Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lovely home w/ cathedral ceilings, access to shared pools, hot tubs & gym!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10

Skislope Sanctuary – even the name is enticing! When looking for a Truckee vacation rental where you can enjoy a wood-burning fireplace, private jetted tub, wet bar, wine fridge, and close proximity to Tahoe Donner amenities, you'll want to book this lovely lodge.

Within six miles you'll have Tahoe Donner attractions to visit during the day, from the Donner Lake Marina to rent or launch your own SUPs, kayaks, and canoes, to the Trout Creek Recreation Center and Northwoods Clubhouse with amenities such as sport courts, a fitness center, hot tubs, saunas, and pools, both seasonal and indoor. Horseback riding, tennis, golf, and skiing, are available, too. A small daily fee is required to use the facilities. In back of the home is an open greenbelt space for a serene setting.

Stay at Skislope Sanctuary any time of year – they're all good. In winter, warm up inside before the wood-burning stove and marvel at the grand cathedral ceilings that seems as high as the Sierras (bonus: wood is provided). Cuddle up on the large L-shaped couch while the flatscreen TV with surround sound, Blu-ray, and DVD hookups. Behind the couch is a mini bar with a wine fridge to chill your whites.

In summer, share an al fresco breakfast or lunch. You'll surely be inspired to cook up a storm in the gourmet kitchen. Use the high-end stainless steel appliances such as a double oven and chef's prep sink and enjoy little perks like an espresso maker and bean grinder. Of course, a dishwasher tops it all off.

Rest easy in the cozy sleeping quarters you'll have to pick from. The cathedral ceilings lend to the loft bedroom, which has a futon for one couple. In the upstairs master bedroom, you'll have a king-size sleigh bed, and a second upstairs bedroom has a queen bed and TV. Back to the main floor are two more bedrooms with a queen bed and a TV each. Three bathrooms make it easy for all to have some privacy, with a jetted tub in one.

In addition you'll have WiFi and a washer and dryer. A total of 10 guests will love it here!

Want to venture outside of Tahoe Donner? Go to Truckee, just four miles away on I-80 and Highway 89. In the quaint town are shops and small museums, and the location makes it easy to get to North Lake Tahoe destinations like Kings Beach, Squaw Valley, and even Nevada casinos.

From the majestic interior to the beautiful outdoor adventures surrounding this North Lake Tahoe vacation home, there's sure bet you'll love it here.

Note: the use of Tahoe Donner HOA facilities requires additional daily fees.

RCN # 469

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe Office
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe Office

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.



Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.



Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!


Truckee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • golf
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
10% Complete
13% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Lovely home w/ cathedral ceilings, access to shared pools, hot tubs & gym!
average rating of 4.4736843 based on 38 reviews

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

The house is in a great location! Plenty of room for 2 families. I highly recommend this house for the summer and winter!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very spacious, quiet house

  • 5 of 5

The house was very nice, spacious, and in a quiet neighborhood. The living room/dining room/kitchen are very open and have 3 stories of large windows to give a great view of the surrounding woods. There were no spatulas when we got there, but we let the staff know and they brought new ones the next morning. I don't really have any complaints about the place! It's also very close to Truckee and Donner Lake.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Could be amazing....if everything worked!

  • 3 of 5

spacious, good layout and location but too many maintenance issues to give it a good review. If plumbing issues, garage door, grill etc... could be resolved, I would be comfortable recommending this home.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We’re happy to see that this home was able to offer a spacious layout and good location that fit the needs of your stay! Because of your helpful feedback, we were able to have our maintenance technician look into your concerns. The plumbing has been addressed, and is scheduled to be resolved completely. The garage has been fixed and is fully operational again. And, finally, a new gas grill has been purchased and is ready for use. We look forward to having you again and getting a chance to experience the home with it’s new updates!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house, but not functional

  • 3 of 5

The house is beautiful but has a lot of issues. The pictures did not lie as it was exactly as pictured, however, that was pretty much the best part of the house. On the day of check in, I received a call from Vacasa stating that the barbecue grill is not useable due to damage from the snow. They would have someone bring out another grill the following day, meaning that I couldn't grill the first night of my stay. During the same call, I was informed that the master suite's shower handle broke off, so they used some pliers as a make shift handle. It was tacky, but I was reassured that the shower works.

When I arrived at the house, I tried to find a switch to open up the garage door for easier unloading of our luggage. My husband and I spent more than 30 minutes trying to find a remote and the garage door switch but failed. I decided to call Vacasa but it just goes straight to voicemail. I did receive a call back shortly after and was informed that the garage door doesn't work as the sensors broke! Another thing broken! Luckily the driveway was still long enough to park 4 cars.

While trying to cook dinner that night, we noticed that the kitchen had very limited cooking ware. There was no scissors, no ladle, no cooking spatula. The cutting knives were dull. The only black pepper in the kitchen was in a sandwich bag 5% full... With no origin of the black pepper, we didn't dare use it at all. The pans were old and damaged.

For the bathrooms, they had their own issues. None of the doors can lock, so we constantly had to knock before entering a bathroom, leading to inefficiencies. There was not enough hot water to go around for showers, so only 1 person can take a shower at a time. The shower in the master suite, where the handle broke, had water, but only cold water, so we couldn’t take a shower in that room. The downstairs bathroom was very dark, to a point where no one wanted to use it, thus leaving only the upstairs bathroom for showering use. It’s sad that a house with 3 bathrooms results to the use of only 1.

We tried to use the fireplace and read through the instructions. The instructions said to use fire starters, but we couldn’t find any and thus couldn’t build a long lasting fire due to the wood being damp from all of the snow.

I tried to use the jukebox in the hallway downstairs, but that didn’t work either…

Regarding the grill that was brought over the second day of my stay, the ignitor was broken and needed a lighter to start the grill off…

Overall, there were lots of disappointments with the house. Nothing that ruined my vacation in Truckee, but it was very inconvenient and we had to be creative in the kitchen to make things work.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We are disappointed to see such a list of problems and inconveniences. The master bathroom shower handle has been repaired since the ordered parts arrived, and the garage door sensors have been replaced. New kitchen supplies, including salt and pepper, will be in the home by the end of the month. The owners will have a new BBQ for the home in July; we hope our guests are happy to use a temporary one until then. Maintenance is scheduled to take care of the bathroom door locks. We appreciate having the opportunity to address these concerns. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

great house but bad stay!

  • 3 of 5

We had many issues with our stay at Skislope. The biggest disappointment was that this house could be outstanding. The location is great. The views (especially from master bed) are beautiful. The architecture and layout great. Nicely spacious. Maybe we were just there at the wrong time - it was not well cleaned in many places and several Kitchen items need to be re appointed. THEY NEED NEW POTS AND PANS!!! Over all shabby and dirty feeling. NEED NEW BEDDING! I understand that they are going to do an in depth spring cleaning now. We brought all our issues to the management team so I doubt anyone else will have the bad time we did. The management team was very responsive. We were impressed with them. Conclusion - we had a bad time but most likely future guests will not! Hope I am right!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Great home with all the required stuff. Great stay for 3 families.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.