Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic & Hip * Ultimate Location * Free Parking * 6 Queen/King BRs-all w/TVs

Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

6 Br/4 Ba On Lafayette Square. 350 Feet To St John the Baptist Cathedral

Stunning Historic Savannah Vacation Rental in the Heart of the City and walking distance to everything!

Planning a wedding, bachelorette or girls' weekend or family reunion in the historic district of Savannah? Looking for a home that's as unique as you are? Want a home that dazzles your entire group with its great style but that's still sensible? It's hard to find the perfect combination of style and comfort and in an ideal location, without blowing the budget. But you, have found it. This house has both style and substance!

All 6 bedrooms offer either Queen or King Beds, comfortably sleeping 12. (2 additional young children in room with parents permitted) All bedrooms are similarly sized and equipped with TV's and upscale linens and bedding. The entire home has been professionally decorated to artfully blend the history and appeal of an historic home with the boutique feel of a luxury hotel.

Who needs stress? You simply park up to 3 cars right behind the house and forget about them. You won't need them. No other vacation rental this size has our location -- it can't be beat for convenience to absolutely everything from restaurants to bars to shopping, to squares or beauty parlors. It's got it all. Others will claim to be central, but once you're walking everywhere, your feet will know the difference! And if high-heels are in your plans, don't even think about renting anywhere else!

Tour the house:

In the Parlor, an elaborate carved mantle with original tile sparkles in the glow of an antique chandelier. Catch your reflection in the mirror over the decorative fireplace that has graced this room for over 100 years and sense your place in this home's history.

After a day out on the town, relax in the adjoining Media Room. Get caught up with your favorite movies and shows on the 50' HDTV with premium cable or check out the WiFi enabled BluRay DVD player and DVD movie library.

Wining or dining, inside or out is never a problem. Huge armoire-style fridge is perfect for everything from over-sized pizza boxes to party trays. Both casual and formal china along with various serving pieces allow for all occasions. To keep the well-stocked kitchen clear for the cooks, there is a super convenient wine/coffee bar along the back along with a separate Internet station/charging counter with six outlets and a music dock.

Just off the kitchen, there's a chic breakfast room with a built-in banquette salvaged from an old church pew. Multiple casual dining areas provide seating for 14 inside or 6 outside.

Just off the dining area is a brand new 1st Floor Full Bath featuring a full-on glam mirror, and convenient full-size W/D.

Want a bedroom with extra privacy or minimal stairs? The 1st floor Suite has a stunning 4-Poster King Bed painted glorious red, its own 32' flat screen TV, plus an en-suite bath with tiled shower and even offers private access to the secluded lounge area on the wrap-around porch.

Some people say the porch is their favorite part of the house. Is it the linen curtains that sway in the breeze or the rope lighting that casts a sweet glow over conversations that linger far into the night? Maybe it's the multiple comfortable seating areas or the full buffet/bar area and dining table? Either way you may never want to leave the porch either.

The Second Floor

The gorgeous wooden staircase is illuminated by a bank of leaded-glass windows that catch the last rays of each day, a gentle reminder of the days when the house was lit by gas lamps. These days, all the conveniences you'd expect and more await you. Each of the upstairs bedroom suites is uniquely decorated and all include brand new, super-comfortable, Sealy Posturepedic Pillow-top mattresses, assorted pillows, plus dressers or chests and individually controlled ceiling fans for your comfort.

Overlooking the front of the house is Bedroom 2, the Ruby Suite. Plush, deep wine-colored, lined curtains and wooden shutters hang on all 5 windows for the ultimate in privacy and room darkening bliss. A brass Queen bed, 32' flat screen TV, sitting area with a swanky settee and coffee table, plus a decorative fireplace and closet complete the suite.

Bedroom #3 is accessed off the hallway or connecting via a party-door with bedroom #2. It offers a King-bed with a massive wood and leather headboard which is situated beneath a leaded-glass accent window. Another original decorative fireplace, plus closet and 32' flat screen TV are included.

Full Bath #3, is a shared hall bath and features an original decorative fireplace, granite counter-top, beveled glass mirror, vintage tub/shower plus plenty of shelving and storage for towels and makeup.

Bedroom #4, the Jewel Box Room, shines like a ray of sunlight. A Queen linen-upholstered bed lines one wall opposite a decorative fireplace with original tile, and a brightly colored armoire . A yellow chevron wall-to-wall valance and shutters adds a chic touch to this jewel box of a room. A 32' flat screen TV hangs above the fireplace.

Across the back of the house is the 'Family Suite.' Bedrooms #5 and #6 are connected. The first room features a Queen bed with a salvaged iron gate headboard, an armoire/luggage hutch and a 32' flat screen TV. A private dressing area with closet and its own vanity sink/mirror is concealed behind a pocket-door at the rear.

Through a privacy door area flanked by built-in shelving is the second and larger bedroom of the suite and the 4th full bathroom. It features a heavenly King bed with upholstered headboard, 32' flat screen TV, and closet. The brand-new bath is beautifully tiled and offers a tub/shower combo. A very special view of the twin spires of St. John the Baptist, a half block away, adds undeniable romantic ambiance.

Whether you've been to Savannah once or a hundred times, it's got some powerful ju-ju. The quirky heart and soul of the city was the inspiration that led us to create 'The Simon,' a vacation home that is geared to those looking to make memories!

Getting ready to take a trip down the aisle? Want to relax & reconnect with family & friends? You'll find we've got great common space for lounging around but plenty of private space for those times you need it. And plenty of bathrooms makes getting a whole house full of people ready at one time a no-brainer.

Accommodates a maximum of 12 adults and allows 2 extra children with crib (bring your own) or pack & play and linen (available for rent through Stay Savannah Vacation Rentals.)

Come visit The Simon for an unforgettable stay in one of America's most charming and historical cities! Accept no alternative, memories last a life-time, so make sure to start your vacation off on the right foot by booking your stay with us today!

In the Area

The property is ideally situated at the corner of two historic Savannah streets – Drayton Street and Harris Street and within easy walking distance of the entire Landmark Historic District, including:

• Andrew Low House

• St. John's Cathedral

• Hilton DeSoto

• J Christophers

• Soho Café and Public Kitchen

• Savannah City Market

• Historic Bay Street and River Street

• Forsyth Park

• Telfair Museum of Art

• Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace

• Owens-Thomas House

• Mercer House

• Goose Feathers Café – Voted “Best Breakfast in Savannah”.

• Paula Deen’s – The Lady and Sons Restaurant

• Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room

• Colonial Park Cemetery

• Chippewa Square – Where Forrest Gump was filmed.

• Madison Square

STVR 00059

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

Why chose Historic District - North

The Simon on Lafayette Square is perfectly located for walking the Historic District. This amazing home has all the luxuries of today with all the details of a Historic Home. Every bedroom is equipped with an LCD TV! Private Parking for your 3 vehicles is a rarity downtown. Details of vintage tile and hand carved decorative fireplaces, massive baseboard moldings, and 11' ceilings make your Savannah experience a unique vacation as living like a local.

What makes this house unique

This home sleeps 12 adults in 6 Beds in 6 Bedrooms. A maximum of 2 additional CHILDREN in crib (bring your own or rental) are allowed for a maximum of 12 total occupancy in this home. 2-night stays are only permitted on weekdays. All weekends require 3+ nights.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We just left this amazing house and had so much fun! We came down to Savannah for a ladies weekend and this house easily accommodated 10 girls! The beds were great as well as the kitchen. The location was very convenience as well. I'd highly recommend this house!
Nov 2017
  • 1 of 10


Historic District - North House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Full Bath off Dining Area
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Private Bath off BR1 on First Floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hall Bath on 2nd Floor
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Private Full Bath off BR 6 Additional Sink/Vanity in BR5
  • Never run out of hot water!!! Tankless Hot Water Heater provides endless hot water - perfect for large groups getting ready all at the same time!
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • First Floor Bedroom - 1 king , 2nd Private entrance off front porch
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , The Ruby Suite with Sitting Area on 2nd Floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Connecting Door to Bedroom 2
    Bedroom 4 - The Jewel Box Room
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Connecting Room with Private Vanity/Dressing area
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , Connects with BR 5. Has Full Bath with Tub * Cathedral View
  • All bedrooms are uniquely decorated and all include new, super-comfortable, Sealy Posturepedic Pillow-top mattresses, assorted pillows, plus dressers or chests and individually controlled ceiling fans for your comfort. All BR's have 32' TV with remote. This home sleeps 12 adults in 6 Beds in 6 Bedrooms. A maximum of 2 additional CHILDREN in crib (bring your own) are allowed for a maximum of 12 total occupancy in this home. Pack & Play w/linens available for rent by property manager.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
All weekend stays require a minimum 3-night stay. 2-night stays are only permitted weekdays and non-holiday/events.


4.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Historic & Hip * Ultimate Location * Free Parking * 6 Queen/King BRs-all w/TVs
average rating of 4.25 based on 14 reviews

Perfect Location for touring Savannah!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this house in Savannah. Very close to everything, and especially the coffee house at the end of the street! Try the waffle and peach cobbler! The bedrooms were comfortable and the washer and dryer were a bonus. We would definitely stay here again. Loved the old feel of the property. We had 7 adults and had plenty of space. We found the management company to be especially helpful with a few items (TV in bedroom not working). They responded immediately and took care of the problem.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Emerald Isle, NC USA

Jazzed by Simon!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time at this unique property in historical Savannah! It was a really cool house with lots of rooms so everyone had their own bed! And talk about the beds! Heavenly! It was close to everything so once we got there, we parked our car (its rare to find parking in Savannah; 3 spaces!) and walked to where we wanted to go. It was a very old house but had all the modern conveniences we needed. I would highly recommend this over a hotel any day! Thanks Simon Says!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had the most amazing vacation at The Simon! The location is perfect for walking everywhere. The home was super clean and had plenty of space for 10 of us. The furnishings made this historic home a modern comfort zone! The kitchen was well stocked and they even had specialty coffee from Savannah Coffee Roasters which I highly recommend. Having Lafayette Square right out our door was an absolute pleasure for my morning stroll. The wrap around porch was an added living space and just topped it off for us. Private parking was really nice even though we never got in our car. The staff at Stay Savannah went above and beyond to make our booking process and stay a great experience. Really nice staff with southern hospitality. I highly recommend The Simon and will be planning another relaxing trip to Savannah in 2017. Thank you for a WONDERFUL visit to Savannah!

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your 5 star review! We are very pleased the home was everything you expected and more. It is important to us at Stay Savannah to provide to absolute best in vacation rental homes in Savannah and we have succeeded again! The Simon is one of the most amazing homes in the Historic District. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to accommodating you, your friends and family again in the future! Thanks so much, Stay Savannah Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Such high hopes, but so disappointing

  • 2 of 5

My family and I stayed at the Simon for a week. Firstly, the location is perfect - walking distance to shopping, dining, sights, tours, etc. The house has a lot of potential. However, it was absolutely filthy - our socks were stained after only a few hours walking around, there is black dust surrounding all air vents, stains on the kitchen cabinets and back splashes, and layers of dust on nearly all horizontal surfaces. The shared upstairs bathroom has such poor water pressure that it hardly qualifies as a full bath. While the house photographs beautifully, it's very uncomfortable and the owners obviously chose furniture for form over function. It's very uncomfortable. The overhead fluorescent lights are a cool light, and combined with the lack of natural light on the first floor, it felt like a hospital setting. The carpeting was all jute, very stained, and curled up at the edges and corners. The kitchen was barely stocked - one steak knife, a vegetable peeler that looked like it was run over by a car, one warped bar-sized cutting board, and nonstick cookware that was scratched so badly that it was a health hazard to cook with. We attempted to eat some meals on the front porch due to the lack of comfortable dining settings indoors, and the porch floor and table were filthy. One of the children with us stumbled and fell on the porch and their hands came up black - no exaggeration. Horrible value for the price. I wanted so much to like this place, but sadly, all I can say about it is to stay away.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: PROPERTY MANAGER’s Response: We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We understand traveling with a newborn has its challenges and are disappointed that you weren’t completely satisfied with your stay. We are, however, confused about some of the issues raised. You called soon after check in to tell us about the scratched pans. We came right over with a set of new, high-quality pans. We also provided a full set of steak knives. You were very kind and appreciated our promptness. When asked if we could help with anything else, you said you had no other issues or needs and seemed satisfied with the home and our services. Please know that we have taken appropriate action. The curling on the edge of the rug and other issues have been addressed. The home was inspected after checkout. We didn’t find the dusty surfaces, food on cabinets or dirty floors—beyond what might be expected after a 7-day rental. The porch and outdoor furnishings were rinsed and wiped down prior to check in. After a few days, I’m sure the surfaces were dusty from the street traffic and tree pollen which is why we provide furniture covers. Your review took us by surprise. We wish that you would have stated these issues while you were here. It’s so much easier to take corrective action before a guest leaves since it's our total desire that our guests be completely happy and satisfied. We would have handled any issues promptly. Thank you. OWNER’s Response: Thanks for your feedback, we take guest concerns very seriously. We personally inspected our home following your review and found a curled carpet in one bedroom that’s been addressed. There is a stain on the sisal carpet in the TV Room. Housekeeping had attempted to clean it prior to your arrival but a shadow remains. It will be removed for a thorough cleaning and be replaced, if needed. As for the lighting, there are 30+ lights (including direct, indirect, overhead, recessed lights and table lamps) on the 1st floor alone, we feel that offers sufficient options to achieve whatever mood is desired. The home’s decor was selected to be stylish, durable and fun. Unfortunately, we can't respond to that point directly without knowing which piece(s) you found uncomfortable. We believe most guest would find our furniture within the normal range of comfort. We are in constant contact with the management company and share their disappointment that you were less than delighted when we all work so hard to ensure agreat experience for guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Savannah-Hilton Head Intl Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Multiple Bars
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Weston Golf Resort
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Multiple Restaurants
Nearest Beach
18 Miles
Tybee Island
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $300

All Holidays are a Seasonal Rate.
2 night stays available weekdays.
Call for Last Minute availability discounted rates!
5% Processing Fee required

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.