expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Spacious Country Home - Great for Large Gatherings- 1 hr South of Yellowstone

Rexburg, ID, USA
  • Estate6000 sqft
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps40
  • Bathrooms6
  • Half Baths1
  • Mininum Stay1 - 2 nights

8 Bedrooms, 6.5 Baths, sleeps 40

Large country home and property that is ideal for a family reunion or large family gathering for a wedding or graduations. Eight bedrooms (plus a children's play area surrounded by bunk beds) provides sleeping accommodations for 40 people. Places for camping and three full RV hookups (One 50-amp and two 30-amp). Plenty of local free or inexpensive activities to keep the reunion fun and busy. St. Anthony Sand Dunes only 15 minutes away. Large great room with pool table. Country pond on property where kids enjoy cooling off on a hot summer day. Shaved ice machine with SnoShack flavors. If you have a favorite flavor let us know in advance and we could make special arrangements (we have a 'connection' with the SnoShack owners). Dining area for 40 opens up to join adjacent picnic area for a combined seating of 80. Commercial refrigerator and chest freezer, in addition to refrigerator/freezer in kitchen, is well suited for cooking for a large group.

3D scan of property shows room layout: https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=bZDKTXuKPJu


Craig L Porter

Member Since 2016
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
Response time:
within one hour
Calendar last updated:
Apr 06, 2018
About Craig L Porter

We were fortunate to acquire this property on 20 acres when our five boys were young. They learned how to work by moving pipe in the field and had lots of fun roaming the river bottoms and jumping their bikes into the pond. When they grew up and flew the nest we decided to convert our home into a family reunion center so others could benefit from the ability of the property to accommodate large gatherings - and there will always be room for the boys and their growing families to come and visit!

Craig L Porter purchased this Estate in 1988

Why Craig L Porter chose Madison County

We wanted to raise our boys in the country where they would have plenty of room to roam and work to do. Rental from the detached cottage on the property (where we now live) helped us afford the place.

What makes this Estate unique

The previous owner was a big game hunter (archery exclusively). He built a huge room to display all his trophies, including a full-size lion. That room was the favorite room of the family. In the beginning it was totally empty. Over the years we have added a pool table to the room and other furnishings.


    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 40
      • Kids room (sleeps 4)
        2 bunk bed, No linens for the kids bunk beds - bring kids sleeping bags
      • White bedroom (upstairs)
        1 queen
      • Blossom room (down stairs)
        1 queen
      • Cousin's Rm (down stairs)
        6 bunk bed, Kids playroom surrounded by bunks (18 mattresses available)
      • Log bedroom (upstairs)
        2 queen, 1 twin/ single, 1 sleep sofa /futon, Window seat (mattress) can serve as an extra child's bed.
      • Sun Room (upstairs)
        1 queen
      • Rose bedroom (down stairs)
        1 queen, 1 double, 1 twin/ single
      • Safari room (down stairs)
        1 queen
      • Master bedroom (upstairs)
        1 queen, 1 double, 1 twin/ single, Double/single is in a bunk configuration


        • 6 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
        • Masterbath
          toilet, tub, shower
        • Cousin's bathroom
          toilet, shower, Bathroom with two private toilet areas and a private shower
        • Upstairs bath
          toilet, shower, Adjacent to Log Room
        • Family Suite bath
          toilet, combination tub/shower, Between Rose Room and Safari Room
        • 3rd Upstairs bathroom
          toilet, shower, Three-sink vanity is separate from showers (2) and toilet.
        • Main floor half bath
        • Brown bath
          toilet, combination tub/shower, Private bath for Blossom Rm and accessible via exterior door

          Location Type

            • Rural
              In the midst of rural Idaho farm country - quite and peaceful.


                • Family
                • Sports & Activities


                    • Guests provide their own meals


                        • Iron & Board
                        • Air Conditioning
                          Swamp cooler is only needed during a few weeks in August. Opening windows at night and using the ceiling fans maintains a comfortable environment. A/C in large dining area and one high capacity room
                        • Fireplace
                          Two fireplaces. One gas-fired in breakfast nook area, the other is a wood burning fireplace in the Great Room.
                        • Hair Dryer
                        • Heating
                          Large dining area has its own heating and air conditioning unit.
                        • Internet
                          Wireless throughout the house with 50 Mbps service.
                        • Clothes Dryer
                        • Linens Provided
                          Linens provided for all beds except for kid's bunk beds (intended for use with their own sleeping bags).
                        • Living Room
                          Grand piano with lockable cover in living room. Piano is available for adult supervised usage.
                        • Parking
                          On-premises parking for 30 plus vehicles.
                        • Towels Provided
                        • Washing Machine


                            • Coffee Maker
                              Single coffee Maker
                            • Dishes & Utensils
                              All the essentials to feed a group of 40+
                            • Dishwasher
                            • Kitchen
                              Spacious kitchen with island Jenn-Air electric stove with grill/deep-fat fryer. Complete list of kitchen inventory available upon request.
                            • Microwave
                            • Oven
                              Double ovens
                            • Pantry Items
                              Stocked with the basic spices and condiments
                            • Refrigerator
                              Large Sub-Zero with ice maker; 2nd commercial refrigerator adjacent to dining area and outdoor cooking pavilion. Extra chest freezer.
                            • Stove
                              Electric island range; supplemental cooking via outdoor cooking pavilion with a large grill, a five-foot griddle and dutch oven cooking area.
                            • Toaster
                              Two toasters


                                • Child's Highchair
                                • Dining
                                  Additional seating in adjacent rooms. Gas fired fireplace in nook room. Four picnic tables located in outdoor cooking area adjacent to home and convenient for overflow dining seating in summertime
                                • Dining Room
                                • comfy seating for 40 people


                                    • Books
                                    • DVD Player
                                    • Game Room
                                    • Games
                                      Lots of board games are available. Outdoor lawn games are also available.
                                    • Pool Table
                                    • Television
                                      Large Smart TV in the Great Room (no satellite/cable channels available)
                                    • Toys
                                    • Video Library
                                      Small library of popular videos on DVD


                                        • Deck / Patio
                                          Deck where 40 outdoor chairs are available for use throughout the property
                                        • Golf
                                          Teton Lakes Golf Course 2 miles east of property.
                                        • Kayak / Canoe
                                          Canoe in pond.
                                        • Lawn / Garden
                                          Plenty of lawn for soccer, volleyball, tether ball, wiffle-ball, horse shoes, camping, etc. Large swing set.
                                        • Outdoor Grill
                                          Outdoor cooking area that includes dutch oven cooking space, gas-fired grill, 60-inch gas fired griddle. Fire ring for campfires.


                                            • live theater
                                            • arboretum
                                            • churches
                                            • cinemas
                                            • festivals
                                            • library
                                            • botanical garden
                                            • museums
                                            • playground
                                            • recreation center
                                            • restaurants
                                            • theme parks
                                            • water parks

                                              Leisure Activities

                                                • bird watching
                                                • horseshoes
                                                • photography
                                                • scenic drives
                                                • sight seeing
                                                • walking
                                                • wildlife viewing

                                                  Local Services & Businesses

                                                    • ATM/bank
                                                    • Babysitter
                                                    • fitness center
                                                    • groceries
                                                    • hospital
                                                    • laundromat
                                                    • massage therapist
                                                    • medical services

                                                      Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                        • mountain biking
                                                        • basketball court
                                                        • cycling
                                                        • fishing
                                                        • fly fishing
                                                        • freshwater fishing
                                                        • golf
                                                        • hiking
                                                        • hunting
                                                        • kayaking
                                                        • cross country skiing
                                                        • mountain climbing
                                                        • rafting
                                                        • rock climbing
                                                        • skiing
                                                        • snowboarding
                                                        • snowmobiling
                                                        • spelunking
                                                        • swimming
                                                        • water tubing
                                                        • whitewater rafting


                                                            • Just 15 minutes from the St. Anthony Sand Dunes.

                                                              10 Reviews

                                                              Very Good4.2/5

                                                              Latest reviews

                                                              We had a great time!!

                                                              Jennifer M.

                                                              Our family really enjoyed our stay! There were things to do for all ages and it was nice to be able to eat together in the huge dining area! The kitchen was very convenient to use and the Porters have thought of everything!! There were 31 of us and we had plenty of room and hot water for showers!! The only thing I wish they had was a better vacuum cleaner so we could have vacuumed the carpets better! Absolutely an awesome place for a family gathering!! The Porters hospitality is top notch! Thank you for a wonderful stay and providing a great place to make memories for our family!!

                                                              Perfect House For A Large Group!

                                                              J V.

                                                              Travelling with a group of 40 to watch the solar eclipse, Craig and Virginia's home was everything we could have wanted. We were able to have all of our friends and family together in one house. While it isn't "fancy", it is comfortable and functional, with sufficient chairs, toys, and space for everyone. Most rental houses struggle to seat 12 for dinner.

                                                              The kitchen is tight for a large group; we did a mix of staggering cooking times, group cooking, and setting food up buffet style.

                                                              The owners live across the driveway, but they were in-obtrusive even while enjoying the eclipse with their family. We appreciated they were on-site given the size of the house and the number of appliances.

                                                              Things We Liked:

                                                              * plenty of outdoor space for grilling, eating, and watching the sunset

                                                              * industrial fridge, deep freeze, and ice maker

                                                              * trampoline, tetherball, swingset, pool table

                                                              * various toys for toddlers

                                                              * plenty of indoor space: breakfast room, parlor, and large living room

                                                              * wifi solid, even for such a large group

                                                              * septic solid, even for such a large group (you can live without wifi)

                                                              The girls spent their days going between the ice machine, the trampoline, and the swing set. Amazingly they didn't wear out any of the three.

                                                              Our different families took numerous day trips:

                                                              * one family did a flash tour of Yellowstone

                                                              * EBR-1, the first breeder reactor at INL

                                                              * Craters of the Moon NP

                                                              * Mesa Falls

                                                              An unexpected part of our trip was the raw beauty of the Salmon-Challis and Sawtooth National Forests. Its a drive, but the ghost town of Custer and the Yankee Bucket Dredge are totally worthwhile. We don't know when, but we want to come visit Idaho again.

                                                              I wholeheartedly recommend the Family Reunion Center for a large group.

                                                              Amazing stay

                                                              Linda H.Morgan, Utah

                                                              We enjoyed our stay. This rental had everything we needed. Owners were very friendly and helpful. We loved the yard, the firepit and the parking was enough for our trucks and trailers. The dining area was amazing. We love the ice maker and water for our thirsty tribe. We had 24 in our group and found the place very accommodating. Thanks for a great stay.

                                                              Had a great overall experience

                                                              Andrew L.

                                                              I rented this property for a family reunion. Overall it was great! We had over 50 people sleeping there, and had extra beds(lots of young children. Wouldn't work for 50 adults). And had about 60 people there during the day. There was plenty of room for meals. It was a little tight for the two nights we had programs after dinner in the big room. During the day we spent a lot of time in their large yard. Had plenty of bathrooms. Plenty of room in the fridges and freezers to store all the food. It was really nice for us.

                                                              I did 4 stars instead of 5 for a three reasons: 1. The house was a little hot. They have a swamp cooler upstairs, which keeps the upstairs hall at a good temperature. But the bedrooms get a little warm. And there's a mini-split A/C unit in the dining room, which keeps that one room cool. 2. The commercial ice/water machine in the dining room is great to have. Plenty of ice for our group. But it's fairly loud. For a big room with a concrete floor and lots of people in it, you have to talk louder than normal to be heard. 3. They are updating it, but some of the finishes are a little dated.

                                                              The owners were great to deal with. They live right next door, but we didn't even see them until we were loading up to leave. Several of my family members commented that it was an ideal place for our group.

                                                              The real question - If we did another reunion in this area would we rent this place again? We almost certainly would!

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Regarding the noise of the ice maker in the dining room: we have been evaluating various options for improving the acoustics in the room. Our plan is to implement the improvement over the winter when there are no guests using the facility.

                                                              50th Wedding Anniversary a Success!

                                                              Becky P.

                                                              Our family loved the roominess of the house. The kids loved the opportunity to have a 4 day sleepover with cousins they don't get to see often. We all loved the big tables provided for our meals and the ice machine was a big hit since the weather was so warm.

                                                              It would have been helpful to have a few more pots and pans. Tephlan pans would have been preferred over the cast iron skillets. Some of the bathrooms had problems with drains, getting the right temperature and toilets flushing properly.

                                                              We appreciated the new box spring and mattress. The down stairs bedroom next to the bunk beds is in need of a new and softer mattress also.

                                                              It was suggested by some that a set of the most used spices might be appreciated by those who visit.

                                                              We had a great time celebrating our 50th anniversary with our family. It has been a wonderful week for all of us.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              The plumber is scheduled to fix the tub drain on July 10th. The toilet that was a challenge flushing has been replaced with a standard toilet. We plan to upgrade the faucet for the tub/shower combo that is difficult to control the hot and cold as soon as the parts are available. A teflon pan set is on the purchase list. The mentioned mattress set is the next to be replaced.

                                                              Average stay- Owners on site

                                                              Tye O.

                                                              Good: The owners were friendly and accommodating with arrival. There was a working commercial ice machine that really helped. The house is very big and sleeps a lot of people with good privacy.

                                                              Could be a deal breaker for some:

                                                              The owners live on site above the detached garage and they overlook the BBQ and patio area where most people would hang out. They are nice people, but it is very weird to be watched by he owners during your stay. We were unaware that this was the case until we got there.

                                                              Disappointed: We were very disappointed that the advertised pond did not have water in it when we arrived. The owner did fill it by the 2nd day, but it was less than desireable to "dip your feet in" as advertised. It was surrounded by thistle weeds and has steep dirt banks. It is just a field water holding hole, not a useable pond and it was behind an old shed and could not be seen from the house with utility lines directly above it.

                                                              The house is pretty run down. The showers went from very very hot to cold for no reason and back to very hot. Had to watch kids so they didn't get burned. Cold water faucet in "master bedroom" upstairs sink did not work. The toilet in the master was leaking on the floor. Owner did fix the toilet.

                                                              There is no central air, it is a swamp cooler that only cools the upstairs bedrooms if you leave doors open which affects privacy when traveling with a group.

                                                              The add said they have a frier for cooking, but they don't.

                                                              There isn't a close place to fish.

                                                              One side of the house has doors that lift up like a patio cover, that work but are unfinished with plywood on outside of house which was surprising because the pictures online made house look beautiful.

                                                              We had to move our trucks and trailers so the owner could mow during our stay.

                                                              Overall, it was very expensive and a little run down and did not offer everything as advertised. It seemed like they weren't quite ready for our stay when we arrived with the things that were left undone and broken. Good choice if you have a lot of people and if you know it isn't as advertised.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              As stated in the review, we were not quite prepared for the guests for a couple of reasons: remodeling contractors were behind schedule and we lost a week of preparation due to the passing of my wife's father just prior to the guest's arrival. The replacement siding for the new powerlift doors is scheduled July 6-10 during a window between guests so construction is not occurring during a guest's stay. The country pond description has been updated and a picture added to be more accurate. The thistle has been removed and area around pond has been spruced-up. The master bath issues have been addressed. The Idaho nights are generally cool enough that with windows open and ceilings fans on low, central air is not necessary. The fryer is available just not in an obvious place - orientation updated. We added a temporary canopy so guests do not feel like we are invading their privacy while using the picnic area between the two living places. Eventually the planned outdoor cooking area will include a pavilion that will include the picnic area. The shower temperature fluctuation is a function of having so many showers and toilets changing demand. Water heater temperature has been lowered so "very, very hot" is no longer a problem. We are preparing an "Improvements" feedback sheet to include with the orientation sheet so we can prioritize our phased improvements (e.g., variable frequency pump on the well to maintain constant pressure regardless of demand, central air or zoned HVAC, etc.).


                                                              Rexburg, ID, USA

                                                              Just 15 minutes from St. Anthony Sand Dunes. Approximately 1 hour from Yellowstone National Park. Also about 1 hour from Jackson Hole, Wyoming, Teton National Park, Grand Targhee Ski Resort. International Folk Dance Festival late July/early August.

                                                              Rates & Availability

                                                              Additional information about rental rates

                                                              Cleaning Fee
                                                              Damage Deposit
                                                              Tax Rate

                                                              Taxes include 6% sales tax and 2% lodging tax (except monthly rentals)

                                                              10 Reviews
                                                              Very Good 4.2/5
                                                              Premier Partner
                                                              Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                              For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                              Property # 833839