Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Home 5 Blocks From Ferry To French Quarter

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Queen Beds, Sleeps 4 With Full Kitchen, Dining Room, Living Room, & Laundry

The rental includes Living Room, Dining Room, Full Kitchen, Laundry, Bath, 2 Bedrooms (2 Queen Beds), & Back Yard.


Owner
Bruce Johnson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch, swedish, greek, czech, danish, norwegian, polish, hungarian, arabic, finnish, turkish, mandarin
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2017

About Bruce Johnson

Hello! My name is Bruce. Welcome to New Orleans. I personally renovated my home in 2006.

Bruce Johnson purchased this house in 2005

Why Bruce Johnson chose Algiers

The home is located in historic Algiers Point, the second oldest settlement in New Orleans.

What makes this house unique

My home is an economical alternative to the French Quarter, and yet is just a five block walk or drive to the Algiers/Canal Street Car/Passenger Ferry. Historic Algiers Point is a quiet alternative to the fast French Quarter pace, and yet close enough to enjoy the full benefits of the French Quarter and all of New Orleans.

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Louis Armstrong International Kenner, LA
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Old Point/ Dry Dock/ Crown & Anchor
Nearest Ferry
0.2 Miles
Canal Street
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Audubon Park/ Brechtel Park5
Nearest Train
2.3 Miles
AMTRAK
Nearest Motorway
2.3 Miles
US 90 Crescent City Connection
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Toute de Suite
Nearest Beach
64 Miles
Waveland Mississippi
Car: not necessary

My home is a five (5) block walk or drive to the Algier's Point/Canal Street Ferry. A five minute ferry ride to The base of the French Quarter leaves you by Harrah's Casino, Riverwalk Mall, Canal Mall & Cinema, and a short walk to all of the French Quarter.

Amenities

Algiers House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large Tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Each Bedroom has a closet and chest of drawers vanity.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting
  • sound/bay fishing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
23% Complete
4% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Beautiful Home 5 Blocks From Ferry To French Quarter
average rating of 4.5692306 based on 65 reviews
Chicago
5

Lovely place

  • 5 of 5

I loved the location and the amenities. Great host and great neighborhood.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Please come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Victorville, CA
5

My Louisiana Home

  • 5 of 5

You will love this 2 story home , no matter which part you stay in. The owner will walk you thru the process of configuring it to meet your needs. There are almost too many bathrooms (it is great). It is nestled in a small historic community with so much to offer on its own without even taking on the French quarter. The home is equipped with everything you need. you will want to stay here again and again . I know I plan to come here again !

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

First the positive, great location! It's a short walk to the ferry and an even shorter trip across the river to the French quarter. The location made it easy for us to visit without worrying about parking and driving through the French quarter. Algiers Point is a funky, historic neighborhood with great architecture and cute coffee shops, bars and restaurants.

I would love to be able to say that our visit was enjoyable, but it wasn't. When we first arrived, it was late and very dark. On first sight, the property appeared to be clean in spite of the old, worn furnishings. Over the next few days it became evident that the cleaning staff was only surface cleaning. We noticed little things such as dust flying off of the ceiling fan in the dining room when it was turned on...upon checking the rest of the fans, they were all coated with a thick layer of dust. No big deal we thought, we weren't going to be there much, only to sleep at night, we could deal with a little dust. As each day went on we realized more and more that the place was just surface clean and really needed a good scrubbing. My plan was to let Bruce know about the need to deep clean the place when we vacated so that he could have it taken care of before his next tenants arrived. Then one morning we discovered a very large, cockroach looking creature dead on the living room floor...it hadn't been there the night before. Ok, dead is good...at least it wasn't alive, so we cleaned it up and added that to the growing list of things to relay to Bruce. The next evening, after being there for 5 nights, we discovered two large LIVE cockroach looking bugs, one crawling on the brick divider right behind my sister's head. Once we dealt with those, we started looking around more thoroughly, through cabinets and behind the sofa and other areas. We found several more dead bugs and what appeared to be mouse droppings in the cabinet under the kitchen sink. We were unable to sleep, expecting more live bugs to appear and we decided it wasn't a healthy environment to stay in. I let Bruce know that we were leaving. He offered to send in an exterminator, but because of sensitivities to pesticides we declined and asked to be reimbursed for the last two nights and the cleaning fee. It was obvious it wasn't clean beyond the surface and we didn't feel that we should be responsible for it. At first Bruce refused to refund our money, but after a few days agreed to a partial refund.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’ve been vacation renting for 5 years now and rarely do I encounter this type of renter. Someone who finds a problem, but doesn’t say anything until after they have used the rental for five days! And then want a full refund. Yes the fans were missed by the cleaning crew. Yes it was that time of year where it gets rapidly cold out and the water bugs come inside to stay warm. The droppings were from the water bugs not mice. It’s New Orleans. They also waited to do this review after I did give them a refund. Please don’t come back. They also waited until my period to review them expired.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Evacuated from Florida for hurricane Irma, plenty of room, clean and close to everything. Owner was great and very helpful.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
irving, TX
5

NOLA was a Blast.

  • 5 of 5

Pleasant little spot with all the amenities. great A/C & convenient washer/ dryer .Our 1st trip to New Orleans was great & we loved the food they had to offer & entertaining night life.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great location........ Fresh hot Coffee just down the street. Ferry very close.

  • 5 of 5

Great little house. Nice location would rent again.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Pet Fee $95
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties