Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain Lake Chalet

Bedrooms 2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms + Third (walk-thru) Bedroom, Bath (Sleeps 5-6)

Welcome to our 4-season vacation getaway on Whetstone Pond in Piscataquis County, Abbot, Maine. We offer the best of both worlds - all the amenities of modern living surrounded by the natural beauty of central Maine.

This isn't roughing it, that's for sure - satellite flat-screen TV, wifi internet, fully-equipped kitchen (microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, ...), clothes washer and dryer, beautiful Whetstone Pond just a few feet from the front door with glorious views of the water and surrounding mountains from two 2nd floor balconies and the deck - you can recharge your batteries quite nicely without ever leaving the property.

But if you're feeling adventurous and enjoy the outdoor life, there's no shortage of possibilities - hiking, fishing, whitewater rafting, ATV trails and, in the winter, snowmobile trails and cross-country skiing. One of our favorite outdoor activities is accessible from our front deck - a nightly show of stars and the Milky Way the likes of which you probably don't see from home. If you own a telescope or even a pair of binoculars, you'll be glad if you packed them along.

For the slightly less adventurous, there are small towns within easy driving distance that offer a variety of restaurants, gift shops, craft shops, museums and, along the way, plenty of yard sales with that local Maine flavor. Do you want to really rub elbows with the fine people who live in the area? Well then, you'll have to head on over to the Monson Community Center on Friday evening for the weekly folk and bluegrass jam session. Bring your instrument if you have one - you're welcome to join in. There's also the monthly dance at the Finnish Dance Hall - come early for the half hour dance instruction and then hit the floorboards to the sounds of a live band and an experience you'll be telling your friends back home about.

This is just a taste what is available to you. Don't hesitate to contact us for more information or for any other reason.

More Details

Eric Jurgensen
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 27, 2017

About Eric Jurgensen

We are two, related families from Pennsylvania who have been visiting this area of Maine for the past 25 years.

Eric Jurgensen purchased this chalet in 2012

Why Eric Jurgensen chose Maine

We love Whetstone Pond and think it is one of the most beautiful ponds in the area. When this property came up for sale, we jumped at the opportunity to buy it and restore it to top shape.

What makes this chalet unique

The property sits at the point of Whetstone Pond and has possibly the best view of the pond and surrounding mountains. We decided to equip the house with all the latest amenities so that we, and renters, would have the choice of relaxing inside in the manner that modern families have become accustomed to or venturing out for all the activities that beckon in this area of Maine.


Abbot Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Sleeps 2
    Third (walk-thru) Bedroom - 1 twin/ single , Sleeps 1
    Second Bedroom - 1 queen , Sleeps 2
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • limited accessibility
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Mountain Lake Chalet
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews

Adorable A-Frame

  • 5 of 5

Stayed 3 nights for a snowmobiling getaway. The camp was extremely clean with all the amenities. Owners make the stay very easy with everything well organized for your vacation.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect little weekend getaway.

  • 5 of 5

Very quiet and peaceful for a long weekend for just the two of us - we loved the place! We will definitely be returning!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great little get away!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful spot to spend a few days. Hiking within reach and you can't beat the view from the house!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointing stay.

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I were so excited to stay at this property. It was our anniversary and this place looked like the perfect spot for a romantic getaway. Unfortunately, it was anything but.

We arrived and all seemed well at first. The house sits right on Whetstone Pond. What a beautiful view! The house itself is pretty dated. You can see that from the owner's pictures. We didn't mind with such stunning views.

The owner, Eric, informed us that we have to call the care taker when we arrived. We attempted to call but we didn't get an answer. I emailed Eric to let him know we were there. I couldn't wait to relax and unwind after a long drive. I went upstairs to make the beds. The owner only provides blankets and pillows. He doesn't provide sheets. The bed in the master was COVERED in dog hair. How disgusting! I stripped the bed and promptly threw the bedding in the wash. My husband sat on the couch and he was covered in it too. I emailed Eric. He called back within an hour. He was very apologetic. Apparently, the care taker was on vacation and there was a miscommunication with the cleaning people. They didn't clean the rental prior to our arrival. He gave me a partial refund. I thought that was very generous of him and I completely understood that things happen.

The second night was horrible! I noticed fly paper hanging in the laundry area with a bunch of dead flies on it. There were at least 6 flies buzzing around in the bedroom. It took forever to fall asleep. Then we were awoken by something scratching in the walls. We finally relaxed enough to fall back to sleep and whatever it was was rustling around in our belongings. We packed our stuff up and hightailed it out of there the next morning. I emailed Eric and never got a response.

We have never had a poor experience with renting a property from HomeAway until now. We will return to the area but NEVER stay at this dirty property again.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Until recently, we have mainly rented only weekly. Due to an apparent change in VRBO outreach, we have had a marked increase in 2 and 3-night rental requests which we have decided to accommodate. Unfortunately, for this renter, we had a mis-communication with our cleaning people and the unit was not properly cleaned prior to their arrival. The caretaker was NOT on vacation. This is the only time this has ever happened, I issued a generous refund, and I have taken steps to assure that it will never happen again. As to the flies and the "scratching in the walls" ... we have never had a complaint of this nature before or since. Also, this is a property located in the least populated county in Maine and is a perfect spot for those wishing to get away to nature and away from the standard "DisneyWorld" vacation. We are a quite normal, professional couple who stay there quite frequently and would never tolerate a "dirty" property for ourselves nor for anyone else.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Bellingham, MA

Good for the soul!

  • 5 of 5

The A-Frame house is perfect! Clean, nicely decorated and with quite the view! The house is just as it seems, quaint and perfect for a Maine getaway or longer as I would have preferred to stay! It truly felt like home. You certainly feel like you got away without sacrificing amenities, dishwasher, washer/dryer, internet and Direct TV/Netflix. The lake is beautiful and the Loon calls make it all that much more amazing! They have kayak, canoes, paddle-boats available and even the neighbors will share. The ATV and Snowmobile trails are just a few steps away as well as great hiking trails. There is a fantastic spot to join the AT just a few miles away to join the 100 miles wilderness. Monson a short distance away has some great little eateries, where depending on the time of year would certainly meet some thru hikers with great stories. Greenville, about 30 min drive is so worth it! Beautiful area! I hiked Big Moose Mountain, which was no joke but worth the effort for the great forest, wonderful pine tree smell and incredible views both at the scenic vista and at the summit. This town also has some good eateries although some of the restaurants at the different inns have either closed or are now closed to the public, their websites do not advise of these changes.

My time was during peak foliage! I cannot describe how incredibly beautiful it was! I traveled with my 3 dogs, 2 labs and a morkie. They loved being outdoors and all the great trails nearby. We walked river beds (unfortunately the water was really low), climbed mountains and enjoyed several of the nearby lakes. The house was perfectly dog friendly, good yard, lake to swim, dock to sun in, good porch to relax on. The neighbors are close on all sides. I only met the one neighbor that shared the boat launch. He was a very kind man and has a very sweet Corgi that got along great with all my 3. They enjoyed the morning greetings! If you are looking for seclusion be aware that there are several homes very close in proximity to the A-Frame. I did not have a problem with this aspect at all just something to consider if you are looking for more seclusion. I myself hope to return and soon! I was sad to leave such a wonderful place. it is good for the soul! I want to thank the owners for sharing this piece of magic with me! Grateful, Meg, Gus, Spike, & Darby

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Evanston, IL

Perfect Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5

For the past two years, our family has spent vacation weeks at this absolutely wonderful A-frame at Whetstone Pond, and can only reiterate what the previous reviews have already perfectly reported. The accommodations, taking every need and wish into consideration, include a fully equipped kitchen. excellent appliances, comfortable beds and furnishings, high-speed Internet, games, books, cable TV, water sports equipment, and a large deck with gas range, lounge chairs and umbrella-covered dining table. Loons grace your own dock . Mountains and sunsets tempt your camera. And among the most highly recommended features of all are the gracious owners, whose goal is to assure their renters the best possible vacation.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Abbot Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Sep 18 2016 - Jun 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 16 2017
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning (per stay) $50

The payment term options on this website do not correspond to our requirements which are ... $100 deposit at booking and the balance 30 days prior to check-in for weekly bookings. Special terms will be made for non-weekly or last-minute bookings. There will also be a cleaning fee which is dependent on length of stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties