge PLUS during any downtown/Courthouse Square event when parking is at a premium. (** One small-regular sized car/van/truck -- sorry, no oversized vehicles, extended bed trucks or RVs. Street parking is available.)

Our Chalet grounds feature lovely and simple Arizona landscaping, on-site parking**, privacy fencing rimmed by soothing shade trees, a vine-covered pergola walkway, and in mild weather.... a little herb garden for use by our guests who love to cook! During the summer, you can hear the cicadas sing. Close to downtown, yet it feels private and secluded – and so-o-o-o-o-o relaxing! (** One small-regular sized car/van/truck -- sorry, no oversized vehicles, extended bed trucks or RVs. Street parking is available.)

Did you know Prescott is known as Arizona’s “Christmas City?” That’s because Courthouse Square is beautifully lit for the holidays (about early December – mid-January: confirm exact dates with Prescott’s Chamber of Commerce https://prescott.org/). There’s also a crazy western “Boot Drop” and mini street festival (Prescott’s answer to New York’s Times Square festivities) on New Year’s Eve at Courthouse Square. You can actually see Prescott’s New Year’s fireworks from our Chalets.

There is always something happening in Prescott, Arizona – everyone’s home town! Find it all at http://www.cityofprescott.net/events. Love live music? -- go to http://prescottads.com/KudosCalendar/. Want to know the weather in Prescott? -- check out http://www.usclimatedata.com/climate/prescott/arizona/united-states/usaz0178. Contact the Chamber of Commerce https://prescott.org.

OR…. mix it up a little bit and take a fun day trip to Jerome, Sedona, Flagstaff, Grand Canyon, or Phoenix/Scottsdale!

ABOUT THIS CHALET....

VRBO #367805, our 2-bedroom "back" Chalet, was built in 2002 and is a roomy 1,510 square feet. Our back Chalet's large front deck features rocking chairs and patio furniture, including an eat-out table. Our back Chalet shares a gas grill and on-site parking** with any occupants of our front, 1-bedroom Chalet, VRBO #370657. (** One small-regular sized car/van/truck -- sorry, no oversized vehicles, extended bed trucks or RVs. Street parking is available.)

Our back Chalet's rear patio is for your use only and features patio furniture, including a dining table, and a Weber charcoal grill. This Chalet's first floor includes a great room with comfortable seating, decorative (non-working) fireplace, large flat screen TV, stereo, Bose speakers, and wireless high speed internet. Our great room also has a full-size sofa sleeper couch. Our Chalet’s eat-in kitchen is fully equipped and includes a kitchen table plus a center island/bar with stools, offering total seating for 8. All kitchenware and upgraded appliances are provided, plus a selection of spices for use by our cooking guests. A guest room with a full-size bed is also on the first floor, plus a separate full bath with shower, and a washer/ dryer.

The Chalet’s upstairs features a master bedroom with a king size, sleep number bed and flat screen TV, a den/office loft, a master bath with roomy shower, double sinks, and large walk-in closet.

Please note this is strictly a NON-SMOKING house, porch, AND outdoor premises.

NO PETS are allowed in this Chalet.

ALL reservations are subject to management approval. A $250 check or cash security deposit to secure for damage/extraordinary cleaning is required at the time of check-in and will be returned either at check-out or within 10 days of checkout, unless damage is detected or extraordinary cleaning is deemed required.

Also, please note our property has a strictly outside, non-audio, camera system focused only on access points, public view areas, and our equipment shed which is located behind our "back" Chalet.

For more information concerning either of our Chalets, call Pearl at (928) 202-9196 or email her on HomeAway/VRBO.

Please also check out our 1-bedroom Chalet (VRBO #370657).

We know you will have a wonderful time at our 2-bedroom Chalet! Book today!

More Details

Property Manager
Pearl Carpenter
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 26, 2017

About Pearl Carpenter

We fell in love with Prescott for its warm and friendly people, wonderful and mild four-season climate, and the endless entertainment and activities available here. Prescott is, without a doubt, “America's favorite home town!”

Why Pearl Carpenter chose Capital Territory & High Country

This mile-high community provides four distinct seasons and generally mild temperatures. There are endless activities sponsored by an active and friendly community. Our Chalets are within a short walking distance to much of this beautiful historic town. Our incredible location -- just two blocks from Prescott's historic Courthouse Square and the center of many of Prescott’s activities and festivals – is, without a doubt, one of the BEST. There’s rarely a need to drive once you get here – just park and leave your car in our private, off-street lot** – and this is a huge PLUS during any downtown/Courthouse Square event when parking is at a premium. (** One small-regular sized car/van/truck -- sorry, no oversized vehicles, extended bed trucks or RVs. Street parking is available.)

And Prescott’s proximity to other classic southwestern towns – Phoenix, Scottsdale, Flagstaff, Sedona, and Jerome – just can’t be beat!

What makes this house unique

We enjoy a leisurely walk around nearby Courthouse Square just about any time, but especially when it’s beautifully lit up for the Christmas season or hosting a special event. Visiting local shops offering everything from antiques, western attire and furnishings, and high fashion to kitschy tourist memorabilia; attending the many weekend outdoor events (often held at Courthouse Square); shopping at the outdoor Farmer’s Markets held year-round; reading a book while sitting on the porch; or just simply enjoying the beautiful night skies and the cicadas’ melodies on a warm summer evening…. there’s so much to LOVE about Prescott and our Chalets’ great location. And when we don’t feel like cooking, we simply walk into town to enjoy a meal at one of our many “favorite” restaurants – most of them just minutes away by foot.

Guestbook comments from the manager

we are about to wrap up our trip to Prescott and our stay at the chalet. we are so sad we have to leave. If we had our choice we would stay forever. Pearl made everything so perfect and gave us everything we needed and wanted at the property. We hope to be back soon. thanks for making our trip even better than we imagined.
May 2013
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Prescott House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1510 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Study Room
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Master bathroom on 2nd floor. Double shower/double sinks.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Guest bathroom on 1st floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , This is the 1st floor Guest Bedroom; sleeper sofa in LR
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Sleep number King bed. This is the Master Bedroom upstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Courtyard
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Upscale 2 BR Chalet, ONLY 2 Blocks to Square - Whole House - On-Site Parking**
average rating of 4.8717947 based on 45 reviews
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Our Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

This was our third year staying at this rental and we had a blast as expected!! The property is very well-kept and in a perfect location, we enjoyed the Italian restaurant across the street at least twice. Pearl does a fantastic job of keeping the property beautiful and clean. We truly feel like this is our home away from home!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for choosing our Chalets for your special Prescott Rodeo Week family vacation! We so appreciate the confidence you've shown in us by choosing our Chalet properties for the last three years. Hope to see you back again! Best regards...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!!!

  • 5 of 5

Great location and a beautiful house.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We've worked very hard to make our Chalet a welcoming vacation home. We love our Chalet and we're so pleased that you did too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location great place

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time we stayed here and this time we rented both places. The location is great - only a block or two from whiskey row and the square. An easy walk. The place is super clean and full of great features like the huge Weber grill and large deck to relax and eat on. In addition Pearl is a great host and is only a phone call away should we need anything.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us again this year -- we love having you and your crew! Sometimes we forget the combination of our two Chalets is just perfect for a larger group traveling together -- thanks for reminding us of that! And remember, as the old saying goes: "The third time's the charm" -- so we hope to see you once again at our beautiful Chalets and in our great, little American Southwestern town of Prescott, AZ
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful home but lacked privacy

  • 3 of 5

The home itself is beautiful, and in the perfect location just blocks from downtown. It was clean and well maintained. We were put off by a few things though. For our trip, it was just the two of us, my boyfriend and I. Pearl, the property manager, didn't seem to believe that it was just two of us, so made sure to stress the fact that she needs to know everyone's names who are staying because of fire codes. I reassured her several times that we were the only ones staying. At 10AM the following morning, we were awakened by Pearl and her husband walking the property and knocking on the door. We were still sleeping, but I came to the door and asked what she needed. She wanted to print something, using the printer that the office the home has. Maybe this was legit but seemed that she was checking up on us. With the outdoor security cameras this should not have been necessary. She also informed me that I should not have the doors open (the security doors were closed) as the cottonwood trees would cause a mess. Coming from the Phoenix heat we were excited to have some fresh, cool air, so this was annoying and seemed like any mess the trees made could be easily swept or vacuumed up.

A couple of things that the posting does not state that are noteworthy:

The fireplace does not work - it just has battery operated candles.

Checkout time is 10:00 and not 11 (Pearl was there at 9:45).

A check is required at check in, and it's given back once the property is inspected at check out.

Though Pearl was willing to work with us for a later check in, it was a lot of back and forth with her wanting to know exactly what time we would be there. Exact 4:00 check in seems to be what's preferred.

For the price paid we hoped for a better experience.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not pleased with all aspects of your stay at our Chalet and we do apologize. As property owners, we’d like to respond very specifically to your concerns. ----- FIRST, to clear up some misunderstandings regarding our property’s amenities/policies….. The “Overview” section of our HomeAway/VRBO listing, plus the “Notes” included in the “Rental Rates” section, state a security deposit is collected separately at Check-In. Security deposits are standard for vacation rentals, so this should not have been a surprise. We do not list a fireplace as an amenity – it is shown in one picture, but enlarging that picture will show candles placed inside, so it is visibly not a working fireplace. The rental agreement signed prior to or at occupancy states a Check-Out time of “at or before 10:00 a.m.” Our review of the HomeAway/VRBO booking conversations between you and Pearl show a requested a flexible Check-In time (i.e. after 4 p.m.) which Pearl said she could accommodate – how that changed the evening of your actual Check-In was further arranged between you and Pearl and perhaps that got complicated. ----- SECOND, regarding your concerns about privacy….. Our listing states there is another Chalet (our “front” Chalet) on the same property. We had a guest checking out from and a new guest checking in to that front Chalet on one of your days of stay – and so our Property Management team, Pearl and her husband, needed to get that front Chalet ready for the next guest and our supply shed is located behind the "back" Chalet where you were staying. You were aware there was a front Chalet because you had inquired about it, but it was already taken, so you rented the back Chalet. Pearl’s request to use the printer was an innocent request, but one we acknowledge she should not have made of you. That request is not typical of her interactions with our guests, as evidenced by most reviews for our Chalets which typically point out Pearl’s willingness to be an invaluable local resource, as well as provide the best guest experience possible. Pearl is always conscious and concerned about the need to respect our guests’ privacy, and often communicates this to us as owners. Again, we apologize for your experience. Thank you. PROPERTY OWNERS
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice place

  • 4 of 5

We stayed the 7-9th of April for a soccer tournament which my son had. Plenty of room and amenities in the home. The location of the property is excellent, you can walk to all the downtown areas. The only issue we had was an Oder which was in the home on Saturday and Sunday. We spoke with the owner about the smell, and she genuinely seemed concerned to rectify the issue.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear John: Problem solved!!!! -- we are happy to report. Our owners spent a week at the property after you left, working diligently with local contractors and the city, trying to pin down the source of the issue. It was an "Inspector Clouseau" effort to determine whether the problem was coming from inside or outside the house, the general area, or a neighbor. However, once we determined the source, the fix was relatively simple -- thank goodness! So thank you for your patience and your kind words about our desire to rectify the issue. It is indeed fully rectified! Please visit our beautiful Chalet again and best regards to you and your family.....Property Management
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice place to stay.

  • 4 of 5

Location is great, big and specious, much better than a hotel room. The only thing we did not like is the smell.. there is an awful smell that comes from some where like the sewer. We love the place, it has all you need but the smell was a big deal for me.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: UPDATE AS OF 4/1917: We have determined the source of the problem you experienced and corrected it! Today we sent you a partial refund in consideration of your experience at our Chalet. Thank you!.................................. EDITED INITIAL RESPONSE: We're happy you enjoyed our property's excellent location and amenities -- thank you! We were, of course, concerned about your final comment, especially since this is the first time we've received this comment, we were not made aware of it during your stay/check-out, and we had just received a very positive review from another guest who had stayed during the prior 10 days. We do sincerely apologize for your experience. We called you in follow-up to help us better understand the issue and we really do appreciate your willingness to spend additional time on the phone with us. Then our dedicated custodian and our local professional plumbing company performed a thorough inspection of the property. Per the UPDATE above, we have found and corrected the problem. Again, we do apologize. Thank you for staying at our Chalet and providing additional insight into your experience. We hope you will visit us again and the great little American city of Prescott, AZ! Best regards.... Property Management/lg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Rosa's
Car: recommended

Located just 2 blocks from the city center -- the beautiful Courthouse Square, plus the famous "Whiskey Row," great restaurants, entertainment venues, and all the other great happenings in historic downtown Prescott. The city presents free activities in Courthouse Square many days and nights, especially during the warmer months. Prescott is close to Jerome, Sedona, Flagstaff, and the Grand Canyon. Phoenix/Scottsdale are only 100 miles to the south. Flying in??? -- you don’t need to rent a car unless you want to take day trips out Prescott since the "Arizona Shuttle" service makes numerous trips to/from Prescott and the Phoenix airport every day -- just ask to be dropped off at the St. Michael Hotel/Bistro drop off point and you can easily walk to our Chalets in about 5 minutes or less.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Prescott House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,250
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.35%

Rates are subject to change and all rates/reservations are subject to management approval.

A $250 check or cash security deposit to secure for damage/extraordinary cleaning is required at the time of check-in and will be promptly returned at check-out, unless damage is detected or extraordinary cleaning is deemed required.

Also, please note our property has a strictly outside, non-audio, camera system focused only on access points, public view areas, and our equipment shed which is located behind our "back" Chalet.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties