Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Destination 407, one of the nicest units in the complex.

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

This professionally decorated 2 bed, 2 bath condo is everything you would want and more in a vacation retreat.

New in 2017 are the fridge, stove, dishwasher,club chairs in living room, towels, all the bed linens, and wall art. As well a fresh coat of paint throughout and new carpet scheduled for installation in January 2018.

Our unit sleeps 6 adults, with very comfortable beds.

The oceanfront bedroom has a king size bed, bath with walk in shower that is wheelchair accessible.

The garden view bedroom has two twin beds [ linens supplied to join together for a king] and it's own bath with tub/shower combination.

Well appointed kitchen, the owners are avid cooks and leave everything out for their guests.

Enjoy the sunrise from the lanai and relax in the cool shade in the afternoon. Watch the whales as you enjoy your cocktails.

Enjoy a long walk on Sugar beach, while glimpsing turtles along the way. All just steps from your door. Pool is heated, and the grounds are beautifully maintained.


More Details

Deb & Dick Vanderkemp
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Deb & Dick Vanderkemp

Dick and Deb from Powell River, B.C., Canada

The condo was owned by Deb's parents for 22 years, and so when the time came to make a decision, it was an easy one. "Keep it and make it even better."

Deb is a professional interior designer and Dick is a jack of all/ fixer upper kind of guy. Their daughter is a talented artist. That's her painting over the sofa. Between the three of them there's plenty of potential to create a memorable stay for your family. After enjoying the place for so many years, it's their hope you will find it as special as they do.

Why Deb & Dick Vanderkemp chose Wailuku

The location of the property is Maui's best kept secret. Close to all the amenities, protected from over development by a bird sanctuary and miles of unpopulated beach, make this a first choice for a holiday location. The unit itself is situated to receive the morning sun, great for coffee in the morning. Watch the sun rise over Haleakala. By lunch time the sun has moved around the side of the property and the unit is in the shade. Combined with the gentle breeze this unit is always cool and comfortable.


Wailuku Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
  • 2 bedrooms and a pullout sofa bed in the living room
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Destination 407, one of the nicest units in the complex.
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews

Beautiful Spot in Maul and Great Home!

  • 5 of 5

The complex is in a great, central location and is very well kept. There was a gentleman quietly cleaning up the grounds each morning and it was very much appreciated. The unit was great too. It has a great view, great furnishings, and is well stocked from bathrooms, to kitchen, to beach supplies (towels, 2 snorkel sets, and2 boogie boards). The only room for improvement was that the back bedroom got a little warm with the air conditioner turned on. Without the air on, the breeze through the unit was fantastic. It just got a little warm while we were there so we used the air conditioner. We would gladly stay here again!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo, We're so glad you enjoyed our place. Please come back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and well kept. Quiet area.

  • 4 of 5

Centrally located to everything. The unit has everything you need for your stay. The owners respond very quickly and are quite helpful. Late check in was a breeze. The unit was extremely hot when we arrived as the a/c was not turned on. It took some time to cool the unit down but once it cooled down we were able to keep it cool fairly easy. Perhaps the management company could start the a/c a couple hours before people are set to arrive? This is a wonderful place to stay for families or anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Wonderful place to Relax

  • 5 of 5

We completely enjoyed our stay in this condo! It has a great view of the ocean! It was well furnished for beach gear, towels, and kitchen furnishings. The grounds are well kept. We also spent many hours at the pool. It is a great place to enjoy walks along the beach. Check in and check out was smooth. We would love to stay here again. It is a great location in the middle of the island!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location and fair price, few hitches though...

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. The condo was nicely decorated and had a really nice remodel with new appliances. We liked the location as we were able to easily explore in Kihei/Waileae/Lahaina/Kahului all within 20 minutes drive. Few hitches. the AC in this unit was a little goofy as it was tied to a timer switch in the bedroom, so turning it on was not obvious. Also while the decorations were nice it wasn't really the best environment for small kids as some glass furniture and some breakables. This was not an issue, no broken decor and no head injuries, but something to consider if you have an active 2 year old like us.

Beach on site is fairly small, and again maybe better for big kids and not the little ones due to the rough surf, but we spent most of our time in Kihei or Wailaea anyways.

Nice environment overall and other guests were quite friendly. Seems like a great family local over all. I think it would be a really fun place to stay with teenagers due to the surf out front that is good for boogie or even surfing.


  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Paul, We're glad you had a great time and appreciate your comments. I will look into an easier method of working the air conditioning. This is something my parents had set up and I hadn't really given it a thought. Sorry the surf wasn't calm for your stay. Different times of the year and winds will dictate the amount of surf and beach. Most of the time it's a nice calm place. Look forward to have you return as guests in the future. Mahalo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Relaxing Beach Getaway

  • 4 of 5

An awesome seaside location with a lovely fourth floor view of the common areas and the ocean. You just can't beat sitting on the lanai, listening to the waves with the palms rustling in the breeze. We walked for miles every morning on the beach starting right at the condo. We snorkeled right out front and saw turtles and tropical fish. It was very quiet around the units and in a quieter area of Maui, which we like. Very Relaxing.

The unit is well equipped and we were able to cook a few large meals with no problem.

This is the second time we've stayed in this unit and we plan to stay again.


  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are avid cooks ourselves and are happy you were able to entertain. We want our home to feel like yours. I'm sure your guests enjoyed a lovely time. You are welcome back anytime. Aloha and Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome location, great condo

  • 5 of 5

Have been twice now to this condo. It has everything you need. The unit itself is comfortable, clean. The grounds are beautifully kept and the view from lani is unforgettable. You can walk the beach for miles enjoying the turtles and Marine life Great spot for couples or families Can't wait to go back

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again. If there is ever anything we could ad to complete your experience, please let us know.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Maalaea Bay is know as Maui's best kept secret. With miles of beach, a gentle surf, whales and turtles daily during the season, it's the perfect place to pull up a lounger and let the day unfold. You'll enjoy the sunrise over Haleakala and the sunset past the harbour without ever moving.

Located at the center of the island, it's easy to access amenities in either direction. Being in the valley of the two mountains, means there's always a nice breeze.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $145
Damage Deposit $300

Minimum Age Requirement for Guests
Groups of younger Guests must have a responsible Party that is 25 or older.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties