Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Perfect Private Terrace Foodie Neighborhood-Value-AC-Washer-Real Florence-WiFi

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,220 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Fully Equipped, No Steps, Great Dining (Sleeps 4)

We welcome your inquiries and questions and will respond within one business day. The calendar is updated frequently.


Appreciate real Florentine living in the typical neighborhood of San Frediano with the special feature of a quiet terrace and garden, a rare situation in central Florence.

"At the end of a crowded day it was a wonderful oasis in which to return."


San Frediano is a village within the city of Florence. Inside the ancient city walls, the neighborhood has served the city with craftsmen for centuries. You'll see examples even on your street. This neighborhood is known for its restaurants. It is a few blocks outside the most popular tourist neighborhoods so you will experience local 'village' life without tour groups passing through. the Quercia building dates from the 1500s.

"We found the location perfect and in a quiet area south of the Arno river."


Quercia is located in a narrow building with grey 'pietra serena' stone doorway. On the ground floor and in the back of the building, there are no steps to reach the apartment. Because the apartment is at the back of the building, it is quiet.


Railroad-style layout, a long hall connects the bedrooms to the living/dining room and terrace beyond. Ancient masonry is exposed on part of the hall wall, together with the vaulted brick ceiling in the first bedroom, the typical Tuscan floor tiles and kitchen evoke the echo of centuries of Florentine and Tuscan history.

Air conditioning in living room and bedrooms.

The heart of the home is a the 'great room' with open kitchen, dining room and modern sofas organized in an L shape, allowing all guests to sit comfortably. Light flows into from the terrace and garden just outside the living room. In warm weather, about 6 months of the year, the terrace forms an outdoor living room. It has table and chairs for dining and even lounge chairs for, well, lounging. And, it has screens, a very unusual thing in Italy.

"The terrace was great and I loved sitting out there in the evening enjoying a glass of wine and listening to the families conversing in Italian."

The living room also has the television with only local Italian channels, wifi router, and air conditioner. The bedrooms are also air conditioned.

Very nice pieces of original, local art are found throughout the apartment.

The compact kitchen has everything needed with full sized refrigerator, gas stove-top, oven, microwave, dishwasher and drip coffee maker.

Moving from the living room towards the entrance you find the master bedroom with queen sized bed, wall of closets and ensuite bath with shower cabinet. The bathroom has heated towel racks, so nice in cool weather.

Between the master bedroom and the twin bedroom, there is an internal patio with a wall of windows that brings in light and good also for bicycle parking. this is where the washing machine is located.

The twin bedroom also has an en-suite bathroom with shower. In this room there can be one bed or a second, trundle bed can be pulled out from under the first. New, thick mattresses. The twin bedroom has a high, vaulted masonry ceiling that probably harks to a time when this ground floor was a stable.

"The apartment was well sized for 3 people, was clean, quiet and well furnished including comfortable beds and showers."

The total living space is about 1220 sq ft, 114 m2, Breakdown is 900 sq ft/84 m2 for the apartment and 320 sq ft/30 m2 for the terrace.

Guests receive complimentary and helpful documents: 1. FAQ About Renting in Italy, 2. Helpful Information About Florence with our much-appreciated Restaurant list. On request, complimentary children's adventure guide to Italy e-Book.

See what the experts say about us! Conde Nast Traveler Magazine Italy Experience Maker award, Travel & Leisure Magazine Italy All-Star award, Better Business Bureau A+ perfect rating, SlowTravel Preferred, Vacation Rental Managers Association professional.

Keywords: Apartment, Florence, Firenze, Vacation Rental, Terrace

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Pat

This apartment is offered by Italy Perfect. We are a family business with a mission! We want you to love visiting Italy as much as we do. We are sisters Lisa and Pat Byrne who lived in Italy in our youth and now travel there frequently for business and pleasure.

We offer only short term rentals that we carefully hand pick for their locations, furnishings, amenities, and that we can personally recommend and would want to stay in ourselves. We travel frequently to inspect, and usually stay in, the rentals we represent. We select vacation rentals that offer charm, good locations, cleanliness, quality furnishings and hospitable welcomes. We count the number of steps up to the property, check the size of the refrigerator, shower, listen for noise, inventory the kitchen equipment and even inspect the mattresses. This is our most important point of differentiation which sets us apart from many other vacation rental firms. Even with careful advance research and personal connections, we still choose to not represent more than 50% of the properties we visit.

Pat purchased this apartment in 2000

Guestbook comments from the manager

A friend and I stayed at the Quercia apartment in Oct/ Nov. It was all that was advertised...charming, relaxing and well appointed. The location is away from the maddening crowds, but within easy distance to all the necessary shops. The walk to and from city center kept us from weight gain despite pasta, wine and gelato over indulgence. The greeter was lovely and helpful. WiFi was a plus. I so appreciate the professionalism of Italy Perfect
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 24


Santo Spirito Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1220 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Local hospitality tax paid in cash on arrival.
  • Late check in after 8pm must be arranged in advance. There is a late arrival fee.
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Second bed can be stowed under the other, trundle
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Two full bedrooms
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Perfect Private Terrace Foodie Neighborhood-Value-AC-Washer-Real Florence-WiFi
average rating of 4.9210525 based on 62 reviews


  • 5 of 5

The apartment was accurate in its description. It is on the first floor so the rooms can be a little dark. The sunny terrace was a welcome part of this apartment and we enjoyed many lunches outside.

The mosquitos could be a problem. The hosts provided many coils for outside and plug-ins for the inside so they are aware of the problem. More than that not sure what else can be done.

The beds and bedding were very comfortable and our greeter was lovely and very helpful.

There are many good restaurants in the immediate area and it is an easy walk into the center of Florence.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Donna! The Italy Perfect Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quercia in September

  • 4 of 5

Our main contact person (Veronica Ranucci) was outstanding! Quercia was all good except for outdoor patio area. Due to mosquito swarms, we simply could not use that area. For anyone wanting a knowledgeable tour guide during your stay ... Veronica is your best bet. Jim & Lanell

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A great place to stay in Florence!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed in the Quercia, located in the San Frediano neighborhood of Florence. The neighborhood and location are great, just a short walk to all the tourist sites, but in a real neighborhood with local shops and bakeries. The apartment itself was lovely and fitted out with everything you would need in the kitchen. Not just a few plates and glasses, but full sets of kitchenware and enough pots and pans to cook a meal if you wanted to! The apartment has a back garden which is the sweetest place to sit for your glass of wine or to eat breakfast. We especially loved the open air panini stand and the Angolo Sapporo bakery about a block away from the apartment along the main road, and the wine store about 2 blocks in the other direction.

Our greeter Veronica wasn't able to meet us as we arrived, but sent her daughter to let us in. Veronica came a bit later, and although rushed, she marked on our map some spots, such as markets and shops, that we wouldn't have know about otherwise. Just a note to Italy Perfect, the greeter can take photos of the passports, no need to bring paper copies. Also, the tourist tax just seems to be due by the time you leave, we left if for Veronica when we left at the end of our stay.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Quercia or book through Italy Perfect again!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you've had a wonderful time. The Italy Perfect Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice quiet apartment in a residential section of Florence

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here in the 'Querica' apartment. The apartment itself was quite nice- a beautiful terrace, good wi-fi and a washing machine (very helpful since we were in the middle of a long trip!). It's on the ground floor but very quiet- it's on a side street and the bedrooms are well back from the street. Lots of great restaurants nearby; we never had to go more than 3 blocks for a meal and loved them all. It's about a 10 minute walk to S.M.N station or 20 minutes walk to the historic center (Duomo, Uffizi etc) but we liked being able to get away from that. Close to bus lines and grocery stores. The US staff at Italy Perfect and the Italian staff were all very helpful, gave us a great orientation to the area and were happy to assist with questions.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a wonderful stay! The Italy Perfect Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Austin TX

Super Spot

  • 5 of 5

We really liked our stay here, felt we were in the real Italy and imagined ourselves in our Florence home for a wistful longer period of time. Terrace is marvelous, peaceful and pretty. Location is great to enjoy an authentic neighborhood. Loved the effect of strolling from here to the the more touristy parts of the city. Italy Perfect did a great job of informing us in advance on what to expect and how to best enjoy our stay in Florence. The local manager very kind. Nice place. Don't hesitate.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Super guests! So glad you enjoyed. Please come again. The Italy Perfect Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

This is a charming apartment on the Oltrano part of Florence with fewer tourists.

  • 3 of 5

The apartment has 2 bedrooms each with showers and air conditioning. For 4 people it was a bit small. You have to walk sideways in the bathrooms to get in. The bathroom in the larger bedroom had a terrible sewage smell so we had to put wash cloths over the drains of the bidet and shower after use and keep the bathroom door closed all the time. The trundle type bed in the 2nd bedroom was so uncomfortable that our daughter had to sleep in the living area. The TV was broken but we told our welcome host that we didn't mind if it wasn't fixed. She said it had to be fixed then so all morning repair people were in and out of the living area. They cleaned up but the mosquitos had gained entrance and bit our daughter all night on the couch. The washing machine is outside with no dryer but we never used it. There is however a lovely patio with an awning, table, and chairs. The host gave us a basket of Italian goodies and all kitchen amenities were available including a dish washer.

The apartment has an old Florence ambience which is nice. It's a rather long walk to the main attractions but there is a lively square (Santo Spiritu) nearby with good restaurants and fewer tourists. So for the above reasons this apartment gets a three.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the apartment, the air conditioning, the lovely terrace, the special welcome basket of goodies. It is so true that it has a charming old Florence ambience. Apologies that the bathrooms in this typical Florentine apartment were small for you; it is a small city apartment and we are sorry that the photos provided of the bathrooms didn’t get that across. I checked with Veronica, the local manager who met you at check in, and she never received a call from you about the smell in the bathroom so she could remedy. They have now done that service, so smell is gone. They could have quickly done it for you, too. Please, if you stay with us or any other vacation rental, and you are finding something like that unpleasant, contact the manager right away. So sorry about the trundle bed being uncomfortable. You didn’t say, but I suspect it was the small size of the bed that was the problem. I’m glad they were able to quickly fix the television. Sorry that there were mosquitoes; they are so common in Florence and screens are so rare that we provide guests a lot of information about how to prepare and use the mosquito appliances in the apartment. We actually require all guests to acknowledge that they received information about preparing for mosquitoes. Fortunately there is a washer on the terrace because, as you could see, it would not fit into the apartment which is very common in Italy where the weather is generally temperate. I’m sorry you were surprised there was no dryer, they are very uncommon in Italy. I suppose you assumed that where there is a washer there is a dryer, but in the information you read about the apartment on HomeAway before reserving and our website, there is no mention of a dryer. Less than 25% of Italian homes have a clothes dryer and even less in vacation rentals. We will take extra care to advise future guests to read the information you were provided on the location of the apartment and its distance of a 9 -18 minute walk to most of the main sights in the center of Florence. Many guests find that walking a few minutes beyond the crowds in the center of Florence very restful and, also, as I am sure you discovered, interesting because you can use so many different routes to go to and from with fascinating discoveries along the way. But if a 15 minute walk is beyond their abilities, we want them to know there is also the bus that runs nearby or taxis are fast and inexpensive
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $159.74
Damage Deposit $368.64

The price includes linens, 1 set of towels/person, utility allowance, final cleaning, personal welcome during standard hours and free WiFi.

Not included are utilities over 10kwh/day at a charge of €0.40/Kwh payable in cash at check out. Extra sheets at €15/set and towels at €10/set are available and are paid for in cash to your greeter at check in. Local hospitality tax paid in cash at check in.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties