check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Classic Conch-steps From Hemingways And Lighthouse

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
28 nights

About the property

Old Town Location

Location Location Location:

This classic conch house is situated in the heart of Key West. Across the street is the famous lighthouse of Key West, Hemingway House is steps away and Duval Street is just around the corner. The perfect location to either enjoy the sunny days or walk to your favorite destination.

The three bedroom ensuites are ideal for family vacations. Designed with the elements of Key West, you will feel as if you stepped into an island oasis. The classic Key West 'colors' are inspiring for your vacation stay.

Three levels are designed for privacy. The main level consists of the kitchen and dining area, a Caribbean inspired bedroom and bathroom and the family area. The family room has 4 sets of french doors overlooking the sparkling pool and outdoor dining area. An outside pool bath is classic for Key West.

On the opposite side of the pool, the brick path leads to an outdoor shower. Watch the Hemingway cats walk along the fence post along this brick path.

The second floor ensuite features a King size four poster bed. The newly renovated bathroom in the tropic blue and green palettes are relaxing and inviting. Take the back stairs down to the pool for your morning swim. You can sunbath on the upstairs terrace or enjoy your morning coffee while overlooking the tropical gardens. A sitting room off the master bedroom floor opens up to another upstairs terrace to enjoy the views of the lighthouse. You may never want to leave this beautiful suite.

On the third floor, step back in time to the Cuban era. Hardwood floors, a newly renovated bathroom and separate bedroom with the classic Cuban colors are all decorated for a delightful stay. The secluded en suite is perfect for friends planning a stay in Key West.

The two large front porches is typical of the classic Key West architecture. On those lazy afternoons, sit on the porch and read your favorite book or just enjoy mojitos while you people watch.

Who says you can't have it all. This is a remarkable property located in the heart of Key West. Steps away from all Key West has to offer, yet secluded and private for a peaceful vacation.

Area Attractions: Southernmost Point, Hemingway house, Lighthouse, Fort Zachary State Beach, Sunset Celebrations, Blue Heaven Restaurant, Swirlicious, Smathers Beach, ocean activities,

More Details

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 2, 2016

About June

Bought home as a second home and loved Key West so much moved here full time. This classic conch home is in the heart of old town and close to everything.

June purchased this house in 2007

Why June chose Key West

Location Location Location


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Classic Conch-steps From Hemingways And Lighthouse
average rating of 4.652174 based on 23 reviews
Columbia, SC, USA

Delightful Conch House!

  • 5 of 5

My wife, daughter and I stayed in this lovely little house for 5 days. This is a fully-renovated Conch house built in 1900. Everything has been redone, with a new fully equipped kitchen and completely renovated bathrooms. There is a huge great room (which I'm guessing was added sometime in the last 50 years) opening onto the pool deck. The compact yard is very well laid out, with the surprisingly large salt-water pool, grill, and even an outdoor shower, as well as a covered porch with fan.

Frankly, this house was too large for just three people. There was a nice sitting room off the master bedroom on the second floor, and an entire suite on the third floor that we never even used. This house could easily accommodate 10 people.

We had two glitches: The pool had a lot of debris from recent storms and wasn't due to be cleaned for several days. I emailed June, and the pool man was called out early. We did have a bit of a problem with the renters next door (different owner, different company) who were apparently having a bachelor party and made noise until 4am one morning. I contacted the managers of that property, and I doubt this will happen again.

The location just off Duval is nearly perfect. You can walk to just about any point on the island (if you don't mind walking in heat and humidity!) Beware of the parking situation on the island...parking is on the street and at an extreme premium. Once I found a parking place, the car stayed there, and so I spent $300 on a rental car that just took us back and forth to the airport. Do yourself a favor and just take a cab. Unless you plan to do a lot on neighboring islands, it simply makes no sense to rent a car. Live and learn!

Overall, we LOVED Key West and the house. Staying this close to the Hemingway House gave us a nice sense of history! (Be sure to see the house, and Truman's Little White House as well.)

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful Key West Home

  • 5 of 5

The house is absolutely amazing!!! it is located just steps from everywhere. I would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house, great location.

  • 5 of 5

Slept 10 comfortably.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect house, Perfect location

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful inside and out and exceeded our expectations. It was perfectly placed in the historic district and walking distance to everything we wanted to do. Each of the three floors had a full bathroom and seating area which gave complete privacy to guests on each floor. On hot days, the air conditioning and pool were refreshing. The front porch, back patio, and 2 balconies were also great places to spend time relaxing and reading. Every member in our party loved this house and I highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Uncomfortable stay

  • 1 of 5

My family rented this place for a month. The house has been renovated multiple times and has an awkward layout. The first floor foyer opens to an island kitchen that has no pass-thru, making it difficult for more than one person to access and use the kitchen. There is one bedroom on the first floor behind the kitchen. It has no adjoining bathroom. You have to walk from the kitchen through that bedroom to get to the family room and pool in the rear of the house. When the bedroom is occupied, you have to walk around the outside of the house to get to the pool area and family room which is long and narrow and has limited seating. The second floor has the master bedroom and a separate sitting area with a fold out couch that serves as a bedroom. There is one bathroom on that floor, with the toilet and shower/bath areas in separate rooms. The third floor attic is converted to a 2 bedroom suite with a single full bath. The low ceiling in the suite makes it feel like a tight space. The house had multiple air conditioning units that cooled various areas of the house at different temperatures. The temperature variance from room to room was pronounced. The house seemed cobbled together and tired. We certainly did not feel at home or welcome in this house.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: One Star? The traveler rented the home for a month. Unbeknownst to us, he planned to stay for only two weeks and rent the remaining two weeks to another traveler, charging the new traveler a large fee. This is certainly was not allowed. When it was discovered a new traveler was in our home, we were shocked. As for as the travelers comments, the traveler was very happy when we spoke and personally met him the first week of his rental. It was only after we discovered what he had done that he felt uncomfortable or unwelcome. The house is a 1800's Classic Conch home in Key West. Yes, it has been renovated numerous times throughout the hundred years, with the most recent being bathroom renovations. Each renovation and improvement has maintained the historic and charming nature of the home. This 3 story 3,000 square foot home is quite large for homes in Key West. The 4 air conditioning units provide individualized comfort for guests in the different areas of the home. Each floor has it's own system so anyone staying can have a comfortable environment with their own thermostat controls. Guests consider this a plus. 4 full bathrooms are located in the home- more than most homes in Key West. The layout of the home is a classic Key West historic Conch style and is true to the character of original Key West homes. This is what Key West is all about! Most travelers do not want a new suburban home in the middle of the historic district in Key West. This home is steps away from Hemingway house and across the street from the Key West Lighthouse. The home will always remain a classic historic Conch house true to the charm of the island and its notable historic neighbors.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Difficult stay at a lovely place

  • 2 of 5

Communicating with the owner was the first problem I encountered. Planning a trip with nine other people is difficult enough, but having to wait two weeks for a response or confirmation because the owner is away made it almost impossible. The house itself is large and comfortable but it has no driveway or parking on a crowded and touristy street so unloading and planing car trips was a chore. Prepare to park a few blocks away.

It was nice to have an outdoor space but the pool was filthy once we arrived even though the cleaner had just been there. It was also laden with chlorine which actually managed to turn a friend's shorts a lighter shade of blue! I do concede that all the tropical trees and heavy winds makes keeping the outside area clean a difficult task.

The location is unbeatable. Walkable distance to all the main attractions and good for large families.

The furniture was ok. Most of it was a little dirty but not terrible. The king size mattress however was terribly old and lumpy. Time for an upgrade along with the musty sheets please.

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The traveler originally had planned to bring 9 guests to stay with him at the property, but then wanted to cancel last minute because several in his party were unable to vacation in Key West. The traveler double booked a hotel for his smaller party thinking he would back out of his Rental Agreement at the last minute, but was surprised when his own credit card company would not cancel the charge. Communicating with our guests is a top priority before, during and after their stay. We were readily available to discuss the reservation with the traveler and available for communication at check-in, check-out and throughout the travelers stay. Key West has limited parking, but we are fortunate to have free parking directly in front of the home. We caution travelers coming to Key West, that driving a car in the town and finding parking places throughout the town is difficult. Key West is a walking town and the house is located in the heart of the historic district so walking, not driving to restaurants and nightlife is very convenient. The pool is professionally maintained on a weekly basis. The pool company cleaned the pool hours before the guests arrived. Swim wear should be worn in a pool, not street clothes as street clothes could get ruined from the normal chemicals in the pool. The master suite mattress is a recent quality purchase so it is not old and lumpy. Not sure why traveler stated this. We wish the traveler would have called with any of his concerns as we could have made some suggestions or helped with any of his issues. When I called the traveler on his day of arrival, he commented he liked the house and everything was fine. I indicated he could call if he needed anything. Day and evening phone numbers are located in the house manual for any issues or emergencies. We can’t help or find solutions to his problems if the traveler didn’t communicate with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Key West International Airport
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Fort Zachary State Beach
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Downtown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Winter 2017
Dec 17 2016 - Apr 30 2017
28 night minimum stay
Summer Rate 2016
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
28 night minimum stay
Fall Rate 1
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 22 2017
28 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Pool Heat $75 + Tax
Cleaning $225 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

Monthly Rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Downtown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • Four Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Three Bedrooms
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers