check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

'The Ocean's Edge' Grand Cayman Oceanfront Condominium

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
4 - 5 nights

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Aqua blue ocean views from every window--that is how best to describe this condominium balanced on the pinnacle of the magnificent Caribbean sea. The Ocean’s Edge, newly built and located in the exclusive Cayman Kai/Rum Pointe area of Grand Cayman (the quiet, unspoiled side of Cayman) boasts a unique location in the 10 unit North Pointe Condominium complex. There is not just one single straight on view of the ocean, as you will find in other Cayman Island condominiums, but every bedroom window, living room, dining room, lanai and even the bathroom window overlooks the crystal sapphire Caribbean Sea.

The Ocean’s Edge is uniquely situated in such a way as to surround you with an unsurpassed pristine blue water view that fills every window, as the proximity of the water is only a few short feet of sandy white beach away. The Ocean’s Edge is located on the second floor, in the part of the complex that juts out toward the ocean, so the views are everywhere. And they are spectacular! This is what you come to the Caymans to see. Location, Location, Location is what makes The Ocean’s Edge a premier accommodation for your most unforgettable Grand Cayman vacation.

The Ocean’s Edge is an ideal spot for your perfect Cayman honeymoon, beach wedding, scuba diving trip, deep sea fishing trip, romantic rendezvous, or fun filled Caribbean family getaway. Even if you do nothing but relax in the hammock on the panoramic ocean view lanai, you will not be disappointed. The Ocean’s Edge will accommodate your every need.

Located on the quiet, unspoiled side of Grand Cayman, our condo sits in a quaint, white sandy beach front 10 unit complex and is one of the only units in the rental pool that has a vivid blue ocean view from every window...even the bathroom has a view of the sea. Some guests have likened their stay to being on an ocean liner, as there is pristine blue ocean surrounding them from every window...and some have even said they momentarily felt like they were actually floating on the water. Both of the two bedrooms plus the vaulted living room open into a panoramic screened-in lanai that overlooks the white sand beach with its aqua blue water and the freshwater adult and children's pools. This 120 degree awe inspiring view is unsurpassed. And even if you do nothing but relax on the porch for your entire vacation, you will go away satisfied that you have visited paradise.

• Unlimited local phone calls and a list of our favorite places to go and first choice restaurants. (after many years of coming to the Caymans, we have learned where the bargains and the best places are)

• On-island manager in case of emergencies.

• Privacy of a small complex but still located conveniently near restaurants and entertainment

• Adult and kiddy pools that overlook the ocean

• White sand beach and an ocean view from every single window (no kidding)

• Many outstanding dive sites from the Cayman North Wall are nearby. Snorkel to see colorful coral and abundant fish wherever you enter the water…..Reefs are everywhere.

• Located in the upscale Cayman Kai community only 30 scenic miles from the Airport and 7 Mile Beach. (But you may not ever want to leave the North Side)

• Magnificent sunsets and great restaurants in close vicinity.

• Famous Rum Pointe beach and Stingray City only minutes away.

• Small Grocery store only 5 minutes away. Major ones 15 - 30 minutes away.

• Starter soaps, detergents, and paper products are provided.

More Details

Owner
Hilary Pandorf
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 27, 2016

Why Hilary Pandorf chose North Shore

Grand Cayman was a stop on a cruise we took in 1983. We fell in love with it then and have been coming back to vacation on a regular basis ever since. When we had children we began bringing them here and they also fell in love with it. It is our family's special vacation spot.

What makes this condo unique

We love the clear blue ocean water, the snorkeling and diving are fantastic. The locals on the island are very friendly and we feel very safe and relaxed on the island.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Grand Cayman Condos. We loved the pool right in our backyard and the easy access to the ocean. Although there were other renters in nearby condos, we found that we had plenty of privacy when we wanted it. The condos were fully equipped and were very clean. We spent a lot of time on the lanai enjoying the beautiful view while visiting with our family. The location of the condos provides for a slower paced vacation, while being conveniently located to local attractions and activities.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

'The Ocean's Edge' Grand Cayman Oceanfront Condominium
average rating of 4.72 based on 29 reviews
2

Disappointing, not well maintained , go elsewhere

  • 2 of 5

The condo was not clean nor well maintained it is not as advertised. It is grubby - doors, walls and floors it needs a thorough clean.

Some Items of note:

The bedding in the master was not changed upon arrival.

Kitchen cupboard doors do not close properly. One on the bottom is missing screws to hold the bracket on.

The teflon pots and pans are badly scratched and are falling apart and unusable.

The dishwasher does not heat up so the soap doesn't dissolve.

Cutlery is stained.

The air conditioning does not work in either bedroom.

The scatter rugs were and are filthy and stained they have no rubber beneath and I slipped and fell on the first attempt to access the gallery.

The shower head in the master bath leaks from the pipe.

The kitchen sink faucet does not work on the cold side only the middle and hot.

The kitchen chair seat covers are filthy. There are only 4 chairs in the kitchen and gallery this condo is advertised for 6.

The beach chairs are rusted out and have stained the gallery tile.

The fire alarms need new batteries and were making a pinging sound on the last days of our stay.

The outside doors are filthy inside and out with rust on the storm shutters on the floor area most of whose handles don't work or are broken.

The wifi continuously cuts out unless in the living/dining area.

The owner wanted to interrupt our vacation to have new televisions installed.

The beach and pool are unusable due to the high wind which when speaking to locals is not a one off it is always like that.

When an owner states

"Unfortunately, since I am not at the condo often, (being that I live in another country) I don't always know what needs to be fixed." You know there is and will be problems.

We have rented many condos and this is the first time I have complained and sent photos to the owner. While the owner said we should have told her asap as stated above she has to rely on renters for an honest accessment, that is not my problem. I paid for a two week vacation condo that was as advertised for a relaxing stress free time not to be the eyes and ears of an absentee condo owner.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you had such a bad experience. We want all of our guests to enjoy the condo as much as we do. I'm also sorry you thought we "wanted to interrupt your vacation" when we asked if it was ok to have the televisions upgraded while you were there. We thought you might enjoy the new TV's. Naturally we respected your wishes and scheduled the delivery for after you departure. I can certainly relate to the fact that you didn't want to be interrupted on your vacation however most of the "items of note" could have been resolved immediately. All of the minor maintenance items were fixed in less than a day. Had you been willing to accept a five minute interruption, our caretaker could have at least dropped off new pots and pans, throw rugs, and beach chairs (all of which get replaced on a regular basis). To say the condo is "grubby" is unfair and untrue. For the last 10 years we have spent every summer vacation at the condo with our children and stayed there on many other occasions. It's our home away from home and we think it's beautiful. And, as you can see from our other reviews, our other guests agree. We have visited Grand Cayman dozens of times over the last 30+ years and most of the time the weather is excellent. It can be quite windy at times, but the suggestion that it's like that all the time is nonsense. Unfortunately we have no control over the weather. Likewise, we have no control over the internet provider company which provides the internet service. We would have gladly called the internet provider for you had we known you were having internet connection issues. As for the condo not being "as advertised", that is completely untrue. We are licensed to accommodate 6 people (one king bed, two twin beds, and a queen sofa sleeper). The description of the dining area clearly states "Seating for 4 people" and the photo shows four chairs around the table. As many of the other reviewers have stated, the condo is exactly as advertised.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Johns Island
3

Great View - windy and rough water

  • 3 of 5

First the good part. The condo has a great view. The lanai is great, though it would have been nice to have a couch of some sort. I loved the quiet, there was maybe 1 other condo in use this time of year. Most of the condo is up to date with granite counters, etc. The bed was very comfortable and even the bedroom had a beautiful view of the ocean from a picture window.

The biggest negative was the windiness. It was very windy. It made the beach and pool unusable for us, sand was blowing in our eyes. The water was also too rough even though there is a reef. We went to Rum Point most days which though only a couple miles away wasn't windy at all. However, it takes away from the privacy and quiet since it can be pretty busy.

A more minor complaint would be the TVs and internet. The living room has an old CRT TV, so don't plan on plugging in an HDMI device into it. So no streaming to the TV with your tablet. The internet only worked well in the living room. In the master bedroom, it didn't work at all, so no streaming there. Also, the TV in the master is a tiny like 15" flat screen. I tried using offline movies and my tablet couldn't stream because the resolution is so low on it.

I was there for the beach but its nice at night to be able to use streaming entertainment. There were also minor problems with the condo like plastic knobs on the kitchen cabinet that was not replaced but attempted to be reattached and kept coming off. The Kitchen sink leaks water and only worked right with the temp in the middle.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the weather wasn't great while you were there. I will be looking into the internet issue as we have been able to connect in all rooms. And we will take your recommendation for a different type of TV in the living room so that computers can be hooked up to it into consideration. As I am not there all the time I can only find out about problems from the renters. I will be letting our caretaker know about the other issues you mentioned. I have not heard from anyone before about a leak in the kitchen sink or a problem with the kitchen cabinet knob. Thank you."
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful condo

  • 5 of 5

This VRBO condo was beautiful, quiet and clean. We swam in the pool and snorkeled almost every day weather permitting. On windy days we easily drove to other snorkeling spots. Our 20 month granddaughter specially loved the children's pool. It was more than we hoped for and I would recommend it as a wonderful place for four people to enjoy a holiday on a friendly island..

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I'm glad you had a good vacation and thank you for renting from us.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great condo, great location!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here! The condo was wonderfully appointed and even had things like bug spray and a first aid kit. (you just replace what you use). the location is right on the beach and has some of the best snorkeling I've ever done. the condo is also conveniently located near Rum Point which also a great spot to visit. The owner really goes out of her way to make sure you are prepared for your stay and that you have everything you need. The welcome package received was really helpful. I would recommend this place to stay and would be more than happy to return to it again!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank for taking the time to post a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Michigan
5

Ocean View from every Room!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! The minute we walked in the condo, I felt that the unit was even better than described by the VRBO listing. It is spacious, very well kept and you can see the ocean from just about every location inside. The porch has a wonderful hammock that we used often – when the wind is blowing, the hammock rocks gently. Once you walk outside, you are a few steps from the beach. The beach is not as nice as 7 mile, but does have great snorkeling offshore. Unfortunately, for about half the time we were there, the wind was quite strong coming from off the ocean.

If you like a private and low key setting, this side of the island it great. If you want more restaurant options and busyness – 7 mile beach is the place. We did go to 7 mile beach 3 times for different reasons during out stay – it’s not hard to get to and is about a 45 minute drive.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Kansas City, Kansas
4

spring break 2014

  • 4 of 5

we had a wonderful time it was just like the pictures and very picturesque love the beach and the reason the snorkeling.awesome place and we will definitely be back

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your vacation. Thank you again for renting from us. Hilary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Owens International Airport
Car: recommended

Grand Cayman is protected by a barrier reef that creates calm, crystal clear water and provides for excellent snorkeling/diving from shore. Grand Cayman is world famous for Stingray City/Stingray Sandbar where you can feed, play and swim with southern stingray. The 'North Wall' dive site is 300 yards from the condo shore.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rum Point Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 14 2017
5 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
$4,500
 
 
Spring/Summer 2017
Apr 15 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
$3,750
 
 
Fall
Sep 1 2017 - Dec 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
$3,000
 
 
Winter
Dec 16 2017 - Apr 14 2018
5 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
$4,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.0%

Special pricing for long term stays, for last minute bookings and for rentals booked far in advance. Contact owner directly as they set the price.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rum Point Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • MasterBathroom with bathtup and shower combo. 2nd Bathroom shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King Size bed in Master, 2 Twin Beds in 2nd Bedroom, Portable Pack 'N' Play for infant, Queen size sleeper sofa.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Raft
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties