Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Cute and romantic, beachfront, Studio 001, Aventuras Akumal. Akumal Direct.

Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio, 1 Bath, Sleeps 3

Studio 001 is tucked away at the northern end of Aventuras Akumal Bay in building A, next to the Oasis Tulum resort complex. Studio 001 is a well-appointed unit, furnished with good quality finishings. The unit has 1 king sized bed, ocean view sofas, a well-equipped granite countered kitchenette with breakfast bar and flat screen satellite TV, Wi-Fi , and an ensuite bathroom with shower and dressing room. Studio 001 also has sliding doors leading out on to its own private beachfront terrace where you can enjoy alfresco dining or cocktails at any time of day or night. Guests staying at Studio 001 have access to the pool, shade palapas and sun loungers a few steps away from the unit. Full Beach Club Access to the all facilities is not included.

Nearby is also the Hacienda Dona Isabela shopping complex with plenty of gift stores, and an ATM machine, and for golfers the Riviera Maya Golf Club, which is the newest and most exciting golf course here in the Riviera Maya. Spanning 223 acres and set within 717 acres of tropical rainforest, this course was designed by Robert Trent Jones II who is well known for applying environmental sensibility with the latest technology.

There are so few beachfront studios in the area with ocean views, especially on such a beautiful beach. Studio 001 truly is a hidden gem!

More Details

Property Manager
Sydney, Kat, Marieke, Marcia, Zan :)
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, italian, Slovenian
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

Amenities

Akumal Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • 1 King bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming

Reviews

3.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
40% Complete
Cute and romantic, beachfront, Studio 001, Aventuras Akumal. Akumal Direct.
average rating of 3.2 based on 5 reviews
4

Great Condo with Great Location

  • 4 of 5

The condo was great as was the location. We would very likely stay here again if traveling just as a couple. With that said, the pool was not clean the first day to the point you could not see the bottom of the deep end (4ft). When we reached out to the management they were responsive, but the security guard who said the pool was his responsibility assumed that we did not speak Spanish and then proceeded to tell the management that we did not know what we were talking about. When we made it clear that we understood him, he tried to backtrack again. This is not the condo owners fault, but it did create a rough start to our vacation as we are both pool people. By the second day the water was better although never in the same condition as the pools around it. All in all, we had a great trip to Akumal which is one of our favorite vacation destinations.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Highly recommend this unit

  • 5 of 5

We usually stay at an all inclusive resort in Mexico but this time we thought we would try a beachfront condo. The pictures looked amazing but the were mixed reviews. We booked it anyway. We aboslutely would stay here again and would recommend to everyone. The pictures don't do it justice. We met several other guests who were staying in other units and we got to look in them as they did ours. By far this was more modern than the others. The mind service was outstanding and unexpected. We used the facilities at the resort and was asked if we were staying there (I think because we wasn't wearing the wristband that alerted them) but once we explained we were staying in the condo there was no other problem. We left the resort multiple times and the security guards were nothing but friendly and even offered to help carry our groceries one day since we had several bags. I would suggest a car because it is quite a way from the main road although there is public transportation. We had an amazing time and would go back anytime.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston, Massachusetts
5

Accessibility, fun, and an amazing beach

  • 5 of 5

This studio property came outfitted with everything I needed--kitchen, hot water and a nice bathroom, comfortable bed, A/C, and direct access to the beach. Excellent wifi. I loved the hotel next door. Sometimes renting your own property can be a bit isolating--depending on your level of comfort and privacy needs--but having access to the resort really balanced that out. I loved the pools at the resort, and the beach was incredible. You could sign up for a tour right there on the beach, if you wanted. A friend of mine used the spa at the Oasis resort and LOVED her experience. We enjoyed the amenities of the area, including a few delicious beach bars. I enjoyed this property immensely and would return here again. Perfect for friends, lovers, or a small family.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego
1

NO WELCOME FOR US!

  • 1 of 5

THE GOOD: Nice unit with good wifi and beach view.

THE BAD: We rented this unit because: "The studio is tucked away at the northern end of Aventuras Akumal Bay, next to the resort complex. A great perk of this property is that it offers guests access to the resort beach club facilities. These include sun loungers, the pool, and the resort beach front."

Well that simply is not true! After unpacking we decided to go for a swim in the angular pool pictured in the VRBO ad. The pool was empty. No Agua. OK, no problem so we head over to the resort pool which we advertised as part of the deal and are swarmed immediately by security guards, staff, then the concierge who demand our to see our wrist brands. They make a big scene that we do not have access to anything at Oasis unless we pay a $52/day per person for day passes since it is an all-inclusive resort and we are not members. Period. No smiles. No wiggle room. Well, we are not going to do that since we already paid and who wants to hang around such an unwelcoming place. So we head back to our unit and wonder where we CAN go. Meanwhile, everyone at Oasis (staff and members) are playing loud volleyball right in front of our unit so we could not sit out front or under the palapa that said it was for condominium guests... This happened every afternoon.

Other issues: Every time we arrived guards questioned and followed like we were trespassing. Don't they compare notes? Once we tried pay for a coffee at the resort and were again confronted by management when we couldn't produce wristbands. Went for a walk on the beach out front and told twice that the beach is closed "because of the Turtles." Every morning bags full of trash left in the hallway were ripped apart by animals by the evening. And the stovetop is a terrible scalding waiting to happen. Finally, on our last night, the pictured pool was full and inviting so we took a quick dip but as the guards started swarming we hurried off before things could escalate and ruin the moment. So it ended like it began: Unwelcoming and tense.

We had a great vacation but not in this unit or at the all-inclusive, except for us, resort next door which was the selling point of unit. Oh, and Angel and Mary never did stop by as promised.

IN CONCLUSION: The beach out front IS photogenic but not nearly as perfect for swimming as many others nearby. There are plenty of other properties & hosts that make you feel welcome and appreciated. This is not one of them

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Don! We are very upset to hear that you and Milo had not had the smooth and easy vacation that you had planned together. Guests at Studio 001 are entitled to use the pools at the Oasis resort, especially the one beside the condo which belongs to this property. Guests are also able to use the sun loungers, palapas, and the volleyball net that are part of the beach club. There should have been nobody preventing your walk along the beach at any time of the year. In the summer months, we do have endangered sea turtles nesting on this beach, so the protocol is to avoid stepping on the well marked nests (as there are delicate eggs buried in the sand), and don't use a white light flashlight on the beach or have bright lights shining out of the condo at night time as it confuses the turtles. Other than that, full enjoyment of the beach and the bay should be possible. As Oasis is an all inclusive resort, they don't have restaurants or bars that accept cash purchase, however, its possible to purchase a day pass and have all of your meals and drinks for the day included, or there is a small beach bar a short distance along the beach to the south of Studio 001 which does sell food and drink. We are really sad that we were not alerted to your issues during your stay, or we would have headed right over and sorted the situation our for you. The enjoyment and comfort of our guests is our top priority, and we would like to thank you for writing this review to let us know that you had issues during your stay. This is the first comment that we have received like this from guests of Studio 001. We take your feedback very seriously and we are meeting with the head of the hotel security team retrospectively to find out why this did not go smoothly for you, and ensure that the high level of service and the warm welcome that our guests expect is restored immediately. Thank you for staying with us, Don. The Akumal Direct Reservations Team.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
San Diego, CA
1

NO WELCOME FOR US!

  • 1 of 5

THE GOOD: Nice unit with good wifi and beach view.

THE BAD: We rented this unit because: "The Studio is tucked away at the northern end of The Bay, next to the resort complex. A great perk of this property is that it offers guests access to the resort beach club facilities. These include sun loungers, the pool, and the resort beach front."

Well that simply is not true! After unpacking we decided to go for a swim in the angular pool pictured in the VRBO ad. The pool was empty. No agua. OK, no problem so we head over to the resort pool which was part of the deal and are swarmed immediately by security guards, staff, then the concierge who demand our to see our wrist brands. They make a big scene that we do not have access to anything at the resort unless we pay a $52/day per person for day passes since it is an all-inclusive resort and we are not members. Period. No smiles. No wiggle room. Well, we are not going to do that since we already paid and who wants to hang around such an unwelcoming place. So we head back to our unit and wonder where we CAN go. Meanwhile resort staff and members play loud volleyball right in front of our unit so we could not sit out front or under the palapa that said it was for studio condominium guests... This happened every afternoon.

Other issues ensued: Every time we arrived guards questioned and followed like we were trespassing. Don't they compare notes? Once we tried pay for a coffee at the resort and were again confronted by management when we couldn't produce wristbands. Went for a walk on the beach out front and told twice that the beach is closed "because of the Turtles." Every morning bags full of trash left in the hallway were ripped apart by animals by the evening. And the stove top is a terrible scalding waiting to happen. Finally, on our last night, the pictured pool was full and inviting so we took a dip but as the guards started swarming we hurried off before it could escalate and ruin the moment. So it ended like it began: Unwelcoming and tense.

We had a great vacation but not in the Studio we rented or at the all-inclusive (except for us!) resort next door which was the selling point of unit. Oh, and Angel and Mary never did stop by as promised.

IN CONCLUSION: The beach out front IS photogenic but not nearly as perfect for swimming as many others nearby. There are plenty of other properties & hosts that make you feel welcome and appreciated. This is not one of them.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Milo! We are very upset to hear that you had not had the smooth and easy vacation that you had planned. Guests at Studio 001 are entitled to use the pools at the Oasis resort, especially the one beside the condo which belongs to this property. Guests are also able to use the sun loungers, palapas, and the volleyball net that are part of the beach club. There should have been nobody preventing your walk along the beach at any time of the year. In the summer months, we do have endangered sea turtles nesting on this beach, so the protocol is to avoid stepping on the well marked nests (as there are delicate eggs buried in the sand), and don't use a white light flashlight on the beach or have bright lights shining out of the condo at night time as it confuses the turtles. Other than that, full enjoyment of the beach and the bay should be possible. As Oasis is an all inclusive resort, they don't have restaurants or bars that accept cash purchase, however, its possible to purchase a day pass and have all of your meals and drinks for the day included, or there is a small beach bar a short distance along the beach to the south of Studio 001 which does sell food and drink. We are really sad that we were not alerted to your issues during your stay, or we would have headed right over and sorted the situation our for you. The enjoyment and comfort of our guests is our top priority, and we would like to thank you for writing this review to let us know that you had issues during your stay. This is the first comment that we have received like this from guests of Studio 001. We take your feedback very seriously and we are meeting with the head of the hotel security team retrospectively to find out why this did not go smoothly for you, and ensure that the high level of service and the warm welcome that our guests expect is restored immediately. Thank you for staying with us, Milo. The Akumal Direct Reservations Team.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees