Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Old Colorado City Hide-a-way

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Non-smoking 2 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 6 conveniently located

This charming 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom home in Old Colorado City was built in 1918. It has been updated and renovated to provide comfort to today's traveler. With plenty of living space for the whole family, this house easily accommodates 4 people (up to 6 utilizing the hide-a-bed couch). Colorfully decorated with light colors and comfortable furniture, the house welcomes tired travelers in need of a getaway!

The property includes a front yard as well as street parking. The fully equipped kitchen includes all dishware, cutlery, pots and pans, small appliances (such as coffee maker, toaster, blender, etc.) and large appliances (refrigerator, oven and dishwasher) needed to accommodate any meal preparation. Linens and towels are also available for your use, as well as access to a washer and dryer on-site.

The house is perfectly situated to take advantage of all that Colorado Springs has to offer! It is within walking distance of Old Colorado City’s famous shopping and restaurants, but also easy access to grocery shopping and drugstores and I-25. Hiking is only minutes away by car as well as downtown Colorado Springs!

More Details

Owner
Bryan Carlson
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Bryan Carlson

We are both teachers living in Fort Worth, TX and expecting our first child. We found Colorado Springs when we attended Colorado College over several summers to get our Masters' Degrees and fell in love with the city! We bought this house in our favorite area, Old Colorado City, and have spent the last 3 summers enjoying, updating and decorating it!

Bryan Carlson purchased this house in 2009

Why Bryan Carlson chose Colorado Springs

We love the area. Walking to shops, concerts and parks is a great way to relax and slow down for a break. The house is convenient and comfortable - just right for a business trip or vacation!

What makes this house unique

The house has retained its original charm and has the benefit of an eclectic and vibrant neighborhood. We love that you can walk to so many activities, stores and restaurants! It's all right there, including I-25 if you need to go exploring via car! We couldn't ask for a better vacation home and we hope you love it too!

Amenities

Old Colorado City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , hide-a-bed sofa in the living room
  • Queen size Beds (2) one standard queen bed in each bedroom plus 1 queen hide-a-bed sofa in the living room, Baby Crib (1) crib available
Entertainment:
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Cozy Old Colorado City Hide-a-way
average rating of 3.5 based on 8 reviews
5

I thought the house was perfect for our needs.

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfectly located for all the sights we visited. It felt big inside we had 6 people and never felt cramped. The owner was so nice and easy to work with. I would recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Bad experience with a dirty rental-Owner said he'd refund our $ but kept $146

  • 1 of 5

Unfortunately we had a bad experience with Bryan for this rental. After viewing the pics in the listing, making all the arrangements, and sending the complete payment we showed up to a filthy, dusty, downstairs apt where bed linens were balled up and crammed into a shelving unit, dead bugs, cupboards with old food stuck on the shelves, filthy air vents crusted with old dirt, dirty frig that we had to scrub old food from before we felt good about putting anything in there, & non-working TV. Nothing like the pics! The owners (Bryan & wife) live in another state so I don't know when they last saw this place but I've rented several places thru VRBO and have never had an experience like this. I've always had great ratings from the people I've rented from so it's not that I'm particularly picky and I'm fine with older furnishings etc but this was the first time I actually walked into a place that was dirty and obviously not ready to be rented. After 2 nights, we actually spent the 3rd at a hotel! When I called Brian and said that we were really disappointed and could not stay there (to say the least) he offered to let us move into the upstairs unit. He told me it rented for a bit more but he said we could have that at no extra charge--"he wanted us to be happy"-- and I thanked him and told him that's what we would like to do. He then sends me an email the next day telling me to make a list of what needs to be done in the downstairs apartment and he would take care of it, completely reneging on his offer to let us move upstairs, saying that he would now just charge us half of what it would normally cost. I told him I didn't think it was our responsibility as paying guests to let him know what needs to be done to make the place livable. It seemed as if he had completely forgotten his offer the day before to let us move upstairs. He also seemed to have a passive/aggressive approach to dealing with this situation. First by offering us a solution, which we appreciated and then a day later, changing the whole plan. When I asked him about HIS offer to let us move upstairs, he said he thought we should just look for something else and he'd refund our money. At that point he put me in a very difficult situation of trying to find another place to stay immediately for the next 2 weeks, which was the original rental period. He refunded our money -less $146! I couldn't believe anyone would rent out a place in the condition we saw it! RENTER BEWARE!

  • Submitted: May 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I did everything I could to make this guest happy and after giving them a free night (since they had booked the wrong dates), and asking them repeatedly to tell me what problems they were having, they would not tell me what it was that was wrong other than the TV (which the wireless box was unplugged), I gave them a full refund (after they had stayed 6 nights) and explained that the $146 was a VRBO fee and I could not refund it myself. I told them that if It was not refunded automatically by the website that they would need to contact VRBO. They do not appear to have done that since I called VRBO today and was able to get the additional refund processed. I hope that since I am still trying to make them a satisfied customer and they now have all of their money back, they will reconsider their insulting review, but if they do not, that will reflect more on them than on me or my property. Thanks, Bryan
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
USA / France /
4

Thank you

  • 4 of 5

We had a very nice staying at this property. The house was confortable and easy access for shopping, main roads etc . We had small problems with the cleaners which did not clean well the house, but the owner offer to pay back the cleaning fees. Which was nice. I recomend the place.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and apologize again for the inconvenience. We were finally able to locate your lost toy. I will send it back to you soon. It had fallen down behind the washing machine. I hope we can host you again next tome your travels bring you to town.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Fun in Old Colorado

  • 4 of 5

We spent the month of Sept. 2015 here and enjoyed our stay. Bryan was great to work with. He was very patient and responsive. I must have e-mailed him 8 times with various questions and he always responded promptly. We found the unit to be clean and larger than one would expect of a 850 sq. ft. unit. The bathroom is huge --- normally the bathroom in a two bedroom/one bath is just barely big enough to turn around in. The master bedroom is also nice sized with good closet space. The second bedroom is normal sized for a second bedroom. The kitchen is nice sized with all the basic necessities. The living room is small but has a love-seat and a couch with a hide a bed. Also between the living room and dining area is a large stuffed chair that could be turned towards the living room. The unit only has a TV in the living room, but it is a nice new flat mounted TV. Maybe the best part of this property is its location. It is within a 15 minute leisurely walk to down town Old Colorado with lots of shopping and dinning (you must try the Front Range BBQ and Rustic Pizza Place). Also, it is very close to the Garden of the Gods, Manitou Springs, Cave of the Winds, the Cliff Dwellings and the Olympic Training Center; and a short drive to the Air Force Academy. Another nice feature was the keyless entry system. It was so nice not to have to worry about keeping track of another key.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Great family get away.

  • 4 of 5

The house was really great. The accommodations were great for our family. It was in a central location to all the activities we wanted to do in Colorado.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. We love the central location too. It is great for short stays since it is so close to the attractions, but is also great for longer stays since it is in such a great neighborhood with walkable shops, restaurants, parks etc. We hope to have you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Absentee owner with no local property manager

  • 1 of 5

We rented the downstairs apartment for over 6 weeks and it served the purpose of putting a roof over our heads and being fully furnished. The condition of the apartment lacked attention. We found the biggest issue throughout our stay was the fact that the owner/landlord lived out of state and had very few resources in Colorado Springs to fix things that came up. We also think the owner hasn't been to this property for months and doesn't know the true condition of his unit. We had issues contacting him and getting responses to problems. For instance, the only thermostat in the entire house was in the upstairs apartment. In the welcome letter, it was promised that the heat would be on. We have a 9 month old who was sick quite a bit and the heat wasn't on when we moved into the apartment and the landlord finally sent someone 3 days later to the upstairs unit to turn on the heat. Three more times during our stay, the tenants upstairs turned off the heat or the air and we were left without any heat when they departed and temp was 30 at night. Landlord lacked compassion or any sense of urgency in turning on our heat despite us complaining numerous times and his promise to get it fixed. On another occasion, we informed him there was a flood in the laundry room due to intense rain, sent him pictures, and he merely responded that he wouldn't send anyone to look at it "because the foundation normally seeps" and he wasn't concerned. He also wasn't concerned when his front door swelled to the point that the electronic lock would not lock. We asked him to send someone to the house to fix the lock and after a few hours he responded that he couldn't contact anyone locally so we might have to wait to the next day. We ended up having to buy the equipment at the hardware store ourself to fix the lock because he didn't have a plan for it to get fixed. Landlord couldn't seem to be bothered with issues like most of the light bulbs being burnt out, the bed spreads being ripped when we arrived, the carpet and furniture being in need of a professional cleaning, and other things in the apartment not working like the bathroom fan/outlets. He does not pay to maintain the lawn and the grass grew to 2 feet tall before I contacted him and he finally got someone to cut it. The biggest issue we had overall was that he was not local and didn't seem to know or care about the condition of his house. He was very "absent" from managing his property. Do not recommend.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all I am sorry that one of my guest shad such a negative experience but I am also frustrated that they portrayed me as not caring. In their review there is some truth, a variety of misrepresentations and a number of significant omissions. I went out of my way to try to cope with the odd and unexpected weather that Colorado had this spring. It caused the foundation to seep, the door to swell and the yard to be too wet to cut. The fact that the weather went from 80 one day to snow the next week meant that I had guests who shut off the heat and turned on the AC and then the weather changed after they had left and the AC was on rather than the heat.. I am upgrading the HVAC system this week to be WIFI controlled so that this will not be a problem in the future. I did my best to respond within a few hours of contact. Their comment about 3 days to respond omits the fact that they did not mention it for the first 2. In each instance I offered a variety of remedies, some of which the guests did not express any interest in such as having someone come and set up a pump in the utility room to deal with the water. Since the water was not damaging anything why would I ask them to put up with the inconvenience of that? I understand that things did not meet my usual goal of guest comfort due to unforeseen circumstances and that these guests were disappointed. I went out of my way to try to make some compensation for the inconvenience. I did not charge them for the additional days that I made the unit available to them at the beginning of their stay. I did not charge them for the blinds, which they destroyed during their stay. I thought that perhaps they would see that I had in good faith tried to meet their needs. Clearly none of that made it into their review. I am not sure how they forgot those things, in their very lengthy reply, but I am sure it was an oversight. I am not an on site manager of a hotel; this is a vacation rental and it is my vacation home, which I share with others when I am not there. I am not a property manager; my wife and I are full time teachers and full time parents who do our best to help our guests enjoy their time in our home. I try to make my guests feel welcome and most of them do. I am not sure if this time was just bad luck or bad guests. Either way I am sorry that Ms. L had such a poor experience and hope that she has a better experience with future hosts.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Colorado Springs
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Kissing Camels
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-25
Nearest Ski
90 Miles
Arapahoe Basin, Keystone or Loveland
Car: necessary

Access to amenities of Colorado Springs includes:

• 5 minutes to Garden of the Gods, Old

Colorado City, Colorado College and

Downtown Colorado Springs

• less than 10 minutes to North Cheyenne

Canon (including Cheyenne Mountain Zoo and

Seven Falls)

• less than 10 minutes to University of Colorado

at Colorado Springs

• 10 minutes to Manitou Springs (including

Pikes Peak)

• 15 minutes to the Air Force Academy

• 20 minutes from Colorado Springs Airport

• 1-1/2 hours from Denver International Airport

Photos

Rates & Availability

Old Colorado City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
AFA parents weekend
Aug 30 2017 - Sep 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$129
$649
$1,499
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$119
$599
$1,499
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $500
check-in fee $125
Tax Rate 9.2%

Refundable damage deposit of $500 required on all parties. The deposit is 100% refundable within 14 days of check out if unit requires no unusual maintenance or cleaning.
Check in/out processing fee of $125 on all rentals to cover unit make ready etc.

If Guest wishes to cancel his/her reservation, the reservation deposit will be refunded as follows:
100% if cancelled 90 days prior to the Check-in Date
50% if cancelled 45 days prior to the Check-in Date
All deposits are 100% transferable to new dates, based upon availability and seasonal rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties