Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stay IN TOWN at a cozy French Alpine Ski Chalet Right in Downtown Ketchum

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 5 comfortably)

These owners have completely remodeled this 3BR/2BA condo using imported elegant European furnishings and tasteful architectural details, making you feel just like you are staying in a ski chalet tucked away somewhere deep up in the French Alps. The soft honey colored Fir/Larch wood paneling used throughout the house and the wide-plank bleached pine wood floors give you a cozy mountain chalet feel while letting in the bright sunlight so famous for Sun Valley.

All alone on it's own upstairs is the private master suite and bath which has a modern but Alpine cozy feel, offering gorgeous clean lines and sumptuous Italian fabrics, soft wood-paneling, a Kohler deep-soaking bathtub and an inviting elegant sitting area complete with your very own 46' wall mounted plasma HDTV with DVD player all of which can be viewed from your luxury hotel style queen size Euro pillow top bed made with fine cotton sheets.

Downstairs there are two more beautifully appointed, cozy bedrooms, one of which is set in a red French toile papered room with two single beds each dressed with fine cotton sheets and a gorgeous Italian white cotton upholstered headboards; the second guest bedroom has an elegant charming built-in wood paneled bunk bed both of which are dressed with elegant Italian draperies and fine cotton sheets. The downstairs bathroom has an ample, modern glassed in shower area with large hydro massaging shower head, a custom built-in sink with an Italian white marble countertop and a discrete but spacious, fully functional laundry closet equipped with a large stack Bosch washer and dryer. The kitchen is compact but well equipped for anyone who loves to cook romantic dinners in the mountains. There is a five burner gas stove, a complete set of gourmet Al Clad pots and pans, and a microwave, dishwasher and full dinner service for 12.

Finally, the heart of the house is the cozy, impeccably furnished living room where a fabulous modern, clean lined gas/wood fireplace will warmly greet you while you sip a glass of wine admiring the room's elegant European antiques and furnishings including hand made Italian red silk paneled lampshades set dramatically up behind the couch and sitting area. A stunningly back lit built in bookcase area with a 42' wall mounted swiveling plasma TV with DVD player and a gorgeous sounding and looking Bowers and Wilkins iPod dock makes staying home to dine and watch a movie an inviting option especially since there is a custom made pine dining table with ample seating for six.

Additional amenities include a heated storage room with a private locker for ski equipement and/or at least (1) bike.

This is certainly for the discerning guest as the fine attention to details have made this small and cozy condo a real jewel box of a find in Sun Valley.

Keywords: Condo, Downtown Ketchum, (3) bedrooms, (2) baths

More Details

Owner
Leslie Knutson
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 1, 2017

About Leslie Knutson

We have lived in Europe for more than fifteen years and have fallen in love with European furnishings and style and which we have carefully brought back and integrated into our home in Sun Valley.

Leslie Knutson purchased this condo in 2006

Why Leslie Knutson chose Ketchum

My family has had a place in Sun Valley since the early 70s and I have come nearly every year since, bringing back my own family to share in the magic of Sun Valley whether it is for the winter wonderland of Christmas or the breathtaking beauty of summer.

What makes this condo unique

We love the location of our condo as it is minutes away from all the outdoor activities that we love including downhill skiing from River Run Plaza or hiking up Baldy. At night we are just steps away from the movies and downtown Ketchum which provides many shopping and dining opportunities. Just a stone's throw away is the picturesque Sun Valley lodge with it's classic ice-skating rink and world class Spa amenities.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My wife and I decided to spend our anniversary in Sun Valley as we had met there 20 years ago. Leslie's place was the perfect spot for quiet evenings and in town access. Her property was beautifully furnished and clean and she was responsive and helpful. Her property manager Mary was a delight and wonderful local resource.
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

River Run Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 5
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bath has Kohler soaking tub and shower combo. Second guest bath has ample modern glassed in shower area and a large fully functional laundry closet with generously sized Bosch washer and dryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Bed (1), Single Beds (2), Twin bunk beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Private locked ski storage locker located in condo communal area conveniently located next to parking lot; Private locker area can fit multiple skis, boots and poles as well as several bikes during th summer; large wall mounted flat screen TV in master bedroom with a luxury hotel style queen sized Euro pillow top Sealy Posturepedic bed and a luxurious deep soaking Kohler bathtub; large flat screen TV with iPod dock in living room; kitchen stocked with gourmet Al Clad pots and cooking utensils; fully equipped laundry area with a stacked Bosch washer and dryer; tasteful French antique dining room table and chairs.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Stay IN TOWN at a cozy French Alpine Ski Chalet Right in Downtown Ketchum
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 19 reviews
4

little alpine retreat in the heart of ketchum

  • 4 of 5

we truly had a wonderful time at the little "chalet". mary, the property manager met us upon our arrival. she could not have been more welcoming.

the place was decorated with so much charm. we were very comfortable at 4 people. the location was great. a short walk into the town. parking was a breeze.

leslie, the property owner is lovely. the only thing i will say is that if you enjoy cooking, the kitchen is a little small. we hope to be back some time in the summer.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our attention to detail is what we think makes our cozy Alpine retreat special and while the kitchen is modest there is everything that a cook could want to make a scrumptious meal by the fire after a great day of outdoor activities.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A gem of a Alpine Chalet in Ketchum

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the apartment in four - two adults and two children - and everyone was over the moon. This property's location cannot be beat. You are a 5 minute walk to downtown Ketchum and or a 5 minute bus or car ride to River Run which means that if you don't want to you don't need to hire a car. The owner Leslie was very responsive and helpful and her property is just as beautifully decorated as you see in her photos. It is also clean, quiet and bright, like living in a tree house with the matured trees that you see from the living room. Leslie's property manager Mary is a gem as she is a long time local with tips on everything from hiking to eating. We would definitely stay here again.

G.G.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love how close our property is to town and how accessible it is by foot, bike or local free buses. We are also grateful for our property manager Mary who is the best in the Valley and simply makes all of our VRBO rentals seamless for our guests. And finally we do work hard to maintain our property so that it is spotless and beautiful each rental, mature trees included.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

My Bliss in Ketchum, Idaho

  • 5 of 5

I love visiting Ketchum and this condo/home is so conveniently located to the best restaurants, shopping and of course, ice cream! But besides the stellar location, this condo is beautifully appointed, lovely to spend time in, comfortable and cozy. I look forward to breakfast in the light and bright dining area, reading in the afternoon light that fills the living space, and cocktails by the cozy fire in the evening. Beautiful trees surround. It has all you need for a spectacular summer or winter getaway. I cannot wait to book again!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review and for choosing to stay with us. Guests often tell us that our living room and dining area is like being in a tree house thanks to the beautiful mature evergreens and Silver Dollar trees we have to gaze out on from our windows. It's hard to say what season is the best to visit Sun Valley in but, we certainly love the long warm sunny days and nights. We are glad you enjoyed your summer visit with us and we hope you come back to see Sun Valley in the winter.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Overstated description

  • 2 of 5

This property is not a home or Ski Chalet, but a second floor condo in an older complex. The description and photos do not accurately reflect the property. It is not "right in downtown", but on the outskirts. The downstairs bathroom had not heat. The master bathroom does not have a fullsized shower so no heat was a problem. A request for a refund pased the min stay, as departed early, was denied. It is not a place to stay for a week. The price point inferred luxury finish and spaces, which this unit in a condo was not.

Mary the property manager was a delight.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that your stay was disappointing as we pride ourselves on our positive history of providing a full service guest experience. Though you opted to shorten your stay with us our "no cancellation policy" was in place however, as a gesture of good will towards your concerns we did return in full the your cleaning deposit and of course all taxes on nights you did not use.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect in-town location

  • 5 of 5

Great location to walk to everything in town, and the mountains. We planned to rent a car and never did! We loved the charming condo -- it's so well kept, clean and comfortable, and quiet.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We have many hidden gems in our property, the least of which is our in-town location making renting a car obsolete! Leslie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles
5

Charming Getaway

  • 5 of 5

I loved staying in your charming condo in Sun Valley. It was beautifully appointed and perfectly situated near all the great shops and restaurants in downtown Ketchum. It was wonderful to return after an active day in the cold weather to such a cozy and warm place.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We believe that our property is especially cozy during the winter season and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Hailey Freidman Airport
Nearest Golf
0.8 Miles
Sun Valley Lodge
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Cornerstone
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
River Run Gondola
Car: not necessary

A quick 10 minute bike path ride away or a 5-8 minute car ride will take you to the Wood River YMCA which has affordable weekly rates for an indoor pool plus champion work out areas and diverse and challenging classes including an incredible yoga studio. Alternatively there is the breathtaking Zenergy spa and gym only 1.5 miles from our property.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $180
Damage Deposit $150

Rates are subject to change until confirmation. Prices are negotiable based on party size and length of stay. For longer stays discounts may be offered. State tax (8%), lodging tax (2%) and city tax (2%) not included. For parties above (4) adults and/or with children a fee of $45.00 dollars per guest may be charged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.