Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front, Dog Friendly, Hatteras Island, 4 BR, 3 1/2 BA

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Ocean Front, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9 , Dog Friendly

PLEASE VISIT OUR OTHER TWO OCEAN FRONT PROPERTIES IN RODANTHE: VRBO # 426760 AND 403480.

BRING YOUR PODS. ENJOY OUR NEW KEURIG OR COFFEE CONVENTIONAL STYLE.

We Grew Up In Central North Carolina, But We've Called Hatteras Island Our Second Home. 'Beach House' Is Just Steps Away From The Sandy Beach And Atlantic Ocean. We Purchased Beach House In Early May 2014 And Have Spent Our Time Ensuring It Is Perfect For The Upcoming Season. We Are Both North Carolina Contractors And Our Goal Is To Ensure Beach House Is Perfect. We Have Two Other Ocean Front Homes, Both In Rodanthe, Part Of The Tri-village That Includes Salvo And Waves. 'Mermaid's Tears' Is Listed Under VRBO #426760 And 'Rose Cottage' Is Found at VRBO # 403480. We Encourage Prospective Guests To Visit These Listings And Read Our Positive Guest Comments/feedback.

(Access These Properties By Going To 'My Rental Listings' Below At 'contact Us') Beach House Encompasses A Reversed House Plan Which Is Very Common To Many Homes Along The Outer Banks. This Simply Means That The Living Area, Ie, Kitchen, Dining And Living Room Are Located On The Highest Level.

Our Second Floor Level Of Beach House Includes A Very Comfortable Living Open Area With Skylights And Gas Fireplace, A Flat Screen Tv/dvd. A Large Sectional Couch Faces An 8' Window/door Slider For A Magnificent View Of The Ocean. The Dining Area, Which Actually Encompasses Two Areas And Open To The Living Area, Has Seating For Ten. The Modern Kitchen Has All Cooking Needs Should One Decide Never To Venture Out To Any Of The Great Restaurants In The Area. There Is Also Counter Seating For Three. There Is A Very Nice King Bedroom Upstairs With Connecting Bath And Large Shower. This Bedroom Has Its Own Entrance/exit To The Outside Oceanfront Deck. A Flat Screen Tv And Dvd Are Also In This Bedroom. There Is Also A Half Bath Upstairs Which Shares A Washer And Dryer.

Three Of Our Bedrooms Are Downstairs. Another Master Bedroom Has A King Bed With A Large Bathroom With Shower And Jacuzzi Tub. The Outside Door Leads To A Deck And Access To the ocean. This Bedroom Has A Flat Screen Tv And Dvd. Another Bedroom Downstairs, Very Spacious With A Queen Bed, Has Two Large Windows And A View Of The Ocean. This Bedroom Has A Flat Screen Tv And Dvd. The Third Bedroom On The Downstairs Level Has A Queen Bed. This Bedroom Has Two Windows; One With A View Of The Ocean, The Other A View Of The Sound In The Distance. This Bedroom Also Has A Flat Screen Tv And Dvd. Both Queen Bedrooms Share A Full Bathroom. Also, Downstairs Is A Nice Welcoming Foyer.

Beach House Has Two Furnished Sundecks And Screened Porch. Vacation Guests Will Find Plenty Of Conveniences Outside, Including an Outdoor Shower, Basketball Goal And A fenced area for your dog with shade. Enjoy Grilling Out On The Charcoal Grill. Beach House Also Has Wireless Internet For Your Laptop.

While Staying In Beach House, Exploring Is A Must. Hatteras Island Is Simply The Most Beautiful Place On Earth - Where The Atlantic Ocean And Pamlico Sound Is Separated By A Thin, Fragile Slice Of Land. Hatteras Lighthouse, Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge, The Graveyard Of The Atlantic Museum, Small Villages Of Avon, Buxton, Waves, Frisco And Salvo Are All Within A Short Drive.

In Rodanthe, Explore The Chicamacomico Life-saving Station Museum, Civil War Battle Of Chicmacomico Races, And Try To Identify Each Of The Over 400 Species Of Birds. Or Simple Lay Back And Enjoy Reading And Watching The Surf.

Free Wireless Internet Access Via Silicon Travel For This Property (computer Not Provided, Bring Your Laptop).

Saturday To Saturday Rental.

PROPERTY DAMAGE: No Security Deposit Collected. A Property Damage Protection Fee ($69) Covers All Accidental Damages To The Vacation Rental up to $1,000.

WE DO NOT ADVERTISE ON CRAIG'S LIST

More Details

Owner
Frank Henson
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 14, 2017

About Frank Henson

Beverly and Frank Henson grew up in Greensboro, NC. Beverly has enjoyed being a successful business owner for over twenty years while Frank was a career Marine Corps Officer, retiring after twenty two years. Both Frank and Beverly are licensed North Carolina Contractors.

Frank Henson purchased this house in 2014

Why Frank Henson chose Rodanthe

Simply a great 'Beach House' to enjoy nature, the ocean and family/friends.

What makes this house unique

Ocean Front, Hatteras Island, Outer Banks, 400 species of birds, abundant wildlife everywhere, great seafood, historical significance, walk out the door to a beautiful beach, sunrises in the Atlantic, sunsets on the Pamlico Sound, porch swing facing the ocean, fenced in dog run, coffee and internet overlooking the ocean every morning, searching for shells, watching sea turtles hatch, seeing seals come ashore, kite surfers in January, surf or pier fishing and so much more....

Amenities

Rodanthe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs Master; two sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Downstairs Master
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs; shared with two bedrooms
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , Half bath; upstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Upstairs Master with skylights; private entrance to deck
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Downstairs Master; private door to deck/beach and ocean
  • Master Upstairs King with double sink, large shower, private door to deck, built in drawers and spacious closet, cathedral style, spacious. Downstairs Master King with large bath/tub/shower and door to 1st level deck and stairs to beach/ocean. Two queen bedrooms also downstairs Which share a bathroom, shower/tub. Each bedroom has its own flat screen TV/DVR.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dogs welcome with a fee

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Front, Dog Friendly, Hatteras Island, 4 BR, 3 1/2 BA
average rating of 4.7954545 based on 44 reviews
Bridgewater Ma
5

Amazing Everything we had hoped it would be

  • 5 of 5

The Beach House is truly amazing. It is stocked with everything you could possibly want. The house was décor was perfect. My family and I enjoyed the beach and both sunrise and sunsets from our deck! We were content to sit each day and enjoy the beach, relax and sit at night watching the stars. Both decks & furniture were new. The Polywood outdoor furniture was perfect finishing touch to the decks. Frank and Beverly responded with the many questions we had and even shipped us back a few articles of clothing we left behind. I can not wait till next year to stay again. This vacation was everything we had hoped for and highly recommend to all.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to write a very nice, wonderful, descriptive review of "Beach House". We try very hard to make everything perfect for our guest's arrival...the decor is a bit of our own lives, what we like and of course, what might be expected of an ocean front property. Thanks for mentioning the new decks and furniture....hopefully will last a few years....ocean front is so harsh and as contractors, we do our best to stay proactive and well ahead of potential challenges. We have a great property manager, Shore Details, and they always take charge of things when issues arise. We are fortunate to have them, and encourage all of our guests to contact them for any need....just like a hotel! Please return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Views, views, and more views!

  • 4 of 5

The views are to die for! From the swing on the lower deck to the comfortable chairs on the top deck, amazing ocean views every way you look. You also get a view of the sound from the screened in porch. It's located in the middle of Hatteras Island and lots of things to do with just a short drive. I obtained ORV permit to drive on the beach, and really enjoyed that! Drove out to Shelly Island and the family collected all kinds of sea shells. Very nice vacation away from the hustle and bustle of the main OBX areas.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the very positive review of Beach House. Views from both of the decks are a plus; thank you for mentioning. We are so glad your party had a favorable visit to the Outer Banks and visited many special places close to Beach House - located "in the middle of Hatteras Island". We've got to visit Shell Island but with your recommendation, we will visit there soon, especially for the shells. Thank you again for being our guest at Beach House and hope you will return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

glorious... then big disappointment

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful, everything we had hoped for and more. However, we what a mandatory evacuation after one day in this glorious place. One day at the beach house was absolutely not enough. We'll be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the 5 star rating of Beach House. Considering the circumstances of being evacuated from Hatteras Island due to Hurricane Maria, we agree.....one day is not enough time.. We hope you will definitely return soon so you are able to enjoy the entire Outer Banks area and Beach House in more time and leisure. Thank you again for for thoughtfulness.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ocean bliss

  • 5 of 5

A great week. Home was clean and well maintained. Loved watching the sunrise from multiple deck viewing areas. Enjoyed seeing the porpoises in the morning.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy and pleased that your week stay at Beach House was great. Also, very, very happy to hear that the home was clean and well maintained....full credit to our Property Manager! Thank you also for mentioning the porpoises, almost always swimming every morning....our favorite event. Please return to Rodanthe/Waves soon; you are always welcome.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We had a wonderfulful stay.

  • 4 of 5

House is awesome, beach so close, very centrally located between nags head & buxton, hatteras village.no need to bring any cooking utensils, pots, pans, everything there u need.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the very nice review of Beach House. We work so hard to ensure our guests are pleased with everything, and we take great pride when our guests let us know they enjoyed their vacation. We hope you will chose Beach House and Hatteras Island as a place to visit again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice location

  • 4 of 5

The house's floors were dirty when we arrived. We had 2 babies with us and their toys were covered with dog hair when left on floor or couch. We found others' toy pieces under furniture and a medicine measuring cup behind a bedroom door. The cleaner did come when I called and vacuumed the floor and furniture while I swept. The back burner on stove did not work, the kitchen faucet was tricky to turn off, ceiling fan in living room did not work and the latch for dog run was broken.

The house itself was very doable for a nice week at the beach. We did struggled putting the babies down for naps during the day because the sound carried so loudly from upstairs to downstairs.

There were many good things too particularly the new decks. Just lovely for sitting and being together. I hope my feedback helps

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of our Beach House and to give it a four star rating. However, we are very disappointed we did not meet your full expectations...our Property Manager does a superb job regarding their housekeeping and cleaning efforts...not to make an excuse for them but perhaps they just "had a bad day". We were glad to hear they responded by returning quickly and performed a proper cleaning. We take pride in responding quickly to anything that is not perfect and wished we had been called regarding the two stove burners being out, the ceiling fan and the latch on the dog run. We have since addressed those issues as we do for all challenges on all of our ocean front properties. We try very hard to stay ahead of maintenance (as you pointed out the new deck but also new windows, flooring, etc at Beach House) Again, we do appreciate your feedback and hope you can return to Beach House soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Atlantic Coast Cafe
"Great place to enjoy breakfast."
Top Dog Cafe
"One of our favorites from snacks to great seafood and sandwiches."
Rodanthe Fishing Pier
"The Rodanthe Pier is a short 1/3 mile walk north along the beach. Day passes are $10 and the..."
Chicamacomico Life Saving Station Historic Site and museum
"Hands on and fun way to learn the history of this tri Village area of Waves, Rodanthe and Sa..."
Lisa's Pizzeria
Dairy Queen
Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar
Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Norfolk International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Ocracoke - Hatteras Ferry
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Nags Head Golf Links
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 12
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Top Dog Cafe
Nearest Beach
Atlantic Ocean (in front of Beach House)
Car: necessary

So much to do on Hatteras Island; beaches, hiking, surfing, swimming, kayaking, wind surfing, fishing, etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Pet fee $100 + Tax
Damage Protection Fee $69 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Saturday to Saturday rental.

Deposit of $500 plus VRBO service fee required at booking, fully refundable if cancelled 60 days prior to vacation, less $25 credit card fee. Contact owner for information about additional rental units.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties