Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kokomo: the Place to Go to Get Away from it All with GULF VIEWS

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq ft
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

At 148 Aruba Drive there's a place called Kokomo. It’s where you wanna go to get away from it all!

Just a few steps to the world's most beautiful white sandy beach and crystal clear blue water. Enjoy watching the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico from the deck or view the pristine beach from every room. Minutes from one of Florida's purest and most natural bays, where fish and scallops are abundant.

The only sound you will hear is the crashing of the waves. You will share this beach with more Loggerhead Turtles, Bald Eagles, and other native wildlife than people. This is eco-tourism at its finest.

Kokomo provides about 1600 square feet of living space. This includes two bedrooms and two baths on the main level. The master bedroom has a king-size bed. The second bedroom has a queen-size. It also offers a large loft (two full-size beds and a queen-size sleeper sofa). The family room, dining room, and kitchen are open and spacious. The dining room accommodates eight while four may sit at the bar overlooking the kitchen.

The deck is also perfect for relaxing and watching sunsets that rival those off the Florida Keys. Ample covered parking for vehicles and space for accommodating a modest boat and trailer (please inquire regarding size restrictions).

There are no ferris wheels, IHOPs, or tacky T-shirt shops. This is old Florida - thankfully, the Forgotten Coast of Florida. However, it is only a short drive to historic Apalachicola and only about an hour to Panama City.

We have books, board games, videos, and toys for all ages. Come get away from it all and enjoy the natural rhythms of our Kokomo!

Keywords: Townhouse

More Details

Owner
Melease
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

About Melease

We live in Tallahassee, Florida. We have two children. Our oldest is married with children. Our youngest is a teenager. We love the beach. This is a little slice of our heaven. We would love to share it with you.

Why Melease chose Port St. Joe

We fell in love with this area when we visited. It is not congested like most beaches. Our house is spacious with two bedrooms, two baths as well as the kitchen and dining on one level. It is about 80 steps to the beach and has a large deck. Perfect for a quiet get away!

What makes this townhome unique

Our house is walking distance to The Trading Post, a quaint convenient store that provides those incidental items you might have forgotten. They also offer donuts made on-site but go early because they will sell out.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great month at the Cape. The house was very comfortable and well equipped. We were able to relax and felt really at home. It was our first time to this part of Florida. We found it most interesting - especially Appalachicola. I ate loads of raw oysters and am having withdrawls. Thanks for your assistance in making this a most enjoyable stay.
Mar 2008
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Port St. Joe Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 0
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) The master bedroom has a king size bed., Queen size Beds (1) The second bedroom has a queen size bed., Double Beds (2) There are 2 double beds in the loft., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There is a love seat in the loft that converts to a double bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Broadband DSL Internet, Cooking utensils & linens provided, Credit card payments accepted

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
21% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Kokomo: the Place to Go to Get Away from it All with GULF VIEWS
average rating of 4.5263157 based on 39 reviews
5

Had a wonderful time!!

  • 5 of 5

My family of 4 kids and 3 adults stayed at Kokomo and we had a wonderful time!! The home was beautiful and there was plenty of sleeping room for everyone. All the beds were very comfortable and my children loved the loft area. The laundry room was stocked with beach equipment, including umbrellas, chairs, sand toys, floats etc. The beach was amazing!! Since it is a private beach, it wasn't very crowded and we were able to have a fire on the beach at night. The waves were great!! My only complaint is that the restaurants in town were not very good. I recommend going to the fresh seafood shop down the road and buying your own seafood to cook at the house. After spending over $200 a night on food at local establishments and not being pleased, we decided to get out own and cook and it was wonderful. The fresh, local caught seafood was amazing. When we come again next year, we plan on eating that way every night.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property is very nice and updated.

  • 4 of 5

When we arrived there was roofers who were there for 2 days, would have been finished before our arrival but were delayed due to 2 days of bad weather. The owner was kind enough to refund a portion of our money due to the inconvience of the roofers. Overall we had a great time, the house itself was large, very nicely decorated and a very short walk to the beach. Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review. Glad the new roof is finished. I was as unhappy about them not finishing on time as you were - believe me. Thanks for being so understanding.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent stay for our family and dogs!

  • 5 of 5

The Kokomo was an excellent place to stay for our large family and dogs. Plenty of room to move and the dining room table for 8 was perfect. We ate all our meals there. Kitchen had everything we needed. Sunsets were stunning. Got firewood at the store close by for bonfires. Had a few small issues that the owner took care of the same day. Quick walk to beach. Thanks for sharing your home!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you had a great time and made fun memories. That’s what vacations are all about.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Waleska
5

Perfect beach getaway

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The beach and the area is very quiet, which is exactly what we were looking for. The house is clean, decorated very nicely, and comfortable. We definitely recommend this home and will be back. Thank you for wonderful vacation.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm very glad that you enjoyed it. Looking forward to you coming back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, well appointed, and pet friendly.

  • 5 of 5

Our time at Kokomo was perfect. It was a two night staycation for my wife’s birthday and we were able to bring our fur-babies which made it that much better for her. Very clean home with plenary of room for any family or group.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will return soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chattanooga, TN
5

Superb...plenty of space, easy beach access, well appointed with everything needed.

  • 5 of 5

Terrific floor plan, clean and comfortable. Ideal for family gatherings and guests who don’t want to leave their pets at home. Appreciated being able to take dogs onto the beach, also loved being able to build a fire on the beach! A first for us...so much fun, a great memory.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your reply. Glad you had such a great time. I can't wait to get down there myself! Hope you will stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties