Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mississippi/Albina meets Alberta. 1911 Farmhouse in the city. Cozy And Quaint.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Wood Floors, beach house vibe..

Beachy city house in the N. Mississippi / N. Albina corridor. Simple, uncluttered, high ceilings, wide porch. Excellent good neighbor vibe. Walk to fresh food and beautiful rose garden in peninsular park. Portland community college 3 blocks north. A whole myriad of eclectic cafés and creative one of a kind establishments. Bus steps away and designated bike routes right out the door. Trimet light rail train 5-10 minute walk.


Owner
David McGill
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese, czech, norwegian, Indonesian, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 27, 2017

About David McGill

I have enjoyed lovingly restoring this over one-hundred year old house.

We are fortunate to have an abundance of local recycled wood from the Rebuilding center which happens to be in the neighborhood. The bedrooms are fitted with old growth planks I salvaged and installed.

I have enjoyed making surfboards since the early 70's which I continue to do to this day. Some I make out of solid wood. I have had the good fortune to learn many languages in my travels including Japanese, Norwegian, Tahitian, Hawaiian, French, Spanish, Indonesian, and a smattering of Donald Duck and pig latin.

David McGill purchased this house in 2010

Why David McGill chose Portland

This house has a great proximity to the airport. There is no need to get in the automobile for healthy food or entertainment. Local transportation is right out the door with the bus line out the door and light rail a 10 minute walk away. Additionally I-5 is easy to access. The Oregon coast is 1.5 hours west and the Columbia River Gorge starts a few minutes to the East.

The Cherry Sprout Produce Store being a half block away with its year round fresh local produce. In the same building is the Red Fox which is a cool place to eat and drink. Sweedeedees is a breakfast/bakery that uses only the best quality ingredients has pies, muffins, and cookies of serious grandmotheresque quality. Their building also has Mississippi Records which deals in used vinyl. All of the establishments play vinyl on a regular basis.

What makes this house unique

This house is located in the N. Mississippi/ N. Albina corridor.

Amenities

North Portland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Good water pressure with new pipes throughout house and tile
  • New tile surrounding tub and new slate tile floor. Bathroom was gutted recently and redone with original tub. Nice tile shelf in tub for toiletries.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 twin/ single , Bedroom off livingroom and on north side of house.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Also off living room. 9 foot ceilings.
  • Bedrooms are side by side of similar size. Both have fir wood floors and closets. High ceilings, built in bookcases and a loft for storage above closet. First bedroom has blackout curtains, good for sleeping.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Music Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Check in 3PM. Checkout 11AM. Non-smoking property. On street parking only. Please leave driveway clear. You may cross paths with owners as they use separate backyard entry to basement apartment. Happy to help while we are here but respect privacy and are unobtrusive. House is quaint, cozy, functional, and full of texture and character. Purchased house for its uniqueness and closeness to basic amenities like the fresh produce store (half a block away), freeway and airport access. Many closeby cafes (Sweedeedee's across the street), breweries, shops and other cool old houses. A locale for people who appreciate this type of close in urban living. We hope you enjoy your stay!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
22% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Mississippi/Albina meets Alberta. 1911 Farmhouse in the city. Cozy And Quaint.
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews
4

Awesome

  • 4 of 5

We really liked this place, the area was great...the home is nice. It was a perfect place for hanging out. Great neighborhood, we walked a lot, enjoyed the local bar, store and bakery/restaurant.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the kind note in Hawaiian! We loved reading that. Aloha and Mahalo. David and Niva
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Moderate Comfort in a Great Location

  • 3 of 5

Though there was an initial snafu, which David dealt with promptly and appropriately, we did enjoy our stay in this funky little house. I love that the area is so walkable. The house could use a little refurbishing, furnishings could make better use of its limited space. The little front porch, with its two overstuffed chairs was a comfortable place for coffee in the morning or just hanging out . However, I have reservations about the main bedroom, which is not big enough for a side table on either side of the bed or a bedside lamp (maybe a bookcase headboard?), which is a basic necessity for me. If you put an old "icebox" in it, the kitchen could be an exhibit in the Oregon Historical Museum, which made me sort of like it, reflecting on what we see as essential today. However, all I required was a coffeemaker and a toaster, both of which were fine. It would take some work, but I think it could be more comfortable with a little attention. I liked it despite its shortcomings. I would probably rent it again, but this time knowing how basic the amenities are, I would be prepared.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We may switch the queen bed to the front bedroom that is slightly larger based on your feedback. The back room is a bit quieter and thus our initial choice. There is a shelf and lamp by the queen bed that is not in the picture online. We appreciate the feedback and glad you enjoyed the original character left in the 1911 home! Hope to have you all again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The place has a ton of character, a home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Thank you David for sharing your surfer pad with us. We loved the neighborhood, the natural food market in the corner, the breakfast place, the front porch.... we felt like we belonged!

Mississippi district around the corner with tons of little darling shops was fabulous, we had the best stay and will be coming soon and hopefully stay here again.

Thank you!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Ok

  • 3 of 5

It worked out ok for us. Older home with not much for curtains. Weird showering with no curtin over the windows. (Sorry neighbor) bedroom pretty crowded. Not much closet space. We stayed 22days so it was more outdated than we are used to but it worked

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Seattle
4

Basic, but cozy

  • 4 of 5

For three days this little house was “our house” – basic, somewhat eclectic, but good value for our needs. The kitchen amenities and tableware are a bit spartan, but we knew that ahead and planned accordingly. Table space is limited; with a card table borrowed from nearby relatives we had space to play games and do jig saw puzzles. (No tv - which we didn't miss, but wi-fi and hi-fi were available. Great LPS from the 40's - 60's!) Bathroom was clean and somewhat recently renovated. We slept well. Pet friendly was a determining plus. It is conveniently located (9 minutes to downtown if you avoid I-5!). David was very friendly and made sure we were comfortable. We’d rent again if we are going to have a flock of relatives gathering over several days in Portland.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
3

Super friendly; Portland funky

  • 3 of 5

Feel a bit badly dinging the place as David was nothing if not accommodating and friendly; however, no reviews yet are frank as I would have liked about the tattered and less-than-clean condition of the house. I'm not that fussy, lots of developing world travel etc, but it could use a good scrub everywhere, and definitely some new linens. We ended up finding it unpleasant enough that we didn't want to spend time there. If it's been well-cleaned and refreshed, and maybe has a new coat of paint, a lot of unfussy folks will like the price and host. Ask when booking.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you didn't find the house as clean as you would have liked. We want our guests to be comfortable and take the cleanliness seriously. We have never had a similar comment but understand not all cleaning jobs are equal. Please don't hesistate to let us know during your stay if any additional cleaning is needed and we are more than happy to accommodate. The house is a rustic old home built in 1911. It is not new but rest assured the home is scrubbed clean between every stay and linens are always fresh. Cheers, David
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Portland International Airport
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Red Fox
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Portland
Nearest Motorway
200 Metres
I-5
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Sweedeedees
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Mt Hood
Nearest Beach
80 Miles
Seaside and Cannon Beach
Car: not necessary

Exciting artistic neighborhood. Half a block to bus stop and half a mile to light rail. Local produce market across the street. Bakery, record store, art gallery's, rose garden, brew pubs, recycled building materials, music venues, bike routes, coffee cafés, hot yoga, new seasons market, various ethnic restaurants and more are all walkable or bikeable.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $75

Check-in 3pm. Check-out 11am. On street parking only. Please leave driveway clear. Maximum stay of 10 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties