Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Superior Paradise -- Hermit's Cove

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 9-11)

**Notice** We have a last minute opening for a "Prime week", July 1st to 8th, 2017. Contact us now to secure this prime week in the Copper Country.

Located on Michigan’s Keweenaw Peninsula near Calumet, Hermit’s Cove is a beautiful sandy bay on the south east side of the peninsula. Approximately 15 miles from Lake Linden and Calumet. Nearest village (two miles) is Gay.

Rustic Cabin is fully insulated and available April through November. December--March rentals not available.

Cabin is 26 feet by 30 feet lower level with an upper level of sleeping quarters on one half and game table and couches on the other half. Downstairs master bedroom is separate from the rest of the cabin. Indoor plumbing during the spring, summer and fall season including shower.

Outdoor wood fired 'Finnleo' sauna is available for use 12 months of the year. Beautiful view of the Lake and Huron Mountains.

Main floor wood stove, with glass door, can heat entire house, but two oil filled radiators are also on hand for cold, winter days.

White sandy beach stretches across the entire bay.

Cabin has One Queen bed, one double bed, plus three twin beds, one set of twin bunk beds and three couches (one a sofabed). Crib and playpen also included. Kitchen has refrigerator, electric stove and oven, plus fully stocked supplies. Walls feature Scandinavian Nordic White Spruce throughout for cozy northwoods and Scandinavian look. Detailed wall map of Keweenaw allows you to plan your explorations.

Please call or e-mail for more photos or for questions or visit our web link on this listing.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Man, this place is plush. Expected more of a 'cabin' feel. We thoroughly relaxed after relative's wedding. Didn't go down to the lake much, but the view is awesome from the deck. No berries left. Visited Copper Harbor and Captain Don, plus a few shops. This was so relaxing and everything is here we needed. Thanks so much!
Aug 2006
  • 1 of 17

Amenities

Keweenaw County Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Lake Superior Paradise -- Hermit's Cove
average rating of 4.8 based on 27 reviews
Apple Valley, MN
5

Keweenaw Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for allowing us the use of Loot’s Lodge again. We were gifted with unbelievably splendid weather, especially for this time of year. Full sunshine every day, mid 70s to I think even an 80 one day. We never used a drop of bug repellant! I think Friday we noticed a very few nats and a fly or two that did not bother us so I am sure we were on the edge of all the insects emerging. We packed so much cold weather and rain gear and never used it.

We very much enjoy the property and location! My wife and I are significant sauna enthusiast and the wood fired sauna at the edge of the lake for post sauna dips is a real treat. This year we dipped in the lake as small mini icebergs passed us by on their way to the South.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Oak Creek, WI
5

Stacy & Jeremy

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here last fall and had the most amazing weekend. the fact that we lucked out and had 80's in October helped. But the house and lake front access are wonderful. We brought our dogs with us and had a fantastic weekend of relaxing and hiking. The scenery is amazing and its a great location with only a short drive to most of the UP. We are hoping to stay again in the near future.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Traverse City, MI
3

Disappointing Experience and Advice for Renters

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful property, but the interior of the cabin was very disappointing. Stud walls, raw, water-stained drywall ceiling, bare lightbulbs, and only some areas where they had made attempts to put up some tongue and groove wall covering. Extremely small bathroom. Towels pinned up to cover up piping, hoards of dead flies in the window sills, holes in the screens patched with duct tape. The screen door (the only door leading into the place) kept falling off... it didn’t quite close, so it let in lots of bugs. The kitchen linoleum was duct-taped to the rest of the floor. The master bedroom shared a wall with the 'fridge that ran like a Mack truck all night. It was certainly not clean when we arrived, so we had to do a lot of cleaning just to make the place habitable. Not at all what we'd hoped for.

However - we didn't spend much time inside. It has a separate screened-in porch overlooking the lake, and a sauna (we didn't use it) on the property, and of course limitless Lake Superior. We may rent another cottage on the Keewenaw, but probably wouldn't go back to this place. If you're looking for utility, say a bunch of guys going hunting, you should by all means rent this cottage. But if you're looking for charm and a cozy spot to curl up with a book, we'd advise you to look elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a VERY odd rental. We are disappointed we never had any communication with this couple “before”, “during” or “after” the rental. We make ourselves available! A booking agency from Lower Michigan called to book the property, but we quickly discovered it wasn’t the actual traveler calling us, but rather a booking agency. They needed to receive an $85 fee for their efforts as the ‘travel agent’. We politely declined as our summer books full and while we appreciate her call, we don’t build in booking agent fees into our cost. In the end we agreed to add an $85 pet fee to the rental cost to cover our normal weekly rate. We then compensated the agency their $85 fee. Anyway, our mistake was not talking with the end renters directly to make sure they understood the details of this property. I’m pretty sure they never saw any images of the place prior to arrival. Mainly, we like everyone to understand our bathroom is very small. There is a shower, toilet and sink all in a small 4x6’ space so it is certainly tight quarters. The reference to the towels covering piping in the bathroom is misleading. We have a full length cloth cover (not a towel) which must cover the water supply and drain on the backside of the shower so there is access each fall when it is winterized). The screen door was fixed the day after they checked out as we were not alerted to the problem during their stay. This would have alleviated their fly problems. As for the fridge, it is a GE Fridge and is only 3 years old, purchased new, so the reference to it being a Mack Truck all night long is puzzling. It was checked out and appears to be operating fine. And, regarding the cleanliness, the cleaners are there each Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and the entire place is cleaned after each rental. I do not know what wasn’t to this couple’s standards, but if anyone has an issue upon arrival we can send the cleaners back as per our contract with them. I believe this couple wanted more modern and would have suggested our newer year-round place one mile away (but also $300 more per week). Better yet, simply visit our website (linked via VRBO) and click on all the tabs to see photos of the place. The only things different from the images is the exterior which has a new deck as of May 2012 and the interior cupboards have new countertops (2011).
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Wausau Wisconsin
5

Perfect Keweenaw Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I can't say enough about Loot's Lodge - it was exactly what we wanted! The location was central enough that we could get anywhere we wanted in under an hour, yet we were very isolated. The few neighbors on the cove were very friendly - one gentleman even taught my son how to hunt for agates! The beach has great sand and the swimming on the east side of the peninsula was amazing - I grew up on the south shore and this was so much warmer - we were in the water every day for hours. Both the separate screen house and sauna by the beach were perfectly located and frequently used as well - loved having a real wood burning sauna! This was really the perfect place for our family of 5 ( plus 2 giant schnauzers who loved the lake access!). Thank you very much and we will tell others and return ourselves!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2
Twin Cities, Minnesota
5

What a deliciously refres...

  • 5 of 5

What a deliciously refreshing, peaceful get-a-way this rustic cabin offers! We stayed from July 22 - 29, 2006 and couldn't have asked for better weather or a more pleasant experience. The water was a insaitable treat after leaving 100+ degree temps in the Twin Cities. We discovered a trick to keeping the cabin cool on very hot days was to close everything up early morning - window's, shades, etc. . . in order to keep the cool in, and the sun/heat out. It worked great! The UP is a wonderful playpen for our family - were a little sad and amazed at the expansion of private property in this neck of the woods, especially the Bete Grise area. There is something very wrong about a six foot chain link fence surrounding a massive compound near the channel on Bete Grise. Thanks Mark and Jodi, it's been great!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plattsmouth,NE
5

Our daughter, husband and...

  • 5 of 5

Our daughter, husband and 3 children met us at the cabin for a week starting July 17,05. The weather was gorgeous and we all swam at least once. The sunrises and sunsets are beautiful beyond words or pictures. Had lots of things to do and really enjoyed no TV or playstation!! You can keep your bugs, that's about the only negative thing I can say about it.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2005
  • Stayed: Jul 2005
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Houghton County
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Gay
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Calumet Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Gay Laclabelle Rd
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Gay Bar
Nearest Ski
19 Miles
Mt. Bohemia
Nearest Beach
0 feet
Car: recommended

For best information on the local area, visit the local tourist site www.keweenaw.info

Photos

Rates & Availability

Keweenaw County Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall Season
Sep 2 2017 - Oct 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$650
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$659
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $75
Tax Rate 6.0%

Deposit is due 10 days after booking. Rent is due 30 days prior to arrival. Payment by check or if credit card preferred we use PayPal credit card processing and send an invoice from PayPal secure services.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties