Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous Oceanfront Complex on Maui!! SUMMER/FALL SALE at Kanai A Nalu from $160

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 952 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms , 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

***The VRBO booking assistance number does not have all the information about our condo, so please feel free to contact the owner for accurate information.

(To read our entire description....click "More Details" below)

We have loved Kana‘i A Nalu since our dad purchased this condo in 1987!

Kana‘i A Nalu means 'gentle surf, but we call it 'Dad's Paradise.' Kana‘i A Nalu is a beautiful OCEANFRONT complex located ON the four-mile stretch of Sugar Beach on Ma‘alaea Bay. Our condo is located on the second floor with gorgeous views from the lanai of the tropical gardens, the pool, the ocean, and the sunrise over Haleakala, the 'House of the Sun,' Maui’s largest dormant volcano. During the winter months, when the humpback whales are in the bay, the lanai may become your full-time residence.

The central tropical garden area has a solar-heated pool, large grassy area, and two Weber grills for all to enjoy! In the late afternoon, the barbeque area is the place to be!

Kana‘i A Nalu appeals to those who don't want to have to walk through a congested lobby or across a busy street to get to the pool or beach. Our guests can easily go from our condo to the beach and back in a couple of minutes.

Our condo is fully equipped with kitchenware, linens, a dishwasher and a washer/dryer. We also have a nice collection of beach towels, snorkeling gear, sand toys and boogie boards for you to use on the beach.

The master bedroom has a queen-size bed with a connecting bathroom, while the second bedroom has twin beds and a full bathroom in the adjacent hall.

We have made some lovely improvements to the condo in recent years, with tile floors in the main living areas and kitchen, granite countertops in the kitchen and both bathrooms, and with HD TVs in the living/dining area and the master bedroom. We love the relaxed tropical style on island, and that style is reflected in our condo.

When the weather is blistering hot on other parts of the island, Ma‘alaea Bay’s consistent breezes keep the air comfortable at our complex. Inside the condo, each room has a ceiling fan to provide comfort, including the bathrooms. Air Conditioners were installed in the living room and master bedroom as of 11/2016.

Directly across the bay is the town of Kihei; towering above it is Haleakala, elev. 10,023. Sunrises over its summit can be seen from the lanai, and they are stunning!

Our condo is centrally located on the island and is between Wailea and Lahaina. It is approximately 9 miles from the Kahului Airport.

Each condo in the complex is unique, and you really can't go wrong anywhere on the property! You won't hear any comparisons or slights about the other condos on this listing, because we love Kana'i A Nalu!

Happy Searching!!!!

***If you are a returning guest to our condo, be sure to ask about our discount.

HI License # W0142956601

Keywords: Condo, Oceanview, Oceanfront Complex, Lanai, Tropical Gardens, Haleakala sunrise, Maalaea Bay, Maui Ocean Center Aquarium, Walking beach, Turtles, Whale Watching, Harbor, Solar-heated Pool, Maui Ocean Center

More Details

Owner
Terri (For owner Bob)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Terri (For owner Bob)

This is the sixth year that my brother and I have helped Dad to manage his condo on Maui. Our dad is a retired veterinarian, and at one time in our lives we had 3 cats, 2 dogs, 4 tortoises, and a beehive in the backyard. We now have families of our own, which, of course, include our beloved pets!

Our families live in Sacramento, Davis and Grass Valley, California.

Terri (For owner Bob) purchased this condo in 1987

Why Terri (For owner Bob) chose Central Maui

One of the reasons that dad was drawn to Kana‘i a Nalu and the Ma‘alaea Village area was that it was on a dead-end street. He loved the quiet slow-paced atmosphere of the area, yet he also loved that he could walk to the harbor, to dinner or to the aquarium. The condo backs up to undeveloped fields and faces the ocean, giving it a secluded feeling while still being close to Ma‘alaea Village amenities.

When the weather is blistering hot in Lahaina and Ka‘anapali, Ma‘alaea Bay’s consistent breezes keep the air comfortable.

Also, if you want to explore the island, Kana‘i a Nalu's central location on the isthmus makes visiting other parts of Maui ideal.

What makes this condo unique

One of our favorite things to do while at Kana‘i a Nalu is to use the grill in the garden area. The welcoming atmosphere has allowed us to meet guests from all over the country and abroad too (there are often visitors from Alaska and Canada in the winter months). Another unique feature about Kana‘i a Nalu is the undeveloped four-mile stretch of Sugar Beach, which passes only sand dunes and a nature preserve before the condos in Kihei. It makes for a relaxing sunrise walk. Additionally, our fully equipped kitchen gives you the option to cook some of your meals at home, letting you save money for other island attractions. Maui has a Costco and numerous other grocery stores within a 15-minute drive.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Terri, We have left the condo. Thank you so much for sharing your Dad's "home" with us. It is a very special place, and I'm already dreaming of my next visit! Kim W.-5/16/17
May 2017
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Wailuku Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 952 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Front Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Possible conversion to King upon request.
  • Queen-size bed (1) in the master bedroom, twins in the second bedroom. Possible conversion of twin beds to a king-size bed, upon request. Possible 5th person with permission.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a nice collection of reference books about Hawaii, including a copy of "Maui Revealed," which many of our guests have used and enjoyed. We also have a couple of "The Road to Hana" CDs to use on your trip to Hana. Our collection of games includes Pictionary, Sequence, Yatzee, Upwards, and a few more! For your comfort there are two recliners, and a sofa in the living room. Each bathroom has an overhead fan to help with the humidity, and a hair dryer to help with the humidity, too! We also have a wireless printer for you to print out your boarding passes, with a secure wireless connection! Our guests have said that Dad's condo feels like their home away from home!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous Oceanfront Complex on Maui!! SUMMER/FALL SALE at Kanai A Nalu from $160
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 33 reviews
5

A lovely family spot

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time staying as a family in this condo. The owner was extremely accommodating and friendly, shared good places to eat and go, etc. She let us check out later as we had a late flight, and that meant one last swim with the turtles at the adjacent beach. (Thank you Teri!) Best of all, there was everything we might want available to use, from a cooler for our picnic lunches, to toiletries, beach equipment, board games, etc. And the condo itself was pleasant, had a nice personal touch and feeling to it and was pretty and comfortable. Our son stayed at a nearby condo that was fine, but antiseptic, so we all gathered in our place. The complex itself is also very nice with a pleasant area to barbecue and sit out. It is ideally situated to explore the island. If we are lucky enough to go back to Maui, we'd want to stay right here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! We would love for you to be our guests again when you return to Maui!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
st. pete beach, fl
5

Comfortable and convenient condo in Maui

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this condo very much. There was always a nice breeze through the living room. The location was very convenient to many of Maui's must-see areas. We also appreciated the handy items left at the condo, such as condiments, beach equipment, and household goods. Thank you & Mahalo for a lovely visit.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being lovely guests. We hope that you created beautiful memories on Maui! Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Kalamazoo Michigan
2

Extra guests with legs.

  • 2 of 5

Cockroaches in kitchen termini pec came and did a poor job of spraying my around the condo. Still killing them on Friday, when they were here on Wednesday. King size bed very uncomfortable and needs new pillows.. Noise control not observed and woken up before 7am with kids screaming out in courtyard.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We hope that our future guests will take the time to read ALL of our past positive reviews to see that your review was our first negative review! Our family works very hard to share our little piece of paradise. We are sorry for the issues that you experienced while you were there. We have never had an issue with bugs in the past, so we were very surprised by your call. We did have someone there that day to spray, and wish that you had reached out when you continued to have an issue. As you know, the condo association is responsible for the spraying, and we would have been happy to call the manager again. The condo buildings have a regular preventative bug control spraying every 3 months, but the rain has brought out all the bugs. Also, if they spray too often then our geckos would suffer! Our manager said that he has not any complaints about our unit in the past. We also wish that you would have mentioned your issue with the pillows and bed, because Windy would have been happy to help you. Additionally, we are sorry that the children were playing early in the morning. Many arrive from different time zones, so that when the sun pops up it is hard to contain their enthusiasm. Although, we do wish that parents would take them out a little closer to the beach for their first scream! We tried so hard to make your stay as nice as possible, as we do with all of our guests. We see that you also criticized the property on Oahu, just prior to your stay with us, so we really do hope that you could find some happiness, in one of the most beautiful places on earth---Sincerely, Bob's family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
4

Nice place to stay!

  • 4 of 5

Aloha! We enjoyed our time at this condo. The location was nice because you could go to different parts of the island like Lahaina and Wailea within a short drive. The owners provided a lot of great information before we arrived and had a binder full of useful information in the condo. Terri was very helpful, friendly, and checked in on us to make sure we arrived safely and the condo was to our liking, which it was! She was very thorough and caring. There are many restaurants, grocery stores, and shops close by. The condo was well equipped and clean with a Hawaiian feel to it. You have a nice view of the ocean from the balcony. If you are looking for nice blue clear water please know that the beach in front of this condo is narrow and the water is brown toward the shore like many other areas surrounding this area. Books like Maui Revealed will even tell you that and map out where the waters begin to turn blue. We drove to Kamaole beaches, Makenna-Wailea areas, and even Big Beach for better beaches and pretty waters. The drive to those areas was quick, but well worth it. If you are looking for a relaxing Hawaiian vacation I recommend staying here! These owners have done a fabulous job. Mahalo. ~The Matteson Family

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the detailed review. We're glad that you enjoyed your time at the condo, and that all of the things that we had control over pleased you. There are times that the currents and tides can shrink our beach, but luckily we have 2 miles of beach within a short walk when that happens. We are also lucky that there are crowded public beaches within a short drive. We wish you well on your next trip to Maui.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

excellent

  • 5 of 5

Very very good condo in great spot on Maui.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for being such a great guest!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

perfect place to relax

  • 5 of 5

a nice condo in a quite area, with pool and private beach - perfect to relax and close to all attractions of Maui

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So good to hear that you could relax and enjoy all that beautiful Maui has to offer! We hope that you can return someday!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9.7 Miles
Kahului Airport (OOG)
Nearest Barpub
0.6 Miles
Beach Bums Bar and Grill
Nearest Golf
2.9 Miles
Kahili Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Seascape;Beach Bums
Nearest Beach
Seasonal beach right in front of our complex!
Nearest Point of Interest
Maui Golf and Sports Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Maui Ocean Center Aquarium
Nearest Point of Interest
Buzz's Wharf
Nearest Point of Interest
Kahului Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
Kana`i A Nalu
Car: recommended

We are within walking distance of Beach Bum's, and Seascape Restaurants, Maalaea General Store, Craft Fair (open daily), Hula Cookies and Ice Cream, The Maui Ocean Center, Whale Foundation Gift Shop and other cute gift shops at the Harbor shops, Ma‘alaea Harbor (many boat tours/cruises leave from here), and Maui Miniature Golf and Sports (two mini-golf courses, bumper boats, rock climbing, and an extreme trampoline.) On the way to Kihei is the Kealia Pond National Wildlife Preserve, which is very near our complex.

From our condo, Kahului is a 15-minute drive north; Kihei is a 12-minute drive east; Lahaina is a 25-minute drive west.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wailuku Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer/Fall Sale!!!!
Jun 1 2017 - Nov 17 2017
5 night minimum stay
$160
$1,120
$4,560
 
 
Fall/Winter Peak Season 2017
Nov 18 2017 - Dec 16 2017
6 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
$6,412
 
 
Holiday Peak Season 2017/2018
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 5 2018
6 night minimum stay
$240
$1,680
 
 
Winter/Spring Peak 2018
Jan 6 2018 - Apr 14 2018
6 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
$6,412
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
$4,988
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $155
Tax Rate 13.42%

Note that nightly rates do not include 13.42% tax, $155 cleaning fee, or the $300. refundable security/damage deposit***
Discounts on 30 nights or more, and an extra discount for our fabulous repeat guests!
Occupancy 4 people! No Pets or Smoking!
I will send more information about our policies with your inquiry.
HI License # W0142956601
***HomeAway is now charging our guests a "Service Fee," we do not benefit from this fee, nor do we agree with it.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties