Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Views, Centrally Located, Big Enough For The Whole Family and Friends

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Great Vintage Beachtown Property, Walking Distance To Downtown, Centrally Locate

This vintage 50's home is designed for the feel of its time period. Bric a brac, eclectic furnishings carry a theme of beach life decades ago. Wonderful property suited for family and friends. Two separate units in the same home--put the kids upstairs and you can have your privacy down stairs! Be careful though...the staircase is steep as it was once a basement but has been remodeled into a fabulous cozy apartment.

Whether you want to see the butterflies, go to the beach, play golf, see the sites, or just have a lazy stay and enjoy the beautiful weather, this is the place! The central coast has so much to offer, we are happy to share it with your family.

This is a great location to access everything. Its just a short 30 minute drive to the north county and the Paso Robles wine trail, or you can go 30 minutes up the coast and be at America's only real castle, the fabled Hearst castle. If you have never been this is a must see. You can also head 30 minutes south and be at the start of the Santa maria wine trail and recreate some of the scenes from the famous movie sideways. Head just another half hour south and you can rub elbows with the rich and famous, or sample some of the posh shopping of beautiful Santa Barbara.

The kitchens are both fully equipped with everything you would need as far as pots, pans, dishes, flatware, coffee maker, toaster oven, microwave, fridge, freezer, etc. However stove/oven/sink are only in main floor kitchen. Plenty of towels and linens. Usually extra toiletries in the drawers if not out on counters.

More Details

Owner
Jeff And Donnelle Guiltinan
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 7, 2017

About Jeff And Donnelle Guiltinan

We have been married since 2003 and we have two wonderful boys, Ashton and Justin. We love where we live and are happy to share it with others

Jeff And Donnelle Guiltinan purchased this house in 2006

Why Jeff And Donnelle Guiltinan chose Central Coast

This property is right in the center of everything. It's conveniently located near Pismo and not far from Avila beach - two of the Central Coasts most desirable beaches and has great views. Its put together to handle large groups

What makes this house unique

This home still has original vintage tiles in two of the bathrooms and cabinetry in the spacious kitchen with fantastic stove commercial stainless stovetop w/built in griddle for family meals. The views from the back deck are incredible day or night and the privacy of the courtyard for barbecues is delightful. Enclosed yards for child and pet safety. The convenience of a completely separate downstairs apartment is fantastic for a couple to have privacy from main house for inlaws or the newlywed couple traveling with family.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This guest was not honest with us from the onset of our booking . She booked our home for 6 adults and 2 children and asked if I knew of any other rentals in the area for the rest of her group. I looked to find one for her and told her this was not a suitable listing for her if she intended to house all 16 guests as this is a "residential" neighborhood and highly regulated, so she was well aware of the number of guests permitted, number of vehicles permitted and the fact that it indeed was a residential neighborhood. She reassured me that they would not violate any of the rules. Not only did that take place, but contrary to her statements of fixing items, they instead broke kitchen decor, burnt the oak dining table with some sort of hot plates and left the place a complete mess. Our cleaning staff provided photographic proof of the damage and we made a claim. They had 12 adults and 4 children stay in the home and knew there was an additional guest charge for anymore than 8 and that no more than 10 were permitted. Unfortunately, when people are held to a standard and they defy it, they will often write retaliatory and slanderous reviews. Our previous reviews will reflect that this is exactly what took place and there indeed is a second half kitchen in the home as shown in photos. There is a full kitchen on the main floor and another 1/2 kitchen downstairs that we informed them and our listing showed that we were required to remove the stove and sink so as not to give an appearance of a full secondary kitchen and attempt to rent it out separately, which we don't do anyway. They brought in their entire group of 16 in a home that we made clear was limited to 10 and when there were complaints from neighbors about the numerous vehicles and number of guests, we addressed the issue. It is unfortunate that people cannot be more honest and will do almost anything to overt paying for a service they take full advantage of and then both verbally trash a home owner and physically trash their home.
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Arroyo Grande House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Main bathroom has cleanser dispensers
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Memory Foam Mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Deluxe Pillow Top Mattress
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Deluxe Memory Foam Pillow Top Mattress
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Full Non-Allergenic Mattress with Pad and a Twin Quilted
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Views, Centrally Located, Big Enough For The Whole Family and Friends
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 16 reviews
4

great place to R&R

  • 4 of 5

spent most days at the beach. weather in city never got hotter than 80 while notes are cool sleeping weather. no city traffic even during rush hour. convenient location, close to grocery and drug stores.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Visalia
5

Six teens, three adults and two seniors family fun.

  • 5 of 5

This property was perfect for the 11 of us who spent three nights there. Very comfortable and roomy. Easy to let my little dog in and out and a great place to walk him. The bedrooms were nice and it was wonderful having three full baths. NIce but not too fancy so that you were afraid the kids would break something. Opted to make s'mores in front yard instead of beach. Worked great for our tall family. Property owners were great!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic place

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place to share with friends and family.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very enjoyable stay

  • 4 of 5

Completely enjoyed our stay. Plenty of room and very comfortable! We made this location our home away from home for our daughter's wedding.

My daughter and her bridesmaids got ready here. The natural lighting in the living room was perfect for applying make up.

Loved the pillow top beds and the roomy kitchen. Plenty of dishes utensils and lots and pans.

The neighborhood was very quiet and the view of the sunset from the deck was lovely!

Would definitely return!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really enjoyed having you and would love to have you again. Thank you for the constructive feedback. We were able to get out to the home today and check on things. Our cleaning staff said that you made their job so easy. Safe travels and best of luck to the lovely new couple.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great home for a large group with no frills.

  • 3 of 5

We had a large group and it was difficult to find anything else in the area where we could all stay together. The home is spacious and has a great view. It was wonderful to be able to walk to restaurants, the grocery store, and the beach was a quick drive away. Landscaping, some tlc, and a deep cleaning would do wonders for this home. The mattresses were older and very soft and we had some concerns about sheets, pillows, and blankets needing a good wash. The upstairs shower doesn't drain so your feet end up in dirty water. We're a pretty laid back group and we camp a lot, this house was definitely a step up from camping. The owner was friendly on the phone and laid back about us checking in early which was great.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that your stay was not more enjoyable for you, however, it is always helpful to property owners if you bring these things to their attention immediately so that they may remedy them right away. It appears that there was a clog in the main bathroom shower as we checked after your departure. That situation has since been remedied but we could have taken care of it while you were there if we had known. As far as the other items in your review. The beds all have new memory foam mattresses. I am sorry that they were too soft for you, but many other guests have really enjoyed them. Our cleaning staff always washes the linens and we have done inspections every few months just so we are sure that we never expect what we don't inspect. I guess you cannot please all the people all the time. It is always better to communicate these types of concerns rather than smear an otherwise reputable business owner in a review. We truly do try to accommodate our guests fully and enjoy what we do. Better luck in the future with your travel expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great my location, fantastic stay

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place, spacious and clean. Fenced in yards. Fully equipped kitchen. So close to all the things ha we wanted to do. Great wifi connection. Free parking. Do affordable compared to the hotels which were not near as nice but the Cost of one room was almost as significant as the cost of this whole house with 4 bedrooms and three baths. I highly recommend this home. Hosts were hospitable and accommodating as well. A++

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
San Luis Obispo
Nearest Barpub
Figueroa Mountain Brewery
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Cypress Ridge
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
101
Nearest Restaurant
Figueroa Mountain Brewery
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Pismo
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Pet Fee $25
Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.